Port Douglas: gateway to paradise. Or should that be paradises, plural. Because within ‘cooee’ of this little resort town lie some of the world’s greatest splendors: The Great Barrier Reef, Cape Tribulation, and the Daintree Rainforest. Day 1:  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 511 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it.

Doing what: Cairns Flames of the Forest Dining Experience

Gary N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was certainly a highlight for our Australia trip. Charlotte even got my wife snorkelling which was like a miracle. Everything was great, the boat so clean, lunch was great, equipment was first class, This day on a luxury Catamaran combined with the professionalism of the Crew is a great value for the money.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

Gillian M R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Fabulous trip. We were only in Cairns for 2 days but this tour included so much in just one day. We were picked up from our hotel and our guide was excellent making the trip fun and informative. Highlights were the Mossman Gorge and the beach at Cape Tribulation where we had Barramundi for lunch and the cruise down the Daintree River where we did spot a crocodile snoozing in the mangroves! The wildlife sanctuary at Port Douglas was also great, saw lots of Aussie wildlife but we were not there very long only 45 mins just about got round and saw everything. Great homemade ice cream on the way back. Would highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Jennifer W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

Well, let me start off by saying that this trip only confirmed that I am not really a tour oriented person. The whole day was a rush from the moment we made our last of many, many pick-ups. Honestly, as convenient as hotel pick-up and drop-off is, this type of trip would be better off with a few general pick-up and drop-off locations. We hurried up to Port Douglas where we dropped two non-participators off in town and picked up yet more individuals to then go to a wildlife center that we had passed going into town in the first place. That seemed kind of dumb. I appreciate that the Port Douglas people were pick-ups but couldn't they have just met the tour at the center? We had about an hour to run around the center and that just seemed to be for the purpose of selfie takingthe theme of the whole day. The bus was late to pick us up because the driver had been searching for the two non-participators. We knew they weren't to be a part of most of the activities including lunch because the driver mentioned everything they weren't going to be a part of at least 100 times and sadly, that's not an exaggeration. We then scurried up the road through the Daintree where we were vaulted out of the bus at Mossman Gorge and dragged around the loop at a frantic pace to ensure that, once again, there was time for selfies at every single lookout. I don't think I actually learned a blessed thing about the gorge except how one should angle one's self to look amazing in a photo there. We were not given time in the gallery/shop and were given a 5-minute deadline to see the facilities and be back on the bus. The driver was male which almost certainly explains wy he thought there would be no queue for the ladies. It turns out we were rushed back on the bus so we could drive all the way up to Cape Tribulation for a 45-minute lunch. I admit that I chose to eat my lunch as opposed to run down to another beach at which we couldn't swim. The lunch was decent but not worth driving all that distance. We then flew back down the road to ride the boat. I enjoyed the ride even it was the completely wrong time of the year to see crocodiles. The captain has a real issue with the Flying Foxes and really spoke his mind on the topic at length, it seemed a tad dark for a touristy river cruise. On the way back into Cairns we stopped for Cassowary and a few vistasobscured by cloud.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

stracy212

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

This tour was like a glorified bus ride. After a 1.5 hour drive from Cairns, we arrived at the wildlife habitat. We were given 1 hour to walk round. Thought this would not be enough time, but its so small we were outside early waiting for the minibus to pick us up. After about age back on the bus we were at Mossman Gorge, took about 20 mins to walk round there. Nice view but that's about it. On we went again to Cape Tribulation and over lunch venue. The bus driver had already told us it was not a 5 restaurant, so I think he was trying to prepare us to not expect much. My son and I both chose the fish option which was edible, my partner had steak, or should I say fat and grissle! Cape Tribulation beach is a lovely scenic spot but you can't go in the water jellyfish and Crocs, so once you have eaten what food you could and had a stroll and taken pics we found ourselves killing time and waiting for the bus. After about another hour of butt numbing driving we came to the river cruise. Not sure who thought up that title. It was like getting into a skip with a motor on board. We saw 1 small croc a couple of tree pytons and hundreds of bats, bare in mind bats are all over Cairns, so we had already seen hundreds outside our hotel. Then back on that bus again for the 2 hour drive back! This tour was overpriced, with most if the day spent sat on a mini bus.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Gaby A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Nice calm evening. Punctual departure and relaxed atmosphere onboard. Definately need to schedule in this cruise when you spend a few days in Port Douglas

Doing what: Sunset Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

mimi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We booked this tour on our first day of the Queensland trip and it is a great way to start off the whole trip. We started in the morning with Mossman Gorge, took a walk around and getting in the gorge for a very refreshing swim. Bridget, our guide, was very warm and open to questions. It is amazing how much she knows about the forest, the plants and animals. It is also fascinating to learn about the way aboriginal people uses the environment around them. As Bridget manoeuvres herself through the forest, she tells us about the seemingly random plants around her and the forest all of a sudden comes to life. We walked away with a new understanding and appreciation of the forest, and the aboriginal people. The schedule of the day depends on low tide timings, and we did our crabbing in the afternoon that day. We took an amazing walk through the sea to the mangrove swamps. There are heaps of mosquitoes there, and even with mozzie sprays brought by Bridget, I got like 20 bites. We also got to see the Kubirri Warra brothers in action, catching a giant crab and a stingray, which was let go. On the way back, I was not feeling great due to the mozzie bites so Bridget took us to a pharmacy. We really appreciate it! The trips was very memorable and I would recommend it to anyone wanting to learn more about the aboriginal culture.

Doing what: Aboriginal Cultural Daintree Rainforest Tour from Cairns or Port Douglas

Ainayi A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an awesome experience. The crew was exceptional and knowledgeable. We saw turtles, sharks, all kinds of fish and corals.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

Leonidas United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

Leonidas United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fed kangaroos and held a koala!

Doing what: Wildlife Habitat Port Douglas

Kim W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Awesome trip with beautiful scenery and great commentary throughout. Lunch was delicious and the Daintree river tour was fantastic. The kids loved it. Recommend highly.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

carolpeim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fin was an amazing guide with a lot of useful and interesting information. We fit so much into one day, yet it never felt rushed. Such fun feeding the wallabies.

Doing what: Cape Tribulation, Daintree River Cruise and Bloomfield Track Small Group Tour

tanyaewilliams

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wonderful experience! I noticed when we boarded in the morning how full all of the other boats were while our catamaran only had 20 and felt like even less.

The crew--Tara, Ago and Alex were awesome and made us feel safe and right at home.

We went out to the Low Isles where we disembarked the catamaran, got on a glass bottom boat that took us to the shore. Saw some amazing coral and giant clams right off the bat! They took out two groups for an initial snorkel beginner and advanced for about 30 mins. Then we had about an hour to explore on our own or go on a nature walk on the island.

Supposedly you're likely to see turtles here but for us it was Low tide so we didn't see any. We did see some Reef shark, beautiful fish and coral, of course :

Next you have lunch on the boat and WOW I was impressed. I thought we would get gross, cold sandwiches but we had a beautiful spread of prawns, salads, noodles, meats, bread, sauces, and even dessert. So delicious and so fresh!

Afterwards we could go and explore the Reef on our own near the boat.

January is rainy season so the jellies are out. They provide stinger suits so there's no worries on getting stung.

The crew pulled out the sails and we sailed back for a bit and enjoyed some drinks for purchase.

Really great experience. Definitely recommend Sailaway!

If you're wondering how this might be different to the Outer Reef, we did the Outer Reef the day after. We only stopped at one on a 1/2 day tour but Tongue Reef was so grand! Tons of coral and seemed to go on forever. However, the coral was dead in some places whereas Low Isles it was alive and well even though there isn't as much. Outer Reef is just the middle of the ocean, no island to chill out on. Also, more likely to see turtles at the Low Isles. Both are great just different experiences.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

Maryanne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Highly recommend this tour. The people were so knowledgable and friendly. I would definitely go with them again!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

bellcatr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Tour guide was brilliant and very knowledgeable!

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Shantal F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our driver was a local and shared all kinds of information with us. We received a much richer tour than I anticipated.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

DEREK S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Really enjoyable trip, a very knowledgable and enthusiastic driver/guide in Hiriony I'm sorry if that's spelt wrong! who really helped make the day so good.
I would definitely recommend this day trip!

Doing what: Cape Tribulation, Daintree River Cruise and Bloomfield Track Small Group Tour

Keith K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Cape Tribulation is a stunning place, Daintree river was ok, seen 1 crocodile but that was it

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Colleen Q

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Way too much time on the bus. The rainforest walk was nice but then there was no time allotted for the gift shop. We rushed to buy hat. Then a very, very long and windy ride to a beach for lunch. But you were told that it wasn't safe to go in the water. The experience was not worth the time investment. They should pick a closer place for lunch. The boat ride was cool. If I were to do it again, I would zip line thru the forest. It would provide the same view and not take a whole day.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

kmootien

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent trip, one of the best during our travels in Australia. Great blend of viewing the rainforest canopy, rainsforest activities and a relaxing railway return. Great for familiy's and not too intense. Very well organised.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Port Douglas

Gustavo W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Inspirational, excellent and well organised! Had a great time at the reef. Saw a shark and turtle. Tara and Alex have been excellent!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

Josh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Absolutely an amazing tour! It was a perfect day and perfect amount of time if you are not able to do the full day tour. The staff were incredible. This tour was a highlight of our trip! I would definitely do it again if I am lucky enough to return! Highly recommended!!!

Doing what: Afternoon Low Isles Snorkeling and Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Amrit G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The ride was great, along with the history of the railroad. Good weather so the views and scenery were quite good.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Port Douglas

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Awesome day out - stunning scenery and a great guide.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Allen G United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic day. This company provided a first class experience from the caring nature of the guides to the commentary on the reef to the first class buffet luncheon.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message