Picton ATTRACTIONS See all

Picton Cruise Port

Small but lively, Picton may be one of the sunniest ports in New Zealand. Located at the head of Queen Charlotte Sound, it links the country’s South Island with the north, making it a hub for inter-island ferries across the Cook Strait. It is also a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 86 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

amishrn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Katrina, our guide was great. The winery's were fun and tasted some great wines.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Paula F United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Absolutely a fabulous day, 5 unique wineries, a chocolate stop and a fabulous lunch of amazing NZ mussels, much bigger than those of New England in the US. Loved the outside Jasmine garden in which we ate. It was 9 people and we did several viators with the same group as it happened. We got to be friends. Love the driver guide. I since have forgot her name but she also took us to a high point to take a picture of our ship. She extended herself to make it special and even stopped for one of the ladies who needed something at the pharmacy and at a farm stand for us to purchase fruit. Really a great tour and guide.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Alan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

An excellent tour. Highly recommended . We did 4 vineyards would have done 5 if we hadn't prolonged our excellent lunch at the Geisen vineyard, and had to get back to our cruise ship. Our guide was very informative and the small group made it better. We would definitely do again...

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

James R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

An excellent day out with an informative and charming guide. The wineries we visited were boutique, interesting and there was no pressure to purchase on the day. An added bonus was a visit to the chocolate factory where no pressure was needed to want to buy their products ! A great introduction to the Marlborough wineries of NZ.

Doing what: Shore Excursion: Highlights of Marlborough from Picton

Nick H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We enjoyed the day with Pamela, she is a very knowledgeable local who loves the area. The wineries were great, too expensive for me though!

Doing what: Shore Excursion: Highlights of Marlborough from Picton

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

It was a great day, very nice wineries we visited. The lunch restaurant was excellent. We came off of a cruise ship. The tour made sure we were back in time to board the ship!

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Kevin G United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Overall, this tour was amazing. We found our local driver very easily once we got off the port shuttles and because it was a smaller group 7 of us, but missing one couple it made it that much easier to move from each winery. My wife and I both really wanted to do this tour b/c of our interest in wines from Marlborough. We went to 4 local wineries that we have not tried in the US and each place was unique in its own way. Most of the time, I drink red wine, so this tour was good b/c it opened up my eyes to different white wines from the area. We really enjoyed the wine from Spy Valley winery much smaller distribution and output and had lunch at Giesen Winery. One of their daily specials was a cheese and meat tray for 2 that included a glass of one of the wines we sampled. It came with local bread that was really good and the overall setting was amazing. After the fourth winery, we stopped at a local chocolate place can't remember the name got some free samples and bought some gifts. Our driver Kevin was awesome too. He made sure to let us know how much time we had left at each place but wasn't pushy and allowed everyone to really enjoy their time there. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Kate

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The tour with Pamela was fantastic! She made it so relaxed and enjoyable going around to all of the wineries and then even took us for an extra trip out to see the beach and to a couple of viewing points of the beach and the sound. She did this as an extra when one of the other guests on the tour asked about it and, as a local, she was genuinely excited to show us all of the beautiful locations her hometown has to offer. Great excursion!

Doing what: Shore Excursion: Highlights of Marlborough from Picton

Rick S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We loved this tour! There were only eight of us on the tour plus our guide. We went to three boutique wineries and had lunch. Enjoyed all the tastings. Our guide told us about the area as we drove, plus a farmer was moving his sheep from one field to another down the street we were on. What a unique experience. The only downside was the wineries were small so they do not sell their wines in the US.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Monica W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Pamela and her other tour guides were very warm, friendly and informative of Picton and the wineries we visited.
The presentations at the wineries were delightful and their passion for their wine was infectious.
Thankyou for a great day. It is now confirmed . . . .
I haven't met a Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc that I didn't Like :o :o :o
Cheers Moni

Doing what: Shore Excursion: Highlights of Marlborough from Picton

Kathryn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Sue and Mike from Jade Tours were fantastic. Sue was knowledge, friendly and accessible. She was happy to provide answers and accommodate slight changes in the itinerary.

Wings of Omaka is one of the best aviation museums I have visited. The displays were amazing. They were created by Weta Workshops and are very realistic. The wording on each display was easy to read and understand.

The wineries that Sue took us too were interesting and provided an insight into wine making in the Malborough regions. She avoided the wineries that the cruise ship tours were attending so that we had an intimate experience.

All in all a fantastic experience.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Wings of Omaka and Marlborough Wine Tour

Karen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We visited approx. 5 wineries in the area with no less than 5 tastings at each. Lunch was at Wairau Winery in the garden which was absolutely lovely and we also visited a chocolate shop. Commentary by Mike the driver was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole day.

Doing what: Shore Excursion: Blenheim Wine Tour from Picton

Crusher Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A great time. Thought about giving it only four stars but hard to criticise it because some of our fellow tourists were painful. And the tour guide coped very well with the challenges they presented.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Collette P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an awesome trip to the Marlborough Region. We got to experience some beautiful wines and being a small group we could see more wineries. Was not worried at all about getting back to the ship as the driver is always very aware of this. I would recommend this to people cruising into the Picton area.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Joseph W Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The minibuses were waiting for us and off we went.The wineries we went to were excellent and we brought home some different wines. Lunch at Giesen winery was excellent. We had NZ mussels while the others had cheese and meat platters. Great day

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Melissa M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic tour and great wineries. Superb lunch at the last winery. Guide allowed us to move at our own pace and decide what extras we might want to explore. Great chocolate shop at the end!

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Alan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour is amazing! First of all, our tour guide Trishia was amazing! We stopped in 6 vineyards which were amazing a stop in a nice chocolate factory. In each we tasted 4-5 different wines in one of them we had lunch. The attention by Trishia was really nice, and each vineyard was very nice. Highly recommended tour!

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Marie B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a great day touring the wineries with Mike from Jade Tours. We visited 5 wineries and had a great lunch at Giesen Wines, followed by a visit to the chocolate factory Yum. He was very knowledgeable and friendly, on time and got us back to the ship with a little extra tour around Picton! Thanks for a great day.

Doing what: Shore Excursion: Blenheim Wine Tour from Picton

Boyd

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

When I have gone on a cruise, I have always booked shore excursions through the cruise lines. This was the first tour I booked through Viator so I was a little apprehensive about it. But there was no reason to be. The cost of the excursion was a lot less than a similar excursion through the cruise line and certainly more enjoyable because there were only about 10 people on the tour as compared to 30-40 on a similar excursion booked with the cruise line. The excursion turned out just as it was advertised. We went to at least 4 different wineries, a chocolate shop, and ate at one of the wineries on our own which had fabulous food. The tour guide was outstanding. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone that wants to taste many varieties of New Zealand wines.

Doing what: Shore Excursion: Blenheim Wine Tour from Picton

Philip D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great trip . Good information between tasting venues, and superb venue choice for a great lunch. Brilliant !!

Doing what: Shore Excursion: Blenheim Wine Tour from Picton

Diane M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We loved the region and not having to drive was a real bonus. The driver was very accommodating to any other wineries we wanted to go

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

dj.ridings6

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Andy was fabulous. Everything was pre arranged at the wineries and we received VIP treatment. Andy knew the area extremely well and managed to let us spend some time exploring some additional shops and wineries that were not originally part of our tour. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting to take a tour of the wineries in the Picton region.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Sharon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour was exceptional. The tour guide was well informed and very accommodating. We visited a number of wineries and tasted some delicious wines, topped off with a delicious lunch and a visit to a handmade chocolate supplier. Would highly recommend this tour. Great value for money.

Doing what: Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region Small-Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message