Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Père Lachaise Cemetery

The Père Lachaise Cemetery (Cimetière du Père Lachaise) was founded in 1804 and today contains more than 70,000 ornate tombs in a verdant, open-air sculpture garden. Take the time to wander and really explore for all the beauty and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 214 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

LeighMcCawley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

An excellent guide, very knowledgeable and entertaining.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

bthead United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Lucia was an awesome tour guide. l learned a lot about history and saw things I would have missed just walking around.

Doing what: Paris Père Lachaise Cemetery Private Walking Tour

Josee W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Another wonderful guide and Viator tour. This is a huge cemetery and we clambered over most of it looking at the highlights. Again, it gives a great overview of a Paris and the history of the city.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Lynda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

An enjoyable and informative walk with Claudia. A cemetery may not seem an obvious tourist destination but definitely worthwhile. Claudia brought to life many of the characters buried in this scenic and quiet part of Paris.

Doing what: Paris 2-Hour Private Guided Tour to Père Lachaise Cemetery

Susan E S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Davor was a superb guide - informed, personable, and a wonderful storyteller. This was a highlight of my week in Paris.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Britta L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My husband and I were lucky enough to be the only two people booked on this tour. It was fabulous, our guide was extremely good. I know this is a tour you can do yourself, but having someone show you the layout, take you to graves of notable interest and be able to answer your questions is a must - the place is vast and you could spend all day just looking for one grave - and still not find it!!!

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

theburrow Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We enjoyed the tour, the history, and the many stories our guide had to tell. Though it is possible to see the cemetery without the guide, I do not think it would have been as richly fulfilling.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Vicki C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgable and friendly. This cemetary is enourmous and I don't think we would have found any of the graves of the famous people if we went by ourselves. You also get the added benefit of all of the stories of many other people buried in this cemetary, as well as the history and legends of the cemetary itself. It's a two hour tour, so may want to plan it for the morning.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Carol B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very good tour if you're interested in where some 'celebrities 'are buried. Well narrated.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Wade H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was the highlight of my Paris visit. The 2 hour tour easily covers the history of the cemetery as well as the stories of some of the people buried there. This is a must for anyone wanting to experience something different in Paris.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Lara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a great tour with Avi. He provided a wealth of information in an interesting way. He took us by all the major graves and told us about the people/graves, etc. A great way to visit Pere Lachaise. I'd highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Siyu C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I had an amazing time following our guide Davor. The group is very small so we had good interaction along the way. During the tour we visited celebrity tombs as well as the less known ones that have very interesting stories. If I were there by myself I'd never have guessed those intriguing stories. Definitely recommend it to those who are curious about the history of Pere Lachaise, and those who want to explore Paris from a different perspective.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Norman S

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

First class tour. If a bit rushed. First class staff.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Nicole W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Avi, our guide, was amazing. Such interesting stories. This was a last minute purchase while we were already in Paris but was the highlight of our trip. If we had time, we would have looked into other trips with this same company.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Carol k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide Avi is an art history professor, so he was so knowledgeable! He made each grave come alive! Wonderful!

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Graham K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour guide Alberto was very informative and very entertaining. The cemetery is amazing. Aside from the impressive graves of important people, it has a very calming and relaxing atmosphere, especially in the old and shaded areas.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Kimberley M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a wonderful tour of Pere Lachaise on August 4, 2016! Avi was our tour guide, and he was terrific very knowledgable about the different people buried in this sprawling cemetery, and about the cemetery itself. The tour lasted two and a half hours, but you never felt the time there's so much to see and learn about in Pere Lachaise.

I highly recommend this walking tour I very much wanted to see the graves of Heloise and Abelard and also Oscar Wilde, and they were the highlights for me. Jim Morrison's grave is a big draw, though, and there are plenty of other famous and notable people to hear about. I've used Viator before, abroad and at home in the US, and I haven't been disappointed yet. Avi was a particularly good tour guide, though, so hopefully you get him!

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Michelle P

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

A great tour on a rainy Paris day! As with most tours I take, I could have enjoyed this even more if it had been a couple hours longer in duration. I was happy to hear about the history of the cemetery, as well as to see the famous Jim Morrison's grave! I wished we could have seen others, but another time!

FYI - for a map of the cemetery, you buy one for 2 euro at the back entrance top of the hill, rather than the main entrance.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Stephen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide Emily was very informative, shared stories and tales about many of the famous crypts. It was well worth it.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Elizabeth L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide Avi was amazing. His knowledge of the history of not only Pere Lachaise but also the history of burial in Paris was outstanding. Informative but with a light and humourous edge. Would highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Leisha O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was excellent!! Our tour guide, an American living in Paris, was outstanding!! We thoroughly enjoyed our tour! He was friendly, very knowledgeable, funny, made the tour awesome!! We highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Cathy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Friendly and very knowledgeable to tour guide. She made sure that we were able to see the graves like Chopin that we wanted to. Had another tour with this company today at Versailles and am so impressed.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Barbara L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour leader was amazing! (I wish I knew his name...he was from Minnesota:-)) He was knowledgeable and personable. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

mareejeavons1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Emily took us straight to the must see grave sights and gave us an interesting insight into the cemetery as well as the individual lives of those highlighted. Thanks Emily for a great tour.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message