Allegedly established by a Roman centurion named Amarantus, Amarante is situated between the steep sides of Serra do Marão and the curves of the river Tâmega, the longest tributary of the river Douro. Modern Amarante is actually rooted in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 55 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Andy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was so much fun. Every aspect of the trip was well planned and well executed. We has wonderful tours at the wineries and George was a great guide. We were never rushed, he never told us we had to hurry the whole day was at the group's pace. It was also nice to be in a group of only 6 people. The lunch was maybe the best I've ever had on a planned tour.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

victor D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great trip with an excellent guide, the trip takes from 9am to 5.30pm so it's a long day. Each vineyard you get to sample 4 different ports so be warned don't drive home afterwards.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Bertrand B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We were a small group of 8 and had a lot of fun with Andreas discovering the Douro valley. It is a must to understand and appreciate what makes good Portos. Our visit of 2 vineyards comparing the traditional and high tech ways was a revelation. It certainly exceeded our expectations.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Linda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fabulous day...made possible by our guide, Nuno, and the amazing vineyards we went to. He was a pleasure to spend the day with..,highly recommend his services. The sights were breathtaking. One of the top days of the entire trip!

Doing what: Wine Tour of the Vinho Verde Region from Porto Including Lunch

Maggie United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Jorge is great! We learned a lot about the valley and Portugal in general.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Michal H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour - one of the best days of our vacation to Europe! I booked this very late and the tour operator went out of her way to accommodate us and make sure the tour went off without a hitch. Without a doubt the tastiest and prettiest wine tour we've ever taken - if only Viator could organize discount international shipping for all those bottles of port!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent value for money. Driver was friendly and informative. The scenery and the wineries visited were all delightfully. It was a trip to be repeated. I would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Jean L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Spectacular views and wonderful wineries and olive oil manufacturers.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

ckmckinstry

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Incredible views and lovely trip. Lots of driving but the view were spectacular. Minimal wine tasting which was fine for me but others might prefer more.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Madison O

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Overall, I was very disappointed in this experience. Coming to Porto for the first time on my honeymoon, I expected a relaxing drive through the country with multiple stops for wine, learning about the process and the vineyard. We were picked up right on time and 8 of us were stuffed into a minivan. With weather reaching upwards of 40 degrees Celsius, the air conditioning could not keep up with the heat. While I understand the roads are very windy, that combined with the heat and the cramped conditions made for a very nauseous road trips.
We stopped at 2 vineyards, where we had a few samples. The speakers were not very welcoming or passionate about what they were saying. I knew nothing about Port wine, and still don't after this tour. We stopped at the olive oil museum, which was basically a one room area with historic machines. They had one olive oil to sample and two types of wine... in another building that had no air conditioning.
The traditional lunch was almost 30 minutes out of the way, and served no one but bus groups and tour groups. While the fish was okay, it was nothing extraordinary and I had much better meals.
After an almost 10 hour day, we arrived back to our hotel. Not my best experience in Porto.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Anja K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My partner and I went on this full day wine tour at the end of May and it was truly incredible. Our guide Jorge was really exceptional -- very welcoming, incredibly knowledgeable about the region, and overall easy to speak with and pose questions to. The vistas are spectacular and the three wineries are all very different and all fantastic. We ended up buying five different bottles of wine and port to take home, and the diversity between larger and smaller wine producers was really neat. After the tour, Jorge recommended a local seafood restaurant in Vila Nova de Gaia to my partner and both obsessed with food and even drove us there after we left our wine in our hotel! It's unrelated to the tour itself, but I ate the best Dorade of my life in this restaurant and you should definitely ask Jorge for the name. Overall, our guide was just excellent, the tour itself was so rich, and the journey through the Douro breathtaking. I can't recommend it enough!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

bcripps1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a trip that should not be missed. We had an excellent driver and guide, Pedro who was very knowledgeable and spoke excellent English. We learnt so much, not just about wine and wine production, but about the whole area and it's history. The two visits were contrasting and both exceptional in their own way. The morning was spent on a small estate, around which we were taken by the enthusiastic owner. It concluded with a generous tasting of the estate's wine plus a range of other delicacies produced on the estate or in the area. The word 'awesome' comes to mind in summing up the experience. Lunch at a small family run restaurant in Amarante was very good - grilled meats accompanied by salads, rice and potatoes and washed down with a local red wine. The second visit was to a large commercial producer, a total contrast to the morning's visit but also very interesting and informative. In all, a brilliant day that provided a great experience of the Vinho Verde area.

Doing what: Wine Tour of the Vinho Verde Region from Porto Including Lunch

bcripps1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was exceptional! We chose this tour because it offered visits to three vineyards instead of two plus a boat trip, and tasting both port wines and Douro DOC wines. And we were not disappointed. The first and third visits were to small, intimate and personal Quintas where the tours were relaxed and informative and the port tastings varied and generous so it was possible to get real insight into port production. The second visit was to a small vineyard where the owner produced his own wines and olive oils. Again, the tour was relaxed and informative and led by the owner who enthusiastically provided a detailed overview of he wine and olive oil production. This visit concluded with wine and olive oil tasting on a terrace on the mountain side, overlooking the Douro Valley. An excellent, relaxed lunch in Pinhao was at a family owned restaurant where grilled pork and veal was served with salads, potatoes and rice and accompanied by local wines. All in all, an excellent day. don't miss it!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Mauro B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A lot of good wine and beautiful landscapes, the guides speak very good english, highly recommended!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

AM

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent scenery, well informed guide, not rushed, great food and drink!!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Laura P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was our favorite activity of our entire vacation in Porto and Lisbon. Our tour guide, Pedro, was really great - besides being extremely personable and knowledgeable about the area and wineries, he also gave us some suggestions for restaurants in Porto that were delicious! In addition, I appreciate that he gave us time to explore on our own during some parts of the tour.

As other reviewers have stated, the first winery of this tour - Quinta das Escomoeiros - is something really special. The owner, Fernando, walked us around the property and then provided a tasting red, rose, and white vinho verde with cheese, etc. The relaxing nature of the experience made us want to stay all day, but the following lunch in Amarante and second winery tour at Quinta da Aveleda were also very enjoyable. While we can get Aveleda wine in the U.S., the winery property is beautiful, making it a great place for photos. Overall, I highly recommend this tour and the tour company, Cooltour OPorto!

Doing what: Wine Tour of the Vinho Verde Region from Porto Including Lunch

Ryan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour with an even greater company. We drove with Ida and another gentleman whom I forget his name. They were both great! Ida provided a ton of history about the region and was a crack up. Really great lunch was provided and the views throughout the drive through Dorough valley were incredible. Highly recommend

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Peter F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful experience. Our driver and guide, Jorge, picked us up on time from our hotel and and then three other French-speaking visitors. Jorge drove and chatted with us in English and French the whole way to Pinhão and back to Porto. He was very informative about wine and port and the history of Northern Portugal. We learned a lot!

It was a long drive there and back and I would recommend this tour for Jorge's informative comments and the three places we visited: Quinta do Tedo, Quinta do Panascal Fonseca and, D'Origem, a wonderful olive oil museum and a working family owned and operated olive oil press. Jorge also stopped on the way to Pinhão for a coffee break and brought us to an out-of-the-way place in Pinhão for a traditional lunch. A very full day in which we learned much about wine, port, olive oil and the Douro!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Brittany B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Douro Valley is a must when visiting Porto and this is the perfect way to see it!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Verne U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What an experience. Our guide, Jorge, was knowledgeable, friendly, and constantly concerned about all of us--whether we wanted or needed anything. The Douro Valley is stunning, but Jorge made it even better. We visited three wineries, had all the wine we wanted, plus a delicious lunch at a restaurant with great views. This was a great trip, and a great value. Book this trip and hope you get Jorge as your guide.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Jesus E

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Todo estupendo tal y como estaba programado fue una jornada formidable,sumamente satisfechos

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Cara B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We tried a wide range of good quality port and wine. I believe the tour was reasonably priced for what we received. I imagine if you paid more you may have had a more special lunch although the food was good and there was lots of it, it did feel like we were there only because a deal had been struck between the restaurant and tour operator and you may have had a real expert in port raking the tour although our driver was very good, spoke good English and was knowledgeable.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Peter J

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The drive to the beautiful Douro valley was breath taking, but complicated by the lack of air conditioning on the bus. our hostess offered little information during the trip. Of the three wineries we visited, only the first two were note worthy for their presentations and some of their wines or olive oil. The last winery left us out in the heat for a half hour and then rushed us through their presentation so that they could get to another group. Totally unprofessional on their part. The drive home was made more pleasant as the driver figured out how the air conditioning worked! The

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message