Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Père Lachaise Cemetery

The Père Lachaise Cemetery (Cimetière du Père Lachaise) was founded in 1804 and today contains more than 70,000 ornate tombs in a verdant, open-air sculpture garden. Take the time to wander and really explore for all the beauty and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 197 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kimberley M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a wonderful tour of Pere Lachaise on August 4, 2016! Avi was our tour guide, and he was terrific very knowledgable about the different people buried in this sprawling cemetery, and about the cemetery itself. The tour lasted two and a half hours, but you never felt the time there's so much to see and learn about in Pere Lachaise.

I highly recommend this walking tour I very much wanted to see the graves of Heloise and Abelard and also Oscar Wilde, and they were the highlights for me. Jim Morrison's grave is a big draw, though, and there are plenty of other famous and notable people to hear about. I've used Viator before, abroad and at home in the US, and I haven't been disappointed yet. Avi was a particularly good tour guide, though, so hopefully you get him!

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Michelle P

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

A great tour on a rainy Paris day! As with most tours I take, I could have enjoyed this even more if it had been a couple hours longer in duration. I was happy to hear about the history of the cemetery, as well as to see the famous Jim Morrison's grave! I wished we could have seen others, but another time!

FYI - for a map of the cemetery, you buy one for 2 euro at the back entrance top of the hill, rather than the main entrance.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Stephen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide Emily was very informative, shared stories and tales about many of the famous crypts. It was well worth it.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Elizabeth L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide Avi was amazing. His knowledge of the history of not only Pere Lachaise but also the history of burial in Paris was outstanding. Informative but with a light and humourous edge. Would highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Leisha O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was excellent!! Our tour guide, an American living in Paris, was outstanding!! We thoroughly enjoyed our tour! He was friendly, very knowledgeable, funny, made the tour awesome!! We highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Cathy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Friendly and very knowledgeable to tour guide. She made sure that we were able to see the graves like Chopin that we wanted to. Had another tour with this company today at Versailles and am so impressed.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Barbara L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour leader was amazing! (I wish I knew his name...he was from Minnesota:-)) He was knowledgeable and personable. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

mareejeavons1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Emily took us straight to the must see grave sights and gave us an interesting insight into the cemetery as well as the individual lives of those highlighted. Thanks Emily for a great tour.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

mareejeavons1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Emily took us straight to the must see grave sights and gave us an interesting insight into the cemetery as well as the individual lives of those highlighted. Thanks Emily for a great tour.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

lmmills33

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide was waiting for us. He was very friendly and made everyone feel at ease. His stories that went along with the stroll through the cemetery were very interesting and informative. I would suggest this tour to everyone interested in seeing and hearing history in a nutshell.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I brought a list of seven gravestones I particularly wanted to see.
Alain, my guide, knew where to find all my choices. As well he showed many other famous and not so famous but very interesting graves.
Pete Lachaise Cemetery is so huge that an informative guide is the best way to really see it.

Doing what: Paris 2-Hour Small Group Tour of Pere Lachaise Cemetery

Ed F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Avi was brilliant and made the trip remarkable. Not only is he knowledgeable about a great many of the graves and the cemetery itself, he also added anecdotes and historical comments beyond the walls of Pere Lachaise. He is witty and responsive and also flexible when offering to show parts of the cemetery based on personal interests and requests.

I recommend this tour 5 out of 5.

I also understand Avi provides other tours, including The Louvre in the autumn and winter months and I will be seeking out his tours specifically. He is that good.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Jane H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great!!! The cemetery is so big, the best way to see it is with a guide. I saw so much more than what I would have. And the guide was great! Really informative, and genuinely interested in the cemetery and giving us the history. Highly recommend. Only way to see it. Do it!

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Cathryn I

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Good time but the tour lasted a lot longer than expected.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Gloria W

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Our guide was wonderful. However, we started the tour at the exit of the cemetery so we never got any literature or map. Also, for some reason we didn't see many of the burial sites I was eager to visit. I told her the kind of thing I was interested in seeing, but not having a map I couldn't tell her to show us the specific graves such as Isadora Duncan to name only one.

Doing what: Paris 2-Hour Private Guided Tour to Père Lachaise Cemetery

Geri K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very well done. Guide was knowledgeable and enthusiastic.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

vespapaula

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

very nice and informative tour. our tour guide Claudia was great.

Doing what: Paris 2-Hour Private Guided Tour to Père Lachaise Cemetery

Walter K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour. The guide, Davor, was exceptionally knowlegable and cordial.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Jessica E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was amazing! Emily was a wonderful tour guide!

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Janette H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very informative guide. Really interesting location. We really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Kutnu D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was really nice tour and the tour guide was very gentle and helpful. He tried to give information as much as he can.

Doing what: Paris 2-Hour Small Group Tour of Pere Lachaise Cemetery

Thomas K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

me and my friend enjoyed the tour it is well worth the visit our guide Linda was great she made it a great day
without her we would not have found the most of the graves we seen
Tommy

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Charles A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The guide was terrific! He shared the history of the cemetery, but not in 'cold facts' but in anecdotes. The group was quite small and he was very engaged and personable. We are recommending this tour to all our friends.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

tmcalhany

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

The tour guide did not seem to have enough knowledge. We didn't get too much information about all of the important folks buried there. I would rate the experience about 2 1/2.

Doing what: Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message