While Philadelphia covers a huge area, here’s a manageable selection of the Pennsylvanian capital’s central attractions. Day 1: Historic highlights Your visit begins where the United States began, in the historic core of Philadelphia’s Old ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 272 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Valeriya P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour was great! Very knowledgeable and entertaining guide! Will recommend it to friends and family!

Doing what: Constitutional Walking Tour of Philadelphia

Daniel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I would recommend this tour. It's very educational and entertaining and Travis was an awesome tour guide. The only mishap, which was of no fault to the tour guides was it began to rain during the tour which I guess you could say added spookiness to the tour, but being cold was no fun!

Doing what: Haunted Philadelphia: Spirits of '76 Ghost Tour

jcaplet123

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Very informative tour of the Philadelphia historic district. Tour guide was very knowledgeable and provided great history of the neighborhood as well as the more famous landmarks. Great value for the price.

Doing what: Founding Fathers Tour of Philadelphia

mlehane

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Our tour guide, Joshua, was really informative and we really enjoyed our tour. My favorite part was Elfreth's Alley. Federalist Architecture is very rare. My husband loved Independence Hall. We took the tour on the first day and it helped us navigate the city for the remainder of our stay.

Doing what: Founding Fathers Tour of Philadelphia

wendynunes

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Ben, our tour guide, was fantastic and his enthusiasm was infectious! We loved walking around and getting a feel of old town. Elfreth's Alley was a treat! The only reason it was not a perfect tour was that we did not get to go inside Independence Hall or see the Liberty Bell close up. But in all fairness, the tour did not promise that. The beer with Ben and the other tour customers was also very special. Great time and money well spent!

Doing what: Founding Fathers Tour of Philadelphia

Cheryl K

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The tour was about what I expected. The park was very busy because it was Saturday and many people outside due to the nice weather.

Doing what: Constitutional Walking Tour of Philadelphia

paul c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide, Joshua Silver, was a very nice, polite and knowledgeable person. I learned many things concerning the historical facts about the history of Philadelphia. I would definitely recommend this tour and tour guide...

Doing what: Founding Fathers Tour of Philadelphia

Iris M. R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I could not make it. My car was misbehaving. Since I live about 1.5 hour from there, I did not dare to drive. Is there anyway I can have a rain-check for another day?
Minerva Rivera

Doing what: Founding Fathers Tour of Philadelphia

don c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

My family had an absolutely wonderful time with our guide, David!!
For a little over three hours, David provided great insight into our founding fathers, and the city of
Philadelphia. We learned so much and saw so much. I would highly recommend this tour as it is designed to provide a first hand look at our history in a small group setting filled with opportunity to ask questions and learn about our founding fathers. FANTASTIC

Doing what: Small-Group Historical Walking Tour of Colonial Philadelphia

don c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was great. It was so much more than just visiting three pubs and drinking local craft beer!!
Ben did an outstanding job of sharing the energy and history of Philadelphia. My family had an outstanding evening walking, laughing, drinking and learning. Great and fun experience...

Doing what: Philadelphia Happy Hour Pub Crawl

Susan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was an excellent way to get an overview of Philadelphia's historic area. I was worried when I saw the large size of our group but our guide made sure that we could all hear what she was saying. She had lots of interesting information and was very entertaining. You don't actually go in to see anything but get a quick look so that you can decide what is worth returning to later.

Doing what: Constitutional Walking Tour of Philadelphia

Pat F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Saw much of the history in philadelphia

Doing what: Founding Fathers Tour of Philadelphia

Pat F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was plain outstanding. My wife is not really a beer drinker but she completely enjoyed the tour. Jason, our tour guide was great and explained a lot of philly history. I recommend this to all.

Doing what: Philadelphia Happy Hour Pub Crawl

Cita

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was full of historical sites! Our guide was interesting and a great story teller. The group size was just right.

Doing what: Constitutional Walking Tour of Philadelphia

Sheila I

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Very informative. A good way to start getting to know the city and its history.

Doing what: Constitutional Walking Tour of Philadelphia

Dennis S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Service needs to pickup some.

Doing what: Philadelphia Dinner Cruise with Buffet

Vendetta

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

It a very informative tour

Doing what: Founding Fathers Tour of Philadelphia

Claudia H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We were a small group of 7. That was perfect! Our guide had a great way to talk about the history and the present time. I would book the tour again!

Doing what: Founding Fathers Tour of Philadelphia

Blair M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Good walking tour that takes you to the points of interest in Philadelphia. Maryanne the guide was friendly and informative. good job urban advenures.

Doing what: Founding Fathers Tour of Philadelphia

Laura S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

Our walking tour guide was Nina. there was only three of us on our tour. this was a total waste of time and money. She walked at a casual pace which was okay. She showed us some art work on a wall. But when it came time to historical things, she rushed us to the point of not being able to even take a picture. She kept rushing us and said that this tour was an overview and we could come back the next day to look at it better and take pictures. I guess she was merely a human map just showing us where things are. We went to Christ Church and had another guide who gave us a lot of interesting info. when we left the church she didnt even show us the cemetary that we found out had Benjamin Franklins grave

Doing what: Founding Fathers Tour of Philadelphia

Allison J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Well done! Very informative! Would recommend.

Doing what: Constitutional Walking Tour of Philadelphia

Maryland S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent way to see the area up close and you are able to come back to the sites you want to go into. Very good guide.

Doing what: Constitutional Walking Tour of Philadelphia

Roy C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide did a good job but needs to brush up on her history. The capital of the United States was not Philadelphia but New York City between the time the Constitution was signed and moving to DC.

Doing what: Constitutional Walking Tour of Philadelphia

Note from Viator: Thank you for your comments. We have heard from another customer concerning your review, as they are interested in American History, and wanted to correct the timeline you stated about the Capital of the United States. From their comments:

The capital was NY from 1789 to 1790, yes, but then it was in Philadelphia from 1790 to 1800 when it was moved to DC -- thus, the vast majority of that period was in Philly. This should be noted, as someone might hold this against the tour guide.

We felt this was an interesting note to leave to verify the accuracy of the Tour Guide's information. We have also found the following information on Wikipedia: Philadelphia was one of the nation's capitals in the Revolutionary War, and served as temporary U.S. capital while Washington, D.C., was under construction.

We do hope this information helps you, and helps future travelers in having confidence in the guide for this tour. Thank you again for your comments, and thank you to the customer who left their report for this review.

Amanda D

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour leader, Nina was very well informed, enthusiastic and fun. Would definitely recommend. Just be aware that the tour takes you to, but not into Independence Hall.

Doing what: Founding Fathers Tour of Philadelphia

pierce.pa

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Although the guide seemed to know the history of Philadelphia, it appeared that we simply used the back roads of the Independence Hall square mile to walk through the back streets. Next time we will not book a tour, but get our tickets early for Independence Hall, visit the Liberty Bell and other rooms on our own. For the price, we did not learn enough information.

Doing what: Founding Fathers Tour of Philadelphia

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message