Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Towers of the Notre Dame Cathedral

The cornerstone of Paris's Notre-Dame Cathedral was laid in 1163, but it wasn't until almost a hundred years later, in 1250, that the towers were finished (and almost another hundred until construction was completed, in 1345). Its bells, the largest ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 600 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

bhsabbi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was well worth the price! The line was long and would have detracted from the experience. Our guide was wonderful and knowledgeable about Notre Dame and the surrounding neighborhoods. The views from the towers were spectacular! Would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

mroehl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was one of the best tours of the trip.The guide was exceptional, Her knowledge of history and her passion combined to make a very enjoyable tour. She turned it into living history. It was so far superior to going through with the headphones and prerecorded information. I would look to this company and this guide inparticular,

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Sylvia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful tour! Martin was so knowledgeable and fun. We had a great time walking around the Ile de lat Cite and of course, climbing the steps of the bell tower. I would recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Guillermo B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

outstanding! from the knowledge of the guide to his interpersonal skills.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

tschmutter63

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour guided by Avi who was simply fantastic! Avi and #39;s commentary and knowledge were just superb. The skip the line tix to enter the bell towers were definitely worth it. Highly recommended..!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Craig T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great tour and our guide was extremely knowledgable. It was definitely worth paying extra to go up in the bell tower as you get a great view of the city.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Gil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Ben was our tour guide. Very knowledgeable. Many interesting facts provided which would be very rare for an outsider to learn in a short trip. Highlight was the visit into the Notre Dame where Ben and #39;s expertise came in handy and the explanation of the front doors symbols.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Wendy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was one of the things we will never forget. If you are going on a tour of anything while in Paris...Do this Tour.

Doing what: After-Hours Tour of Notre-Dame Cathedral Towers

cmep90

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an amazing tour we had a great guide who was knowledgeable and engaging! Would definitely recommend this tour to everyone!

Doing what: Skip-The-Line: Saint-Chapelle and Towers of Notre-Dame

Andrew W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide, Lee, was really knowledgeable and entertaining.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

mcgannm40

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide, Gaele, was very impressive. Very good with crowd and knew his stuff. A delightful tour of 2 of Paris's greatest buildings. I would recommend Gaele and this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Skip-The-Line: Saint-Chapelle and Towers of Notre-Dame

Greg Kathy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Josephine was an awesome tour guide. I and #39;ve gone on tours of Notre Dame before, but Josephine gave excellent insight and new information that I and #39;ve never heard before! By all means, go on this tour. The climb to the tip-top was spectacular!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Barry S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We did this tour during our first full day in Paris. Meeting coordination was as noted and we had a decent sized group. The Cathedral of course is awesome and the guide was quite engaging and well informed.

There was a bit of a delay getting through the tower line -- on the order of a half hour or so. That caused some coordination problems with a couple of others on the tour as they had a subsequent tour closely timed.

Also, it should be made clear that the 400 step walk can be troublesome for some. It was clear that at least one touring person was not going to make the walk up the tower -- that's not a fault of the description, except perhaps to include a note that the tower walk is REAL exercise.

My wife and I could have gone all the way up but stopped at the bell tower level due to time constraints -- that 30 minute delay getting access to the steps, plus a couple of delays by the Tower security people grabbed up some spare time for us.

That being said, this was an excellent tour and the guides explanation of other sites in the one hour lead up to the Cathedral portion of the tour were very much appreciated.

It might be useful here to make sure people realize that the tour really has three components.

1 A walking tour of Ile de la Cite about an hour or so.

2 A guided tour of the inside of the Cathedral about 30 minutes

3 The skip the line access to the tower once the guide gets you in at this point, the guided portion completes.

That might reduce some confusion. Also, we do wish that 30 minute hold for tower access could have been less -- say 15 minutes or less.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Stephen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The guide was a great little Irishman not French ?? with a professional friendly presentation style.
Looking at the long lineup at Notre Dame I was thankful for the skip the line access although those waiting appeared not as happy

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Frank D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Both parts of this tour were great! My wife and I enjoyed the Notre Dame tour a little mroe than the Lourve tour. The Notre Dame tour was not just the catherderal and it was interesting learning about the origins of Paris. I would definately recommend climbing the tower too! The views were AMAZING!

3 hours may see like a long time in the Lourve but that is not enough! The museum is HUGE! If there was one thing I could change it would be to do a smaller Lourve tour because there were times I wished we could see areas of the museum of more personal interest.

The break in between tours was nice to have a little lunch.

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Small-Group Skip-the-Line Notre-Dame Tower and Louvre Museum

theo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide provided very useful informations on the history of Cite island with passionate and professional presentation style.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Jennifer K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very informational tour. Our guide Charlie was interesting and obviously knowledgeable about the tour. The Cathedral was beautiful and I am grateful to have been able to see it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

mary h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

great tours and guides, Like the headsets so that you can hear them clearly in the crowds.

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Small-Group Skip-the-Line Notre-Dame Tower and Louvre Museum

Bobby

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Brilliant tour, Wonderful guide and Spectacular views.

Doing what: After-Hours Tour of Notre-Dame Cathedral Towers

Bob H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A great tour and a wonderful place to visit.
I rate is cathedral as one of the best in the world.
I loved every moment of my visit.

Doing what: Skip-The-Line: Saint-Chapelle and Towers of Notre-Dame

sally.cruickshanks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had the most brilliant guide who knew so much about Saine-Chapelle and Notre-Dame. Both were so beautiful, especially the top floor of Notre Dame. Climbing the tower of Notre-Dame was amazing too!

Doing what: Skip-The-Line: Saint-Chapelle and Towers of Notre-Dame

Jacqueline M B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great guides and it was very informative. So awesome to get in without waiting in line. Highly recommend

Doing what: Skip-The-Line: Saint-Chapelle and Towers of Notre-Dame

JOSEPHINE M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was great and our guide very knowledgable - well worth skipping the line tickets!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Paul S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Tour guide Violet was fantastic and entertaining!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message