Once known as Betel Nut Island, Penang has been a melting pot of traders and artisans since the British East India Company discovered the charms of this spice island back in 1786. A Malaysian state, Penang is on the north-west coast of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 229 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

CIA Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was great. Lawrence out tour guide couldn't have been better, knowledgable, friendly and professional. Great train ride to Penang Hill and the temple was amazing. A must do when in Penang!

Doing what: Penang National Park Half-Day Trek

CIA Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was great. Lawrence out tour guide couldn't have been better, knowledgable, friendly and professional. Great train ride to Penang Hill and the temple was amazing. A must do when in Penang!

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

CIA Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Great to be up close to these amazing animals. We met a teacher with a school group who were super friendly and took pic's of us with the kids.Good day out

Doing what: Private Tour: Orangutan Island, Taiping Zoo and Perak Museum from Penang

ronjudy.rooks

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

I was not well so the tour dragged. The guide was good and under normal circumstances I would have enjoyed it.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

Carol B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide Lawrence was excellent.His knowledge was brilliant before we even got to the temple and Penang Hill. We had commentary all the way from our pick up to the end of the tour. He was friendly and informative and the trip was excellent.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Derek M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

It might have been ok at half the price. Food was minimal and took over an hour and a half to cook. There was no drinks provided. The fishing trip was ok but we were catching guppies. Overall the experience was there but not for that price.

Doing what: Monkey Beach Excursion including BBQ Lunch from Penang

Thomas P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My experience on this tour was highly enjoyable. The tour guide, Lawrence, was very knowledgeable, not only about the temple and penang hill, but on various buildings in Georgetown on the drive to the temple. Views from penang hill are spectacular. One down side to the trip was that tour bus didn't pick me up from my hotel, I had to get my own transport to a pick up point.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

eam1963

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was Philip and was wonderful,picked up on time and adjusted our tour as there was only two of us. we visited Penang Hill first The train ride was fantastic and the view to die for, a very clear day. We even had time for High Tea, and a whole heap of photos were taken by Philip for us. He then took us to the temple and was so informative. There was nothing that he wouldn't do for us. An amazing tour and afternoon. kevin and Liz McHugh

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

eam1963

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our Guide was Philip. He greeted us so warmly and started the tour that became private as there was only two of us. Philip took us to the pier area and even bought us some wondertful local food. The reclining Buddah was spectacular and all the information regarding the culture and religion was shared beautifully. A wonderful tour and excellent guide. so worth doing. Kevin and Liz McHugh

Doing what: Penang City Tour

sirius

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wasn't obvious where to meet the driver at the port but eventually found our driver Dave amongst the many taxi drivers milling around. With that adventure over, we began our tour. Have to say that in summary, the day was excellent with a wide variety of culture experiences. Our two teenage boys didn't find it as interesting and exciting as my wife and I initially but they too enjoyed the latter half of the tour, which included a behind the scenes experince with pewter, making your own dish.

From the Durien we tried and wont try again to the spices and fishing village experience,and the Batik factory were great culturally.

This tour was done at our pace with a very friendly and local driver in Dave in a comfortable mini bus.

Highly recommend. Can be customised. May have done the butterfly farm on review.

Highly rcommend - ask,for Dave too.

Doing what: Private Penang City Sightseeing Tour

jagnew00

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

If you are a first time visitor to Penang, as we were, this small group tour is the best introduction to the diverse food styles and flavours found particularly in the Georgetown area. We tasted, Malaysian, Indian and Chinese influenced dishes from lor bak to murtabak, noodles, soups and a cooling coconut milk dessert, plus delicious sweet PoPiah filled with crushed peanuts. Our guide Junie was very well informed about the food treasures of Penang. She considered other group members food preferences and sensitivities with care and diplomacy. My partner and I ate everything offered and were not disappointed! Junie guided us safely through the unpredictable traffic and some uneven pavements which was a real help. She shared her knowledge and enthusiasm generously. This is an unmissable experience. Don't eat breakfast if you are on a morning tour!

Doing what: A Taste of Penang: Small Group Food Tour

Erna C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing! Our guide, Lawrence, was absolutely fantastic! He was on time, friendly and very informative. The information given in an interesting way and we were his 1st priority. Sites visited interesting and jaw dropping. Even took us for coffee tasting - delightful outing...not to be missed!

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Laura C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Lawrence was the best guide! He was very informative and knowledgeable about Penang, and really nice! The tour was also very good.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

Laura C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Lawrence was the best tour guide! He was very nice, knowledge and accommodating. The Temple and the Penang Hill funicular train ride were amazing!

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Richard G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great guide. Interesting tour. Good value. Great way to get an overview of the older part of town. Easy to book online and they confirmed the day of the tour they called our hotel room. No hesitation in recommending.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Theresa H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is such a terrific tour. A definite must do while in Penang. My tour guide, Moye, sp? was highly knowledgeable and VERY professional. He was as interesting as the tour. I will use this company again when I book my next tour. Keeping my fingers crossed that I get the same guide. So wonderful!

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Keith D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

knowledgeable and helpful - thank you

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

PEK U I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My first time in Penang! Joined this tour and met an Australian girl who was also travelling Penang on her own. Our guide and driver, Mr. Lawrence, is very knowledgeable anout this city. He's also very friendly. No delay for picking up guests. This is what I appreciated most!

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Robert O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Lawrence was an outstanding tour guide! The tour was a great value, and an excellent opportunity to quickly see the highlights of Penang. I would recommend this tour to anyone visiting the beautiful island.

Doing what: Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour

annabelle.hui

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

i enjoyed the tour very much. Definately worth the money spend!

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

Thomas P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The day of our tour it was just my wife and I and our outstanding guide, Junne, was waiting for us upon arrival. She spoke perfect English and took us through a wide range of activities until we could not eat or walk any further. Not only was she super knowledgeable about the fact of and restaurants of Penang but she gave us terrific tips about where to go and what to do on the island.mi could not recommend the tour higher. Sorry if I misspelled our guides name, her business card is safely filed away in my suitcase to recommend to my friends and clients.

Doing what: A Taste of Penang: Small Group Food Tour

Paul M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent day with a very knowledgeable guide

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

karenalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Highly recommend this trip. Great views of Penang when you go up Penang Hill. The temple is amazing so much to see,
My tour guide Philip was fantastic he came on time and was so knowledgeable. I even booked with him for a private tour the next day. I would highly recommend him and this tour.
A must see in Penang.

Doing what: Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour

ALESSIO F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Absolutely amazing! The guide was very good and the park is awesome! The pick up service was perfect too! Must try!

Doing what: Penang National Park Half-Day Trek

Sharron G

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Overall guide good and beautiful scenery, bit disappointed the swing bridge was out of action.

Doing what: Penang National Park Half-Day Trek

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message