Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Towers of the Notre Dame Cathedral

The cornerstone of Paris's Notre-Dame Cathedral was laid in 1163, but it wasn't until almost a hundred years later, in 1250, that the towers were finished (and almost another hundred until construction was completed, in 1345). Its bells, the largest ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 652 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

wilmalsisk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Different guides for each tour, but both were very knowledgeable, efficient and thoughtful. Our Notre Dame guide knew some unique history of the site. We would never have seen the best highlights of the Louvre in three plus hours without the guide who had interesting facts to share about each piece of art we viewed.

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Small-Group Skip-the-Line Notre-Dame Tower and Louvre Museum

Meesha Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour guide was not dull at all. Was very informative, kept us eager to want to know more. Architect was AMAZING. We walked the grounds inside and out. I was more than impressed. I felt if you saw one Church, you saw them all-not in this case....aww inspiring, jaw dropping and the history, RICH.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Lord Sebastian United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Good tour, be sure to know where the meeting point is as it's a tad tricky, well it was for us. But once we got on our way the tour was very interesting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Pablo P

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

This tour is fun...but as a heads up most of the tour is walking a couple blocks around the cathedral. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. She helped us skip line to get up to the tower which is worth the walk up the stairs to see the Gargoyles. Once inside the three or four people directly next to the tour guide can hear her comments about the interior but the rest of the tour company can not because it is inside a church so they can't talk that loud for obvious reasons. As a result of this people start going off in their own direction. Its a shame because the tourguide was so knowledgeable about the cathedral itself but this tour is not really designed to highlight their knowledge...perhaps a headset and microphone system would work if you want advice as to how to improve the tour. Its a cool tour but I am not sure if everyone would like it for the reasons I have listed

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Kimberly S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great experience! It ended up being a personal tour for my husband and I, so we got great personal attention, and loved that they did not cancel it for only 2. Tour guide was fantastic and very informative. We were not able to go up in the tower as it had snowed the night before, so they had it closed due to slippery conditions. Will just have to go back.ni had been to Notre Dame a few times before on my own, but it was well worth taking the tour for all that information you can't get on your own. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Thomas W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Church is beautiful and the view from the tower is spectacular.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Kenneth C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our tour guide Charlie was outstanding. Best tour of the trip. We spent an 1-1/2 hours but could've spent another 2 or 3 hours easily.

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Small-Group Skip-the-Line Notre-Dame Tower and Louvre Museum

Nancy D. P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Had amazing guide. Young fellow from England. So knowledgeable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

kathy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Kevin was an amazing guide. Well worth the extra 's to skip the line and get to the top of Notre Dame. Saint Chapelle is a GEM that I had never seen before and was BEAUTIFUL!

Doing what: Skip-The-Line: Saint-Chapelle and Towers of Notre-Dame

Michele D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent way to see this monument. The guide provided some great information (I and #39;m sorry that I forgot his name). Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Teresa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour guide was outstanding! The group,was prompt and easy to find. Very enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Allan N

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

How can you NOT be awed by the glory and splendor of Saint-Chapelle? It's absolutely fabulous. Beyond description. Breath-taking. And the gargoyles of Notre Dame were every bit as magnificent as I'd hoped! The only reason I'm not giving this tour 5 stars is that it was our guide's last tour of the season and his heart just didn't seem in it. This tour deserved more enthusiasm.

Doing what: Skip-The-Line: Saint-Chapelle and Towers of Notre-Dame

Becky H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide was excellent. I liked that we each had ear buds so everyone could hear no matter where you were standing. I enjoyed the view from the tower and seeing the bell. So much history!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

stephen k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing experience, skipping the line for Notre Dame is a must!

Doing what: Skip-The-Line: Saint-Chapelle and Towers of Notre-Dame

Meghan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I booked 3 tours on viator about a week before I left for Paris for my first visit there. This was the best decision I made for my trip! I was nervous to be booking tours where you just showed up at a defined location, but everything worked out absolutely perfectly.

This was a 2 hour tour given by an American named Hava spelling? who moved to France years ago. She gave us an overview of the island that these chapels are on. Then a history of Saint-Chapelle, with 30 minutes to explore it on our own. Following that, we walked over to Notre Dame, where we got more history. Then Hava escorted us to skip the line to head up to the towers. The line was over an hour, so this was very key! Then we were free to explore the towers as well as the ground floor of Notre-Dame on our own.

Hava was a fabulous tour guide. Her history/overviews were compelling, interesting, and insightful, and were the perfect amount of material. This made viewing the chapels much better than had we done it on our own without a guide.

I highly recommend this tour to all visiting Paris!

Doing what: Skip-The-Line: Saint-Chapelle and Towers of Notre-Dame

Ren Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was a great tour we climbed all the stairs and our guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Skip-The-Line: Saint-Chapelle and Towers of Notre-Dame

Lena V United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide Charlie was hands down the best guide anyone could ever ask for. Giving little bits of information no one knew to ask for. I wish he could be a guide on every tour I book from here on out. Notre Dame was incredible!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Oi Shan T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I visited Notre Dame a few years ago, considered it a beautiful church but had no special feelings about it. Now this tour has broadened my horizon and introduced to me the true beauty of Notre Dame. Avi, our tour guide, holds a history degree and does an excellent job in guiding us through all the intriguing history, culture and architectural features of this magnificent church as well as lle de la Cite. And yes, the skip-the-line access to the Notre Dame Tower is invaluable as there is always a long line at the entrance of the towerand it will only move a little every 15minutes or so. With this tour, I am able to go right up the tower and appreciate the world-famous stone monsters and gargoyles. The whole tour is extremely interesting and worth every penny you spend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

shamronwilder

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Oh wow! The history shared on this tour made it so much more interesting. Facts and tid-bits that you won't find in any travel book. I love both of these churches, and it was well worth the money paid.

Doing what: Skip-The-Line: Saint-Chapelle and Towers of Notre-Dame

Omar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide was great! The skip the line is definitely worth getting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

AshokK

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Highly recommended. Our guide a history major gave us a very interesting history and anecdotes relating to the Notre Dame Cathedral and of Paris during the ages. The visit to the bell towers is a must. amazing views of he city and the cathedral itself. Be prepared to climb a steep narrow staircase. Skip if you have health issues.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

James M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour guide was very friendly and knowledgable of the surrounding area and the Cathedral. Being able to break in and walk all the way up to the tower was great. Highly recommended to take this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message