Port Douglas: gateway to paradise. Or should that be paradises, plural. Because within ‘cooee’ of this little resort town lie some of the world’s greatest splendors: The Great Barrier Reef, Cape Tribulation, and the Daintree Rainforest. Day 1:  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 502 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gaby A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Nice calm evening. Punctual departure and relaxed atmosphere onboard. Definately need to schedule in this cruise when you spend a few days in Port Douglas

Doing what: Sunset Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

mimi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We booked this tour on our first day of the Queensland trip and it is a great way to start off the whole trip. We started in the morning with Mossman Gorge, took a walk around and getting in the gorge for a very refreshing swim. Bridget, our guide, was very warm and open to questions. It is amazing how much she knows about the forest, the plants and animals. It is also fascinating to learn about the way aboriginal people uses the environment around them. As Bridget manoeuvres herself through the forest, she tells us about the seemingly random plants around her and the forest all of a sudden comes to life. We walked away with a new understanding and appreciation of the forest, and the aboriginal people. The schedule of the day depends on low tide timings, and we did our crabbing in the afternoon that day. We took an amazing walk through the sea to the mangrove swamps. There are heaps of mosquitoes there, and even with mozzie sprays brought by Bridget, I got like 20 bites. We also got to see the Kubirri Warra brothers in action, catching a giant crab and a stingray, which was let go. On the way back, I was not feeling great due to the mozzie bites so Bridget took us to a pharmacy. We really appreciate it! The trips was very memorable and I would recommend it to anyone wanting to learn more about the aboriginal culture.

Doing what: Aboriginal Cultural Daintree Rainforest Tour from Cairns or Port Douglas

Ainayi A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an awesome experience. The crew was exceptional and knowledgeable. We saw turtles, sharks, all kinds of fish and corals.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

Leonidas United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

Leonidas United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fed kangaroos and held a koala!

Doing what: Wildlife Habitat Port Douglas

Kim W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Awesome trip with beautiful scenery and great commentary throughout. Lunch was delicious and the Daintree river tour was fantastic. The kids loved it. Recommend highly.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

carolpeim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fin was an amazing guide with a lot of useful and interesting information. We fit so much into one day, yet it never felt rushed. Such fun feeding the wallabies.

Doing what: Cape Tribulation, Daintree River Cruise and Bloomfield Track Small Group Tour

tanyaewilliams

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wonderful experience! I noticed when we boarded in the morning how full all of the other boats were while our catamaran only had 20 and felt like even less.

The crew--Tara, Ago and Alex were awesome and made us feel safe and right at home.

We went out to the Low Isles where we disembarked the catamaran, got on a glass bottom boat that took us to the shore. Saw some amazing coral and giant clams right off the bat! They took out two groups for an initial snorkel beginner and advanced for about 30 mins. Then we had about an hour to explore on our own or go on a nature walk on the island.

Supposedly you're likely to see turtles here but for us it was Low tide so we didn't see any. We did see some Reef shark, beautiful fish and coral, of course :

Next you have lunch on the boat and WOW I was impressed. I thought we would get gross, cold sandwiches but we had a beautiful spread of prawns, salads, noodles, meats, bread, sauces, and even dessert. So delicious and so fresh!

Afterwards we could go and explore the Reef on our own near the boat.

January is rainy season so the jellies are out. They provide stinger suits so there's no worries on getting stung.

The crew pulled out the sails and we sailed back for a bit and enjoyed some drinks for purchase.

Really great experience. Definitely recommend Sailaway!

If you're wondering how this might be different to the Outer Reef, we did the Outer Reef the day after. We only stopped at one on a 1/2 day tour but Tongue Reef was so grand! Tons of coral and seemed to go on forever. However, the coral was dead in some places whereas Low Isles it was alive and well even though there isn't as much. Outer Reef is just the middle of the ocean, no island to chill out on. Also, more likely to see turtles at the Low Isles. Both are great just different experiences.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

Maryanne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Highly recommend this tour. The people were so knowledgable and friendly. I would definitely go with them again!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

bellcatr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Tour guide was brilliant and very knowledgeable!

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

kmootien

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent trip, one of the best during our travels in Australia. Great blend of viewing the rainforest canopy, rainsforest activities and a relaxing railway return. Great for familiy's and not too intense. Very well organised.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Port Douglas

Gustavo W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Inspirational, excellent and well organised! Had a great time at the reef. Saw a shark and turtle. Tara and Alex have been excellent!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

Josh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Absolutely an amazing tour! It was a perfect day and perfect amount of time if you are not able to do the full day tour. The staff were incredible. This tour was a highlight of our trip! I would definitely do it again if I am lucky enough to return! Highly recommended!!!

Doing what: Afternoon Low Isles Snorkeling and Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Amrit G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The ride was great, along with the history of the railroad. Good weather so the views and scenery were quite good.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Port Douglas

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Awesome day out - stunning scenery and a great guide.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Allen G United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic day. This company provided a first class experience from the caring nature of the guides to the commentary on the reef to the first class buffet luncheon.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

Gustavo W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Excellent guide - Daniel! Informative and friendly! The tour itself compared to other tours I have taken during this trip has not been very eventful.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Alan C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

You hit multiple destinations but little time is spent in each place. Better to stay in port Douglas to decrease commuting time

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Sarah M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Lovely day tour, we had great weather and the added touch of a walking tour around the island was great. Just a shame the tide was out for most of our time on the island.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

swimchickee88

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

I really liked the tour, the guide was very knowledgeable. the only thing I would change would be less time at the lunch site 1.5 hours at a beach you can't swim in and more time for walking at mossman gorge.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Edward D

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Outer Great Barrier Reef cruises from Cairns were great. Green Island was just ok.

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

Michael B

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

My tours were all okay. Good staff on the boats and edible food for lunches. However, Like many others, I booked my multiple reef trips through viator. Viator emailed me asking my preferences for my 3x3 trips on the reef. I replied, and when I heard nothing, replied again...I never did hear back!
When I arrived at Port Douglas I thought it best to go and book my trips on the day before we wanted our first trip. I also wanted to book other people onto the same trips and my son and his girl friend were joining us for some of the itinerary.
The silver sonic staff were apologetic, when they explained that 2 of the 3 trips I was planning on doing were not available. They were however not flexible at all, and blamed viator for not telling me! When escalated to the manager. All he was interested in doing was pointing out the small print saying no sailing were guaranteed, and our booking were not transferable. My wife ended up going on a snorkeling trip, when she doesn't snorkel, and we had to drive to Cairns for 2 of the trips.....Very, very, disappointed. Be aware!

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

Hardy S

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

Decent tour. The wildlife sanctuary is fun with free roaming kangaroos and other animals/birds. The rainforest and beach were nice as well, although not on the level of other tropical rainforests I've seen. The tour guide was solid but also not very engaging quiet early in the day, played a movie on the long drive home, etc.. The boat ride in Daintree river was pretty disappointing because we didn't see any crocodiles in the water and the two on land shown to us were so still that I'm not sure they were real. Overall good experience but a bit too slow for my taste.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Kathy Kris Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

Long Day, too much driving. Not enough time at the Cape Tribulation! Not enough time at Rainforest we didn't even see waterfalls! Lunch was good.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message