Apache Trail is a 120 mile (193km) historic road that connects Apache Junction (the east edge of the Phoenix metropolitan area) to Theodore Roosevelt Lake. Although the trail’s official name today is “State Route 88”, it adopted the name “Apache ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 62 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

pgall51074 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The steamboat Captain was very imformative. We really enjoyed the view and history of the Lake and mountains. We would do it again.

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

Sam M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour and excellent tour guide! Highly recommended!!!

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

Marie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide was terrific!

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

Bryan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a very nice and informative cruise. The captain and his deck hands were so nice and they provided assistance to see the sights and animals. Well worth the cost of the cruise and I would take it again.

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

julie a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent trip! Wayne our travel guide was fantastic and very knowledgeable of the history of the area.

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

strandjeane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wayne was our guide from pick up at the hotel to drop off. He is an amazing guide! So friendly, knowledge and funny!! We had a wonderful day. Lunch was at Tortilla Flats, very good food and a fun place to see!!! We loved the entire tour!!! Highly recommend this tour!!!

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

Jorge L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The experience was very enlightening. The tour guide was exceptional as he knew the area as if he lived there his whole life. He was very pleasant to be around and very helpful with my handicap.

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

Richard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly recommend this tour! The instructor was so knowledgeable about absolutely everything, from the history of the area to the native plants and animals. Really enjoyed the ghost town and the boat tour, however they could have skipped the first stop (movie set) in my opinion.

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

Thomas D

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

I was expecting more. Lot of driving and a lot less sightseeing.

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

Lannette Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This trip was absolutely amazing, will definitely be booking thru this company again.

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

Alexandru M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was great. The guide gave us all kind of interesting information and answered our questions.
The actual cruise was nice but having binoculars would have made it great.
The stop at Tortilla Flat where we had lunch was a high point.
Highly recommended tour.

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

Colette R K

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The tour guide was great. The tour van was terrible! I've never heard a vehicle rattle that much. It was really a substandard vehicle. My son had to move to the front seat because the noise in the back was giving him a headache.

Doing what: Apache Trail Day Tour from Phoenix

Lawrence M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a great trip. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable which made the tour so interesting and fun.

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

Michael G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Wayne was a great tour guide! Knew his stuff. Do a lot of traveling with Tauck Tours 5 stars and he could work for them!
Mike and Mary Ann
Chicago

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

Laurie D

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

This is an excellent tour and our driver, Paul, was full of information and stories that brought the area to life. The trip also includes an hour and a half ride on the paddle boat, Dolly, on Canyon Lake. I would give the tour 5 stars except that the pickup time was more than 2 hours later than advertised, and the day felt rushed. For example we were served lunch just 3 or 4 minutes before we were supposed to board the paddle boat. Otherwise we learned a lot about the history and geography of the area and really enjoyed a short walk with Paul as he explained the different types of cactus and desert plants.

Doing what: Apache Trail Day Tour from Phoenix

John T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

My husband and I really enjoyed this tour. There were only 4 in the group and Wayne our tour guide was a very personable guide. He kept the tour relaxed and informative. Thank you Wayne!!

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

Carol Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

awesome trip. We took our 9 year grandson and we were amazed how much he enjoyed it. Thanks to Jason M. our tour guide, for taking the time to answer his questions and for making sure to include him in conversations. We originally planned on driving ourselves but after seeing the road, we were glad to leave the driving to the tour operator. The excursion on the Dolly paddle boat up the canyon was a truly a magical experience dinosaur fossils, and petrified logs, oh my! Kids from about 8 to 12 or so are perfect companions on this tour.

Doing what: Apache Trail Day Tour from Phoenix

Attilio S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was excellent. They picked us up right at the lobby of the hotel and the tour guide was amazing. Not only did he talk about Apache trail but he also told of the history of Phoenix. Additionally, the boat ride was wonderful and relaxing. Saw some Bald Eagles during the trip.. Great Time

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

Janice R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was great and lots of fun. We went with Arizona Tour and Travel and our guide was Wayne who was great. He allowed us some flexibility and we were able to get some shopping done and had our lunch in Tortilla Flat. Also, the steamboat cruise was great. Canyon Lake is beautiful, and we saw big horn sheep and a bald eagle.

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

Peter C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

our guide Wayne was on time, courteous, very knowledgeable and took very good care of the group.
For history buffs, lots of information to digest. Just a suggestion to eat a hearty breakfast first as lunch will be after 1:30PM.

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

Suzanne A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Tour guide was very knowledgeable and informative. Well worth doing. We had a great day.

Doing what: Apache Trail Day Tour from Phoenix

Michael D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

OK First I have to apologize. My 1st review a couple of days ago was lost!?
So let me begin again that our tour guide Wayne Parker was probably the best guide we have ever had traveling throughout the the country. We were picked up at our designated hotel promptly and from the that moment we were given amazing information thru the areas of Phoenix and the surrounding mountains side. From the celebrity homes on the mountains to the plants n trees surrounding the various neighborhoods Wayne was informative and very entertaining! But when we got unto the Superstition Mountain /Apache Trail his narrative of all that was around us came to life. We almost felt like it was in the 1800s, traveling on a covered wagon to our destination on a very winding road!! to Canyon Lake, except we were in an A/C van.lol Upon arriving at the lake we boarded the Dolly Stearn Wheeler for a 90 minute cruise that was spectacular viewing cliffs, eagles, and other wildlife that hoestly pictures could not capture the true beauty of this hidden lake! After the cruise Wayne took us to 2 old west mining towns and as a group WE decided to have lunch at Tortilla Flats.
There we were able to stroll thru this facinating town and my wife even panned for gold. On our way back we ran into a big traffic jam. Undeterred, Wayne took the first exit off the the expressway and took the side streets to keep us moving, giving us additional information on the neighborhoods we were traveling thru. Great job Wayne, and again Donna n I Thank You!

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

Himmel United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

WOW! This 8 hour tour was SO MUCH BETTER than expected! Wayne Parker was our CTFG Certified FABULOUS Tour Guide :-. His knowledge, presentations, friendliness and genuine class easily lifted our tour over the top of every mountain we saw. Folks, the scenery - almost from second to second - is spellbinding. From the incredible desert trees, cactus and scrub to the hills, vistas and mountains to the old western towns, rivers and lakes, there's hardly a moment to regroup in between each new adventure! This is a 100 MUST. WOW!

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

Carol M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour group was small just 5 of us. Wayne is an amazing tour guide. He even made a stop not on the agenda to accommodate one of our group. Would definitely book another Wayne led tour. Five stars plus.

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

George H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I have already rated this tour. Excellant

Doing what: Apache Trail / Canyon Lake Steamboat Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message