Playa del Carmen’s scenic Caribbean coastline and close proximity to historic ruins draw travelers in search of a truly Mexican experience. Whether its wandering the streets of this once small fishing town, heading below the surface on an epic scuba ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 283 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

kyle t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent trip. Delio was the best guide Ive ever had. Very nice, jovial, knowledgeable, and he has some great night pics of the pyramid! Answered everyone's questions with enthusiasm and insight!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

jacquelyn.n.luna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour was exactly as described. We were a bit concerned finding our with the ferry, but the tour staff made it easy by meeting up with us to give the ferry tickets and finding us once we arrived in Playa Del Carmen. Bus was nice and comfortable for the long ride to and from, and the included beverages with the package was a definite bonus. The ruins were very impressive and the hotel was very cool and relaxing. The whole trip was pretty tiring due to all the travel, but overall very good experience!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

Ben Holmes United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We almost nearly didn't get to go on the trip. The tour company asked us to confirm our booking with them twenty-four hours before the tour. We didn't think much of this as we assumed that we could use the hotel's wifi to confirm the booking and that would be it. However at the Grand Bahia Principe Coba there was no phone signal, and the wifi was quite frankly, terrible. We then had to get the hotel to ring the tour company and tell the tour rep to come and meet us, which meant waiting around in the lobby for the rep to arrive. However, it must be said the rep Gabi or Gaby was really nice and very clear about what we needed to bring and what time we would be getting picked up.

Our tour picked us up from our hotel on time, and we were put onto a mini van which then took us to a big coach to begin our tour. The tour guides were Gaytan pronounced 'guy tan' and Ramon. Gaytan began our tour introducing himself and perhaps giving us a talk about the Mayans, their culture, and their descendants today. He said to us, When you think of Mexico, what do you think of? Sombreros? Mariachi music? Tequila? Well we don't wear sombreros and we don't listen to Mariachi music. We have our own music, and we don't drink Tequila, because we simply don't like it. We have our own drinks. We don't speak Spanish at home, we have our own language. We are Mayans, not Mexicans. He then gave us an example of what the Mayan language sounded like, saying the same sentence in Spanish, Mayan and English.

The drive to Chichen Itza was about two and a half to three hours I think and the time was well spent listening to Guytan and Ramon talk about the history of the Mayan people and the appalling treatment they received from the Spanish, and even today how the Mayan people struggle to fight to protect their culture. We stopped off to a place where Mayans make genuine Mayan crafts to sell, Gaytan warned us that pretty much everything sold at the Chichen Itza site is fake and wanted to take us to a place where we could meet genuine Mayans and see their crafts up close and personal. Needless to say we bought a few things, and it felt good knowing our money was going to people who genuinely appreciated it. On top of that, the Mayan people were incredibly friendly and polite, and weren't pushy when it came to selling things.

When we got to Chichen Itza, it took me a few minutes to fully comprehend where I was. This place that I had wanted to visit for so many years was finally here in front of me! Gaytan took us around and once again provided us with incredibly detailed information about each part of the site, explaining to us what it was used for and what occurred there. It was truly amazing to be there and when we were hearing about the activities of the Mayans you could almost imagine being there with them. After going round all the parts of the site, we were given refreshments and some free time to wonder and explore.

The site is quite large, and although The Temple of Kukulkan gets the majority of the attention, there are other nice bits to explore. It is quite easy to get caught up taking pictures on one part of the site and not have enough time to wonder and explore the whole thing. However, you do go around most of the site with your tour guide, so you can use your free time to go back to get some extra photos of something you liked or go see some of the less visited parts of the site. As you can imagine, Chichen Itza is very busy and sometimes it was frustrating trying to get photographs because people kept walking in front of us! However, it is possible to get a people-free picture of The Temple of Kukulkan if you are quick! Perhaps if I were to say one negative, it would be that there were venders that sold these things that made fake jaguar sounds, and needless to say they got annoying very quickly, particularly when you are trying to listen to your tour guide.

After Chichen Itza, we went for some lunch at a restaurant and had a choice of international or regional cuisine. I asked for regional cuisine and asked for un poco de todo a bit of everything to which they happily obliged. The food was amazing, it was not stereotypical Mexican food, but regional Mayan food. After lunch we went to the cenote, not being a confident swimmer I decided not to swim as there was no shallow end although life jackets are provided however this didn't stop appreciating how beautiful the cenote is.

I would 100 recommend you come on this tour, even if you are not a huge history buff, the history to do with the Mayans is really amazing, the way their calendar works, how that links into the construction of the Temple of Kukulkan, and so many other things as well. This was definitely the highlight of my holiday in Mexico.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Kelly G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide was amazing!! Couldn't have asked for anyone better. Very knowledgeable, ensured that everyone had a great time, and we could see everything we wanted. I wish we could have spent more time here, but this tour would be something that I would love to go on once more!!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

Stephanie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

this trip was amazing! Visiting the ruins was not only great but the tour guide and others helping on the tour were awesome! You should definitely book this.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

saless-c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

When visiting the Yucatan, Chichen Itza is a must see for anyone interested in history or ancient cultures, .

There are many tour operators providing tours of this fabulous site, but I can't imagine an operator in better position to provide this tour than Mayaland Tours, Viator.com's contractor for this tour. They operate the Mayaland Resort which is adjacent to the Chichen Itza site with their own private entrance. The trip to from Playa del Carmen takes a little over two hours, one way. Fortunately Mayaland Tours use the Gray Line buses for transportation to the site from Playa Del Carmen, which were comfortable and professionally operated.

Our tour guide, Faustino, was friendly, approachable and knowledgeable. The tour progressed at an easy pace throughout the site with stops to learn of the history, culture and little inside details from Faustino.

The lunch, which was advertised as a 5-cousre gourmet lunch ... with beer and wine, has changed to an all-you-can-eat buffet with drinks at additional cost. The buffet however was stupendous with many local dishes to try and some international items, like hot dogs and hamburgers.

After lunch we had a couple hours on or own. Some of the tour returned to the site for another look or to shop the numerous vendors tables. Others took advantage of the resorts pool and bar.

The trip back to the ferry dock to Cozumel was another two hours, which tends to make this a long day, but the experience is well worth the time and the fee.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

nmarso

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What a great day! Pick up from hotel went very smoothly, comfortable and very clean bus transportation to Tulum. Extremely knowledgeable and entertaining English and Spanish speaking guide at Tulum. The afternoon at Xel-Ha was fantastic. A great place for adults and kids alike. Great facilities, but still very eco-friendly and natural. Highly recommend this day trip to anyone staying in the Cancun/Riviera Maya area.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

Yvonn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very informative. Could have had more time on the second sight. Strathmore friendly and professional.
Excellent experience.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Rich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. Bus stuff was fine, just necessary logistics. Tulum was beautiful. Xel-ha was great. Only small complaint was the brackish water at Xel-ha. It creates an odd distortion that hampers pictures. But great park, the split of Tulum and Xel-ha was just right

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

Jennifer I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

Josue M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

great tour with the great tour guides. They provide you with the water, corona beer, coffee, fresh bread from local bakeries, and they provide a great experience. I would highly recommend for anyone. If you speak Spanish or want to learn go with the Spanish guided tour its more smaller and more personal rather than the English one which is mostly about 20 people. I would also buy any items at the local shops in cancun or any other place the place the guides take you is a bit expensive and the places in Chichen Itza its also expensive.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

sandra e

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guides were great. We went to a mayan village and did a religious ceremony, ate homemade tortillas, jumped into a cenote. The lunch they severed was amazing. Then we went to Coba, make sure you bring sneakers for Coba. I also recommend taking the mayan limo to the main temple. It's a far walk. Great trip!

Doing what: Coba Ruins Day Trip from Cancun or Riviera Maya

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was one of the better tours that we took during our vacation. Pick-up was at our hotel in cancun. Then we traveled in a passenger van to the Mayan Village where some of the tour people split to do the adventure part. Zip-line and repel We toured the Mayan Village and was blessed by their Shaman before jumping into their Centote. Afterwards we went back and met up with the group and had a wonderful traditional Mayan lunch! Loved the Chicken! Food was fresh and well made! Next onto the Coba ruins where we had our Mayan tour guide educate us on the Mayan culture and history!

Doing what: Coba Ruins Day Trip from Cancun or Riviera Maya

bill.engel United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was one of the top two activities of our 10 day trip. We were able to do everything at Xplor and the Amphibious vehicles and water-landing on the zip lines were a total hoot! The buffet lunch was great with something for everyone! We will definitely be back to this one!

Doing what: Xplor Adventure Park from Playa del Carmen

Robert H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour, a very pleasant experience all around. Victor and his team made everything very easy, and he was incredibly informative. We learned a ton of great, interesting information that really made us appreciate what we were seeing. Everything was very punctual, and little things like having breakfast on the bus which was very good made things comfortable and pleasant. Bus was air conditioned and very comfortable. You stop to shop but it is only for 40 minutes so you don't spend long there, allowing you to get the full experience at Chichen Itza. One note, it is very hot at Chichen Itza and you are in the sun for most of the tour there so keep that in mind when thinking about dress / sunscreen. After Chichen Itza and lunch which was one of the best meals we had on the entire trip, you go to a sink hole that is really cool and is a lot of fun. Make sure to bring your bathing suit as we forgot ours and I slightly regret not going into the water. The total tour is 12-13 hours, so keep in mind when booking as it will take all day and you may want a more expedited tour. However, this tour was a great experience and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to spend a day seeing a bit more of Mexico than just the resort.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Matthew C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Took my wife on a one week trip to Playa Del Carmen, found this trip to Xplor randomly while searching. My wife isn and #39;t entirely adventurous, she is more reserved but she went on every activity with me. She enjoyed every part, the food which was included was great, buffet style many options.Great Trip

Doing what: Xplor Adventure Park from Playa del Carmen

Vickie N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

If your interested in zip lining for hours this is the adventure for you! SO fun and efficient set up! Wonderful food buffet. Juice, lemon aid, etc available free of charge. Thank you for NOT looking like a Disneyland with a charge at every turn.

Doing what: Xplor Adventure Park from Playa del Carmen

Ron G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this trip. The buses were comfortable, the tour guide was knowledgeable and passionate about the site and it's people and history. We would recommend this trip to our friends and family.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

Jacqueline J S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fabulous tour guides
Awesome destination
Brilliantly run
Information and pre-booking information were superb

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Faiçal J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Cancun passion has been very professional. They gave us interesting information throughout the tour. The buffet was really good. And when I have forgotten my camera in the bus, they were very helpful and delivered it to my hotel.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

jkm1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. I read the reviews of the 2 all-day tours and read quite a few stating they would have preferred 1/2 the time at both. While I agree that 1/2 a day at Coba was sufficient, my husband and I in our 30's with no kids would have preferred a full day at Xel-Ha. There was so much to do at Xel-Ha that we would have loved to have had more time to explore there and time to meet the dolphins and do the zip bikes. We chose the 1/2 day since we more or less thought it was more of a children's park, which it's not. There's plenty to do regardless of age. Both were great!

Doing what: Cancun Combo: Xel-Ha and Coba Ruins in One Day from Cancun

Jacob S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Tulum is worth seeing. Xel-Ha is the main attraction. I swam from the sea, upstream, for what seemed to be a mile. Beautiful experience. Saw many fish and a stingray.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A - MAZE - ZING.
This place was the best thing I did on my vacation! a must do

Doing what: Xplor Adventure Park from Playa del Carmen

Faye C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Tulum was magnificent! We had a fantastic time at Xel-ha, definitely a must try!

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

Linda K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a very good tour. Tulum is a beautiful place to go and visit Mayan ruins. Xel-Ha offers the best snorkeling spot where you can see tons of fish and don't have to worry about currents. We even had a couple of non-swimmers in our group and they were able to sit on the steps and watch the fish swim around their feet. Definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message