Apache Trail is a 120 mile (193km) historic road that connects Apache Junction (the east edge of the Phoenix metropolitan area) to Theodore Roosevelt Lake. Although the trail’s official name today is “State Route 88”, it adopted the name “Apache ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 68 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Linda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is a must trip for anyone traveling to Phoenix. Our guide David had a great knowledge of the Apache Trail, Superstition Mountain and the lore surrounding the area. The boat ride on Canyon Lake was spectacular. We were lucky enough to see bald eagles and mountain goats.

Doing what: Apache Trail Day Tour from Phoenix

tmp

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

What an amazing trip and beautiful trip! Our driver/guide, Mike Rodriguez, knew the area and everything to see. Everyone should be so lucky to have Mike show them this beautiful area. From Apache Junction, Tortilla Flats to Canyon Lake this is a must see!

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

Jim K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The tour was a good spend of a day. Mike was very informative and made our trip!!

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

William I

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

It was strange. Mike was friendly enough. We were the only couple on the tour. It was basically a ride to the Dolly Steamboat Cruise. We stopped for a nature walk, and snacks. There were parts of the tour route that were closed that seemed to surprise our guide. He also moved up our cruise because there was not enough to fill up the time before our original tour time. He seemed to make it up as he went along. Save yourself some money and just drive to the Dolly Steamboat cruise. The Canyon Lake Cruise was very good.

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

Russell M

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

KENNETH S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was packed with so many things to see I can't believe we fit it all in one day. The tour is a all day trip. There are many interesting stops along the Apache Trail. We visited a old town that was just like being back in the old west. The Canyon Lake Riverboat ride was beautiful. I enjoyed every minute of the tour. This is a must see.

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

pgall51074 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The steamboat Captain was very imformative. We really enjoyed the view and history of the Lake and mountains. We would do it again.

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

Sam M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour and excellent tour guide! Highly recommended!!!

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

Marie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide was terrific!

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

Bryan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a very nice and informative cruise. The captain and his deck hands were so nice and they provided assistance to see the sights and animals. Well worth the cost of the cruise and I would take it again.

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

julie a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent trip! Wayne our travel guide was fantastic and very knowledgeable of the history of the area.

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

strandjeane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wayne was our guide from pick up at the hotel to drop off. He is an amazing guide! So friendly, knowledge and funny!! We had a wonderful day. Lunch was at Tortilla Flats, very good food and a fun place to see!!! We loved the entire tour!!! Highly recommend this tour!!!

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

Jorge L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The experience was very enlightening. The tour guide was exceptional as he knew the area as if he lived there his whole life. He was very pleasant to be around and very helpful with my handicap.

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

Richard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly recommend this tour! The instructor was so knowledgeable about absolutely everything, from the history of the area to the native plants and animals. Really enjoyed the ghost town and the boat tour, however they could have skipped the first stop (movie set) in my opinion.

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

Thomas D

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

I was expecting more. Lot of driving and a lot less sightseeing.

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

Lannette Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This trip was absolutely amazing, will definitely be booking thru this company again.

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

Alexandru M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was great. The guide gave us all kind of interesting information and answered our questions.
The actual cruise was nice but having binoculars would have made it great.
The stop at Tortilla Flat where we had lunch was a high point.
Highly recommended tour.

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

Colette R K

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The tour guide was great. The tour van was terrible! I've never heard a vehicle rattle that much. It was really a substandard vehicle. My son had to move to the front seat because the noise in the back was giving him a headache.

Doing what: Apache Trail Day Tour from Phoenix

Lawrence M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a great trip. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable which made the tour so interesting and fun.

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

Michael G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Wayne was a great tour guide! Knew his stuff. Do a lot of traveling with Tauck Tours 5 stars and he could work for them!
Mike and Mary Ann
Chicago

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

Laurie D

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

This is an excellent tour and our driver, Paul, was full of information and stories that brought the area to life. The trip also includes an hour and a half ride on the paddle boat, Dolly, on Canyon Lake. I would give the tour 5 stars except that the pickup time was more than 2 hours later than advertised, and the day felt rushed. For example we were served lunch just 3 or 4 minutes before we were supposed to board the paddle boat. Otherwise we learned a lot about the history and geography of the area and really enjoyed a short walk with Paul as he explained the different types of cactus and desert plants.

Doing what: Apache Trail Day Tour from Phoenix

John T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

My husband and I really enjoyed this tour. There were only 4 in the group and Wayne our tour guide was a very personable guide. He kept the tour relaxed and informative. Thank you Wayne!!

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

Carol Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

awesome trip. We took our 9 year grandson and we were amazed how much he enjoyed it. Thanks to Jason M. our tour guide, for taking the time to answer his questions and for making sure to include him in conversations. We originally planned on driving ourselves but after seeing the road, we were glad to leave the driving to the tour operator. The excursion on the Dolly paddle boat up the canyon was a truly a magical experience dinosaur fossils, and petrified logs, oh my! Kids from about 8 to 12 or so are perfect companions on this tour.

Doing what: Apache Trail Day Tour from Phoenix

Attilio S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was excellent. They picked us up right at the lobby of the hotel and the tour guide was amazing. Not only did he talk about Apache trail but he also told of the history of Phoenix. Additionally, the boat ride was wonderful and relaxing. Saw some Bald Eagles during the trip.. Great Time

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

Janice R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was great and lots of fun. We went with Arizona Tour and Travel and our guide was Wayne who was great. He allowed us some flexibility and we were able to get some shopping done and had our lunch in Tortilla Flat. Also, the steamboat cruise was great. Canyon Lake is beautiful, and we saw big horn sheep and a bald eagle.

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message