Phnom Penh ATTRACTIONS See all

Killing Fields of Choeung Ek

A trip to this historic spot just 15 kilometers south of Phnom Penh is not for the faint of heart. Known as The Killing fields, some one million Cambodians were murdered here by the Khmer Rouge between 1975 and 1979. Nearly 9,000 bodies have been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This is a top rate tour, and I highly recommend it. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and provided us with many details at the Genocide Museum and the Killing Fields. The price was reasonable considering we were picked up and dropped off at our hotel and transportation was provided to both sites. The only glitch was the bus was 45 minutes or more late picking us up in the morning from our hotel, apparently due to traffic. I suggest either making the start time later or sending the bus out earlier as we sat in the lobby for an hour waiting.

Doing what: Historical Phnom Penh Small-Group Tour, including Genocide Museum and Killing Fields

Susan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour is a MUST. I highly recommend you do it as soon as you arrive in Cambodia. It enables you to understand how and why the society runs as it is. The tour guide was fantastic, his knowledge was comprehensive. he was sensitive, caring and empathic. An extremely emotional tour, heart breaking but a must in today's political climate. If you only do one tour this is the one to do. Do not do the genocide museum or the killing fields without a guide.

Doing what: Historical Phnom Penh Small-Group Tour, including Genocide Museum and Killing Fields

Andrew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a fantastic tour and our guide Daro was superb. We visited the museum first and heard from genocide survivors about exactly what went on at S21. Our trip to the Killing Fields was similarly moving. Well recommended.

Doing what: Historical Phnom Penh Small-Group Tour, including Genocide Museum and Killing Fields

Rebecca G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We highly recommend this tour and our guide, Daro. Although it was a somber tour by nature, Daro did an excellent job. His explanations were clear and descriptive and he was helpful answering any questions we had. We liked that it was a smaller group for the Genocide Museum and the Killing Fields. We feel that it helped to put the rest of our travels of the beautiful country of Cambodia in perspective. We recommend this tour and our guide, Daro, if you are in Phnom Penh.

Doing what: Historical Phnom Penh Small-Group Tour, including Genocide Museum and Killing Fields

Susannah d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Extremely interesting. Great tour guide. Make sure you bring comfy trainers and lots of water. We went in rainy season which meant there are bones and clothing coming up at the killing fields, extremely harrowing. Not for the faint hearted but an important part of Cambodian history

Doing what: Historical Phnom Penh Small-Group Tour, including Genocide Museum and Killing Fields

Gary J H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Was picked up from my hotel with the guide coming to get me from reception. Modern mini bus with air con!! Straight away our guide who was a top class guy with loads of passion and knowledge started telling us all about cambodia and its history. The tour of the genocide museum should be taken by everyone who visits Phnom Penh. Killing Fields is ok - not as powerful as the museum but completes the picture and story so needs to be done.

Doing what: Historical Phnom Penh Small-Group Tour, including Genocide Museum and Killing Fields

Joel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a pretty hard hitting and macabre start to our Cambodian experience. This tour provides you with a pretty in depth understanding of the Pol Pot regime and the resulting genocide. Our tour guide was pretty in depth in his explanations throughout our visit to the Tuol Sleng Prison and the Killing Fields. I wouldn't recommend this for the feint of heart or young children. However, I couldn't fault the guide. Very thorough in the information he was giving. The remainder of the day was cheerier, with a great lunch being had at the NGO Training Restaurant for young Cambodians, where we got to try deep fried Tarantula. There is normal Cambodian cuisine available. The visit to the Silk farm was also quite educational and fun. The owners of the farm were great to talk to, they spoke English quite well and made us feel quite welcome in their home. The final part of the tour was good, however it was too cloudy to see a sunset. Overall a great way to spend the day in Phnom Penh.

Doing what: Phnom Penh Full-Day Small-Group City Tour

kevin m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

a brilliant half day out, my guide was brilliant, fist off all we were taken the the genocide museum, and given a guided tour, , after the tour we met the only two remaining survivors
after the museum we were taken the killing fields, again another guided tour , this tour helps you realise cambodian sad history, would recommend to do this tour while in phnom penh

Doing what: Historical Phnom Penh Small-Group Tour, including Genocide Museum and Killing Fields

Kyna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Daro was excellent. Was helpful and knowledgable. Museum was grim and the Killing Fields grimmer. Bones under your feet as them had come up during rainy season. Must see for anyone coming to Cambodia first time.

Doing what: Historical Phnom Penh Small-Group Tour, including Genocide Museum and Killing Fields

dannipee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

It's seriously harrowing, with bones still rising up along the footpaths after heavy rains at the killing fields. Which is well laid out with a trail that's followed with further explanations given by the guide. There was no need for the signs for quiet. Shoes off at the monument. Then onto S21, the genocide museum. The horrors that happened here make it a wonder that amnesty was given to the torturers....again hardly the need for no smiling signs. Two survivors were there, and happy to have photos taken with you. How those 4/5 kids even survived is a miracle, as no one else did. No escapes from those walls....which once was a school. Our guide bought us a coconut for juice when we left. It s a tour not to be missed, but beware it is haunting

Doing what: Historical Phnom Penh Small-Group Tour, including Genocide Museum and Killing Fields

Marina R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

If I could give 10 stars I would. The trip to the Genocide Museum and Killing Fields was an amazing if heart wrenching experience. I knew nothing about the events that unfolded under the Khmer Rouge before visiting. The tour guide was brilliant, he really knew his stuff and gave us a very in depth history of the tragic events that happened under the Khmer Rouge. On the day, the last two survivors of the S-21 Detention Centre were there at the museum, which made it even more 'real' knowing that what happened was still in living memory and I bought their biographies and had photos with them. The Killing Fields were grim but a fitting tribute to those who lost their lives. Overall, a fantastic tour.

Doing what: Historical Phnom Penh Small-Group Tour, including Genocide Museum and Killing Fields

wayne w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We went on this tour which was just over four hours and had a terrific guide who spoke English very well and was extremely knowledgeable about the history of the prison and the killing fields. We got picked up from our hotel and travelled in a comfortable air conditioned vehicle.

We visited the Choeung Ek (S21 Prison) first before going out to the Killing Fields. To fully understand what actually happened under the Khmer Rouges regime you should do the prison first.

My husband, my two teenage daughters and I found it difficult coming to terms with the visual atrocities that happened to the lovely people of Cambodia, and I personally needed to move out of the tour group every now and then to compose myself. However, no matter how startling or disturbing it is, everyone who visits Cambodia should visit here to truly understand the horrific history of Cambodia.

At the Genocide Museum, we were fortunate enough to also meet Bou Meng and Chum Mey the last two survivors of S21 Prison. A truly humbling experience.

This was a powerful and harrowing tour which has given us memories that will stay with us forever.

Doing what: Historical Phnom Penh Small-Group Tour, including Genocide Museum and Killing Fields

Luke H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was the most moving moments I have had. The killing fields feel very touristy but the school is just as it should be. Though I disagree with the shop on the premises I understand why it is there. Being a school teacher myself and having worked in a similar place it was a very emotional experience

Doing what: Historical Phnom Penh Small-Group Tour, including Genocide Museum and Killing Fields

Steven K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My partner and I really enjoyed this tour.
We had to leave early and we were. Accommodated, we had a hotel change at 2300hrs the night before and we're able to change pickup location no problems.

We had a personal tour guide who was incredibly passionate about what he was saying, and was clear with his English, but we did have to pay very close attention to hear word for word. He kept buying us snacks and coconuts to drink. I forgot my wallet and he offered to buy the survivors book for me.

The tour is a must do for anyone and really eye opening. Everyone has their own personal experience. Mine was strange. The fields are so peaceful and there is a really good energy, despite the fact that you literally are walking on human bones. I just didn't know how to feel, which made me feel like a bad person.

5 star tour that you'll never forget!

Doing what: Historical Phnom Penh Small-Group Tour, including Genocide Museum and Killing Fields

Diane V S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Our guide picked us up bang on time. We were the only two on the tour so had personal service. The guide's knowledge of his subject was excellent. He told us with passion about the horrors of the genocide museum and the killing fields. The highlight on the tour was being introduced to the two survivors of the prison S21, the artist and the mechanic can't remember their names. Despite the sadness of the places I feel it is something we should all learn about.

Doing what: Historical Phnom Penh Small-Group Tour, including Genocide Museum and Killing Fields

Kenneth K

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The private guide to my small group of travelers was knowledgeable, and his narration on site at the Detention Camp and Killing Fields was like a open history class....memorable and masterful.

Doing what: Historical Phnom Penh Small-Group Tour, including Genocide Museum and Killing Fields

MR JAN Z

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Chakeya was a very sensitive guide during my sole visit of the tour to the Genocide Museum and Killing Fields in Phnom Penh and I empathise with her having visited Auschwitz and Birkenau in Poland both privately and as a tour leader. My late parents were taken by the Nazis to the labour camps during World War II and often spoke to me of their ordeals. Fortunately they were spared the atrocities of the concentration camps which were on a par with those used by the Khmer Rouge – similar in the keeping of meticulous records, different in the means of execution. Poignant was my meeting with the two remaining survivors to whom I was introduced by Chakeya. May God forbid that such things happen again. At the same time I feel it is important that visitors to Cambodia go there to pay their respects to the people who died and I recommend Chakeya very highly as a guide.

Doing what: Historical Phnom Penh Small-Group Tour, including Genocide Museum and Killing Fields

Lea S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Very interesting tour! We booked small-group tour but eventually there were only two of us. Guide spoke good English and knew much about history. We met two old gentlemen who both survive from S 21 it was the most touching moment in the prison part. Scenery around Killing Fields is very beautiful and peaceful so it is even harder to think how terrible things happened there. Traffic in Cambodia is pretty chaotic but at least our driver drove safely. There was only one negative thing: tour lasted 4.5 hours which was far too short (to me).

Doing what: Historical Phnom Penh Small-Group Tour, including Genocide Museum and Killing Fields

TRUDI T

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

The tour was very emotional but feel it needs to be included as part of anyones holiday to Cambodia just to realise what the people have been through and to admire how the country and people are rebuilding their lives. They picked us up on time from the hotel. We went to the musuem first and the tour guide was excellent. Very well explained and alot of knowledge. It was done at a good pace. Then moved onto the killing fields and again was very impressed with the tour guide and they way he explained what had happened there, Would thoroughly recommend this tour but do something happy afterwards. Back at hotel by lunch time.

Doing what: Historical Phnom Penh Small-Group Tour, including Genocide Museum and Killing Fields

Desmond T

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Old high school then a prison was very interesting but you could do it on your own a lot cheaper than this tour. The Killing Fields as such are probably not worth bothering to see as the most information is at the school/jail. Do it yourself.

Doing what: Historical Phnom Penh Small-Group Tour, including Genocide Museum and Killing Fields

Tracey H

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Too much chatter by the guide - I would have preferred to get the key information when outside the Museum, opportunity to ask questions if I wanted further information, and then just being able to walk respectfully and quietly through the museum myself. Fortunately at the Killing Fields we were able to do this because you are required to be quiet there.

Doing what: Historical Phnom Penh Small-Group Tour, including Genocide Museum and Killing Fields

Bethany L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

The bus, while air conditioned, is small and cramped when full. The real services provided were: transportation, a documentary playing between stops, expedited ticket/audio tour pick-up, and a bottle of water. The Killing Fields are a fair distance 15km from the center of the city, but we could have had a fair tuk tuk or taxi driver take us there for the same price as one of our tickets for this bus tour. Also, I'm confused as to why I paid 30 online... when two people were supposed to cost only 25. I saw this when I filled out our names on the bus...

Doing what: Phnom Penh Hop On Hop Off

prima.castelino

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

The guide was good but not great. Didn't like the second part of the tour it is a waste of time. we werent even offered complimentary water even though we have to pay a lot for the trip.
It is better to get the audio guides for the killing fields and the museum. Not worth paying for this tour. Very disappointing.

Doing what: Phnom Penh Full-Day Small-Group City Tour

Dean R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

This was a good tour of the S-21 prison and the killing fields. Guide was knowledgable and shared information related to our visits. I had expected a broader City Tour as noted in the brochure. I thought we'd actually visit the palace and silver pagoda OK, I visited by foot the next day. The Silk Island visit was somewhat dissapointing the temple we visted was mostly deserted and quite run down. The silk factory visit was enjoyable. There was little narrative on the sunset cruise which ended about an hour before sunset so that also a bit dissappointing. I'd suggest booking the S21 and killing fields tour only and avoid the silk island and sunset cruise. I've had great Urban Adventure tours many times this my first dissapointment.

Doing what: Phnom Penh Full-Day Small-Group City Tour

clairehanlon.ch

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

There was nothing really wrong with the tour ... Bar feeling rushed through s21 and the killing fields. But I don't think it was worth the money, you can get a tuk tuk for a fraction of the price ( he'll probably be able to tell you info too), you won't be rushed, can get headsets in killing fields

Doing what: Historical Phnom Penh Small-Group Tour, including Genocide Museum and Killing Fields

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message