At the base of Muka Head Cape in Penang National Park is secluded Teluk Duyung, commonly know as Monkey Beach due to the long-tailed macaques that reside there. A sheltered cove it has flat, sandy seabed making it calm, tranquil and great for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 18 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

CIA Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was great. Lawrence out tour guide couldn't have been better, knowledgable, friendly and professional. Great train ride to Penang Hill and the temple was amazing. A must do when in Penang!

Doing what: Penang National Park Half-Day Trek

Derek M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

It might have been ok at half the price. Food was minimal and took over an hour and a half to cook. There was no drinks provided. The fishing trip was ok but we were catching guppies. Overall the experience was there but not for that price.

Doing what: Monkey Beach Excursion including BBQ Lunch from Penang

ALESSIO F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Absolutely amazing! The guide was very good and the park is awesome! The pick up service was perfect too! Must try!

Doing what: Penang National Park Half-Day Trek

Sharron G

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Overall guide good and beautiful scenery, bit disappointed the swing bridge was out of action.

Doing what: Penang National Park Half-Day Trek

Jenny C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This was a great tour, we very much enjoyed fishing with the guide and his friends. It was a beautiful day and the views were breathtaking. We saw some sea eagles up close, sea otters, and then were dropped off at Monkey beach for a superb BBQ lunch, surrounded by the monkeys and a hungry monitor lizard. The food was great. We had a variety of food: prawns, satay, sausages, chops, chicken, and a simple salad, followed by fresh fruit. The weather was just right for a dip in the ocean (at the beach) too. Overall a very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Monkey Beach Excursion including BBQ Lunch from Penang

Becca

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The beach is dirty but aside from that it was a great experience getting the boat over. We stopped to fish which was rather exotic with eagles soaring down nearby! The lunch was nice and the monkeys were fun.

Doing what: Monkey Beach Excursion including BBQ Lunch from Penang

Jackie Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Even though I had to call as we weren't picked up at alotted time all worked out well. We fished with hand lines for about an hour for going onto the beach. Monkey's are very friendly and the bbq lunch was excellent.

Doing what: Monkey Beach Excursion including BBQ Lunch from Penang

audi2111

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

We were picked up from the hotel and taken to the lobby of another hotel. We were then taken to the beach and dropped off without telling us what to do, except "wait for boat here". After 45mins of waiting i called the tour company and told them what had happened, at which point a boat appeared. We were the only 2(plus 2 yr old daughter) on the tour, and the tour guide (boat driver) was lovely. We spent 30 mins fishing and caught 5 fish. We then went to the beach and relaxed there while a BBQ was prepared for us. The food was plentiful and tasty. The tour took a total of 6 hours and was definitely worth it.

Doing what: Monkey Beach Excursion including BBQ Lunch from Penang

Chia Hau T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

def worth doing, very relaxing! not much to do except swim & laze around in hammock, some guys there also had jetski's which we took out for 15mins for around 100MYR for the 2 of us. boatman was friendly, huge yummy bbq lunch, a day well enjoyed. didn't see any monkeys tho!

Doing what: Monkey Beach Excursion including BBQ Lunch from Penang

Patsy R Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Monkey beach was great as we were the only 2 on the boat. Was a great private tour. The fishing was great, we didnt have to bait or touch the fish, he did it all. The chef was great, he cooked a great bbq meal, just dont expect anything too flash and drinks are not included. He offered us drinks and then when we got off the boat he gave us a bill, lucky we had money with us. But overall would definitely do again

Doing what: Monkey Beach Excursion including BBQ Lunch from Penang

Mark C Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2010

This was disgusting, I do not recommend any Aussies who are use to clean beaches to do this trip. The litter on the beach from different tour operators was horrific. The water was dirty, you wouldn't dare swim and there are jellyfish anyway. We were told we couldn't go for a walk in the jungle as it was dangerous and there was no guide. This is an absolute rip off for the money!! I spent my time picking up the rubbish on the beach. The toilet was a hole in the ground with no toilet paper.

Doing what: Monkey Beach Excursion including BBQ Lunch from Penang

Davin C Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

Fishing off Monkey Beach was great as was the BBQ lunch provided on Monkey Beach itself. Got to feed the monkeys after lunch.

Doing what: Monkey Beach Excursion including BBQ Lunch from Penang

Esther T United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

This was really good. The fishing on the boat was fun, the barbecue was excellent, the tour guides were excellent and funny, and we saw loads of monkeys and fed them.

Doing what: Monkey Beach Excursion including BBQ Lunch from Penang

Esther T United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

This was amazing, lovely people and great scenery. And the BBQ was brill.

Doing what: Monkey Beach Excursion including BBQ Lunch from Penang

CRAIG W Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2009

Nice day out & our tour operators were young men who did a wonderful job cooking our lunch. We bought a fresh coconut from a local and drunk the coconut milk. The monkeys were tame but not very friendly. One gentleman from our tour had his book taken by a monkey but it dropped it again, so be careful of any loose items.

Doing what: Monkey Beach Excursion including BBQ Lunch from Penang

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This trip was so much fun. We had a great time fishing and Monkey Beach was lovely. Our guide was great, very friendly and fun.

Doing what: Monkey Beach Excursion including BBQ Lunch from Penang

Debbie Anderson South Africa

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

This was a fairly nice outing. It's a pity the water is too dirty and had so many jelly fish, so we were unable to swim.

Doing what: Monkey Beach Excursion including BBQ Lunch from Penang

Simon G United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2008

Enjoyed the trip but it would have been better if we had a guide with us as the two gentleman who took us on the boat didn't speak English. However, they cooked us a nice lunch. They didn't show us where the monkeys were but a local peddler selling peanuts did and we enjoyed hand-feeding the monkeys. Very picturesque.

Doing what: Monkey Beach Excursion including BBQ Lunch from Penang

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message