The gentle green landscape of the Loire Valley lies within easy reach of Paris. While not lacking in scenic vistas and historic towns, it is the region’s magnificent concentration of chateaux which make it an irresistible detour from the French ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 128 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Pam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a wonderful tour!! My husband and I really enjoyed the Loire Valley/Wine Tasting tour. Our guides, Daniel and Carolina were entertaining and very well informed on the history of the area, we learned so much! The wines were delicious as well as the lunch at the Chateau de Nitray. The chateax were lovely. I would highly recommend this tour, very fun!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

sherrigmorris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great introduction to the Loire Valley and its chateaux in a well-organized tour! Daniel, our tour guide, was both knowledgeable and entertaining he added much to our understanding of each chateau and its relation to the history of France. The simple, but tasty and filling, lunch at a private chateau, and wine tastings both there and at Chenonceau which is especially lovely, really enhanced our outing. Highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

parrotheadgolfer74

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Met at the pick up location which was easily accessible by metro. Antoine, our tour guide, arrived a few minutes early so we were able to get on the road a few minutes early. Van was comfortable and the ride out to the chateaux was enjoyable. We did Chambord, Amboise, then Chenonceau as the order of visits. Chambord was undergoing a small bit of restoration and had some remnant flood damage but was still very enjoyable. The drive to Amboise was along the Loire River the whole way which was scenic. Amboise was my personal favorite. The view looking over the village and the Loire was stunning! We were given an hour for lunch while here. Many cafes to choose from so finding something to eat is very easy. The cafe we ate at was very reasonably priced given it's proximity to a tourist attraction. From Amboise it was a short drive to Chenonceau. Visually Chenonceau was the most impressive. The gardens were gorgeous and the chateau being built over the Cher River is also a sight to see. The ride back to Paris was slightly longer than the ride out but not excessive. We were dropped off at our pick up point upon arrival back in Paris and jumped on the metro for an easy ride back to the hotel. Overall I would definitely recommend this tour! Antoine was very knowledgeable about the history of each chateau. He also was very personable and would make jokes here and there to make us laugh. I would have no reservation recommending this tour to anyone!

Doing what: Loire Valley Castles Day Trip : Chambord, Chenonceau and Amboise

thatkirstygirl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our day to the Loire Valley. It was lovely to see the Chateaus and some of the French countryside during our stay in Paris. Our guide Carolina was wonderful, sharing stories about the history along the way and pointing out key information at each of the Chateaus but also giving us plenty of free time at each location to wander and enjoy. The hosts at Chateau Nitray were also lovely and the food delicious.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Randall R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We loved our trip to the Loire Valley. Tina was a terrific guide. She was very knowledgeable concerning the history of the area and entertained us with stories of the kings and their ladies. We couldnt have asked for a better guide. The castle visits were wonderful and the lunch and wine tasting were very enjoyable. We had plenty of time at each stop. Overall it was a great day and I would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Katalin K Germany

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Beautiful Loire Valley,a fantastic day tour to the main,most important castles.
Thank you for this beautiful day.

Doing what: Loire Valley Castles Day Trip: Chambord, Cheverny and Chenonceau

F G D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

If you like Castles, Loire will float your boat! This tour was simple to book, ran smoothly and did not disappoint. We rode in a modern Mercedes bus that was smooth and comfortable. We saw 3 chateau and #39;s in a long, but easily accomplished day. Cost was reasonable and inclusive except for noon meal.

Doing what: Loire Valley Castles Day Trip: Chambord, Cheverny and Chenonceau

PSH

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was a full day, twelve hours. It was so informative and educational! We learned all about the history of the kings and queens from medieval times through the 19th century. It made what we saw and visited that much more meaningful.
Our guide, Tina Christina, did a great job of telling us in a story fashion that made it very entertaining.
The castles were amazing and beautiful and the two wine tastings were very fun and we learned about the wines of the Loire valley a bit.
Lunch was simple and delicious, and very comfortable. Our host at Chateau de Nitray was very genial.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Mary Jo M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Ruta, with CityWonders via Viator, hosted me for a 13-hour tour of the Loire Valley. It is a very beautiful bus ride, where we left Paris on the freeway, then wound our way through picturesque villages to visit 3 very different styles of castle: the hunting castle, Château de Chambord a privately-owned small castle/vineyard called Château de Nitray and then Château de Chenonceau, the home of Henry IIs mistress, Diane de Poitiers, and later acquired by his widow, Catherine de Medici.
Lunch at Château de Nitray was a simple affair, but delicious. The amiable owner served us himself, and conducted a tasting of the vineyards wines, which are offered for sale at the end of the lunch, but cannot be found elsewhere. They were excellent, and I only wish I was able to order a dozen for international delivery. Alas.
Ruta, our tour guide, was a very personable young women. Her English was excellent, and she was knowledgable and accommodating. We had an 95 year old former WWII nurse with us who had difficulty walking, and Ruta made her feel very welcome with the blessing of the rest of us on the tour, who felt honoured by her service.
I highly recommend this day away from Paris with CityWonders.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Natalie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My mother and I went on this tour yesterday, our guide Claire was fantastic - she certainly knew her art history well and provided great depth to the chateaux and the Loire region. The wine tasting and lunch was at a delightful small chateau which was warm and welcoming. We had a great day trip!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Barbara M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a wonderful tour! Adam, our guide, gave us a lot of commentary and insight into what we were seeing on the drive back and forth to the Loire Valley and also in the chateaus, which were magnificent. The long drive did not seem very long with all the interesting things Adam told us. He is a wealth of knowledge and an interesting person himself. The chateaus are beautiful and the three we saw were all entirely different so this made the day very interesting. The lunch at the winery chateau was delicious and homemade. At this chateau we had a very delightful tour by one of the people who works at the chateau. This tour was one of two we took given by City Wonders and both tours were first rate. I would look for their tours again if we get back to Paris.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Brandon D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

When researching tours for our Paris trip I had a hard time finding one with good reviews so I was thrilled to find this tour. We took our family of four kids 8 and 10. Our tour could have been dampened by the fact that we arrived on the day the flooding started in the Loire Valley. However, our guide Jean Baptiste made sure we saw all three castles as scheduled and made it back to Paris safely even though the highways were shut down by the flooding. Our tour was definitely did not go exactly as planned with lots of detours because of flooding but JB kept us safe and taught us so much about France. I would highly recommend this company. Their customer service was top notch and we have a day we will never forget!!

Doing what: Loire Valley Castles Day Trip : Chambord, Chenonceau and Amboise

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great addition to a visit to Paris. The tour gives ample time to explore two of the Loire Valley's most interesting chateaux, and the lunch and wine tasting at Nitray Vineyards gave us a chance to explore one of the smaller chateaux as well. The lunch was fine, and the guided tour of the small chateau was fun. The trip guide, Daniel, was very informative. This is a great way to get out of the city for a day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very enjoyable. It was rainy but being on the bus and seeing the Normandy and Loire countryside broiught back many memories. in addition, the tour of the chateaux and Mont st. Michel were incredible.

Doing what: 2-Day Mont St-Michel and Loire Valley Castles Tour from Paris

Tracey T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour, but I think what really makes it is the guide. We had Daniel the Irishman. He made this trip very educational and fun! The instructions on where to meet were very clear. I did call to ask about carrying a backpack which is OK and you can leave items on the bus while touring.

We went on the Loire Valley Castles and Wine Tasting Tour. Our guide was excellent! His name was Daniel and he was from Ireland so he had a little Irish twang to his French Accent. He was extremely knowledgeable and fun! He shared tons of history and there wasn't a question he couldn't answer. If you go on this tour, be sure to ask for Daniel. As for the tour, Chambord was so beautiful and honestly you could spend the day there. Danial gave us a walking tour and then allowed us 30 min to tour on our own. Another thing, Daniel is very sure he keeps all of us together. There were 26 and he was always looking and counting. The other two Chateaus were very cool and wonderful to see and hear the history. The wine is OK, some enjoyed others did not. Just depends upon your liking. The lunch was simple but excellent! Roasted tomatoes, potatoes, chicken, cheese and bread. This is definitely worth the money! It is about 2.5 hrs to the first place and you do stop to visit restrooms. There is about 45 min between places and the ride home which again we stopped for restrooms. Wear good walking shoes and it is safe to leave stuff on the bus if you don't wish to carry. You will receive a headset and box to listen to Daniel so he doesn't have to speak over others. Having your own head set is a little nicer. But still it was very clear to hear him.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

sknaufmn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was one great day tour. The Loire Valley is beautiful and the Chateaus were also. Great gourmet lunch and wine tasting at Nitray. Would definitely recommend this over any other Loire Valley tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Julie E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was exactly what I hoped it would be. The tour guide was very informative and fun. The lunch was delicious and the owners of the vineyard made us feel like family. The wine was also very good and reasonably priced. It is a long day, but well worth it to see these beautiful chateaux and the Loire Valley.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Chonglun F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

That was a wonder and very impressive trip with the great help of our tour guide Olivier Forgive me if the spelling is inaccurate.. The trip was excellently organized by him. From Paris within one day, we visited 3 French castles Ambroise, Chenonceau and Chambord in Loire Valley and enjoyed French cuisine at a very tasty lunch. Olivier introduced us the histories of the castles and of the surrounding areas during the trip and that made the visit even more interesting! We would like to take this opportunity to thank Olivier for his great job and professionalism. Merci beaucoup! We will certainly recommend this tour to our friends.

Doing what: Small-Group Loire Valley Castles Day Trip from Paris

alejandro t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Tour guide Laila was extremely nice and very knowledgeable about the castles and history of France in general. Castles were amazing, especially Chenonceau Do not miss it if you visit the Loire Valley Lunch was included in the package, but food was below expectation.

Doing what: Loire Valley Castles Day Trip: Chambord, Cheverny and Chenonceau

Dezhang Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour is well organized with good history stories about the chateaux. The late lunch and wine tasting at Chateaux Nitray was very delicious! A wonderful trip to the Loire Valley!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Jade Hazel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We loved our tour guide, Adam! He was a great treat to this amazing tour -- Very knowledgeable about French history, food and wine! Team Champagne all the way! ...

The ride to and from Loire Valley is a bit long and exhausting but you get to see amazing castles and know more of France's nobility and history. The cheateaus we visited were amazing -- each one got better and better and tastings were great!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

lorraine a w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

NIce trip to the loire valley. Comfortable bus.About a 13 hour day,
Gives you a taste of the loire valley and an overview of the area you might want to visit on your own with a car.It was a nice day trip out of paris.The guide was very helpful and gave a nice history of the area and the chateaux.
Was disappointed for the price they did not include lunch

Doing what: Loire Valley Castles Day Trip: Chambord, Cheverny and Chenonceau

Lisa L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Lovely tour, and our guide Violette was amazing. She kept everyone so engaged and enthralled. We were lucky to have gorgeous weather. Both castles are spectacular, but the lunch stop at Chateau de Nitray really made this trip. To see a working castle with a winery, and enjoy their lunch was lovely. And Hubert, the patron of this chateau was a hoot. After walking all over Paris for a few days, this break was perfect, and the Loire Valley hold such amazing history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Irene F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Castles, Loire Valley, Wine - what else can be said? It was perfect! The tour guides were very knowledgeable and shared fun facts about the history of the Loire Valley and the castles we visited. It was a great introduction to the beauty of this area!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Diana M N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was wonderful. Having lunch at Chenonceau is an unforgettable experience. The only thing I would change is visiting Amboise. I would switch it to a different more beautiful chateau. Out tour guide was wonderful and kept us entertained during the trip with the history behind the castles. I recommend this tour to anyone who hasn't been in the Loire Valley before.

Doing what: Loire Valley Castles Small Group Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message