While Philadelphia covers a huge area, here’s a manageable selection of the Pennsylvanian capital’s central attractions. Day 1: Historic highlights Your visit begins where the United States began, in the historic core of Philadelphia’s Old ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 297 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Allison J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Well done! Very informative! Would recommend.

Doing what: Constitutional Walking Tour of Philadelphia

linda z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide was well informed and entertaining. Also very responsive to questions and comments. Five stars plus

Doing what: Philadelphia Cemetery and Urban History Tour

Maryland S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent way to see the area up close and you are able to come back to the sites you want to go into. Very good guide.

Doing what: Constitutional Walking Tour of Philadelphia

Roy C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide did a good job but needs to brush up on her history. The capital of the United States was not Philadelphia but New York City between the time the Constitution was signed and moving to DC.

Doing what: Constitutional Walking Tour of Philadelphia

Note from Viator: Thank you for your comments. We have heard from another customer concerning your review, as they are interested in American History, and wanted to correct the timeline you stated about the Capital of the United States. From their comments:

The capital was NY from 1789 to 1790, yes, but then it was in Philadelphia from 1790 to 1800 when it was moved to DC -- thus, the vast majority of that period was in Philly. This should be noted, as someone might hold this against the tour guide.

We felt this was an interesting note to leave to verify the accuracy of the Tour Guide's information. We have also found the following information on Wikipedia: Philadelphia was one of the nation's capitals in the Revolutionary War, and served as temporary U.S. capital while Washington, D.C., was under construction.

We do hope this information helps you, and helps future travelers in having confidence in the guide for this tour. Thank you again for your comments, and thank you to the customer who left their report for this review.

Amanda D

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour leader, Nina was very well informed, enthusiastic and fun. Would definitely recommend. Just be aware that the tour takes you to, but not into Independence Hall.

Doing what: Founding Fathers Tour of Philadelphia

pierce.pa

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Although the guide seemed to know the history of Philadelphia, it appeared that we simply used the back roads of the Independence Hall square mile to walk through the back streets. Next time we will not book a tour, but get our tickets early for Independence Hall, visit the Liberty Bell and other rooms on our own. For the price, we did not learn enough information.

Doing what: Founding Fathers Tour of Philadelphia

Stacey K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Knowledgeable tour guide. Learned things I didn and #39;t know before.

Doing what: Founding Fathers Tour of Philadelphia

dfcarroll66

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Pub tour was fun, Kenny was great. History and beer all in good fun. Each pub had its own character and everyone had a great time.

Doing what: Philadelphia Happy Hour Pub Crawl

Greg R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very informative. Guide was extremely knowledgable.

Doing what: Constitutional Walking Tour of Philadelphia

Maday K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour. The tour guide knew the history and information very well. Really recommend this tour.

Doing what: Constitutional Walking Tour of Philadelphia

hannah w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

wonderful tour. guide was extremely knowledgeable.

Doing what: Constitutional Walking Tour of Philadelphia

Maxine D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We were pleased the tour went early as the heat was very uncomfortable later in the day. Our guide was well informed and spoke clearly so all could hear him. If your time is limited like ours was this is an excellent tour.

Doing what: Constitutional Walking Tour of Philadelphia

Francis C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was all we expected and more. The guide was very informative and open to questions from every guest. The route was easy to navigate and he even pointed out a few things that were not part of the tour that were of interest to the group. Even our 11 year old was able to share historical facts and information based on the contents of this tour. This is one that I would recommend even for folks that live in the immediate area.

Doing what: Constitutional Walking Tour of Philadelphia

staci.cunliffe

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great tour! My kids did this and enjoyed it immensely. True you don't go in anywhere but it orients you to what you will want to go back and spend more time seeing.

Doing what: Constitutional Walking Tour of Philadelphia

Susan B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The tour was good. Our guide knew his facts. We would also recommend the old city walking tour.

Doing what: Constitutional Walking Tour of Philadelphia

Steven S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Very good tour with lots of information. Would have been better if we went into the building with the liberty bell to take pictures.

Doing what: Constitutional Walking Tour of Philadelphia

Howard H

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

This provides a good two and a half hour overview of the historic district. I booked it thinking we would go into more of the places than we did. So if you want to see the Liberty Bell or Independence Hall from inside the exhibit, you need to take the free tours offered by the Park Service. The write-up for the tour could be clearer about this. Our tour guide, Alex, was very knowledgeable about the history and planning of the events that took place in this area. He could have been more attentive to the physical needs of some of the members of the tour. He had a tendency to move ahead too rapidly for some in our group. The one attraction that we went inside was Christ Church. Here the person who talked to us from the staff of the church was very knowledgeable and entertaining. It's a good tour, but you might want to investigate others before committing.

Doing what: Founding Fathers Tour of Philadelphia

Ninah R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Nina was a great tour guide! Very knowledgeable and fun to tour with. Would highly recommend and definitely go back for one of her tours

Doing what: Founding Fathers Tour of Philadelphia

Tara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide gave us so much information, on top of being really funny and engaging!

Doing what: Constitutional Walking Tour of Philadelphia

Yuriy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Constitutional Walking Tour of Philadelphia

Sharon G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Nina was phenomenal! Loved her connection with the city. It seemed like she was showing us something she loved and it made us love it, too!

Had a great time, met some really nice people, fell in love with the city!

Doing what: Founding Fathers Tour of Philadelphia

Amanda Kay M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had 2 great toyrs. Loved it.

Doing what: Founding Fathers Tour of Philadelphia

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The guide was very good and thorough

Doing what: Constitutional Walking Tour of Philadelphia

tgodwin77

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Founding Fathers Tour of Philadelphia

sshaw4425

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very informative and Tim was excellent guide

Doing what: Small-Group Historical Walking Tour of Colonial Philadelphia

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message