Low Isles is a small coral cay off the coast of Port Douglas. Lying on the edge of the Great Barrier Reef, it’s a fabulous spot for snorkeling and diving, thronged with hard and soft corals, tropical fish, reef sharks and turtles. Cruises ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 150 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michael B

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

My tours were all okay. Good staff on the boats and edible food for lunches. However, Like many others, I booked my multiple reef trips through viator. Viator emailed me asking my preferences for my 3x3 trips on the reef. I replied, and when I heard nothing, replied again...I never did hear back!
When I arrived at Port Douglas I thought it best to go and book my trips on the day before we wanted our first trip. I also wanted to book other people onto the same trips and my son and his girl friend were joining us for some of the itinerary.
The silver sonic staff were apologetic, when they explained that 2 of the 3 trips I was planning on doing were not available. They were however not flexible at all, and blamed viator for not telling me! When escalated to the manager. All he was interested in doing was pointing out the small print saying no sailing were guaranteed, and our booking were not transferable. My wife ended up going on a snorkeling trip, when she doesn't snorkel, and we had to drive to Cairns for 2 of the trips.....Very, very, disappointed. Be aware!

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

Darren Scott Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great day out. It makes you appreciate what Far North Qld's have in our backyard. Great tour for kids too!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

Shirley D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Recommend to anyone that wants to see the reef and have a wonderful experience on the water!!!!!!!!!!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

Darren Scott Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Could not fault the tour. Staff were great. Weather a little disappointing, but we sailed through it.

Doing what: Sunset Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

R C K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Superb boat trip and view of the reef and fish at The Low Isles. Quicksilver catamaran was very comfortable and whole trip well organised. We were I initially aprehensile about snorkeling but did not use the glass bottom boat and snorkeled all the time. Good lunch provided too. Thoroughly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

blindman.clark

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Crew was great. Small and intimate. Lunch was amazing. Water was crystal clear.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

Tania C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Incredible! Fantastic fun-filled day! Staff were amazing, informative and friendly. We saw green sea turtles, reef sharks, clams and an amazing array of fish. Snorkel or cruise the reef in a glass-bottom boat, or just laze on the beach. Great day all round. Good for any fitness level and for kids. Do as much or as little as you like.

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Patricia B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We thought we would get some instruction in actual snorkelling when we got to the Low Isles but we didn't. Maybe the wording of the info on the trip needs to make that clear. The cruise stated that it was for people who hadn't snorkelled before so it would have been good to get some instruction in the water.

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Valerie J

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

The Quicksilver and SilverSonic tours were the best. The Low Isles Tour was unfortunately hardly worth raving about - murky waters and very little fish to see. The Quicksilver catamaran to the Pontoon was fantastic - lots to do and see. The SilverSonic tour went to 3 snorkel/dive sites to be honest, only the last site Boomaderry had a ton of fish and was a really memorable experience, the other 2 sites had plenty of coral but very little fish that I spotted.

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

Ian P

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Good to purchase before travelling but no information when booking that the pass only accesses one group of providers. Fortunately, one of the trips I was interested in was available. However, it appears that trips should have been booked before we arrived in Cairns. This was not made clear at time of purchase

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

Tanja M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

great choice of tours and good value for money - if you travel all the way to Port Douglas you might as well go out to the reef 3 times. We went 3 days in a row and it was excellent even though the weather wasn't great. Fantastic crew and awesome experience. Low Isles is perfect for younger kids.

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

WESTON W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Really recommend this day trip. The staff were excellent as they took care of a few people suffering from sea sickness. They do offer sea sick pills to those who are unsure how they will be. My wife found it hard going on the way out but was fine going back. Even so it is a wonderful experience with plenty to see and do. The island is lovely and we enjoyed seeing all the sea life including reef sharks coming close to the boat.

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Geraldine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Amazing day - small group, well looked after by fantastic staff, good guided snorkelling, plenty to see on the reef held sea cucumber, watched giant clam close and swam with turtles - thoroughly recommended!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

claud0301 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Cut foot Too many people, Not even a seat left to sit on while going and coming from Isle Not Happy. Supposed to go to outer barrier but now have an infected foot.

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Mark K

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Beautiful boat, very helpful crew. The lunch was also good. Beautiful scenery sailing out to the reef. The snorkeling was amazing. Becaus the coral and reef were so interesting, we wish we had more I've to snorkel and spend at the reef.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

Dana V

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

It is not good for snorkelling as the water is shallow and the visibility is poor.

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

claud0301 United States of ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Way too many people, Unable to enjoy. Cut foot on coral and is now infected. Not Happy

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Eric G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I was so happy that i found this option on the Internet, and had my tours booked before arriving to Australia. We enjoyed the boat and the staff on the boat best on the trip we took out of Port Douglas . We went to the outer barrier reef each day, and we saw different parts of the reef....amazing!

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

Kerry G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very well organised. The staff were really helpful and made sure we got the most out of our trip. Perfect for beginners like us. We got to swim with turtles, sharks and lots of different fish. Amazing experience!

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Karen E L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic snorkeling right off the beach, great glass-bottom boat tour and hiking. Fantastic lunch, too. Worth a second trip. We even saw a shark!

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Cairns

steveptweedale

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We picked one of the worst days to do this trip - windy and with quite a swell on the sea - even some of the crew seemed glad to get off the boat! Those who snorkelled seemed to get the best out of the day, so if you haven't snorkelled before it would be worth having a practice somewhere beforehand. Apparently the glass bottomed boat didn't give us as good a view. The short tour of the island with the marine biologist was interesting.

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Katherine F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour. Was a really fun day out exploring the reef. The crew were very friendly and informative. The lunch and nibbles provided were nice. We were able to spend a large amount of time in the water and a good amount of time on the island. It didn't feel like we were rushed at all. Overall, great experience!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

Kathleen O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Couldn't be happier with this 3-day pass. It was our first trip to the Great Barrier Reef, and this enabled us to sample 3 different boats and itineraries. We did the big boat to the anchored barge at the outer barrier reef the first day, the smaller boat Poseidon to three other outer barrier reef locations the second day, and the catamaran sailboat to the Low Isles the last day. We spaced each trip over the week in Port Douglas. Not for people who get seasick. I personally preferred Poseidon, as it had fewer people and those aboard were more adventuresome types. This was my 10-yr olds first time snorkeling, and he loved all three trips!

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

Julia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an amazing day brilliant team, everything so well organised. The marine biologist was so informative loved going snorkelling with him and doing the beach walk. Buffett lunch was also great and time on the glass bottom boat.

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message