The city of Georgetown is known for its colonial heritage and old-world architecture, but travelers to this Penang destination will find a unique mix of Indian, Chinese and Muslim cultures along its European streets. Call to prayer rings out daily ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 119 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

eam1963

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our Guide was Philip. He greeted us so warmly and started the tour that became private as there was only two of us. Philip took us to the pier area and even bought us some wondertful local food. The reclining Buddah was spectacular and all the information regarding the culture and religion was shared beautifully. A wonderful tour and excellent guide. so worth doing. Kevin and Liz McHugh

Doing what: Penang City Tour

eam1963

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was Heric, very nice and informative gave us an overall understanding of the history of Georgetown. A good introduction to Penang.He was happy to let us walk around and see what we wanted. Recommended. Kevin and Liz McHugh

Doing what: Private Georgetown Sightseeing Tour

Laura C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Lawrence was the best guide! He was very informative and knowledgeable about Penang, and really nice! The tour was also very good.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

Robert O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Lawrence was an outstanding tour guide! The tour was a great value, and an excellent opportunity to quickly see the highlights of Penang. I would recommend this tour to anyone visiting the beautiful island.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

danielle g

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Our guide wasn't very good - more the type to send you off in the direction of something and wait for you in the car. The Cameron Highlands were good to see but you are sort of stranded at the resort which is lovely! as the town is a bit of hike away and more of a hike uphill back. We did actually get out at Karingsar which was good as the buildings were lovely. Overall it was worth doing as it was easier and cheaper than trying to cover the same ground yourself.

Doing what: 3-Night Cameron Highlands and Penang Tour from Kuala Lumpur

Pamela H

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

We were in port for the day from a cruise ship. It happened to be January 1st so there was lots of local activities. The streets were crowded with local parades, etc. and some of the sites to visit were closed. Our guide did her best to drive through the streets and show us what little we could see in the time we had considering the slow movement and crowds. It was hot!! Not a great day. I did not get a good impression of Penang and will not return. I can't blame our guide though. She did her best.

Doing what: Private Georgetown Sightseeing Tour

Cynthia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Driver both flexible and knowledgeable. A great combination!

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

Jenny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Penang Island Discovery Tour was a great way to see some wonderful sights on the outskirts on Penang. Phillip was a wonderful tour guide and went above and beyond to make the tour enjoyable and unforgettable. Really enjoyed seeing the large variety of snakes near the snake temple.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

Tracy M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Great to have someone show us around town and give a history of the place. Guide had excellent English and was very knowledgeable. Great way to see town in air-conditioned comfort.

Doing what: Penang City Tour

dimitrakis v

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

My Guide Tan was very knowledgable about the City and could provide detailed information about all the Sites we visited

Doing what: Penang City Tour

James F

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

We enjoyed our tour. We especially liked the tea plantation, butterfly gardens and the Kek Lok Si Temple. Some of the other sites, though nice, weren't great and seemed to mostly just break up the long drive. Our tour guide, Morgan, was excellent. He is very knowledgeable and gave us an excellent understanding of Malaysian culture and people. We very much enjoyed getting to know him. I had read horror stories about unsafe tour drivers in the Cameron Highlands. Morgan was an excellent, courteous and very safe driver. Bayview hotel had a nice pool and superb breakfast buffet. The Strawberry Park Resort was fully booked, so we stayed at the Heritage Hotel. Our room was spacious and comfortable and an easy walk from restaurants in the town.

Doing what: 3-Night Cameron Highlands and Penang Tour from Kuala Lumpur

Laura E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An incredible tour guide who was very knowledgeable, enthusiastic and accommodating! Tailored the tour to what we wanted to see and do and so friendly!

Doing what: Penang City Tour

Robert F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great trip. Very informative, interesting and well organised. Our guide, Arif, couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. Would recommend this trip to anyone who wants to get out and see the real Malaysia

Doing what: 7-Day Best of Malaysia: Cameron Highlands, Penang, Kota Bharu and Terengganu Tour Round-Trip from Kuala Lumpur

keith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great trip, Great hotels, Great food, Great company, GREAT GUIDE
Highly recommended to anyone wanting to see Malaysia

Doing what: 7-Day Best of Malaysia: Cameron Highlands, Penang, Kota Bharu and Terengganu Tour Round-Trip from Kuala Lumpur

Michelle H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The guide was very informative, helpful and friendly. Happy that we did this tour.

Doing what: Penang City Tour

George L

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

A good tour but not a lot to see that had a wow factor. Guide very good.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

Parvinder S

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Mr Phillips Chinese origin, guide and driver brought Camry to pick up us. A passionate lover of old Bollywood movies. Regaled us with his Hindi knowledge and sang well along with the CD oozing out old melodies. A nice trip through town and old bridge to ferry ride, loaded car in it took us on the other shore of river

Doing what: Penang Night Tour from Georgetown with Malacca Strait Ferry Ride

John W Y

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

A very good overview of Penang Island. Lawrence the guide is very knowledgeable about the island. I was the only person on this tour due to low season.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

John K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was excellent because our guide Francis was informative, knowledgeable, entertaining and interesting . In fact I would go as far as to say that with out him I would have only given this tour 3 stars.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

dat402

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

If your guide is Phillip your in for a happy trip all the way round. There wasn't a question he didn't answer, and he adapted the trip really well to cater for our needs. Its the best way to start a trip to Penang. As a solo traveller its the only tour I could get ! Tour companies need a fresh proach to solo travellers. There were three of is on this trip.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

Kendra B

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The Cameron Highlands were the highlight! Our guide Arif was very knowledgable and always smiling! Lots to see on the way to Penang.

Doing what: 3-Night Cameron Highlands and Penang Tour from Kuala Lumpur

karyn t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour took me back to my childhood when I lived on Penang. Tour Guide was excellent and the food at the Hawker stalls was a real eye opener. In a great way !!

Doing what: Penang Night Tour from Georgetown with Malacca Strait Ferry Ride

Prim F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

I get travel sick so was not good for me. A lot of time on the bus bad roads going uphill. 2 day option should be provided as well.Penang was quite boring with lots of traffic and beaches weren't nice.I'm at Langkawi now and wish I had not gone on that tour. Felt like a waste. Hotels all smelt musty

Doing what: 3-Night Cameron Highlands and Penang Tour from Kuala Lumpur

James G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide was wonderful and highly knowledgeable. The tour covered much of Georgetown and everything was very interesting. Highly recommended!!!

Doing what: Penang City Tour

Jill S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very interesting. Our guide spoke English extremely well and was very informative.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message