The phrase 'Impressionist' was coined in late 19th-century Paris when an art critic used it to describe an exhibition showcasing Monet's Sunrise oil painting. The work's patchy textures, created using loose brush strokes, brought sunlight to life ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 987 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Julie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The best way to see these two Museums in a short time, the guide was amazing and we learnt so much.
Julie

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum & Musée d’Orsay Semi-Private Guided Tour

Micheline B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

our informative guide Quentin took us on an easy walk from the Moulin Rouge to Sacre Coeur and welcomed all our questions. Will be going to the Musee d'Orsay next.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Micheline B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Informative guide Quentin took us on an easy walk from the Moulin Rouge to Sacre Coeur with stops along the way to talk about the Impressionists and point out lovely views.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Rhona K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Gregory was an excellent driver of our tour van and knowledgeable tour guide! He was Lots of fun and gave us all the information and history of Claude Monet's family and life and his home in Giverny and the Japanese gardens. He didn't rush us through -he let us take our time and enjoy the gardens. We had a delicious lunch at Moulins de Fourges -nestled beside the stream and beautiful flower gardens. Then we drove to Auvers-sur-Oise to see where Vincent Van Gogh spent the last few months of his life and the cemetary where he and his brother Theo are buried together. It was an amazing tour- and very well done! So thrilled that we were a part of this tour. It was a dream come true. Thank you Gregory! Pick up and drop off at the apartment we stayed at was easy and much appreciated! What a wonderful day! I would recommend this tour to everyone

Doing what: Auvers sur Oise and Giverny Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Michelle M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Olek was our guide and he was out of this world! He made the area come alive for us and his knowledge was literally endless!!! He had a performer's enthusiasm and passion, yet all the facts of an academic. DO NOT MISS THIS TOUR and try to get him!.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Ruby R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was one of my favorite tours in my entire Europe trip! Our guide, Marie, definitely knew her art history. She made it fun as well as informative. I'm a total Impressionist art nerd, and Montmartre is now my favorite area of Paris.

Do not miss Musee d'Orsay...it was the best museum I've ever visited.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Jerry E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful guide Joseph picked us up at our apartment and was very knowledgeable about the sites of Paris on the way out of town. Giverny was every thing we expected and more. We were very glad we booked this excursion.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Janice A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Both of these tours were great. The morning one in Montmartre helped us see some interesting spots and hear some tidbits we would not have known on our own. The evening tour was also a lot of fun. They were short enough 90 minutes each so they did not take up a lot of our day. I would recommend both.

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour plus Night Walking Tour

rnolsson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Loved our guide! She was highly knowledgable, explained the history easily, good humored. Highly recommended !!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum & Musée d’Orsay Semi-Private Guided Tour

Katie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

juandric

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Outstanding tour. Only four in our group. Our guide, Belen, was knowledgeable and passionate about her subject.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum & Musée d’Orsay Semi-Private Guided Tour

Tracy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of our favourite days in Paris. If you love Monet and Van Gogh's art, then this is a must.
Tracy and Carol

Doing what: Auvers sur Oise and Giverny Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Amy Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I loved the tour! The tour guide was so nice and knowledgable and Monet's garden was gorgeous!

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Bill W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful tour. Our guide was an art student who reviewed the entire Montmartre neighborhood in the context of the turn-of-the-last-century artist scene. Musee d'Orsay was take-it-or-leave-it, with some of the pieces in which I was most interested on loan to other museums.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Brandy P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Belen of Babylon was amazing. She was considerate of the pace of the tour and allowed moments for us to sit while she spoke. My husband commented that we had our own and #34;female Indiana Jones and #34; tour guide. If you want to learn a lot and to enjoy your day... this is it.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum & Musée d’Orsay Semi-Private Guided Tour

Jeri-Ann W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very convenient. Hotel pick up, great info about Paris as you head out of city, beautiful countryside. Adequate amount of time at Monet's garden. Tour guide was great

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Small Group Day Trip from Paris

dianehmoran

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We made our trip on 7/31 in English for a 1/2 day in the afternoon and our guide was so generous with his knowledge and skilled recommendations on touring the grounds to make the best use of our time. I'm sorry we can't recall his name .. THANK YOU - it was a great time!!

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Robert F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We really enjoyed our small group tour. Our group was only the 4 of us so we had our own private guide who was excellent. The pace of the trip was good, the instruction from our guide was interesting and easy to understand, the food was good, and the overall experience of our day was excellent.

Doing what: Auvers sur Oise and Giverny Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Athens Hootie United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Exceptional tour!! We learned so much about the society at the time of the Impressionist period, and thoroughly enjoyed the lovely area of Montemartre. We would never have learned so much about the life of the times and the scandals of the times on our own. The stories made the tour very interesting. Our guide, Charles, was extremely knowledgable, entertaining and an absolute joy to listen to. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Linda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Enjoyed our tour which included 6 people so we were able to get lots of information. Guide was wonderful. One of the highlights of our trip.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

David B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A really lovely tour with a helpful, knowledgeable guide and the skip the line tickets were useful and the museum is beautiful.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Jillian O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a very enjoyable time on this tour around Montmartre. The guides, who were both history students, were very enthusiastic and knowledgeable about their subject and importantly they were entertaining. The walk lasted an hour and a half and my only 'criticism would be that it was not long enough. Both my husband I were enjoyed it so much we would have liked it to have continued. Very well worth doing.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Desiree O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Lily, our guide, was wonderful. This tour was perfect: just our family of four and Lily. She engaged our kids, shared great info of the museums, took us to key art pieces. This was a pricey event. However, we would have gotten lost and frustrated if we went to both museums on our own. No time wasted on waiting in line.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum & Musée d’Orsay Semi-Private Guided Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message