The phrase 'Impressionist' was coined in late 19th-century Paris when an art critic used it to describe an exhibition showcasing Monet's Sunrise oil painting. The work's patchy textures, created using loose brush strokes, brought sunlight to life ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1008 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

bakerkm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour was great. I really enjoyed walking on out of the way streets around Montmartre and learning more about the Impressionist painters.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Lenoir M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was my husband's favorite tour and the one he was least looking forward to. Adele was wonderful and even sang to us in French as we stood outside of the home of the tragic singer, Dalida. As she was singing, a woman walking her dog chimed in. It was magical! The Moulin Rouge, Van Gogh house and places where famous movies were filmed were all pointed out. The Musee d'Orsay was a the icing on the cake!

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

ALAN K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Lovely tour with. Rey knowledgeable guide. Enjoyed immensly. The museum east just beautiful too.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide was fun and we happened upon a wine festival parade. Our guide pointed out great places to eat and shop and even suggested chains to simply avoid.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

William H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The day began with us making our way to Giverny to visit the home and gardens of Monet. From there it was on to Fourges where we enjoyed a delicious lunch at Moulin de Fourges. After lunch we continued on to Auvers-sur- Oise. In Auvers we visited Auberge Ravoux, the inn where Van Gogh died. We walked the footsteps Van Gogh walked, visiting the sites of some of his works. We saw the gravesite that is his final resting place, next to his brother. Our day ended with our guide, Abib driving us back to Paris. Abib was courteous and friendly. He was able to provide excellent commentary to help us make the most of our trip. Definitely a highlight of our visit!

Jackie

Doing what: Auvers sur Oise and Giverny Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Suzanne M W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a wonderful experience. Natasha was a great guide.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Patricia.buntin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was an amazing day trip. Love seeing where Monet got his inspiration. Pleasantly surprised by how interesting and informative it was to tour Monet's house.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Small Group Day Trip from Paris

william b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Quentin was a wonderful guide. He took us off the beaten path and was full of interesting insights on Montmartre. You would be lucky to get him as a guide.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

neeta b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

August 2016: Excellent walking tour in a small friendly group. Our guide Delphine was super passionate and enthusiastic. We all felt so relaxed with her and there was a great rapport. Very knowledgable about the local area. It's a shame we all couldn't sit at a local cafe and experience the village life in a practical way on the tour! Montmartre is a beautiful place and I highly recommend this tour if you like a leisurely walk to explore the cobbled streets and hilly paths. Delphine shares some good local insights. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Carol G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was very informative and friendly. We loved the walk through Montmartre but were particularly impressed seeing the magnificent art in the Musee D'Orsay. It was very worthwhile for all art lovers.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Cheryl L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide, Charles was awesome! He brought Montmartre to life and we really enjoyed his stories. The Views from Sacre Coeur were amazing. The afternoon spent at the D'Orsay Museum was great too.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

rosmenashy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was an amazing afternoon. Laura our guide told us the complete life story of Monet. The gardens are beautiful as is the house. A trip definitely worth taking.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Julie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The best way to see these two Museums in a short time, the guide was amazing and we learnt so much.
Julie

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum & Musée d’Orsay Semi-Private Guided Tour

Micheline B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

our informative guide Quentin took us on an easy walk from the Moulin Rouge to Sacre Coeur and welcomed all our questions. Will be going to the Musee d'Orsay next.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Micheline B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Informative guide Quentin took us on an easy walk from the Moulin Rouge to Sacre Coeur with stops along the way to talk about the Impressionists and point out lovely views.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Rhona K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Gregory was an excellent driver of our tour van and knowledgeable tour guide! He was Lots of fun and gave us all the information and history of Claude Monet's family and life and his home in Giverny and the Japanese gardens. He didn't rush us through -he let us take our time and enjoy the gardens. We had a delicious lunch at Moulins de Fourges -nestled beside the stream and beautiful flower gardens. Then we drove to Auvers-sur-Oise to see where Vincent Van Gogh spent the last few months of his life and the cemetary where he and his brother Theo are buried together. It was an amazing tour- and very well done! So thrilled that we were a part of this tour. It was a dream come true. Thank you Gregory! Pick up and drop off at the apartment we stayed at was easy and much appreciated! What a wonderful day! I would recommend this tour to everyone

Doing what: Auvers sur Oise and Giverny Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Michelle M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Olek was our guide and he was out of this world! He made the area come alive for us and his knowledge was literally endless!!! He had a performer's enthusiasm and passion, yet all the facts of an academic. DO NOT MISS THIS TOUR and try to get him!.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Ruby R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was one of my favorite tours in my entire Europe trip! Our guide, Marie, definitely knew her art history. She made it fun as well as informative. I'm a total Impressionist art nerd, and Montmartre is now my favorite area of Paris.

Do not miss Musee d'Orsay...it was the best museum I've ever visited.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Jerry E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful guide Joseph picked us up at our apartment and was very knowledgeable about the sites of Paris on the way out of town. Giverny was every thing we expected and more. We were very glad we booked this excursion.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Janice A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Both of these tours were great. The morning one in Montmartre helped us see some interesting spots and hear some tidbits we would not have known on our own. The evening tour was also a lot of fun. They were short enough 90 minutes each so they did not take up a lot of our day. I would recommend both.

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour plus Night Walking Tour

rnolsson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Loved our guide! She was highly knowledgable, explained the history easily, good humored. Highly recommended !!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum & Musée d’Orsay Semi-Private Guided Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message