Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Vaux-le-Vicomte Palace

The grandiose and awe-inspiring Château de Vaux-de-Vicomte is one of Europe's most influential and most important architectural landmarks. While simultaneously being one of France's premiere hotspots for aristocratic gatherings, the interior is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 183 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lynne G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great tour. It was well handled and full of beautiful sights. The two chateaux were lovely, especially Fountainbleau. There was plenty of time to enjoy the grounds, grab a bite, and walk the gardens. I thoroughly enjoyed the day. The price was very good for a full day of enjoyment.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Lynda Gail W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This is a wonderful tour you have 3 hours at each place to enjoy the tour, you get audio guides. The grounds at Vaux le Vicomte are fantastic but they are huge you can enjoy them better if you rent the clubcar and drive around rather than walk. The grounds at Fontainebleau are also large the little train is also nice

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Mark A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour!!! Very informative visit to 2 fabulous chateaux!!!
Excellent guides added to experience!!! Near to Paris and shouldn't be missed!!!

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Kirk B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This was a good tour, although there was not enough time to enjoy the gardens at both places. If you are more into seeing the gardens, then I suggest you don't use the audio tour given at Vicomte as there is a lot of useless information that keeps the tour running for too long, and then there is not enough time to see the gardens. Also, when you get to Fontainebleau, the signage is terrible, so if you want to see the gardens, be prepared to rush through somewhat. I wish Viator would actually list the time for travel and the actual time at each venue. The travel time to and from Paris is a little more than four hours, so the time at each place is about two hours if you give yourself an hour for lunch.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

maree

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This tour was booked for the 19th but for some reason was changed to the 17th. As I had already been to Fontainebleau I knew what to expect it is an awesome chateau and a real must see. With Vaux le Vitcomte I was disappointed, perhaps it was the write up it receives that made me expect something different.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Joanna W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

I was sold tickets for a tour that was not scheduled to run that day. Complete waste of time especially when time is precious on a holiday. Very disappointed.

Doing what: Christmas Day Trip to Vaux le Vicomte from Paris

Sue M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Lovely, although the food options at the Vaux le Vicomte were very high and with no other options, seemed unfair.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

John B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

An excellent tour, as this places the construction of Versailles into perspective. The tour guides were multi lingual and gave all of us on the bus an insight into the areas we were travelling through. there was plenty of opportunity for free time and the audio guides were sufficient for an understanding of the history and the people who had such a significant impact on French history. Having previously been to Versailles, I would rate these excursions as more appealing and significant.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Maryanne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Both of these chateaux are marvelous. Our French friends recommended them instead of some of the more frequently mentioned destinations and they were right. They are beautifully maintained and furnished, and not at all crowded. We could have used more time, especially at Fontainebleau, as there is so much history in every room!

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Charles T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very good tour in a fairly comfortable vehicle. There was even a restroom on board the bus. The guide was excellent and both sites were fantastic with audio as you moved through the sites.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Dinah V

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Long trip and loved the narration and seeing another chateau. It would be great to have it more furnished true to history. Gardens expansive and beautiful. Wish we had known we needed to rent golf cart to see all the gardens in the allotted time. Did not make it across the moat. Reminded me of the movie Vatel.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

brongard

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This was a great activity, enjoyed seeing both Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte especially the beautiful gardens at both these chateauxs. The bus was very comfortable and the trip was well organised.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Evelyn C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

They just provided us with a bus driver and a bus. That's it. The driver barely spoke English. I had expected a tour guide to go with us to explain the attractions. So, we just had to rely on those audio things that they give to visitors and listen to the explanation there.
I feel we would have appreciated the Vaux and Fatainebleau if someone had been with us.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Susan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was very good and helpful. Both chateaux were extremely interesting. Food was good at Vaux le Vicomte and fairly reasonable. I enjoyed all the thought that went into Vaux le Vicomte.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

mary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is a great tour! Comparable to Versailles without the crowds.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

mdmoran2

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

The woman checking people onto the bus was rude. sholud have known then that things would not be right. Bus driver was 20 minutes late picking us up from the first stop and 35 minutes from the 2nd stop. this was after he made a big deal to us about being on time. No appologies or anything from him. Never again on Viatar. Both Chateaus wer fabulous.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

gberg10

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Well worth the trip. A good value for tickets, audio tour and transportation.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Advhotel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

If you're tired of the hustle and bustle of Paris tourist with endless lines and big crowds, this excursion is a very worthwhile escape. Vaux le Vicomte is a stunningly beautiful private chateau, off the beaten track. There might have been less than 40 people when we were there, so when touring all the various lavishly furnished rooms, I was in there all alone. There might have been a dozen people in the gardens.. Fontainebleau is a busier place, but not overwhelming. It's a beautiful palace to visit, and the nearby town offers some excellent food at suburban prices, i.e. much cheaper than central Paris restaurants. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Anne-Marie P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

All you paid for was a bus trip and entry - no commentary or guide on the bus and the driver just dropped us off with no word on where to go etc. driver was over 15 mins late in picking us up - no apology. Would recommend the chateau and #39;s but would be better using uber or hiring a car to get there.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Shap B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great trip! Both are very beautiful! Would definitely recommend this trip.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Cynthia H United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Interesting history and beautiful gardens.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Melissa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour allowed me to see two very different style chateaus. Found the history of these two very interesting. The guide was very knowledgeable and filled us in on information before arriving at each location. Prompt and on time, followed schedule perfectly. I would recommend taking a tour out of Paris proper with this company. Conveniently located near the Louvre and Tuilliers.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

catchelliott

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The time allowed at each location was enough to enjoy all the aspects of the chateaux's.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Giulia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent trip and enough time to see each site!

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message