Pisa ATTRACTIONS See all

Leaning Tower of Pisa

The Leaning Tower of Pisa is one of the most famous structures in the world – not because of its gently rising series of arches, but because of its legendary tilt. Constructed as the bell tower to accompany the cathedral, the tower began to shift ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 48 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Shana L United States of ... 

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

Do not buy this Tour - you only get the cheaper one Leaning Tower of Pisa only and NO Cultural Walking Tour. You can see Leaning Tower of Pisa without paying additional money for a nonexistent tour.

Doing what: Cultural Walking Tour of Pisa with Leaning Tower of Pisa Entry Ticket

Valerie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great tour. Guide was very knowledgeable of Pisa but the tour was only about buildings in manin square. The climbing of tower was best part. Worth the money spent!

Doing what: Cultural Walking Tour of Pisa with Leaning Tower of Pisa Entry Ticket

Patricia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The leaning tower of Pisa is an Italian icon and well worth the visit. The climb up to the bell tower is well worth the effort although a little cramped when you meet people on the way back down. The room in the basement of the tower should not be missed where a plumb line from the top shows just how much the tower is actually leaning.

Doing what: Leaning Tower of Pisa Tickets

Melinda H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Nice review of Miracle Square in Pisa. I actually saw and learned more than I expected about the location. The guide was friendly and funny and knowledgeable. Although I'm not sure I would return to Pisa, this was a nice way to see it and get the most out of it for a single quick trip.

Doing what: Cultural Walking Tour of Pisa with Leaning Tower of Pisa Entry Ticket

Joseph A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Maybe the best tour we had, with a guide whose name I cannot place right now who was nothing short of stupendous. He imparted so much intrigue and history, including a long-running battle between Pisa and Florence, that we did not want it to end, but it did, with our climb to the top of the famous leaning tower.

Doing what: Cultural Walking Tour of Pisa with Leaning Tower of Pisa Entry Ticket

Khaled B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

I booked three tickets using this website, I printed the confirmation, then I went to the Pisa tower .
I went in front the Cafe that was written and looked for the guys with yellow uniform who work for this company . I spent like 50 minutes looking for them and I failed. After that I went to the ticket office m they refused my voucher and I had to buy new tickets

Doing what: Leaning Tower of Pisa Tickets

Bianca H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

We could not find the meeting point as it was not clearly labelled bar Duomo is in a building under restoration and the cafe/bar goes by a different name. The main issue with this tour is the lack of flexibility with the time to visit the Tower. We could have got tickets ourselves at an earlier time and left Pisa a lot earlier. It would be useful if we could have chosen the time slot when we had booked online.

Doing what: Leaning Tower of Pisa Tickets

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a great tour! This part of Pisa is beautiful! Don't miss going up in the tower!

Doing what: Leaning Tower of Pisa Tickets

Tammy E

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

We took this tour from Pisa and had to wait for the arrival of the bus from Florence, which was bringing more folks to join the tour. The wait was short, but it was very difficult to locate the tour operator, who advised us of the delay and where to wait. The tour lasted all of about 30 minutes, as they took us through the PIsa Duomo Cathedral and around the exterior of the Baptistry. You must purchase a separate ticket to tour the inside of the Baptistry. There was really no cultural walking tour of Pisa included in this tour, as it only tours the exterior of the Baptistry, the inside of the Cathedral and provided you with a ticket for the Leaning Tower of Pisa. We had thought the walking tour would take you around Pisa, as described, and introduce you to a few of the local buildings and areas. The Leaning Tower of Pisa was amazing, but you have to unload all of your carry alongs, including any small purses. As I was not comfortable leaving all of my passports, credit cards and cash at the counter, I did not make use of this ticket. My husband and two teenage sons enjoyed going up the tower and it was certainly spectacular to see, even from the outside for me.

Doing what: Cultural Walking Tour of Pisa with Leaning Tower of Pisa Entry Ticket

Karen F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

Disappointing tour of Pisa. I thought this was going to be a cultural tour more than a tour of the church and tour. We were shuffled into another group and we only went through the church and tour. You can go through the church by yourself and the tower paying of course. I was really disappointed in this tour.

Doing what: Cultural Walking Tour of Pisa with Leaning Tower of Pisa Entry Ticket

Mark-Anthony C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

Third time in Pisa, and still missed out on climbing the tower. The issued times on the voucher in the afternoon, meant that I had to forfeit my voucher since I arrived in the morning, followed by the incessant running around trying to find the location to speak to a representative. Even the officials did not have my information, and if this is ever to be successful, there should be a streamlining of procedures such that everyone is informed. I simply ran out of time when I saw the long lines already to climb the tower. Poor organization!!

Doing what: Leaning Tower of Pisa Tickets

Carol C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

We arrived in Pisa around 1pm and then found our ticket allocation time to be 5pm! With an elderly parent, we were very limited to how far she could walk so we had lunch then moved to the grass area until our time slot. The entry groups were every 15 minutes and you only got in the queue 5 minutes before your time slot - I would recommend buying your entry ticket when you arrive at the Tower so you get a time slot earlier. The climb was 257 steps spiralling up the tower which was easy enough and the view from the top was well worth the climb. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Leaning Tower of Pisa Tickets

Patrick F

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

A very good guide and very helpful with extra information re Pisa

Doing what: Cultural Walking Tour of Pisa with Leaning Tower of Pisa Entry Ticket

Tharumaratnam R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

We wasted a time at Pisa to get the ticket and claim the Tower.
Please do not use this people service

Doing what: Leaning Tower of Pisa Tickets

Kelly P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

So much easier getting these tickets in advance. We walked right up at the appointed time and had as long as we wanted in the tower. It was so hot that day I thought that I'd expire before I reached the top but the views were worth it. We took the train back and forth from Livorno and I would have liked to spend more time in Pisa.

Doing what: Leaning Tower of Pisa Tickets

joe.forbes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

One of the highlights of my trip! We took the train from Florence to Pisa, which cost 10 Euros each way. Train ride was around an hour, then we walked to the city center, which took about 20 minutes. The tour was great and gave us insight into the history of Pisa. Going up in the Leaning Tower was incredible!

Doing what: Cultural Walking Tour of Pisa with Leaning Tower of Pisa Entry Ticket

John F

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very nice tour of the major points in Pisa

Doing what: Cultural Walking Tour of Pisa with Leaning Tower of Pisa Entry Ticket

Eduardo R

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Our visit to Pisa once we went into the tower was great but finding the tour guide was really hard and I called the office to ask about this only to find that the italian person at the office in Pisa was incredibly rude and hung up on me not once but TWICE!!!!!
Finally a second person at the office answered the phone and was able to send a guide to find me...
Never again will I book a tour for Pisa with Viator!!!

Doing what: Leaning Tower of Pisa Tickets

Hema P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Ticket should be provided for the time convenient to traveller. But this is not the case with Viator tickets and with my experience too. Following are the two negative points I would like to highlight :
1. There was no option of time selection while booking the ticket. So the first thinking goes with traveller mind is any time on the selected date is possible.
2.I accept that a Time is given in the voucher. But it looked like an example to get a voucher on the ticket date. Nowhere it is mentioned as meeting time.

On the whole, this ticket sale is very misleading to a traveller. Its total waste of money. There is nothing special or great with Viator to recommend to others. I have lost 150 Euro by booking the tickets through Viator. I don't see any benefit to book ticket through viator.. Pisa tower official website is much cheaper and convenient.

Doing what: Leaning Tower of Pisa Tickets

Jeffrey S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Directions for where to meet the guide was confusing. Only people familiar w/Pisa would know where Marin Square is located. Fortunately, we met someone from Pisa who was able to help us find it. Correct info should be "under the arch at the entrance closest to the bapistry at the Field of Miracles."

We started at Filed of Miracles, then walked elsewhere, then returned to Field of Miracles to go to the Learning Tower. This made it very disjointed.

Doing what: Cultural Walking Tour of Pisa with Leaning Tower of Pisa Entry Ticket

coultdeb

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2014

Not good at all as we never go to have the tour! The operator was not there! We waited for over an hour and a half and no one showed up. We were directed to the building to speak with a tour operator but was told there was nothing they could do as it was not their tour. We continued waiting outside the bar where it stated our tour operator would be but no one showed up! I spent all this money to go on the tour of the Leaning Tower of Pisa for nothing, I would appreciate having my money returned!

Doing what: Leaning Tower of Pisa Tickets

Richard T

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Purchased the ticket and it covered the Church and the Tower. It was fun walking up the steps and seeing the beautiful view. Pisa is a lovely city. The church is amazing and a must see

Doing what: Leaning Tower of Pisa Tickets

Lee H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Bit pricey for what you get. The tour was actually only an hour long, the guide was friendly spoke good English and had some interesting facts. You are then dropped off at the tower with "skip the line tickets" where we had to queue up, only to be told that our tickets don't allow us entry before 5 and to go wait 10 minutes and then join the back of the queue again, so they are far from skip the line tickets. We only bought this tour as we were in Pisa for just a few hours and worried that there would be a massive queue. Both the ticket queue and the queue for the tower were tiny so wished we just waited and paid half the price on the day.

Doing what: Cultural Walking Tour of Pisa with Leaning Tower of Pisa Entry Ticket

Sarah R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

When I booked the ticket online it did not at any time advise me that a time of day for the visit would be imposed by the e-ticket. Had I known this, I would not have gone ahead with the booking as I was given a ticket for a 4.45/5.00pm visit when I only intended to be in Pisa until approx 2pm.
The 'skip the line' is misleading as you still have to queue outside the tower with the other 50 people (approx, I counted) who will be climbing the tower at the same time. The person issuing my ticket did not advise me that I could not take my hand bag into the tower so after queuing, I got to the entrance only to be turned away and told I had to go to the bag storage area and get rid of my bag. I then had to queue again!
This was not a good service and poor value for the extra money I paid. I would have been better going to the ticket office first thing that morning and obtaining a ticket which suited my needs.

Doing what: Leaning Tower of Pisa Tickets

Vikram

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was a very nice experience at Pisa,I and my wife thoroughly enjoyed our trip,the guide was very informative and friendly,it was a very pleasant environment out there,climbling the tower's 294 steps was amazing and it was a nice way to sum up the pisa experience,skipping the huge lines was doing the same was a great feature,overall a very very nice experience.

Doing what: Cultural Walking Tour of Pisa with Leaning Tower of Pisa Entry Ticket

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message