Portland is regularly included on lists of the most bicycle-friendly cities in the United States (and sometimes in the world). So it’s not surprising that not only do the locals love getting around on two wheels, seeing Portland by bike is a great ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 29 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

gary w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great trip. You bike until you fall off. Lol

Doing what: Portland Brewery Bike Tour

Cathy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Definitely one of the top highlights of our trip! Sarah was amazing with her kind demeanor, extensive knowledge of the terrain, and patience with all of the bikers. I strongly recommend this tour even if you are not an avid cyclist.

Doing what: Bike and Hike: Columbia River Gorge Adventure from Portland

MARTHA V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Evan was informative as well as entertaining. He was quick to make adjustments to our bikes that made our ride more pleasurable. The route was beautiful. We would do it again!!

Doing what: Bike and Hike: Columbia River Gorge Adventure from Portland

James M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had a fabulous time on this bike tour. Crystal was our guide and she was the best!! There was a mixup with our reservation but the bike shop was very accommodating. Crystal's knowledge of the history was impressive and well communicated. And the waterfalls were outstanding. Without this tour we would never have stopped at some of the falls nor ever learned the history behind each. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Bike and Hike: Columbia River Gorge Adventure from Portland

NICHOLE F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was one of my favorite parts of our trip to Portland. Our tour guide, Crystal, was amazing! Very knowledgeable and easy to talk to. The bikes are incredibly easy to ride and very smooth. 5/5!!

Doing what: Portland Brewery Bike Tour

Georgia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Scotland was a most knowledgeable guide who made it a great trip for our family. The bikes were good quality and well maintained, and there was a good focus on safety. It was the group who determined the pace of the cycling rather than feeling rushed. Beautiful scenery. Well worth half a day out of our 4 days in Portland.

Doing what: Bike and Hike: Columbia River Gorge Adventure from Portland

Diana R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was definitely the highlight of my trip to Portland. Our tour guide, Jesse, was excellent! The bike riding had its challenging moments, but I highly recommend you join. The views of green, lush Portland, and the waterfalls are worth it! Also, kudos to the store staff as well. They were all friendly, organized!

Doing what: Bike and Hike: Columbia River Gorge Adventure from Portland

casadecoco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Daniel was an exceptional tour guide! Knowledgable and accommodating. He tailored the tour to our specific wants and made our visit to Portland very memorable. Riding bikes is a great way to enjoy and immerse yourself in the local culture. The bikes and staff were good quality!

Doing what: Portland Brewery Bike Tour

James E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour with amazing waterfalls! Our guide Daniel was extremely knowledgeable about the local history. Bikes were in really good condition and easy to ride.

Doing what: Bike and Hike: Columbia River Gorge Adventure from Portland

Maureen N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Even though the traffic was stop and go over the Memorial Day weekend, the bike and hike adventure was amazing. Our tour guide Daniel was very accommodating and he kept us entertained with facts about the area! Great outdoor experience.

Doing what: Bike and Hike: Columbia River Gorge Adventure from Portland

T_

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

All around great tour. Bike was comfortable, the ride was easy, the waterfalls were beautiful and the water was freezing! I would definitely do it again. And our guide, Scotland... was knowledgeable and fun.

Doing what: Bike and Hike: Columbia River Gorge Adventure from Portland

Justin A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The bike tour was a great pace, and allowed us to see so much of the city and a bunch of great breweries. If you are a beer fan and need an introductory to Portland, this is a great way to kick it off, getting familiar with the downtown area, and finding a few breweries you will have to go back to over and over again. The tour guide was great and was able to supply us with a lot of helpful info.

Doing what: Portland Brewery Bike Tour

Willem S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour guide was very knowledgeable, entertaining and pleasant to deal with. The selection of pubs was very good. I would recommend this to anyone interested in a pub crawl on bike!

Doing what: Portland Brewery Bike Tour

Monica C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great way to go around the city and exercise at the same time, and on a bike you can cover a bigger area. We did go everywhere on both sides of the river.

Doing what: Downtown Portland Bike Tour

Wendy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was awesome. One of the highlights of my week in Portland. I arrived at the Pedal Bike Tours shop and was greeted by the friendly staff and outfitted with a bike, helmet and water bottle. They bring snacks and water refills on the tour. There was only one other person on the tour who was attending the same conference. While the tour size can vary from small to large, I was happy with the size as it was much more personal. Evan was our great tour guide. He drove us out to the Historic Columbia River Highway. We stopped at a fruit stand and picked up fresh berries. Next was the overlook and Crown Point Vista House. From here Evan unloaded the bikes, and we coasted downhill. Evan drove ahead, and we met at the next stop. I think we got back in the van once, but we biked from waterfall to waterfall with Evan meeting us at each stop. We saw Latourell Falls, Shepperds Dell, Bridal Veil Falls, Wahkeena Falls, Multnomah Falls, and Horsetail Falls. Quite a few of them had short hikes to reach the falls. Evan was knowledgeable about the history of the area, geology, plants and everything else. A walking encyclopedia. He says he doesn't look at his watch, or it stops being fun. He was very generous with his time, and we went an hour or two beyond the 5-hour tour. I recommended the tour to several other attendees who were staying on in Portland for a few days. Best day you will spend in Portland.

Doing what: Bike and Hike: Columbia River Gorge Adventure from Portland

Gretchen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a great time--the bike riding was fun and not hard :) and Sara was a great guide--knowledgable of Portland AND the Beer!! Thanks!

Doing what: Portland Brewery Bike Tour

Tricia T USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide, fellow biker and all around organizer was Sam. He's the kind of person you hope leads this type of tour. He was flexible with our stops, and just an all around nice guy. The bits of history that we got at each stop added nicely to the tour. There were four of us on the tour, from the very fit to the not so fit. All of us felt comfortable with the physical requirements of the hikes and rides. The hikes were small ones--the toughest one being the incline that takes you half way up Wahkeena Falls. Even that wasn't difficult. The bike rides were broken up in between visiting six different waterfalls. There is some truly beautiful country to be seen on this tour! There are longer hikes that can be had at some of the falls, hikes that would be too long for this kind of tour. But, it left us all feeling like there was more for us to explore if we ever came back. Can't say enough positive things about this experience! It was the highlight of our quick girls' trip to Portland!

Doing what: Bike and Hike: Columbia River Gorge Adventure from Portland

Lisa H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

My daughter and I spent our first morning in Portland cruising through downtown via bike. Our tour guide, Noah, tailored the information about the city around our interests (history, art, books) and did an excellent job of helping us get the "lay of the land" so we would be comfortable exploring during the remainder of our visit. He even provided a handy (and the by the end of the trip, well worn) map of the city with notes of where we had traveled and what we had expressed particular interest in exploring later.

The tour is a perfect way to start your visit to the city of Portland and it doesn't matter if you ride bikes frequently (my daughter) or haven't been on a bike in years (me). We had a wonderful time and we highly recommend this tour.

Lisa H.
Nashville, TN

Doing what: Downtown Portland Bike Tour

Matt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We had huge reservations about taking this tour.... it was raining at the time and we were already wet and not excited to get drenched. However, thankfully, our guide was so motivated and convincing that we actually agreed. (Wife was slightly upset at first). However, we had a great time. We went to Rogue, Rock Bottom, The Crystal Ballroom, and others. And the bike ride was actually fun!! We honestly looked at each after the tour and said that we were so glad that we did not cancel. What a great time!! Thank you.

Doing what: Portland Brewery Bike Tour

Andrea C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide was warm, welcoming and very enthusiastic about letting us know about all the wonderful nooks and crannies of the Portland area. There were only 2 of us on the earlier tour, and we got plenty of samples, and had a great, challenging little recreational ride. Of all the things we did/saw in Portland, this was the best thing we did. I highly recommend it to all, even as an introduction to how bike-friendly it is around the city, and learning some great routes. There are so many breweries in Portland, I would definitely consider doing this again.

Doing what: Portland Brewery Bike Tour

Amber C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was my first time ever visiting Portland and this bike tour was my lifesaver! Traveling around was so much easier because the bike tour was very comprehensive and helped me get an idea of where I was and how to get where I wanted to go as I explored the city after my tour. Our tour guide, Melanie, was very knowledgeable and was able to answer questions regarding not only the history of the town, but give tips on fave places, unique fun facts, and was attentive to the requests of our tour group. If you plan on exploring Downtown Portland for the day, I highly suggest doing the morning bike tour first, and then plan the rest of your day after getting a better idea of the city layout.

Doing what: Downtown Portland Bike Tour

Lynne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Excellent tour. Well-worth it. Well-paced and gave a complete overview of the city. The tour guide (Sarah) was fantastic. Extremely knowledgable with an engaging personality. Whereas you might tune out other guides who drone on, you wanted to listen to what Sarah had to say. The bikes were comfortable, easy to use and changing speeds was effortless.

Doing what: Downtown Portland Bike Tour

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

What a great way to spend a Saturday in Portland. I'm a local Portlander and took friends on this, we had a blast. A good mix of breweries, beer tasting and downtown sightseeing. The ride was easy in a good way (no serious sweating), but we covered a lot of ground on the bikes, a really good overview on downtown Portland. And delicious beer from Bridgeport, Luck Lab and McMenamins.

Doing what: Portland Brewery Bike Tour

Rusty USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This beer and bike tour was the perfect way to explore Portland. Our guide was amazing. The beer was was good. And we got to see things we would never have seen on our own, including the inside of the Crytstal Ballroom. Take this tour if you like bikes and beer. The ride was easy and fun.

Doing what: Portland Brewery Bike Tour

EMI T

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

It was totally wonderful bike tour. Our group was totally 7 members and the guide was friendly and knowledgeable Sara. Through the tour, we could visit most of must-see-falls in Columbia river gorge. Unfortunately it was very high summer vacation season, so partly our bikes were stacked to long traffic jam. Others, just AWESOME! The tour was well organized, so I'd love to join this tour again in different season. I highly recommend to do! :

Doing what: Bike and Hike: Columbia River Gorge Adventure from Portland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message