Once known as Betel Nut Island, Penang has been a melting pot of traders and artisans since the British East India Company discovered the charms of this spice island back in 1786. A Malaysian state, Penang is on the north-west coast of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 220 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

sirius

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wasn't obvious where to meet the driver at the port but eventually found our driver Dave amongst the many taxi drivers milling around. With that adventure over, we began our tour. Have to say that in summary, the day was excellent with a wide variety of culture experiences. Our two teenage boys didn't find it as interesting and exciting as my wife and I initially but they too enjoyed the latter half of the tour, which included a behind the scenes experince with pewter, making your own dish.

From the Durien we tried and wont try again to the spices and fishing village experience,and the Batik factory were great culturally.

This tour was done at our pace with a very friendly and local driver in Dave in a comfortable mini bus.

Highly recommend. Can be customised. May have done the butterfly farm on review.

Highly rcommend - ask,for Dave too.

Doing what: Private Penang City Sightseeing Tour

jagnew00

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

If you are a first time visitor to Penang, as we were, this small group tour is the best introduction to the diverse food styles and flavours found particularly in the Georgetown area. We tasted, Malaysian, Indian and Chinese influenced dishes from lor bak to murtabak, noodles, soups and a cooling coconut milk dessert, plus delicious sweet PoPiah filled with crushed peanuts. Our guide Junie was very well informed about the food treasures of Penang. She considered other group members food preferences and sensitivities with care and diplomacy. My partner and I ate everything offered and were not disappointed! Junie guided us safely through the unpredictable traffic and some uneven pavements which was a real help. She shared her knowledge and enthusiasm generously. This is an unmissable experience. Don't eat breakfast if you are on a morning tour!

Doing what: A Taste of Penang: Small Group Food Tour

Erna C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing! Our guide, Lawrence, was absolutely fantastic! He was on time, friendly and very informative. The information given in an interesting way and we were his 1st priority. Sites visited interesting and jaw dropping. Even took us for coffee tasting - delightful outing...not to be missed!

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Laura C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Lawrence was the best guide! He was very informative and knowledgeable about Penang, and really nice! The tour was also very good.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

Laura C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Lawrence was the best tour guide! He was very nice, knowledge and accommodating. The Temple and the Penang Hill funicular train ride were amazing!

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Richard G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great guide. Interesting tour. Good value. Great way to get an overview of the older part of town. Easy to book online and they confirmed the day of the tour they called our hotel room. No hesitation in recommending.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Theresa H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is such a terrific tour. A definite must do while in Penang. My tour guide, Moye, sp? was highly knowledgeable and VERY professional. He was as interesting as the tour. I will use this company again when I book my next tour. Keeping my fingers crossed that I get the same guide. So wonderful!

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Keith D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

knowledgeable and helpful - thank you

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

PEK U I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My first time in Penang! Joined this tour and met an Australian girl who was also travelling Penang on her own. Our guide and driver, Mr. Lawrence, is very knowledgeable anout this city. He's also very friendly. No delay for picking up guests. This is what I appreciated most!

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Robert O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Lawrence was an outstanding tour guide! The tour was a great value, and an excellent opportunity to quickly see the highlights of Penang. I would recommend this tour to anyone visiting the beautiful island.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

annabelle.hui

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

i enjoyed the tour very much. Definately worth the money spend!

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Thomas P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The day of our tour it was just my wife and I and our outstanding guide, Junne, was waiting for us upon arrival. She spoke perfect English and took us through a wide range of activities until we could not eat or walk any further. Not only was she super knowledgeable about the fact of and restaurants of Penang but she gave us terrific tips about where to go and what to do on the island.mi could not recommend the tour higher. Sorry if I misspelled our guides name, her business card is safely filed away in my suitcase to recommend to my friends and clients.

Doing what: A Taste of Penang: Small Group Food Tour

Paul M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent day with a very knowledgeable guide

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

karenalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Highly recommend this trip. Great views of Penang when you go up Penang Hill. The temple is amazing so much to see,
My tour guide Philip was fantastic he came on time and was so knowledgeable. I even booked with him for a private tour the next day. I would highly recommend him and this tour.
A must see in Penang.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

ALESSIO F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Absolutely amazing! The guide was very good and the park is awesome! The pick up service was perfect too! Must try!

Doing what: Penang National Park Half-Day Trek

Sharron G

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Overall guide good and beautiful scenery, bit disappointed the swing bridge was out of action.

Doing what: Penang National Park Half-Day Trek

Jacklyn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Came back on Last Saturday and I had no regrets in choosing the tour package by Viator..and the tour agency whu had arranged dis tour guide for me was superb n I really liked his explanation..Very detailed.thevwhole trip was a great experience and an eye-opener for me .

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

rosemary m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

we were met by our guide and Driver Philip, he embarked on a ver fine tour, which included the reclining Budha, botanical gardens, a tip round Georgetown, showing us the murals, the Eastern Peninsula hotel, Suffolk house and little India. He the took us to the Chew jetty where we had free time and did some shopping.
As we have found Phillip spoke exceptional English was very well informed and wonderfully informative. All in all a very good tour and experience

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

andrew t

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Very friendly, informative guide. Great views of Penang. Well worth doing this tour.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Cynthia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Driver both flexible and knowledgeable. A great combination!

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

Rebecca J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour is a must do. Our tour guide Philip was amazing, he was very knowledgeable, answered all of our questions. Talked in depth to us about each place and then let us go off and explore. He didn't once rush us and even took us to a pewter factory and a tea, chocolate and coffee tasting tour at the end of the trip. It was fabulous but also very bad as we brought as much coffee as we could fit in our case. Philip also has lots of recommendations for things to do and places to eat, all of which we did. This trip made our time in Penang! Thank you Philip

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Jenny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Penang Island Discovery Tour was a great way to see some wonderful sights on the outskirts on Penang. Phillip was a wonderful tour guide and went above and beyond to make the tour enjoyable and unforgettable. Really enjoyed seeing the large variety of snakes near the snake temple.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

Jenny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Highly enjoyed this tour. Kek lok si is a must see temple and the grounds were absolutely beautiful. Penang Hill was amazing and loved seeing so many monkeys at the top of the hill. Highly recommend Phillip as your tour guide. He was extremely friendly and funny and taught me so much about Penang in just a few hours.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

M M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The trip was great and the guide very knowledgeable. As a woman by myself for the afternoon I really appreciated being picked up from my hotel and I felt comfortable with my guide and it was a wonderful opportunity for me. Many thanks

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Tracy M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Great to have someone show us around town and give a history of the place. Guide had excellent English and was very knowledgeable. Great way to see town in air-conditioned comfort.

Doing what: Penang City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message