While many Parisians leave town in the summer, the city and its environs rewards those who stay – and visitors also get to reap the rewards. A fine example of this is one of the best day trips from Paris, the Palace of Versailles. During the summer ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1449 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Perry T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Comfortable motor coach departs from central Paris behind Louvre, for a relatively short trip. Getting into, or out of Paris can take some time traffic. I went to three chateaus south of Paris which were unique, but Versailles was the most opulent, with the best grounds. Of course there is a lot more people to contend with, which detracts a little. The tour is on a tight schedule entering at a specific time. Tour guide was obviously knowledgeable. There was sufficient time for photos inside, and about an hour and a half outside before entering.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Raafat S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

the tour Guide was excellent

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

honeygirl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Herve was the best guide for this tour. He totally made the history of the palace very interesting and even sparked an interest to research it even further.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Sandra S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fabulous Tour! Our guide Pauline was a tremendous Palace Historian. We learned so much while being entertained with stories about the French people and the King Louis'.
Skip the Line is the only way to go. Wonderful experience.
The Salmons, Calif.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Elizabeth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Unfortunately we missed the tour but we spoke to the company and they were very helpful and kind in making sure we didnt lose the money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

kellyyi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Lots and lots of walking. Great guide

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Timothy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great tour. It's very crowded and the guide still managed to give us a great tour. Note that you will see the gardens for about 30 minutes at most. We left the tour at that point and did not take the tour bus back to Paris.
Instead we went down to the canal, rented bikes and rode around the Versaille gardens including visiting the Petit and Grand Trianons.
The tour guides tried to scare everyone off from doing this by saying it is a 45 minute walk to the trianons. That might be true but what they don't tell you is that there is a shuttle similar to the ones at Disney that you can take from the canal all the way to either Trianon.
You can also rent boats and row around the canal. There are several cafes down there with decent food of course not cheap prices but what do you expect.
Our time down in the gardens was well worth having to walk to the train station and find our own way back to Paris after we were done.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

jack j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The skip the line tickets aren't actually skip the line. It's move into the group queue and get in together. The rooms are ok. nothing spectacular except for the hall of mirrors. the grounds, which are not, for the most part, guided are incredible. you should spend 4 hours here at least. don't wait in line. but do the palace quickly and grab a golf cart and do the grounds. yes, they're that big.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Spring G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very happy with our tour. There was a mix up at first because we booked through Viator and we didn't get set up with the pick up in Paris and had to make our own way to Versailles. So, make sure you call and check where you are supposed to meet your guide well before the day of the trip. We took the metro and RER out and it was fine. When we got there, City Wonders offered us a place on the bus going back to Paris but we wanted to stay and see the Petit Trianon. Our guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. It was really interesting to hear all of the details and glad to have a guide through Versailles as it can be a bit crowded and overwhelming. I recommend going with a tour guide just to skip the lines as well as to have someone explain to you what you are looking at. I thought City Wonders did a great job and were super helpful. The gardens of course are the best part!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Tim m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We went to Versailles during a very busy time of year. The guided tour was the only way to get the most out of our time there. Our tour guide was excellent and we enjoyed it immensely!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Leticia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I love the fact that we did not have to satay and wait in the long lines. Our lady tour was very informative caring and kind. She gave us all a brake to rest and ask us if we were ok to continue walking with the tour. Sorry I don't remember her name.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

hargy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was wonderful and our guide, Violet, was great!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Hong Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I really liked our tour guide, she had a great sense of humor and was also friendly. Despite the interior of the castle being super crowded, our guide still captured our attention with her interesting facts and history lessons about the monarchs and Versailles. Would visit again! Definitely recommend booking ahead because this tour helps you skip the line FOR SURE. We waited less than 5 minutes, and entered through a reserved entrance. The rest of the crowd was in a long line under the sun.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

JoieNsk .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

ip the line and #34; really works: the lines are huge! And our wonderful guide Lilly (full name for Lilly was I believe Aurellie, but I am not sure I spell her full name correct) - she brought us to the palace in 5 minutes. They say people wait for several hours in line

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

andrew p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an excellent tour
The guide was very knowledgeable
She paced giving information well and ensured the group kept together
We got the best tour with the fountains fully working
This is a very large palace with extensive gardens and some special corners I will not spoil the effect of in this review

It would be easy to go back for several days to do the palace justice

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Melinda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour with the most fantastic tour guide by the name of Caroline. We loved both the palace tour and the gardens tour and were lucky to have all the fountains working. Caroline made the entire experience one of our best days in Paris. However, we were stranded at the end of the tour with 13 other people as the bus took off before we arrived. It took 1.5 hours of standing in the heat to organise transport back to our hotels. Caroline remainded with us until we were finally put into taxis

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Kent R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Definitely worth the money. Saved about 2 1/2 hours of line time. Unfortunately our tour guide wasn't great, but that was luck of the draw because there were a total of 6 guides for our group that day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Heart81461

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It's only a half hour train ride from Paris, so it is a definite must see for all people visiittng Paris! Tour is very well organized. They give you headsets so you can hear your guide clearly since it does get crowded in the palace. Tuesdays and Sundays are the busiest days so try to go another day. The fountains were running the day we were there, so that was an addded bonus!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Keith W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good tour. Having the pass to miss the lines made it very worthwhile. Really interesting tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Natalie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide was excellent and had a good balance of giving us the history and main points without overwhelming us. We aren and #39;t museum-type people and a half day was the perfect amount of time to get the full experience of the Versailles Palace. This was one of our favorite attractions around Paris.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

k8ehoek

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is an incredible tour. Book for early in the day to allow time to explore the gardens after your tour. LOVED this tour!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message