Whether it’s soft and chewy baguettes or rich sauces and creamy cheeses, French cuisine is a favorite across the globe. Travelers to Paris looking to unleash their inner Julia Child can attempt to master the art of French cooking under the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 439 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

june chang

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Enjoyed the walk at market and cooking class very much.

Doing what: Small-Group French Cooking Class in Paris

keishaclarke

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Love the small teaching setting and expertise from the pasty chef!

Doing what: Paris Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Macarons

VICTORIA G S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Loved the course course - great instructor chef and professional looking and tasting results! Still can't believe I made the macarons myself. Definitely recommending the course esp. for a fun activity as part of enjoying Paris. I will be coming back for other pastry courses when I return.

Doing what: Paris Small-Group Macaron Cooking Class

Carol L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What a fantastic way to end our trip! My 17 year old daughter thought it would be boring. It turned out to be one of the best highlights of our trip! Amanda was so patient and made it fun. The class was small, only 6 of us. It was very informative. The facility was professional, yet quaint and inviting. It was so nice to sit down and share our hard work with a cup of tea with the other students at the end. We would take another class if we had more time. A definite if we return to Paris! A must do on your trip to Paris!!!!!

Doing what: Paris Cooking Class: Learn How to Make Macarons

Kelly R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was such an amazing class. Who knew I could actually learn how to make the famous French macarons. They came out so beautifully and delicious! The instructor was so knowledgable and helped us step by step. I can't wait to make these at home! I highly recommend this! She also does croissant classes, which I will be signing up for next trip!

Doing what: Paris Small-Group Macaron Cooking Class

smattsonmail

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a visit to a real working bakery in Paris, run by Didier Lavy, who was very charming and funny. He is also the second place winner of the best crossaint in Paris, out of 200 bakers. While it wasn't as hands on as I had hoped, we did learn a lot and were able to ask questions. We did get a baguette and crossaint to take home, along with the recipes. It seems that some of the particular ingredients may not be available in the U.S., but the baker did offer some alternatives. So, I'll give it a try as soon as I can. An overall good experience.

Doing what: Experience Paris: Baguette and Croissant Workshop

Mark M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent! A highlight of our trip to Paris. My 9 and 10 year old daughters both loved it, and Didier organised it so that the 3 kids on the course did something that was more specific to them for part of the time.

Doing what: Experience Paris: Baguette and Croissant Workshop

Kathy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing tour. Very knowledgeable chef Patrick. What looked so basic to prepare was amazingly delicious. Everyone gets to join in and create dishes. Enjoyed a champagne and nibblies then the four course meal we had created. Great way of meeting people and a lot of fun. Thoroughly recommend.

Doing what: Paris Morning Market Tour and Cooking Class

Carol F W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our chef Dominique our chef Dominique what's the most qualified teacher. His instructions made it very easy to make wonderful dishes from salad to desert.

Doing what: Small-Group French Cooking Class in Paris

Janeen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I arrived to take this class and wasn't sure where the class would be since the bakery was so small, but was pleasantly surprised when we were brought in to the back working area of the bakery. It was a fascinating class and Sara, the translator was excellent. Didier, the baker, explained all the processes needed to make bread, croissants and puff pastry and gladly answered any questions that came up. He allowed us to have as much hands on experience as possible and I learned so much about baking the French way! I can't wait to use my new tips and tricks!

Doing what: Experience Paris: Baguette and Croissant Workshop

auntlynda1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Cest Bon! Everything was perfection. Fredrique gave us so.much information- both history and food history. Never lost control of a large group. 9. The venue was efficient as well as beautiful. Will certainly recommend.

Doing what: Paris Cooking Class Including 4-Course Lunch, Wine and Optional Market Visit

Gail S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Chef Fred is great! A lovely time cooking and chatting in his Paris neighborhood kitchen. We might have liked a bit more hands-on opportunity but overall enjoyed the experience and would love to cook with Fred again.

Doing what: Small-Group French Cooking Class in Paris

Charlie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I can and #39;t recommend this class enough, it was amazing. We had so many yummy treats to eat as well as plenty of left overs! Our chef Amanda was very informative and the instructions were clear and conscise, I can and #39;t wait to go home and try it again! Thanks so much Amanda!

Doing what: Paris Cooking Class: Chocolate Éclairs and Cream Puffs

Kim S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The market tour and cooking class was the highlight of our trip to Paris! Chef Alex was engaging and witty. We learned so much, met new friends and prepared an outstanding meal. We'd do it again next time in Paris.....so much fun!

Doing what: Paris Morning Market Tour and Cooking Class

Paul B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our chef was delightful both in helping us select food at the markets and in guiding us during the meal preparation.

Doing what: Paris Morning Market Tour and Cooking Class

Peggy U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

What an amazing experience. Our chef was friendly, very knowledgable and really cared about making us enjoy the experience. We would definitely recommend it!

Doing what: Paris Cooking Class: Desserts and Pastries

Maria S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had so much fun in Marthe's cooking class. We learned to cook a French chicken dish, zucchini salad, delicious chocolate fondant for dessert. Prior to cooking Marthe took us to the farmers market for some fresh produce shopping. We had the best time!!!! I highly recommend this cooking class to anyone visiting Paris. Marthe is located in the Montparnasse district of Paris. Excellent Chef Marthe! !!

Doing what: Small-Group French Cooking Class in Paris

njfelioness

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

I had a great time at this baking class and learned a lot in a short time despite being a baker for many years. Julie was so knowledgeable in all technical aspects of making the croissant dough imparting great tips for making a successful end product. It was a bit far from my hotel, but definitely worth it. I would love to go back and try another class or a cooking one for longer in Paris.

Doing what: Paris Croissant and Traditional Breakfast Pastry Class

Margaret L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great class, highly recommended. We made delicious croissants and pane au chocolat. We learnt all the steps from mixing / kneading the dough, rolling/proofing, cutting/shaping to baking. Eating them still warm straight from out of the oven was delightful. The teacher was very knowledgeable and answered all of our questions and gave us tips along the way.

Doing what: Paris Croissant and Traditional Breakfast Pastry Class

Michael L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What's better than baking with a Chef in their home? Nothing! We learned so much from Chef Fred. We had made macaroons before but failed and badly I might add. He explained where we went wrong and how to do it the correct way. He explained in detail about ingredients, Heat temperatures and most of all proper tools and bake wear when cooking. Chef Fred, was very nice and made us feel welcomed. We had a great time baking and sampling the macaroons we made. Best of all we got to have a take way for hotel. Thanks you much!

Doing what: Learn How to Make French Macarons in Paris

christa.gonsalves

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was one of the best experiences I had in Paris. The chef was fun, interesting and knowledgeable! I absolutely loved walking to the open air market. We discovered amazing cheese! The class was also a lot of fun. I met interesting people and learned a few new cooking techniques that will make preparing meals quick and beautiful in presentation. I highly recommend this class for foodies!

Doing what: Paris Cooking Class Including 4-Course Lunch, Wine and Optional Market Visit

e.triana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing, Amazing! Did I say amazing? Wish I could give it more than 5 stars. Alex was awesome. I loved shopping and cooking the meal. I learned about the food, the traditions, wine, and good cooking. Alex could not have been a better host. 3 people in my group were repeats - that's how good he is. We even got a behind the scenes look at the workings of a French bakery. I've talked to people who did cooking classes but didn't shop and they are jealous when I told them of visiting the butcher, the fruit and vegetable market, and the fish market to select what we would cook. This is a must.

Doing what: Paris Morning Market Tour and Cooking Class

Dena S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Marthe was a gem. A true gift of a chef and teacher. She embraced my daughter 8 and I in a way we will forever remember. I would HIGHLY recommend this experience, of my six weeks in Paris it is the best event we have attended.

Doing what: Learn How to Make French Macarons in Paris

Lisa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved buying at the market with our chef. Duck and skate never was so easy to cook! Great fun

Doing what: Paris Morning Market Tour and Cooking Class

Timothy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great experience learning to cook several different dishes, learning tips you never knew before, and then eating the food with wine and enjoying what you made. The market trip was also great.

Doing what: Paris Cooking Class Including 4-Course Lunch, Wine and Optional Market Visit

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message