Allegedly established by a Roman centurion named Amarantus, Amarante is situated between the steep sides of Serra do Marão and the curves of the river Tâmega, the longest tributary of the river Douro. Modern Amarante is actually rooted in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 52 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Linda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fabulous day...made possible by our guide, Nuno, and the amazing vineyards we went to. He was a pleasure to spend the day with..,highly recommend his services. The sights were breathtaking. One of the top days of the entire trip!

Doing what: Wine Tour of the Vinho Verde Region from Porto Including Lunch

Maggie United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Jorge is great! We learned a lot about the valley and Portugal in general.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Michal H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour - one of the best days of our vacation to Europe! I booked this very late and the tour operator went out of her way to accommodate us and make sure the tour went off without a hitch. Without a doubt the tastiest and prettiest wine tour we've ever taken - if only Viator could organize discount international shipping for all those bottles of port!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent value for money. Driver was friendly and informative. The scenery and the wineries visited were all delightfully. It was a trip to be repeated. I would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Jean L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Spectacular views and wonderful wineries and olive oil manufacturers.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

ckmckinstry

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Incredible views and lovely trip. Lots of driving but the view were spectacular. Minimal wine tasting which was fine for me but others might prefer more.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Madison O

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Overall, I was very disappointed in this experience. Coming to Porto for the first time on my honeymoon, I expected a relaxing drive through the country with multiple stops for wine, learning about the process and the vineyard. We were picked up right on time and 8 of us were stuffed into a minivan. With weather reaching upwards of 40 degrees Celsius, the air conditioning could not keep up with the heat. While I understand the roads are very windy, that combined with the heat and the cramped conditions made for a very nauseous road trips.
We stopped at 2 vineyards, where we had a few samples. The speakers were not very welcoming or passionate about what they were saying. I knew nothing about Port wine, and still don't after this tour. We stopped at the olive oil museum, which was basically a one room area with historic machines. They had one olive oil to sample and two types of wine... in another building that had no air conditioning.
The traditional lunch was almost 30 minutes out of the way, and served no one but bus groups and tour groups. While the fish was okay, it was nothing extraordinary and I had much better meals.
After an almost 10 hour day, we arrived back to our hotel. Not my best experience in Porto.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Anja K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My partner and I went on this full day wine tour at the end of May and it was truly incredible. Our guide Jorge was really exceptional -- very welcoming, incredibly knowledgeable about the region, and overall easy to speak with and pose questions to. The vistas are spectacular and the three wineries are all very different and all fantastic. We ended up buying five different bottles of wine and port to take home, and the diversity between larger and smaller wine producers was really neat. After the tour, Jorge recommended a local seafood restaurant in Vila Nova de Gaia to my partner and both obsessed with food and even drove us there after we left our wine in our hotel! It's unrelated to the tour itself, but I ate the best Dorade of my life in this restaurant and you should definitely ask Jorge for the name. Overall, our guide was just excellent, the tour itself was so rich, and the journey through the Douro breathtaking. I can't recommend it enough!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

bcripps1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a trip that should not be missed. We had an excellent driver and guide, Pedro who was very knowledgeable and spoke excellent English. We learnt so much, not just about wine and wine production, but about the whole area and it's history. The two visits were contrasting and both exceptional in their own way. The morning was spent on a small estate, around which we were taken by the enthusiastic owner. It concluded with a generous tasting of the estate's wine plus a range of other delicacies produced on the estate or in the area. The word 'awesome' comes to mind in summing up the experience. Lunch at a small family run restaurant in Amarante was very good - grilled meats accompanied by salads, rice and potatoes and washed down with a local red wine. The second visit was to a large commercial producer, a total contrast to the morning's visit but also very interesting and informative. In all, a brilliant day that provided a great experience of the Vinho Verde area.

Doing what: Wine Tour of the Vinho Verde Region from Porto Including Lunch

bcripps1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was exceptional! We chose this tour because it offered visits to three vineyards instead of two plus a boat trip, and tasting both port wines and Douro DOC wines. And we were not disappointed. The first and third visits were to small, intimate and personal Quintas where the tours were relaxed and informative and the port tastings varied and generous so it was possible to get real insight into port production. The second visit was to a small vineyard where the owner produced his own wines and olive oils. Again, the tour was relaxed and informative and led by the owner who enthusiastically provided a detailed overview of he wine and olive oil production. This visit concluded with wine and olive oil tasting on a terrace on the mountain side, overlooking the Douro Valley. An excellent, relaxed lunch in Pinhao was at a family owned restaurant where grilled pork and veal was served with salads, potatoes and rice and accompanied by local wines. All in all, an excellent day. don't miss it!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Mauro B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A lot of good wine and beautiful landscapes, the guides speak very good english, highly recommended!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

AM

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent scenery, well informed guide, not rushed, great food and drink!!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Laura P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was our favorite activity of our entire vacation in Porto and Lisbon. Our tour guide, Pedro, was really great - besides being extremely personable and knowledgeable about the area and wineries, he also gave us some suggestions for restaurants in Porto that were delicious! In addition, I appreciate that he gave us time to explore on our own during some parts of the tour.

As other reviewers have stated, the first winery of this tour - Quinta das Escomoeiros - is something really special. The owner, Fernando, walked us around the property and then provided a tasting red, rose, and white vinho verde with cheese, etc. The relaxing nature of the experience made us want to stay all day, but the following lunch in Amarante and second winery tour at Quinta da Aveleda were also very enjoyable. While we can get Aveleda wine in the U.S., the winery property is beautiful, making it a great place for photos. Overall, I highly recommend this tour and the tour company, Cooltour OPorto!

Doing what: Wine Tour of the Vinho Verde Region from Porto Including Lunch

Ryan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour with an even greater company. We drove with Ida and another gentleman whom I forget his name. They were both great! Ida provided a ton of history about the region and was a crack up. Really great lunch was provided and the views throughout the drive through Dorough valley were incredible. Highly recommend

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Peter F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful experience. Our driver and guide, Jorge, picked us up on time from our hotel and and then three other French-speaking visitors. Jorge drove and chatted with us in English and French the whole way to Pinhão and back to Porto. He was very informative about wine and port and the history of Northern Portugal. We learned a lot!

It was a long drive there and back and I would recommend this tour for Jorge's informative comments and the three places we visited: Quinta do Tedo, Quinta do Panascal Fonseca and, D'Origem, a wonderful olive oil museum and a working family owned and operated olive oil press. Jorge also stopped on the way to Pinhão for a coffee break and brought us to an out-of-the-way place in Pinhão for a traditional lunch. A very full day in which we learned much about wine, port, olive oil and the Douro!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Brittany B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Douro Valley is a must when visiting Porto and this is the perfect way to see it!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Verne U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What an experience. Our guide, Jorge, was knowledgeable, friendly, and constantly concerned about all of us--whether we wanted or needed anything. The Douro Valley is stunning, but Jorge made it even better. We visited three wineries, had all the wine we wanted, plus a delicious lunch at a restaurant with great views. This was a great trip, and a great value. Book this trip and hope you get Jorge as your guide.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Jesus E

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Todo estupendo tal y como estaba programado fue una jornada formidable,sumamente satisfechos

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Cara B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We tried a wide range of good quality port and wine. I believe the tour was reasonably priced for what we received. I imagine if you paid more you may have had a more special lunch although the food was good and there was lots of it, it did feel like we were there only because a deal had been struck between the restaurant and tour operator and you may have had a real expert in port raking the tour although our driver was very good, spoke good English and was knowledgeable.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Peter J

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The drive to the beautiful Douro valley was breath taking, but complicated by the lack of air conditioning on the bus. our hostess offered little information during the trip. Of the three wineries we visited, only the first two were note worthy for their presentations and some of their wines or olive oil. The last winery left us out in the heat for a half hour and then rushed us through their presentation so that they could get to another group. Totally unprofessional on their part. The drive home was made more pleasant as the driver figured out how the air conditioning worked! The

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

jgknittel

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

The Duoro Valley is absolutely beautiful and the wineries were wonderful to visit. So I'm very glad to have gotten to see them. That being said, the tour was just ok. First, this was not the small group that had been described when we signed up. A bus picked us up, not a van, and our group size was rouhgly 30. This alone would have probably been ok, but the bus trip was pretty miserable. It was completely full, the driver and tour guide didn't seem to always know where they needed to go, resulting in multiple wrong turns trying to find hotels and the wineries. Second, the AC was a problem on the larger bus, we needed to request multiple times for them to turn it on or up, and it wasn't until we were on our way home that it was actually working. Third, our tour guide never introduced herself, never gave an explanation for why the tour was different than the description, nor really talked about anything at all until we got to the wineries. It was a bit weird sitting in silence for the first 90 or so minutes while we picked up passengers and drove the Valley. We really didn't get much description or explanation of anything except the wineries either, no real talk about the scenery or countryside or anything that we were passing or doing. It seemed like this was really a mode for getting us to wineries and back more than an actual tour. I would go the Duoro Valley again in a heartbeat, but I'm not sure I would take this tour again if it was with the same tour group.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Kate E

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

We booked this tour after reading some of the good reviews and we booked it because we wanted a small group experience and the benefit of visiting three wineries with both port and DOC wines. However, we greatly ended up regretting this tour because nearly everything that we were told to expect from the tour, did not occur. I and #39;m not one to complain often and I continuously kept searching for the positive during this tour and hoping that something would change or go right to make it all worth it but we kept being disappointed.

To begin, we were picked up 20 minutes late and instead of a minivan with only a small group, we were picked up by a large bus that would go on to pick up a total of nearly 30 people. After many stops at different hotels we were finally on our way. I was disappointed by the large group aspect but I think I could have accepted that fact and still enjoyed my time had so many other factors not been so disappointing. We were disappointed that our and #34;tour guide and #34;, Aida, did absolutely no guiding at all. She never introduced herself, never told us the plan for the day, never explained why there were so many people, never gave us any history or information about the Douro area or the wineries we would visit. I think that was the most disappointing part of all. Instead, it felt like we were a herd of sheep being herded from one winery to the next with no personal aspect whatsoever. Additionally, the air conditioning did not work in our bus and it was extremely hot for the entire trip - to the point that some concern could be held for heat exhaustion, people with medical conditions or for some of the older people on the tour.

We were disappointed in the first winery we visited as they did not give us a guided tour as you would expect. They basically showed us their barrels and then went immediately to the tastings. I think many people felt disappointed to not get the history or education from their winery. I and #39;m not sure if this is the fault of the winery or of the tour group due to having so many people and being short on time. However, the other two wineries were quite lovely and the number of tastings we received overall was great. Lunch was also nice, the food was good but the stop was too long and with so many people needing to be fed and served at the same time, some tables ended up waiting much longer than others for food and service.

In the end, the combination of a large group when it was advertised as small, an inexperienced bus driver who stalled often and took many wrong turns, a tour guide who did no guiding whatsoever, a missed coffee break, air conditioning that did not work and a winery that seemed indifferent to our presence and rushed to move us through all resulted in a very disappointing experience that made us upset that we had paid the extra money for this experience when we could have paid less for a much more rewarding experience with another company. The company did offer an apology by email nearly 4 days after the tour, but I still think so much more could have been done to prevent this from happening in the first place: starting with open with us about the large group and still ensuring we had the best tour possible by guiding it properly. Overall, I think this company has potential to provide great tours, but based on my experience alone, I cannot recommend this tour. If you do chose to book with this company, I would recommend calling or receiving some form of confirmation as to exactly what you can expect.

At least the wine tasted good!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Bill

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great guide, great experience at the 3 vineyards and tastings and lunch was awesome. Even got involved in a bike race.
Good Fun.
A Must if you are in Porto and not staying in the Douro Valley as part of the trip!
Thanks,
Bill

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message