Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace

The grandiose and awe-inspiring Château de Vaux-de-Vicomte is one of Europe's most influential and most important architectural landmarks. While simultaneously being one of France's premiere hotspots for aristocratic gatherings, the interior is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 229 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

mary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is a great tour! Comparable to Versailles without the crowds.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Heather C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The Chateau was amazing with all the candles and the show. Only reason I am giving a 4 instead of 5 was the extremely slow service at the restaurant. We were seated with 2 other groups from our tour and had the same waitress. They were waited on extremely well and staff was attentive. We missed our tour of the chateau as we were seated for dinner at 7:40 and did not receive our dessert until 9:45 which we had to continue to ask for. The others in our group were completed and done by the assigned time to meet the guide at 9:15. It was as if we were totally forgotten about. Due to this we missed the tour of the chateau. So basically all we saw were the grounds and restaurant. A bit disappointing.

Doing what: An Evening at Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace including Dinner and Candlelight Visit

mdmoran2

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

The woman checking people onto the bus was rude. sholud have known then that things would not be right. Bus driver was 20 minutes late picking us up from the first stop and 35 minutes from the 2nd stop. this was after he made a big deal to us about being on time. No appologies or anything from him. Never again on Viatar. Both Chateaus wer fabulous.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

gberg10

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Well worth the trip. A good value for tickets, audio tour and transportation.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Advhotel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

If you're tired of the hustle and bustle of Paris tourist with endless lines and big crowds, this excursion is a very worthwhile escape. Vaux le Vicomte is a stunningly beautiful private chateau, off the beaten track. There might have been less than 40 people when we were there, so when touring all the various lavishly furnished rooms, I was in there all alone. There might have been a dozen people in the gardens.. Fontainebleau is a busier place, but not overwhelming. It's a beautiful palace to visit, and the nearby town offers some excellent food at suburban prices, i.e. much cheaper than central Paris restaurants. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Anne-Marie P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

All you paid for was a bus trip and entry - no commentary or guide on the bus and the driver just dropped us off with no word on where to go etc. driver was over 15 mins late in picking us up - no apology. Would recommend the chateau and #39;s but would be better using uber or hiring a car to get there.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Shap B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great trip! Both are very beautiful! Would definitely recommend this trip.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Cynthia H United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Interesting history and beautiful gardens.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Melissa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour allowed me to see two very different style chateaus. Found the history of these two very interesting. The guide was very knowledgeable and filled us in on information before arriving at each location. Prompt and on time, followed schedule perfectly. I would recommend taking a tour out of Paris proper with this company. Conveniently located near the Louvre and Tuilliers.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

catchelliott

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The time allowed at each location was enough to enjoy all the aspects of the chateaux's.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Giulia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent trip and enough time to see each site!

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Lynda T

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Fontainebleau and Vaux Vicompte are well worth seeing. With this tour you basically just get a bus ride and admission ticket that includes audio guide. You will just barely have enough time to see everything and grab lunch at a kiosk.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Alice Shiqing H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful trip especially like Vaux le Vicomte. Strongly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Yangtian L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very good and easy. This is exactly what I want, basically includes transportation, tickets and audio guide, then you are on your own. The timing is pretty good too. Recommended!

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Ryan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Rent the golf cart, it was a blast!

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Laura W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

This is the first tour that there were no tour guide just the bus driver. We were given our entry tickets to the destinations and loaded on the bus. No other info - be back at this time here.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Susan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Relaxing and educational trip. Enjoyed it very much and had a very good tour guide. This was our second excursion with Viator and would recommend them to others.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Christene T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Vaux le Vicomte was my favorite of the two Chateaux. This is a self guided tour. I recommend someone from the local tour operator explain the tour before we leave Paris. We did not realize the bus was for this trip and people taking the Provins trip. I almost did not get off at the right stop and some people got off at the wrong stop and had to take a taxi to Provins.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Cassaundra C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I really enjoyed the two locations as they both had something interesting to offer. It was good to have the audioguides to help learn about the buildings and former occupants. The charter bus was in perfect condition.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Kevin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The trip was as advertised. The bus was on time and an efficient way to see both sites in one day. Both sites were tours on your own with audio-guides which as perfect. You could proceed or skip areas at your discretion.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

rosalyn.fleischer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

These castles are not to be missed! Vaux is not well known, but the chateau is beautiful and the grounds rival Versailles. Fontainebleau is grand and well maintained, but crowd control and signage are disappointing. Both places have informative audio guides that are included in the tour price. Fun!

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

jwillie925

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Both chateaux were quite beautiful and the guide was very informative. The tour is pretty much all-day, which I expected. But was worth it.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message