Port Douglas ATTRACTIONS See all

Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary

The Wildlife Habitat Sanctuary gives you the chance to see Australia’s animals up-close in their own habitats. Conservation, sustainability and education are all priorities at this very special wildlife habitat. Rainforest, wetlands, grassland ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 67 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tom C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic trip to Cairns! Fantastic Experiences! Fantastic Value!
We started our package with the reef trip. We travelled in style in an almost-new ship to the Great Barrier Reef with friendly staff and good food. Our two dives had us seeing an abundance of reef fish plus sharks and rays! Our ride back was entertaining and, again, we were well-fed.
Our second day was the scenic railway trip to Kuranda. We were whisked up into the mountains on a beautiful old train with beautiful scenery to the quaint town of Kuranda. We decided to spend the extra money to go into the Koala gardens and it was worth every penny to have the experience to hold and cuddle our little koala, Hazel! She was very cute! We returned from Kuranda on the Sky Rail and, even for this height averse person, the views were breathtaking. Take the time to get off on the two trnasfers and walk around. The views of the falls are worth the extra time!
The last day was packed with fun and excitement! There is a LOT to see on this day so do not expect to dawdle! Our guide, Russell was very good about keeping us on schedule without being intrusive and I never felt rushed. We knew from previous reviews to expect to be through the Port Douglas Wildlife Habitat by 9:15am. While it sounds early we had plenty of time to experience some amazing animals. We got to pet wallabies and kangaroos while giant storks and emus waddled past. We got to see the oddly entrancing cassowary and, I have to say, you will never see anything quite like it and I still have a hard time believing it actually exists. We then toured Mossman's Gorge before having lunch in the Daintree Rainforest. The food was surprisingly well prepared I had a perfectly grilled steak. After lunch we strolled on Capr Tribulation beach for a short time before heading back to a crocodile river cruise where we saw several crocodiles and all the beauty of Daintree!
It was a magical day that capped off an amazing experience for our family!

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

kteacherabc123

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely wonderful! We had a fantastic day! Didn and #39;t realize it was such a long drive, but very worth it. Loved the wildlife habitat and getting to hold a koala. Had a blast jungle surfing. Crocodile hunting was fun too. Definitely recommend this trip!!!

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest Zipline and Wildlife Habitat Day Trip

Rebecca M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The ziplining is amazing and lunch is delicious. Wildlife habitat is wonderful and able to hold koala is great experience for my kids. We did not see many crocodiles in the cruise and a bit disappointed, but it is still a nice cruise.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest Zipline and Wildlife Habitat Day Trip

Brazzie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic! Adam our tour guide was very informative and safely drove us through some pretty winding roads. Because we were ahead of schedule, he stopped and added a rain forest walk. Because it was a rainy day, we didn't see any wildlife, but the walk was still beautiful. The visit at Wildlife Habitat was great! I got to hold a koala and also feed the wandering kangaroos - little beggars they are. Very happy campers and friendly! But the best part was the Zip Line Adventure - wow! The guys, Lee, Cam, Bill, Brent and James were so much fun! With their wit and encouragement, they got everyone to turn upside down and let go while in the tree tops! Exhilirating! We got to experience a true downpour in a rainforest. Luckily it was warm as we got soaked - but we didn't care! It was thrilling! After all the thrills, we took a nice cruise on the Daintree River - just beautiful. Because it was a cooler rainy day, we only saw one crocodile. But it was still worth it. This is a must do adventure!

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest Zipline and Wildlife Habitat Day Trip

Julia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great day packed full of things to do all very well organised, started with an hour in the wildlife sanctuary, a walk around the amazing rainforest, lunch at cape tribulation then a boat trip on the Daintree river where we saw four crocodiles.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Brandon L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great way to see the animals and scenery of the Daintree. The wildlife sanctuary was a highlight, would have loved to spend a bit more time here. The crocodile cruise was excellent, guide was very informative and we were able to see 3 crocodiles. The scenic parts of the tour were brief but provided enough time to get a sense of the area. I appreciated how we were one of the few groups in the areas at the time, it never felt too crowded. Our driver / guide Russell was excellent, he had a good sense of humour while also keeping the group well on schedule. Make sure you eat breakfast before the tour, it is awhile until the lunch break.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

petworth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The trip at Port Douglas the Habitat was a gift to my daughter and her partner
. My daughter said it was wonderful so Thank you
Muriel McIntyre

Doing what: Wildlife Habitat Port Douglas

tina.martin88

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a great time and saw so many different areas on this trip. The weather was perfect and we loved the stop at the Sanctuary where we spent a lot of time hand feeding the kangaroos and wallabies.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We purchased the 4-park pass and others who do so should be aware that the parks are not co-located. Rainforest Station and the Butterfly Sanctuary are close together in Kuranda while the Wildlife Habitat is about an hour north of Cairns and the wildlife dome is on top of the Reef Casino in downtown Cairns. That said, all the parks were clean and the critters appeared to be well cared for.
The aborigine exhibitions and duck boat ride at Rainforest Station were well worth the price.
At the butterfly sanctuary, the butterflies were quite beautiful, swirling around visitors in swarms and readily landing on bright clothing. There's a little café next door that serves an excellent aussie burger.
The wildlife habitat was fairly large - My wife and I spent 4 or 5 hours there.

Doing what: Australian Butterfly Sanctuary

gchasebc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We enjoyed the tour very much and the Wildlife Sanctuary provided the opportunity to get up close to some of the native wildlife -kanagroo, wallaby, koala, emu, cassowary, alligator, birds etc.
Great lunch as well.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Lucy United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide Daniel was lovely. Picked us up from our Port Douglas hotel and drove us to the animal sanctuary. A nice touch when he gave us all a pack of biscuits to enjoy as we visited the sanctuary.
Mossman Gorge its beautiful and many of the tourist were swimming in the Gorge. Daniel gave us a guided tour of the area. He was very knowledgeable.
We then travelled to Cape Tribulation beach. The roads on this section of the journey are very uneven. Take travel sickness medication!
Cape Tribulation was a beautiful clean beach and the hotel where we had dinner was very casual. We both opted for the steak option and were very glad. It was delicious. All of the other food also looked lovely.
We then travelled to the Daintree River where we boarded a crocodile spotting boat,after getting some sweets from Daniel. Again the tour guide on this boat the driver was very knowledgeable and took us to see baby crocodiles and a very large male crocodile. We also saw many other creatures including beautiful blue Kingfisher birds and crabs.
Daniel and the bus were waiting for us at the other side of the river and we then travelled back to Port Douglas. He was also taking groups back to Cairns.
I would recommend taking this tour from Port Douglas if you are staying there as it is quite a long journey from Cairns.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

michele g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was one of the most amazing tours i have had the pleasure to do. I learnt so much at the wildlife habitat and croc cruise. The young zip line instructors were extremely kind and informative. If any tourists are, at any time, in cairns, do it, I'm 60 and it was easy.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest Zipline and Wildlife Habitat Day Trip

Sherri M Papua New Guinea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We enjoyed the wildlife habitat but could have stayed longer. Loved the ziplining. The staff were helpful and patient. We were not to excited about the river cruise but overall a great day.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest Zipline and Wildlife Habitat Day Trip

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We loved it and especially the Wildlife Sanctuary. The river cruise was a bit of a disappointment as we only saw one very small crocodile. But the ride up and through Daintree was spectacular and the beach at Cape Tribulation was lovely- enjoyed the stroll along the sea. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Sarah O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was such a good time, I felt safe with all the instructors. I wish it was longer, even those there is six platforms I enjoyed each and every minute of this excursion. I also enjoyed the Wildlife Habitat I was able to hold a Koala and have my picture taken it definitely checked off from my bucket list! The Daintree was a great experience even our tour guide was the epitome of Australia, loved each and every minute of it, I def. recommend anyone who comes to Cairns to do this!

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest Zipline and Wildlife Habitat Day Trip

Foong A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We have a really great day, the small wild life sanctuary in Port Douglas was impressive, shame we couldn't see any Crocodiles close up but a great day all round.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Dave

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had one of our best days on this tour. We picked up at our resort by Daniel and was entertained and enlightened all day. The Habitat Wildlife had all of the animals in a much more natural state. We were able walk among and have great photo opportunities. Daniel added a wealth of insight during our short walk in Mossman Gorge. The meal at Cape Tribulation was excellent. Large tree snakes on the river, crocs and birds that we had seen at the Habitat. He not only had his local tour information but added a working Aussie's perspective. One the the best value for the money days we spent.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Steven R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide, Shane, was an absolute pleasure and a treasure trove of information about the area, Australian history and current events as well! While the trip was delayed at times by some Spanish tourists who couldn't seem to mind the clock, everything else went very smoothly. We loved the Port Douglas Habitat Conservancy/Zoo, with the ability to feed and pet kangaroos, get up-close to all sorts of birds, see cassowaries and crocs and pet a koala. Apparently that's an optional portion of the tour for some on the bus, but I would say that this is an area that more time should be given, it's just so much fun. Going on up north and seeing the ruggedness, the beauty of the forest and the coast, enjoying a wonderful lunch and soaking up culture, in addition to seeing a cassowary in the wild, made this trip a pleasure and a bargain. We would definitely recommend this tour to anyone who only has a short time to spend in the northern wilds of Australia!

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Mark B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The whole family had a great day, From the moment we got picked up and went to the wildlife habitat the crew were fantastic, the Zip lining was a rush even the wife that is scared of heights but by the end she was having a ball. The Daintree cruise finished the day off well.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest Zipline and Wildlife Habitat Day Trip

John K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The driver/guide was very friendly and attentive, also gave out commentary during the drive about the different areas which was interesting. The Wildlife Sanctuary was okay and probably would appeal more to overseas visitors not familiar with our wildlife, still worth a visit though.
The trip to Mossman Gorge, Daintree Rainforest, and Cape tribulation was spectacular. The drive to Cape a Tribulation was a long one but worth it. The lunch at Cape Tribulation was very nice, I had the fish and it was good, the steak looked good as well.
The boat ride on the Daintree river was a highlight for me, we were able to find and get close to many crocodiles of different sizes sunning themselves on the river banks.
Overall I enjoyed this tour and had a great day and would recommend it to anyone visiting thus area.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Gabriela H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

What a great tour!! Very busy day and was able to see heaps of exciting sites! Ulysses butterflies at Mossman Gorge, Cassowaries at the Wildlife Habitat AND in the wild at Daintree, and we saw several crocodiles on the river.

Daniel, or driver, was really great. Gave us wonderful information on each location, and was very nice to speak with. He made sure everyone was having a great time and was very accommodating.

Cape Tribulation Beach House, where we stopped for lunch, wasn't all that great. Food was average. Beach was gorgeous. I'd recommend you go with the fish if you're getting lunch - steak looked very plain and it wasn't a great cut of meat.

Make sure you take sunscreen, water, and insect repellant.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Nicholas D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The sanctuary animals were very tame and did many adorable things. Our guide was very knowledgeable. The included food was great, I'd recommend the barramundi over the steak, though. You get to eat lunch just meters away from Cape Tribulation.You will feel slightly rushed, as there is a lot to see, but if you have your camera ready you will be fine.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Zoe K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Best trip ever!!!! Daniel our tour guide was very friendly and keen to talk and get to know everyone on the tour. The day was jam-packed of fun things to do! I loved the rainforest habitat, you could get up close and personal to the animals and the staff were great! Daintree rainforest was one of the most beautiful places ive ever seen and then we had a great time chilling on the beach at cape tribulation!! After that we headed up river by boat to go crocodile spotting! So much fun! One of the best trips ive ever done!

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Barbara K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

The trip was great. Our driver / guide was informative, helpful and entertaining. We did a lot and saw a lot. Loved the Habitat and could have spent more time there.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Zachary W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Awesome opportunity to see loads of beautiful butterflies in a natural habitat, as well as seeing larvae and learning cool stuff. Unlimited great photos!

Doing what: Australian Butterfly Sanctuary

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message