The Douro region in Northeast Portugal is near the border with Spain. Even with the advent of modern civilization, this area is characterized by a sort of frontier spirit that tenaciously preserves a traditional way of life handed down through ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 651 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

cunningham.john.t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent all day tour of the valley! Our host Nuno was excellent throughout. He was very knowledgeable, interacted with the group throughout and made the whole experience wonderful, he really knows the area and the people. The tour itself was fabulous, we really enjoyed the wine and port we tasted and it was great t0 actually meet the producers. The lunch included was great and we had some extra time in the morning so Nuno stopped by a small cafe that had great espresso and really good pastries so if you are lucky you'll get a chance to stop there too. Your with a small group so it makes it more enjoyable than larger tours. Also highly suggest adding on the optional boat tour. We had a chance to meet a few of their other guides and they too were very good and friendly so if you can't get Nuno as your guide on a given day i am sure you'll be in good hands!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Thomas W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our guide, Nuno, was superb. His knowledge and demeanour was First Class, and the two Quinta visits were outstanding. The weather helped, and the whole experience was so good that another visit to Porto is definitely on the cards.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Eric M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was our second tour in Porto also offered by CoolTours. In both tours our guide was Luis spelling? who was phenomenal. He was friendly, fun and genuine, yet professional and informative. He picked us up directly in front of our accommodation right on time before collecting the other passengers and heading out into the Douro Valley. We took in the views on the winding roads into the valley while also learning about the history, context and significance of the region and its wines. There is a coffee stop at a nice little cafe which is full of wonderful local pastries. The next stop was a traditional olive oil press whose owner is also a winemaker - this also includes a wine and olive oil tasting. From here we took the boat cruise, which we really enjoyed, to see the scenic valley and terraced vineyards owned by the Port Houses. If you are unsure about the cruise, or the weather, you can still decide to take it at the last minute for the same cost at least in our case in the off season. Afterwards was lunch at a wonderful place above a firehall we could have never found on our own. The food is traditional, served family style and was really phenomenal. The only problem was that there was more than we could physically consume! The final stop was the Douro port house where we received a personal tour and tasting with one of the owners. Again, phenomenal experience discussing and tasting the port with far more detail than is provided at the large houses in Porto. The port here is also much cheaper than in Porto, and in our opinion rivalled if not surpassed the quality of what we tried in the city. Overall, one of the best tours we have done and highly recommended.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Almizan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Absolutely amazing. Our guide was Luis who was extremely knowledgeable and had a great energy the whole day. The sites and tastes of the entire day were probably the highlight of my entire 10 day trip in Portugal. A must-do activity.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

CAROL W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour - well organised, taken to local Port and Olive oil producers with great quality products. Very generous tastings!
Great lunch with a good selection of foods, and plenty of it, in a wonderful location overlooking the valley.
Friendly tour guide - very knowledgeable, thanks Luis.
Would highly recommend to anyone wishing to tour the valley.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Richard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was a long 10hr trip but was an excellent day out. There were 6 of us on the tour plus our guide who was extremely knowledgeable and good fun. We started with a longish drive through some spectacular scenery before stopping for coffee, and a pastel de nata, of course! We went on to a small family run winery where we learnt about and sampled their range of very good wines. Next came the river trip which lasted about an hour along the Duoro from Pinhao. This was very relaxing with good views of the vineyards belonging to the big Port houses which lined the banks. We then went for a traditional Portuguese lunch with more food and wine than we could cope with! Our return trip took us along the banks of the Douro with a final stop at a small Port producer. More tastings followed with the emphasis on education with no pressure at all to buy anything. We arrived back at our hotel having had a brilliant day out, plenty of food and wine and very good company. It was certainly well worth it and thoroughly recommended.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Jerry S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent day trip with Cooltour Oporto and the most amazing guide Nuno Nunu. He was incredible!! This small group tour took us high above the Douro Valley, to a small wine producer for a fine tasting, a boat ride on the Douro River, lunch, followed by another intimate Port tasting. A great day out and about. Nuno is fantastic, so pleasant and knowledgeable. Don't hesitate, book this tour.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Richard L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had an excellent tour. Our guide and driver Nanni was informative, entertaining, and thorough. The van was comfortable and the pace of the day just right for us. The sites were beautiful and the wine was delicious. The lunch and snack break were also good and timely. We recommend the boat ride.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Sandra D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was FABULOUS! We had a wonderful guide Nuno - he was friendly, knowledgeable and it was really great to spend the day with him. The length of time is perfect and is was our most favourite activity when in Porto. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Arun A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Loved the tour. Our guide Nuno was extremely courtesy, knowledgeable and accommodating to everyone and #39;s needs. Our visit to both vineries were great, the view from Douro valley just spectacular. The wines were great, the river cruise excellent and the experience was very satisfying. Great tour.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Tapiwanashe M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The was one of the best days we spent in Porto. The tour guide was very informative and the wine yards in the valley were breathtaking! Lunch was delicious and more than we and #39;d expected. The cruise was definitely the icing on the cake. Now have a new found appreciation for Port! Thank you!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

June W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

An excellent day out in beautiful scenery, good company and wildly enthusiastic tour guide.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Robert T Germany

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour. The tour guide was friendly,fun and informative. The tour itself is beautiful enough through the Douro Valley without the wine tasting stops, the tastings are the icing on the cake! Recommend you not only purhase the wine but also the Olive oil!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Nicholas Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide was excellent and the trip was very enjoyable.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour from Porto Including Lunch

Siety Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

What a wonderful day. Thoroughly enjoyed our drive to the Douro Valley with a small group of fellow travellers. Although the mini van was small and on the return journey it was extremely hot as there was no air conditioning. Our drivers was knowledgeable and well informed and kept up a running commentary. The boat trip on the Douro River was enjoyable, lunch was fun and the wineries and vistas were excellent.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Roni H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was such a great tour! I booked it specifically because of all the amazing reviews and they were all spot on! I would recommend adding this River cruise as well.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Divya S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

As a student it was pretty pricey but the tour really was really nice! Our guide was very knowledgable and was very easy to talk to.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Erin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Pedro was a great tour guide, he is very knowledgeable about the region and provided some great information. The Douro Valley is beautiful and even on a cold, cloudy day it was an amazing trip with good wine, food, and local flavor. Would definitely recommend the boat ride!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

stephanie.yip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour, really lovely driver and guide who was willing to accommodate us at every turn! We visited two wineries, which were both fantastic. We also had the option for cruise, which we didn't take but instead spent out time tasting more wines in the region. Suited our needs perfectly.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Timothy O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was definitely one of our favorite parts of our two-week honeymoon in Portugal! Pedro, our tour guide, was wonderful and made even a rainy day so beautiful and interesting. We loved it! I'd recommend this tour to anyone! So worth it. Thank you!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Christina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very picturesque region of Portugal. Celia, our tour guide, was very informative and had a very vibrant personality. It was a great tour!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Inga P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour amazing destination! Autumn was particularly beautiful with all lovely colours. Lots of good information and amazing wine and port tastings. Unforgettable experience highly recommended!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

betsybiz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We loved the tour and our guide was incredible! She was extremely informative. I'd highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Leah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our day trip to the Douro was excellent! Our driver picked us up on time and we hit the road. It's a bit of a trek out to the valley, but our driver kept us entertained with information about Porto, Portugal, and the Douro. The boat trip sounds hokey at first, but the scenery is amazing and even my skeptical brother-in-law had a big grin on his face. The wineries we visited were top-notch and we brought home bottles from both of them. Sign up now!!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message