The Douro region in Northeast Portugal is near the border with Spain. Even with the advent of modern civilization, this area is characterized by a sort of frontier spirit that tenaciously preserves a traditional way of life handed down through ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 629 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Divya S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

As a student it was pretty pricey but the tour really was really nice! Our guide was very knowledgable and was very easy to talk to.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Erin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Pedro was a great tour guide, he is very knowledgeable about the region and provided some great information. The Douro Valley is beautiful and even on a cold, cloudy day it was an amazing trip with good wine, food, and local flavor. Would definitely recommend the boat ride!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

stephanie.yip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour, really lovely driver and guide who was willing to accommodate us at every turn! We visited two wineries, which were both fantastic. We also had the option for cruise, which we didn't take but instead spent out time tasting more wines in the region. Suited our needs perfectly.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Timothy O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was definitely one of our favorite parts of our two-week honeymoon in Portugal! Pedro, our tour guide, was wonderful and made even a rainy day so beautiful and interesting. We loved it! I'd recommend this tour to anyone! So worth it. Thank you!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Christina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very picturesque region of Portugal. Celia, our tour guide, was very informative and had a very vibrant personality. It was a great tour!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Inga P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour amazing destination! Autumn was particularly beautiful with all lovely colours. Lots of good information and amazing wine and port tastings. Unforgettable experience highly recommended!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

betsybiz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We loved the tour and our guide was incredible! She was extremely informative. I'd highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Leah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our day trip to the Douro was excellent! Our driver picked us up on time and we hit the road. It's a bit of a trek out to the valley, but our driver kept us entertained with information about Porto, Portugal, and the Douro. The boat trip sounds hokey at first, but the scenery is amazing and even my skeptical brother-in-law had a big grin on his face. The wineries we visited were top-notch and we brought home bottles from both of them. Sign up now!!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

kevinbigpond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was an excelent day. Jonathan was a very good diver and guide. The tour description did not mention a short boat cruise on the Douro which was a nice surprise. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour from Porto Including Lunch

Doris F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was an exceptionally good experience, to visit the wine regions in Portugal, simply breathtaking and the Port was good

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour from Porto Including Lunch

durham

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was wonderful. We saw so much and learned even more. The driver/guide was so filled with information and extremely helpful at every stop. He had infinite patience and was very friendly. We couldn't figure out how he crammed so much into the tour yet we never felt rushed! Everything happened at such a relaxing pace, lunch was delicious as well. It was just a great day.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Cathi B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a Fabulous day seeing the Duoro Valley, wine tasting and the boat ride. Make sure you take the optional boat ride as you get a totally different perspective from the river.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

KURIEN S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was conducted by livingtours. Excellent guide Joao, comfortable touring in an 8 seater van, good commentary and explanations, fantastic lunch included by the river side, two winery visits, a great boat trip and sufficient free time. The Douro country side is absolutely beautiful and a must visit. If there is only one trip you can make out of Porto, this is it!!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour from Porto Including Lunch

MumseyJes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great day, made all the better by Pedro aka Peter and his vast knowledge of the area. We thoroughly enjoyed the tour through the Douro Valley and would highly recommend it for anyone visiting the area. The lunch was very nice, and we enjoyed the variety of tastings as well as the demonstration of how olive oil was made from generations ago.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

kwilcox1512

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide, Pedro, was AMAZING! He was so knowledgeable and he made such an effort to make sure we all had the perfect day. Which we did thanks to him! The tour of the Douro Valley is a MUST SEE when visiting Portugal and don't miss the river cruise. The wines and ports were amazing, the views breathtaking, and the Portuguese people so very warm and welcoming.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Gary C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great value for money, very knowledgable guide, very engaging. Vineyards and wine tasting amazing. All in all a must do trip.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Emily W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a fantastic day! Our guide was fantastic, very knowledgeable and made the day enjoyable. We tasted some delicious wines/port and had a great lunch. Recommend to anyone who wants to see the Douro region!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

jerryg41

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide Johnathan was informative, funny, light hearted and courteous to the 8 people on the trip. The trip included a boat ride on the douro and lunch plus a stop at two wineries. It was a little pricey but in the end worth it.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour from Porto Including Lunch

Juan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Beautiful scenery, friendly staff. The meal on the cruise was delicious, too ! A day well spent !

Doing what: Day Trip from Porto to Régua by Train and Return by Boat

ERNESTO R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour. Good show, great singers and very good food. Lots of wine. You get to see a little bit of the city at night. Our guide took us to a very high point on the city so we can see the city landscape at night.

Doing what: Porto Sightseeing Tour at Night with Fado Performance

Robert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Perfect day with Pedro as our very infomative guide who brought us to small wine and port producers where we were well treated. Lunch was great and being with a small group made it much more interesting. Highly recommed this tour!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Patrice d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour with a nice multilingual English, French, Spanish and, of course, Portuguese guide, Alex - good driver and knowing a lot about the area and all aspects of growing wine, Porto of course. Great weather and just right into the height of the wine production season. Visit of two family-owned wineries with very knowledgeable owners able to share their passion and answer all questions. Excellent tasting opportunities. The overall landscape of the Douro river is beautiful, definitely worth the trip - a full one day. The option of the cruise one hour is also a real plus, providing an opportunity of a different perspective on the landscape.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

ionahx

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a wonderful time on the Douro Valley wine tour. I highly recommend it for anyone wanting to learn about this region and its wine. Our tour guide Pedro, was fantastic. He was very knowledgeable about the history, geography, and social aspects of Portugal and its people and shared his knowledge with good spirit and humor. We felt very cared for in his hands.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Eliska J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Exceptional trip - especially the attitude and personality of the tour guide was absolutely flawless!
We higly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message