Low Isles is a small coral cay off the coast of Port Douglas. Lying on the edge of the Great Barrier Reef, it’s a fabulous spot for snorkeling and diving, thronged with hard and soft corals, tropical fish, reef sharks and turtles. Cruises ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 160 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gaby A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Nice calm evening. Punctual departure and relaxed atmosphere onboard. Definately need to schedule in this cruise when you spend a few days in Port Douglas

Doing what: Sunset Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

jozef F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Brilliant experience. Would highly recommend this trip. Expert advise on hand and very well looked after

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Ainayi A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an awesome experience. The crew was exceptional and knowledgeable. We saw turtles, sharks, all kinds of fish and corals.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

Leonidas United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

tanyaewilliams

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wonderful experience! I noticed when we boarded in the morning how full all of the other boats were while our catamaran only had 20 and felt like even less.

The crew--Tara, Ago and Alex were awesome and made us feel safe and right at home.

We went out to the Low Isles where we disembarked the catamaran, got on a glass bottom boat that took us to the shore. Saw some amazing coral and giant clams right off the bat! They took out two groups for an initial snorkel beginner and advanced for about 30 mins. Then we had about an hour to explore on our own or go on a nature walk on the island.

Supposedly you're likely to see turtles here but for us it was Low tide so we didn't see any. We did see some Reef shark, beautiful fish and coral, of course :

Next you have lunch on the boat and WOW I was impressed. I thought we would get gross, cold sandwiches but we had a beautiful spread of prawns, salads, noodles, meats, bread, sauces, and even dessert. So delicious and so fresh!

Afterwards we could go and explore the Reef on our own near the boat.

January is rainy season so the jellies are out. They provide stinger suits so there's no worries on getting stung.

The crew pulled out the sails and we sailed back for a bit and enjoyed some drinks for purchase.

Really great experience. Definitely recommend Sailaway!

If you're wondering how this might be different to the Outer Reef, we did the Outer Reef the day after. We only stopped at one on a 1/2 day tour but Tongue Reef was so grand! Tons of coral and seemed to go on forever. However, the coral was dead in some places whereas Low Isles it was alive and well even though there isn't as much. Outer Reef is just the middle of the ocean, no island to chill out on. Also, more likely to see turtles at the Low Isles. Both are great just different experiences.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

Gustavo W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Inspirational, excellent and well organised! Had a great time at the reef. Saw a shark and turtle. Tara and Alex have been excellent!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

Josh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Absolutely an amazing tour! It was a perfect day and perfect amount of time if you are not able to do the full day tour. The staff were incredible. This tour was a highlight of our trip! I would definitely do it again if I am lucky enough to return! Highly recommended!!!

Doing what: Afternoon Low Isles Snorkeling and Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Allen G United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic day. This company provided a first class experience from the caring nature of the guides to the commentary on the reef to the first class buffet luncheon.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

Sarah M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Lovely day tour, we had great weather and the added touch of a walking tour around the island was great. Just a shame the tide was out for most of our time on the island.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

Edward D

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Outer Great Barrier Reef cruises from Cairns were great. Green Island was just ok.

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

Michael B

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

My tours were all okay. Good staff on the boats and edible food for lunches. However, Like many others, I booked my multiple reef trips through viator. Viator emailed me asking my preferences for my 3x3 trips on the reef. I replied, and when I heard nothing, replied again...I never did hear back!
When I arrived at Port Douglas I thought it best to go and book my trips on the day before we wanted our first trip. I also wanted to book other people onto the same trips and my son and his girl friend were joining us for some of the itinerary.
The silver sonic staff were apologetic, when they explained that 2 of the 3 trips I was planning on doing were not available. They were however not flexible at all, and blamed viator for not telling me! When escalated to the manager. All he was interested in doing was pointing out the small print saying no sailing were guaranteed, and our booking were not transferable. My wife ended up going on a snorkeling trip, when she doesn't snorkel, and we had to drive to Cairns for 2 of the trips.....Very, very, disappointed. Be aware!

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

Darren Scott Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great day out. It makes you appreciate what Far North Qld's have in our backyard. Great tour for kids too!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

Shirley D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Recommend to anyone that wants to see the reef and have a wonderful experience on the water!!!!!!!!!!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

Darren Scott Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Could not fault the tour. Staff were great. Weather a little disappointing, but we sailed through it.

Doing what: Sunset Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

R C K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Superb boat trip and view of the reef and fish at The Low Isles. Quicksilver catamaran was very comfortable and whole trip well organised. We were I initially aprehensile about snorkeling but did not use the glass bottom boat and snorkeled all the time. Good lunch provided too. Thoroughly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

blindman.clark

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Crew was great. Small and intimate. Lunch was amazing. Water was crystal clear.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

Tania C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Incredible! Fantastic fun-filled day! Staff were amazing, informative and friendly. We saw green sea turtles, reef sharks, clams and an amazing array of fish. Snorkel or cruise the reef in a glass-bottom boat, or just laze on the beach. Great day all round. Good for any fitness level and for kids. Do as much or as little as you like.

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Patricia B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We thought we would get some instruction in actual snorkelling when we got to the Low Isles but we didn't. Maybe the wording of the info on the trip needs to make that clear. The cruise stated that it was for people who hadn't snorkelled before so it would have been good to get some instruction in the water.

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Valerie J

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

The Quicksilver and SilverSonic tours were the best. The Low Isles Tour was unfortunately hardly worth raving about - murky waters and very little fish to see. The Quicksilver catamaran to the Pontoon was fantastic - lots to do and see. The SilverSonic tour went to 3 snorkel/dive sites to be honest, only the last site Boomaderry had a ton of fish and was a really memorable experience, the other 2 sites had plenty of coral but very little fish that I spotted.

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

Ian P

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Good to purchase before travelling but no information when booking that the pass only accesses one group of providers. Fortunately, one of the trips I was interested in was available. However, it appears that trips should have been booked before we arrived in Cairns. This was not made clear at time of purchase

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

Tanja M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

great choice of tours and good value for money - if you travel all the way to Port Douglas you might as well go out to the reef 3 times. We went 3 days in a row and it was excellent even though the weather wasn't great. Fantastic crew and awesome experience. Low Isles is perfect for younger kids.

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

WESTON W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Really recommend this day trip. The staff were excellent as they took care of a few people suffering from sea sickness. They do offer sea sick pills to those who are unsure how they will be. My wife found it hard going on the way out but was fine going back. Even so it is a wonderful experience with plenty to see and do. The island is lovely and we enjoyed seeing all the sea life including reef sharks coming close to the boat.

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Geraldine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Amazing day - small group, well looked after by fantastic staff, good guided snorkelling, plenty to see on the reef held sea cucumber, watched giant clam close and swam with turtles - thoroughly recommended!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

claud0301 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Cut foot Too many people, Not even a seat left to sit on while going and coming from Isle Not Happy. Supposed to go to outer barrier but now have an infected foot.

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Mark K

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Beautiful boat, very helpful crew. The lunch was also good. Beautiful scenery sailing out to the reef. The snorkeling was amazing. Becaus the coral and reef were so interesting, we wish we had more I've to snorkel and spend at the reef.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message