Low Isles is a small coral cay off the coast of Port Douglas. Lying on the edge of the Great Barrier Reef, it’s a fabulous spot for snorkeling and diving, thronged with hard and soft corals, tropical fish, reef sharks and turtles. Cruises ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 138 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tanja M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

great choice of tours and good value for money - if you travel all the way to Port Douglas you might as well go out to the reef 3 times. We went 3 days in a row and it was excellent even though the weather wasn't great. Fantastic crew and awesome experience. Low Isles is perfect for younger kids.

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

WESTON W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Really recommend this day trip. The staff were excellent as they took care of a few people suffering from sea sickness. They do offer sea sick pills to those who are unsure how they will be. My wife found it hard going on the way out but was fine going back. Even so it is a wonderful experience with plenty to see and do. The island is lovely and we enjoyed seeing all the sea life including reef sharks coming close to the boat.

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Geraldine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Amazing day - small group, well looked after by fantastic staff, good guided snorkelling, plenty to see on the reef held sea cucumber, watched giant clam close and swam with turtles - thoroughly recommended!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

Mark K

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Beautiful boat, very helpful crew. The lunch was also good. Beautiful scenery sailing out to the reef. The snorkeling was amazing. Becaus the coral and reef were so interesting, we wish we had more I've to snorkel and spend at the reef.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

Dana V

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

It is not good for snorkelling as the water is shallow and the visibility is poor.

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Eric G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I was so happy that i found this option on the Internet, and had my tours booked before arriving to Australia. We enjoyed the boat and the staff on the boat best on the trip we took out of Port Douglas . We went to the outer barrier reef each day, and we saw different parts of the reef....amazing!

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

Kerry G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very well organised. The staff were really helpful and made sure we got the most out of our trip. Perfect for beginners like us. We got to swim with turtles, sharks and lots of different fish. Amazing experience!

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Karen E L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic snorkeling right off the beach, great glass-bottom boat tour and hiking. Fantastic lunch, too. Worth a second trip. We even saw a shark!

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Cairns

steveptweedale

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We picked one of the worst days to do this trip - windy and with quite a swell on the sea - even some of the crew seemed glad to get off the boat! Those who snorkelled seemed to get the best out of the day, so if you haven't snorkelled before it would be worth having a practice somewhere beforehand. Apparently the glass bottomed boat didn't give us as good a view. The short tour of the island with the marine biologist was interesting.

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Katherine F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour. Was a really fun day out exploring the reef. The crew were very friendly and informative. The lunch and nibbles provided were nice. We were able to spend a large amount of time in the water and a good amount of time on the island. It didn't feel like we were rushed at all. Overall, great experience!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

Kathleen O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Couldn't be happier with this 3-day pass. It was our first trip to the Great Barrier Reef, and this enabled us to sample 3 different boats and itineraries. We did the big boat to the anchored barge at the outer barrier reef the first day, the smaller boat Poseidon to three other outer barrier reef locations the second day, and the catamaran sailboat to the Low Isles the last day. We spaced each trip over the week in Port Douglas. Not for people who get seasick. I personally preferred Poseidon, as it had fewer people and those aboard were more adventuresome types. This was my 10-yr olds first time snorkeling, and he loved all three trips!

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

Julia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an amazing day brilliant team, everything so well organised. The marine biologist was so informative loved going snorkelling with him and doing the beach walk. Buffett lunch was also great and time on the glass bottom boat.

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Vivek K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Best package and it covered the best parts of the Great Barrier Reef.

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

fuzzybuzz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great experience and honestly cannot express just how much I would HIGHLY recommend this company in particular. I had REALLY bad sea sickness sailing there and back due to the rough waters that day and unfortunately couldn't say it was as enjoyable as I may have hoped, but that was definitely not without effort from the crew. They were all very knowledgeable, kind, caring and understanding of the water conditions and made the experience as great as it could have possibly been despite it all.

Food was surprisingly delicious for what could be whipped up or at least packed up at sea and I would do it all over again the next time I come back under better conditions. The professionalism of the crew, not to mention the small size of our group no crowding really made this booking the perfect choice for our trip : You CANNOT go wrong sailing with Sailaway!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

marie-helene d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very nice day on a catamaran with a small group. Very nice staffs.
Snorkeling and stay on a small island, with free time. We saw turtles and nice corals.
Lunch on board before going back to Port Douglas.
Highly recommended

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

johnlowe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Weather not great but they made it an amazing experience, loved the reef and the marine biologist taught us a lot, great crew!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

Tong G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The cruise staffs were very friendly and helpful, the view is beautiful, great experience over all.

Doing what: Sunset Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Tong G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great experience, cruise staffs are extremely friendly

Doing what: Sunset Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Lolo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We loved this tour so much!! We wished we had stayed longer in Port douglas,we would have booked the full day tour as well!!the catalaran was great and the crew on board were so nice ,friendly and knowledgeable about the reef and the marine life,great atmosphere onboard,great food as well.
Top experience!!

Doing what: Afternoon Low Isles Snorkeling and Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Audrey M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Enjoyable day at the ref. Comfortable journey and a nice lunch. Help with snorkelling if required and variety of activities

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Keith B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was an excellent trip and the crew were great.

We decided to do the glass bottom boat trip first,
then return to the catarmaran for lunch before
venturing onto Low Isles in the afternoon.

Would definitely recommend hiring one of the
all-over lycra suits for 8AUS as this stopped us getting
sunburnt, and allowed us to still swim in the water around
the isle, even as we did not paticipate in the snorkelling.

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Marek B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Amazing day sailing and snorkeling on this cruise. Nice sail boat with very friendly and helpfull staff. You travel with a relative small group of people and you arrive first on the reef where the snorkeling takes place. This is before the place is overwhelmed by tourist of the bigger boats and cruises. Great food for lunch and good instructions when snorkeling. Saw a lot of turtles and beautiful fish.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message