Allegedly established by a Roman centurion named Amarantus, Amarante is situated between the steep sides of Serra do Marão and the curves of the river Tâmega, the longest tributary of the river Douro. Modern Amarante is actually rooted in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 72 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This turned out to be a very nice tour especially since it's December. Very good guide, extraordinary scenery, great wine and tour. Definitely worth the money.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Nancy T

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Lunch could have been better but the guide was great as were the wineries

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Joanie L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Enjoyed this tour a lot. Jorge our guide was good and personable and the folks in the van were nice, well traveled people. Everyone at the wineries did good presentations and certainly enhanced my knowledge. Maybe it would have been nice if we'd seen a little more of the vineyards or behind the scenes but overall, a good overview of what goes on with the different ports. Lunch was quite decent as well, esp. the port soaked cake. Make sure to try it.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Katya M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great journey through a fantastic picturesque valley - absolute must-have during your visit of the Porto region. Special thanks to our guide: trip was great, fun and very informative. Fantastic value for this experience.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Warwickfamily

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fabulous day, the Douro Valley is spectacular pictures do not show how lovely it is. The wineries we visited were very good lots of port wine to taste. Lunch provided on the tour was very tasty and lots of it. Our group had eight people and by the end of the day we were all best friends!! Would recommend this tour to anyone to experience the best of Portugal!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Dawn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Absolutely wonderful! I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Wine Tour of the Vinho Verde Region from Porto Including Lunch

Helen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful day. Can't thank our guide Aida enough. She treated us as though we were old family friends from the minute we were picked up. Very relaxed and jovial atmosphere. The area is stunning and the wine tasty. Lunch is excellent. Aida is a fountain of knowledge - she was even teaching us all the amazing ways to prepare salted cod like a local! Also excellent at teaching us a little bit of portuguese as we went round. So much fun, I can't recommend too highly. Thank you!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Lynnette C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was great. Some amazing scenery with some good wineries. It provided a good insight to the Duoro wine region, the operation of the wineries and the production of port. George was an excellent guide who provided good insights into the area, it's history and Portugal of today. Anyone interested in wine who is in Porto should ensure they visit the Duoro wine region.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

mvalencia1223

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Semi-private tour only 2 couples with a very knowledgeable guide who made sure everyone was safe, happy, and comfortable. Wineries were awesome! Gorgeous views, great wine. Highly recommend this tour! Great value!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

prettyprettyvacant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

excellent really enjoyable tour, Pedro is a very engaging guide and the food,wine and wineries were all wonderful

Doing what: Wine Tour of the Vinho Verde Region from Porto Including Lunch

Kristy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Amazing day exploring the Duoro Valley, sampling port from three beautiful vineyards and lunch with a breathtaking view of the Duoro River. Definitely value for money as we sampled around 15 ports in total and a must if you are visting the Porto region. Cannot recommend this tour enough!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Christopher G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Highly recommended. Jorge, our guide and driver, was very knowledgeable and a lot of fun and took us to some great estates. The Douro Valley is an essential visit when in Portugal and this tour was a great way to experience it.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

ARTURAS P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Quite interesting tour. Especially first part of the day. We have really interesting walking with owner of the first small winery and wine in this winery was beautiful. Tasting of the wine in this winery with range of other delicacies produced on the estate or in the area was excellent.

Doing what: Wine Tour of the Vinho Verde Region from Porto Including Lunch

Rory T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is an excellent alternative to the more popular Douro Valley tours. Our guide was very knowledgeable and accommodating and picked us up from right outside out apartment.

We would absolutely encourage people to try this tour and experience the fabulous vineyard of the entrepreneurial Fernando Fernandes and much, much more!

Doing what: Wine Tour of the Vinho Verde Region from Porto Including Lunch

kateab00

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Very thorough exploration of the region, one winery we had a proper tour and a talk, the other two were more basic tastings. Our guide said he changes the wineries visited depending on how busy the day is so guess you could end up visiting very different ones than we did but Croft was gorgeous. It is mostly Port - not wine tasting - due to the region. The restaurant we went to was very average, food wasn't to my liking but they were generous and hospitable.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Andy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was so much fun. Every aspect of the trip was well planned and well executed. We has wonderful tours at the wineries and George was a great guide. We were never rushed, he never told us we had to hurry the whole day was at the group's pace. It was also nice to be in a group of only 6 people. The lunch was maybe the best I've ever had on a planned tour.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

victor D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great trip with an excellent guide, the trip takes from 9am to 5.30pm so it's a long day. Each vineyard you get to sample 4 different ports so be warned don't drive home afterwards.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Bertrand B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We were a small group of 8 and had a lot of fun with Andreas discovering the Douro valley. It is a must to understand and appreciate what makes good Portos. Our visit of 2 vineyards comparing the traditional and high tech ways was a revelation. It certainly exceeded our expectations.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Debra W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Josh is a great guide and made it fun, with history and information on Portugal! Lunch was great and local. It was a long day but well worth it. We've been to Portugal several times and never seemed to make it to the Douro Valley, which was on the bucket list. Truly awesome! Also a great value!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Linda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fabulous day...made possible by our guide, Nuno, and the amazing vineyards we went to. He was a pleasure to spend the day with..,highly recommend his services. The sights were breathtaking. One of the top days of the entire trip!

Doing what: Wine Tour of the Vinho Verde Region from Porto Including Lunch

Maggie United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Jorge is great! We learned a lot about the valley and Portugal in general.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Michal H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour - one of the best days of our vacation to Europe! I booked this very late and the tour operator went out of her way to accommodate us and make sure the tour went off without a hitch. Without a doubt the tastiest and prettiest wine tour we've ever taken - if only Viator could organize discount international shipping for all those bottles of port!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent value for money. Driver was friendly and informative. The scenery and the wineries visited were all delightfully. It was a trip to be repeated. I would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Jean L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Spectacular views and wonderful wineries and olive oil manufacturers.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour: Visit to Three Vineyards with Wine Tastings and Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message