Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Quartier Latin

The Quartier Latin (Latin Quarter) in Paris is commonly thought to be synonymous with the fifth arrondissement, but it actually stretches to the sixth as well. It's also known as the epicenter of Parisian academic life, as it is home to no less than ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 749 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Andrew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

David was an excellent guide! We went during a particularly cold winter day in Montmatre, so it turned out we were the only two booked for the tour. He showed us a wonderful time and some great food as well. His knowledge and explanations of the history and culture of the area were top notch, and he was extremely friendly and helpful. He did his best to help educate us in a simple way, even go so far as to pronounce names and places in both English and French and spell them to help us learn as much as we could. He would be exceptional especially for someone new to Paris it was not our first trip as he provided plenty of information of other places to visit and things to do.

Doing what: Paris Food Walking Tour: Gourmet French Food

Kim B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Even though the tour was a 3 hour walking tour it was very easy going as the distance covered was small visiting a bakery, street food market, fromagerie and then to friends nosh off, wine tasting along with eating some of the produce purchased by the tour guide earlier of cheeses and fois gras - all delicious!

The guide was excellent, very knowledgeable and friendly.

Highly recommend doing this tour.

Doing what: Paris Food Walking Tour: Gourmet French Food

Patricia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This walking gourmet French food tour of the Latin Quarter was everything I'd hoped for. I wanted to understand what made French food French and my guide truly had a lot of knowledge and made the experience so enjoyable. The food was delicious and the guide also provided a lot of history about the area and Paris in general. I would recommend this tour to anyone interested in knowing about Paris and French food.

Doing what: Paris Food Walking Tour: Gourmet French Food

mZbreeZe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

i've been living in paris for a few months now, but never really had the chance to discover and understand the city from the perspective of a real parisian. it was indeed a lovely afternoon exploring the left bank of paris with our guide, alix, who's very knowledgeable about the french history which helps to put her explanations into a more meaningful context about the architecture, culture, etc. during the relaxing tour. definitely a worthwhile short excursion!

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

southernbabe22

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

One of the best down to earth tours I've ever been on. The guide was fantastic!!

Doing what: Paris Latin Quarter and Notre-Dame Cathedral Private Walking Tour

CY Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Highly recommended. We explored all the local shops, delicatessens, patisseries and little laneways, and the samples were just amazing.

Doing what: Paris Food Walking Tour: Gourmet French Food

Jane M Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic! Eve was a wonderful guide and we learnt many fascinating things about French cheeses, fish, meats and fruit and veg, pastries and wine. A highlight of my stay in Paris.

Doing what: Paris Food Walking Tour: Gourmet French Food

Kevin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our tour guides were great! The spots we checked out were very interesting and the guides were flexible in adapting to the weather.

Doing what: Paris Food Walking Tour: Gourmet French Food

maree

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What an amazing guide we had, his name is Arthur and I hope others will be lucky enough to have him as a guide as well. He is very well informed and was able to answer all our questions and showed us some amazing parts of the Latin Quarter we would have never have found by ourselves. Thank you Arthur.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

june chang

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great experience with small group that allow us to skip the Q and also private viewing of the Royal Quarters.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Krisztina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We did this tour with a fun couple from Canada and we had a blast! Our tour guide, Tim, knows the city inside out and we relished the insider experience he provided us -- such as, showing us the old city walls in an underground parking garage, pointing out movie/literature/pop culture references throughout the Latin Quarter, chilling in the Luxemburg Park, and of course teaching us petanque as we sipped our pastis. It was an exhilarating tour and we enjoyed every bit. Merci Tim!

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

Mary P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was the first tour of our ten day stay in Paris and it was marvelous. We had a small group and Stephan was our guide and host. We loved learning about and sampling the various breads, cheeses, pastries and meats during our walking tour of the Latin Quarter. Stephan shared the history of the area including the background of the Pantheon and the church of St. Etienne. We ended with a stop at a local small eatery where we sampled a number of cheeses and meats including foie gras and of course wine! A wonderful way to begin our stay in Paris. We definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Paris Food Walking Tour: Gourmet French Food

Mary P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This walking tour led by Claudia was wonderful. Our group consisted of my husband, son, daughter-in-law, and me. Claudia was very well versed in the history and architecture of the Marais area. We saw the Jewish Quarter, the Vosges, a portion of the old city wall, and other unique areas. We thoroughly enjoyed this tour and would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Paris 2-Hour Private Walking Tour Including the Marais

Munir T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was a very informative tour. The guide was very friendly and nice. Very knowledgeable. In summary, had a great time. Must do this tour if one is in Paris

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

Kathy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Absolutely worth it. My host was so knowledgeable and entertaining. Wonderful trip through markets and gastronomy areas in the Latin Quarter. Amazing day and I learnt so much about food and history.

Doing what: Paris Food Walking Tour: Gourmet French Food

Nadine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great way to spend a relaxing afternoon, learning about Paris away from the well known tourist attractions. Highly recommend

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Latin Quarter, including Charcuterie Tasting and Pétanque

Mariella C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The lunch you will have on the grounds of Versailles will be the most amazing lunch you will ever have in your entire life. We brought a bottle of wine early on and sandwiches, and you will become Marie Antoinette rolling around the grounds like a royal pre-revolution. The bikes give you access to the her private grounds and the village, which I actually could have done without and preferred to have been on the bike more often visiting gardens. Versailles the palace is at the end and that was enough to blow me away in comparison to the smaller quarters from earlier. Rest assured that you are left at the end of the day to visit Versailles on your own and take your time with it, there is no set meeting time afterwards, so you can take as long as you want since they give you return tickets. It was quite hot so we didn't go to far in the gardens, but you do have a beautiful view in the distance of where you had your lunch. HIGHLY recommend as just a visit to the palace would not have been worth it.

Doing what: Versailles Bike Tour with Skip-the-Line Entrance to Palace

Michelle M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had Melissa and she was great. Love the yummy cheese, pastries and bagettes. I loved hearing about the history of the areas as well.

Doing what: Paris Food Walking Tour: Gourmet French Food

Jet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fascinating, interesting! Tour guide was excellent. The small group and the private viewing of the Royal Quarters made it extra special and easier being away from the crowds. Next time I would stay overnight in Versailles to have more time.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Janet P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our driver was very patient, he waited for us for quite awhile while we tried to collect our baggage. We finally had to fill out baggage loss claims and then we could go out to meet him in the arranged area. He was very good and got us directly to our hotel which was in the Latin Quarter of Paris. I would use Viator again to arrange this type of pick-up. they not only waited for us on our rescheduled flight, but were aware that our flight the day before had been cancelled and the flight we would arrive on the next day This was much better than the airlines who took 3 to 4 days to locate and deliver our 2 suitcases.

Doing what: Paris Private Arrival Transfer: Charles de Gaulle (CDG) or Orly (ORY)

Joanne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Caroline was an incredible tour guide. She was knowledgeable, clearly engaged in her work and made the extra effort to ensure all of us had a nice experience. I would recommend this tour to everyone ... I am a serious foodie and learned a few new things about cheese, wine and food handling in Paris.

Doing what: Paris Food Walking Tour: Gourmet French Food

James H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A fun tour. The guide provided good mix of history and interesting facts about the sites and city as we biked around town. The tour was well worth the money in that it gave a good idea as to what to see and where the key sites were located. It was by far much better than riding the boring Hop ON Hop Off buss. The stop in the Latin Quarter for refreshments served us well in that later that evening returned to that area of town to have dinner.

Doing what: Hidden Paris: Day Bike Tour

Nette

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A trip highlight! Stevan our guide was able to incorporate all aspects of French life into our tour. Food was special, bought as we walked along and then sampled at final stop with wine. A must do. We did our tour in the Latin Quarter

Doing what: Paris Food Walking Tour: Gourmet French Food

Stuart S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was fabulous -- being able to see many rooms that are not open to the general public royal quarters, the opera, the chapel -- which can only be seen by the general public from behind a rope, while we were able to walk thru the chapel, up to the altar, etc. My only complaint was that it wasn't long enough -- I'd have liked to spent the entire day there, versus only a half day.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Savvy Sightseer USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

With Cedric, the tour guide, a Gourmet French Food Tour booked by Viator Tours through Pariss Montmartre district is a saunter not just in and out of top-notch French pastry shops, but also a trip through French history. Meeting at the Blanche metro station, Cedric warmly greeted me, and we started out on our adventure, despite our being a party of only two. The tour, operated by a local group, was billed as a small group excursion with a max of 8 people, but was guaranteed to run without a minimum. My trip was just after floods and strikes had hampered tourism in the city, but the local tour administration had reassured me via email that the tour would go as scheduled, and so it did.

Cedric enthusiastically shared his love of Paris while leisurely wandering through town. From pointing out the inner citys original Roman wall boundaries on a nearby transit map to leading the way to a sweeping view of Paris from the steps of Sacre Coeur, Cedrics walking tour was insightful, fascinating, interesting and, above all, a delicious tasting of Paris!

Doing what: Paris Food Walking Tour: Gourmet French Food

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message