Phuket ATTRACTIONS See all

Phi Phi Islands

From the emerald waters of the Andaman Sea, the jungle-shrouded limestone cliffs of Thailand’s Phi Phi Islands rise majestically, giving way to white-sand beaches and lush green jungles further inland. Longtail boats putter between the islands, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 66 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tanya G

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

Our tour was organized by Sea Eagle tours.There was no intimation regarding the exact pick-up time.The bus in which the hotel drop-off and pick-up were done was not at all comfortable.The management was also poor.They had noted that the tour was booked for only 2 people whereas I had booked it for four. The speed boat was also not in a very good condition.The guide did not offer even water to drink.Refreshments were also served just post lunch when everyone was already full.
The first stop at bamboo island was good.Thereafter we were taken to Maya beach for around an hour.There was absolutely nothing to do on the beach and there was a lot of rush.It was like a torture.Thereafter, we were shown some lagoons.All of them looked the same. The organizers were doing some time pass.Our lunch at Phi Phi islands was also very bad.
The only good part about the trip was snorkelling.The spot they chose was very nice.

Doing what: Phi Phi Island Tour by Speed Boat from Krabi

Mandy C South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was an amazing trip, just a big pity about the crowds but that's not the tour group's fault. I'd highly recommend this trip to anyone wanting to see Phi Phi and the other four islands.

Doing what: Krabi to Phi Phi Islands by Speedboat

Jacqueline D Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The ferry trip over is 2 hours so we paid the extra couple of dollars and sat in first class. A definite must do! Free drinks and goodies not to mention lots of room to stretch out and sleep during the long trip over. Make sure you reserve your spot for the ride back as it fills up quickly and you might miss out. The lunch at Phi Phi was exceptional and the snorkelling off shore was really fun and an experience not to be missed!

Doing what: Phuket to Phi Phi Islands By Express Ferry including Lunch

Peter K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

Took the Phi Phi Island Tour on Christmas day 2016 and it was a great way to spend Christmas! The weather was good meaning no rain and the sights were amazing! Going out to the first location seemed like forever and don't forget the Dramamine if you get sea sick easily. The sights are all touristy so be prepared to share...hehe.

My review is for the specific boat/guide we had. Our guide was Jimmy and he was trying to be funny, but his jokes come off as rude and demeaning. The worst part was in the end he put everyone on the spot by passing around the tip jar in front of everyone and it made a lot of people feel awkward. Next time, aside from our guide, I would just pay a little more and get the private boat tour. Seems like there's more flexibility as far as time to stay as long as you want in certain places and for space... your group gets the whole boat to yourselves... It'll make a difference when the stranger next to you keeps violating your personal space on the boat and basically you're fighting for butt space when the boat's in motion :

Doing what: Phi Phi Island Tour by Speed Boat from Krabi

Francis F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

From start to finish this trip was awesome ! There and #39;s only one word to describe phi phi islands is amazing! The water was this emerald green and with the mountains coming out of the ocean .wow! The staff made sure we had enough time to see and do everything. I would highly recommend this trip

Doing what: Phuket to Phi Phi Islands by Speedboat

Laura F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

If in Phuket, you have to go to Phi Phi Islands. Such an amazing all day experience that is worth every penny. Hotel pick up was included, lunch and snorkeling gear. I HIGHLY recommend carving a day out for this unforgettable trip.

Doing what: Phuket to Phi Phi Islands by Speedboat

Jennifer R

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

I enjoyed the service this trip provided. Mr. Boy was our host, he was very funny and throughout the whole trip he made sure we had drinks and snacks. The tour around phi phi island was not what I expected. I wanted to swim in the pool area where I could stand and enjoy the clear water...and feed the monkeys which I saw the other tour groups did, but we didn't. Phi Phi island is very crowded and getting there on a speedboat made me sea sick, so make sure to take dramamine prior.

Doing what: Phuket to Phi Phi Islands by Speedboat

kim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great pick up time, great trip out to Phi Phi islands, entertainment was great by John.

Doing what: Phuket to Phi Phi Islands by Speedboat

Vanessa L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Exceptional day around Phi Phi Island even during the rain season! Dino, our tour guide was very friendly and professional helped me to find my lost phone.... The lunch was also good! Each stop was timely organised! Had a wonderful day!

Doing what: Phuket to Phi Phi Islands by Speedboat

indy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Best beach day ever! I am from Antigua and I live in the US. I am no stranger to beautiful beaches but the Phi Phi Islands took my breath away! Must see!

Doing what: Phuket to Phi Phi Islands by Speedboat

Siu Tiu T

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Hm.... what should I say ? It's supposed to be an express transfer from Phuket to the Phi Phi Islands by high speed ferry and the duration should be around 90 minutes. However, it turned out that the ferry was not a high speed one but a regular ferry which took 2 hours from Phuket to Tonsai Bay alone, excluding hotel pick up time. I wonder if I had got on a wrong ferry because there were many ferries at the pier. It was an enjoyable ride though, but not what I had expected in terms of speed.

Doing what: Phuket to Koh Phi Phi by High Speed Ferry

thirukumar m

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Pickup from hotel little bit late and our tour guide not bring inside vicking cave, some of other service provider said can visit inside the cave . other than that journey very nice and friendly tour guide. recommended to provide additional hour to stay in phi phi island.

Doing what: Phi Phi Island Tour by Speed Boat from Krabi

Michelle S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

This boat tour is described as being a faster option via speedboat, so that you can spend more time touring the islands, but that's not the case at all. The description should let customers know that the majority of their time will be spent ON THE BOAT, and not touring the islands. It should also mention that you can't stand up or walk around on the boat - I think this made it worse for those who were seasick. While it's not the tour groups fault or anyone specifically the islands especially the Phi Phi Islands are WAY TOO overcrowded and that should be mentioned upfront. It totally takes away from the entire experience. The islands are also extremely dirty and polluted with trash. Cocktail Island was extremely overcrowded as well. It's also not the best idea to take tourists to drink alcohol while so many of them are puking nonstop from being seasick. The CONSTANT smell of gasoline was overwhelming and made a lot of people sick. Our group of 5 all had headaches the majority of the time from the smell. The food was horrible - better food options should be highly considered. The snorkeling was only interesting for a few minutes, and we quickly realized that was only b/c the tour guides were feeding the fish. As soon as the food ran out, the fish we're gone and there was nothing else to see. I would have preferred to see the fish in their natural habitat instead of being bribed by the tour guides. Overall, I was VERY dissatisfied with this tour and would NOT recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Phuket to Phi Phi Islands by Speedboat

Jennifer B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

this tour was so unbelievably fun and amazing! no thinking involved. just get picked up and have an
adventure! the guides were great and funny and so knowledgeable of life in Phi Phi. Lunch was great and the whole day was peaceful and fun

Doing what: Phuket to Phi Phi Islands by Speedboat

Rishi S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an awesome tour. The guides were amazing and made some friends that I connect with regularly. The boat ride is fast, but smooth. You will be amazed at the scenery around. It is so unique. We were one of the first boats to The Beach of Phi Phi islands. It was gorgeous - clearest waters I have ever seen. Also, the snorkeling was fun experience to get in the water.

Only bad thing is the crowd at the Phi Phi islands after about 10:30 pm. So many people arriving at the beach. They need to limit how many people can go at a time otherwise this beautiful place will be ruined by human tourism.

Doing what: Krabi to Phi Phi Islands by Speedboat

Lisa D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The day tour was great to Phi Phi Islands.....the only negative was there are approximately 50 tour boats at a time and tons of tourists!! Very overcrowded!

Doing what: Phi Phi Island Tour by Speed Boat from Krabi

Michelle A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We really enjoyed our day at Phi Phi island.

Doing what: Phuket to Phi Phi Islands By Express Ferry including Lunch

Bianca R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Gostei do passeio, mas Phi Phi em si, é muito lotado difícil ate para tirar foto. Vale so para conhecer mesmo

Doing what: Phuket to Phi Phi Islands by Speedboat

lucy74 Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Found this tour disappointing. We were told to be waiting for the bus at 6.45am but it was nearly an hour later before we were picked up. The trip to Phi Phi Islands was long both bus and then boat ride that by the time we got there we only had just over 3 hours to actually spend on the Island and once you take out lunch even less time. Was also disappointed that you only got to snorkel for 45 minutes, would have preferred if they had given us the equipment for the length of time we were there so that we could snorkel as we pleased.

Doing what: Phuket to Phi Phi Islands By Express Ferry including Lunch

pianoplus D Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

A word of advice to travellers to Phuket: do not catch the Tour East fast ferry to the Phi Phi Islands for a day trip.
On paper the trip promised: a visit the iconic island of Ko Phi Phi - made famous by the Hollywood movie - The Beach snorkelling in the warm crystal waters, being surrounded by colourful tropical marine life and limestone cliffs and to enjoy a Thai lunch at a local restaurant on the island of Ko Phi Phi Don.
We chose the ferry, booked through Viators, rather than the more expensive speedboat trip and it turned out to be a bad choice.
First the hotel pick-up was 40 minutes late and then the ferry was 30 minutes late leaving the pier. The ferry itself was huge and it really was a public transport ferry, loaded with Island holiday makers with their luggage as well as the tour people. It was stuffy inside, but we were lucky enough to find our way to the bow of the boat and stay in the fresh air.
The trip to our destination took three hours, because it was the second port of call. When we did arrive off the island we were hastily transferred to another boat which headed to the shore. There was a nice sandy beach there, but we didnt get chance to sit on it because we were hustled away into another boat a local fishing boat to rush off to the snorkelling spot.
They turned out to be about a couple of hundred metres off shore.
But I like snorkelling and was looking forward to swimming over the coral among the fish. Then came the shock, There was no live coral and nothing more than a shoal of tiny yellow and black angel fish roaming around. On top of that my snorkel leaked!
My wife and I spent the hour treading water and chatting to a couple of English girls until it was time to get back into the boat.
And thereby hangs another tale. The steel rungs of the ladder reached about 10 centimetres into the water and I found it impossible to lift my leg high enough to reach the bottom rung. I had the strange experience of being lifted bodily from the water

Doing what: Phuket to Phi Phi Islands By Express Ferry including Lunch

Amanda D

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Our boat tour in Krabi started off a bit rocky - it was pouring rain, we weren't able to go out to Phi Phi Island due to the choppy waters, and our driver was 15 minutes late in picking us up from our resort. Sounds like a disaster, right?

Well, luckily the tour leader at Sea Eagle - a fellow named Sam who was short in stature but long on personality - redeemed our experience entirely. Despite the rain which was literally torrential at almost every moment of the 5-hour tour, Sam was cheerful, helpful, and extremely concerned for the well-being of everyone on the tour. He made sure everyone was as comfortable as possible given the circumstances and was never without a smile on his face.

Sea Eagle allowed us to rebook from our Phi Phi tour to a 4-Island tour safer given the storm without any rebooking fee or issue. We had a lovely time touring the islands, snorkeling in the warm waters in and around the islands, and enjoying the delicious Thai lunch prepared for us on Chicken Island.

Although we would truly like to see the islands in their full glory read: sunshine and warmth, Sea Eagle and Sam are top-notch tour operators and we would join them again in a minute. Thanks!

Doing what: Phi Phi Island Tour by Speed Boat from Krabi

James T

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

This tour was a waste of time and money. We got on the ferry and headed to Phi Phi islands. We got to the port but stayed on the ferry.The next stop was for snorkeling.. In a high traffic area. It was safe but not a lot to see! It was too crowded. After lunch (wasn't even good)we headedback..boring

Doing what: Phuket to Phi Phi Islands By Express Ferry including Lunch

Sheryl V

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

I enjoyed the trip to Phi Phi Islands, especially the first snorkeling stop. The stop at the beach was not very interesting to me because we didn't really have enough time to hike up to the lookout, but I did get some nice photos of the beach and the islands in the bay. Our second snorkeling stop, off Monkey Beach was okay, but there weren't as many fish in this area. Our guide did not want to take us to the beach as he said tourists had recently been bitten or attacked by the monkeys. The group I was with was great, which made the trip more fun.

Doing what: Krabi to Phi Phi Islands by Speedboat

Matthew F

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The Phi Phi islands were spectacular and although we travelled there by speedboat we never really got the opportunity to spend too long in any one location. It's definitely worth doing but it's pretty crowded at each stop and we only had around 40 mins snorkelling time so don't expect too much.

Doing what: Phuket to Phi Phi Islands by Speedboat

Andre M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Phi Phi Island is beautiful. The tour was nice!

Doing what: Phuket to Phi Phi Islands by Speedboat

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message