Picton ATTRACTIONS See all

Picton Cruise Port

Small but lively, Picton may be one of the sunniest ports in New Zealand. Located at the head of Queen Charlotte Sound, it links the country’s South Island with the north, making it a hub for inter-island ferries across the Cook Strait. It is also a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 64 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Marie B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a great day touring the wineries with Mike from Jade Tours. We visited 5 wineries and had a great lunch at Giesen Wines, followed by a visit to the chocolate factory Yum. He was very knowledgeable and friendly, on time and got us back to the ship with a little extra tour around Picton! Thanks for a great day.

Doing what: Shore Excursion: Blenheim Wine Tour from Picton

Boyd

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

When I have gone on a cruise, I have always booked shore excursions through the cruise lines. This was the first tour I booked through Viator so I was a little apprehensive about it. But there was no reason to be. The cost of the excursion was a lot less than a similar excursion through the cruise line and certainly more enjoyable because there were only about 10 people on the tour as compared to 30-40 on a similar excursion booked with the cruise line. The excursion turned out just as it was advertised. We went to at least 4 different wineries, a chocolate shop, and ate at one of the wineries on our own which had fabulous food. The tour guide was outstanding. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone that wants to taste many varieties of New Zealand wines.

Doing what: Shore Excursion: Blenheim Wine Tour from Picton

Philip D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great trip . Good information between tasting venues, and superb venue choice for a great lunch. Brilliant !!

Doing what: Shore Excursion: Blenheim Wine Tour from Picton

Diane M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We loved the region and not having to drive was a real bonus. The driver was very accommodating to any other wineries we wanted to go

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

dj.ridings6

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Andy was fabulous. Everything was pre arranged at the wineries and we received VIP treatment. Andy knew the area extremely well and managed to let us spend some time exploring some additional shops and wineries that were not originally part of our tour. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting to take a tour of the wineries in the Picton region.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Sharon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour was exceptional. The tour guide was well informed and very accommodating. We visited a number of wineries and tasted some delicious wines, topped off with a delicious lunch and a visit to a handmade chocolate supplier. Would highly recommend this tour. Great value for money.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

John O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was a grand day in Marlborough Wine Country... being part of a small group meant that we got a lot more attention and information at the various wineries we visited.. The lunch stop was not only wonderful but timely...we did need a break from wine tasting. A beautiful tour and a great guide.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Alan D G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really enjoyed our wine tasting tour. Our tour guide was entertaining, knowledgeable and made the tour extra special.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

beamcch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a great time. Our driver was full of information and treated us all well. She knew all our names and made the tip personal. She also answered all our questions.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Benjamin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Delightful tour! Andy gave us a remarkably pleasant tour to 4 wineries and a great restaurant for lunch. It was easy to find him at the agreed-upon pickup spot, and it was a great day.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

George C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Pamela our local tour lady is amazing. She grew up there. Knows the area inside out. Wine tour is fantastic. Excellent choice of vineyards. The lunch restaurant she took us to was a must. It was a beautiful vineyard/restaurant. The food was out of this world and price is cheap. The chocolate shop and local highlights were great. You will need a local person like Pamela to show you. Don't waste your money with cruise ship. You will not be disappointed it with Pamela and her crew. Thank you Pamela for a wonderful day and memory.

Doing what: Shore Excursion: Highlights of Marlborough from Picton

Malcolm S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent tour. Well organised and very informative.

Doing what: Shore Excursion: Highlights of Marlborough from Picton

LOIS S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

All went well with our getting to the tour bus from the ship, where we were met by our very nice tour guide for the day. We were taken to four very nice and picturesque wineries, some of the wines were very good, others not quite so much to our taste. The guide I forget her name certainly had a very good knowledge of the area and wine growing and production. We had lunch at one of the wineries, which was a very pleasant experience. we were then taken to the Chocolate factory, which was very nice, but rather expensive.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

leoyau71

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour provided a very good mix of wineries, sightseeing, shopping, and a visit to a chocolate factory. The tour guide, Pam, was fabulous. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Shore Excursion: Highlights of Marlborough from Picton

Lynnette B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was a bit rushed due to the late arrival of our ship. We still had the opportunity to visit some great beautiful wineries. Our guide, Carol, made sure that we had the chance to visit a wonderful chocolate shop which was the reason one member of our party signed on. Really enjoyed the day.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

RedWagon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This Tour was one of the Best! We had a wonderful Tour guide who made a point to take us to wineries we could all enjoy. We prefer Red Wine but we told her we liked a sweeter wine and we found two of the four wineries had just what we wanted in white wine.
The small group gave us time to tour the wineries, have a delicious lunch and stop at a Candy factory to watch candy made and taste sample. A real enjoyable tour!

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

nana2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Pamela March tour owner worked so hard to make this tour a success. Only problem was not really a small group tour. Each minivan bus crowded and hot and two busses traveling together made 22 people in each stop not what we had expected. However, Winery tours were wonderful and lunch stop very good. Cheese tasting a joke as barely a morsel to taste. Chocolate factory great. All in all a good day just not exactly what we had envisioned.

Doing what: Shore Excursion: Highlights of Marlborough from Picton

Nana2010

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our tour guide and driver took us to us to the wineries that were less traveled and therefore NOT crowed with tour buses. And they served wonderful wines. The small group made it easy to hear and travel together. This was a GREAT tour and highly recommended.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Julie A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Fanatastic. We missed the bus and everyone went out of their way to see that we rejoined our group. Fantastic lunch at a vineyard. Very informative and interesting information along the way. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Shore Excursion: Highlights of Marlborough from Picton

Nicholas K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent tour! Andy was the best. We would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Allan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Tour guide was excellent, went out of his way to find wines that suited me, which I am now enjoying. Lunch was exceptional, sadly service was a it slow so we had to rush dessert.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

VERICA J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our tour guide Sam was wonderful. She took us to several wineries where we did some tasting and learned about the history of NZ wines. My husband was quite impressed that the wine industry was started by a Croatian, from his own homeland. Sam told us a lot about NZ and answered all our questions. The chocolate factory was fantastic were we sampled some home made preservative free chocolate. She also took photos of us continuously which will form part of our memories of NZ. We completed our tour at an amazing lookout point. We have returned to Sydney with many beautiful memories of NZ. The people are wonderful and friendly. I would highly recommend a day tour with Sam.

Doing what: Shore Excursion: Blenheim Wine Tour from Picton

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message