The Douro region in Northeast Portugal is near the border with Spain. Even with the advent of modern civilization, this area is characterized by a sort of frontier spirit that tenaciously preserves a traditional way of life handed down through ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 542 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Shawn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We undertook the full day trip with the excellent Jose as our guide....he was full of energy and information and ensured we had an unforgettable day. He could not do enough for us to ensure that we had the best time possible. Great visits to places you would never have found on your own and a great family restaurant. A great day in the Douro and recommend this company/tour.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Miki_pol

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We were picked from the hotel on time . The guide was lovely,extremely knowledgable , the views and wine tasting was excellent. A lovely day.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Richard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed this well-organized tour! Our guide, Anna, was very knowledgable about the Douro Valley and wines. The lunch was superb and beyond expectations. Views were absolutely spectacular. If you and #39;re traveling to Porto, make sure to fit in this fantastic side trip!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Chris R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Peter was an excellent guide -- friendly and informative. We also appreciated the small group who went on the tour with us. Nice to get to know a few other people without feeling part of a huge tour. Great way to see small vineyards and wine/port producers.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Ana Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent and must do tour. The group of 8 was perfect and the visits to the wine tasting were fun and educational. Much thanks Ana and Aaron

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Henry H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour of Douro vineyards and port producer was excellent,thanks to the excellent guide who was very knowable,friendly and with excellent English.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Lin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour and perfect weather for it. Our tour guide was very friendly and very informative and made the experience much more memorable. Thank you for the great tour! Highly recommend

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Suzanne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Gorgeous scenery, delicious wine, and an extraordinary tour guide. Our guide, Jose, was funny, enthusiastic, knowledgeable, and hard working. He went out of his way literally to make sure our experience gave us a true view into the history and culture of Portuguese wine making and people. He could answer any question, from urban renewal to ancient history, and did so in such an entertaining manner. It was the highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Amrita S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Jose is the BEST tour guide you could ask for. Very knowledgeable, friendly, and quite honestly it felt like we were on a tour with an old friend. The tour itself and the wineries are also great- it's nice to go to the smaller wineries for a more intimate experience. I recommend this tour to everyone. It was an incredible finish to a two week trip.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Lawrence C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour guide Peter is excellent. Is a must trip when you visit Porto.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Glyn D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour guide Nuno. Good balance of fun, information, great scenery and, of course, wine and port tasting. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Casey B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of our favorite parts of our trip to Portugal. Absolutely beautiful scenery with the river and the vineyards- pictures do not do it justice. The guide, Jose, was very knowledgeable, funny, and nice. Our group got along really well, so happy it was a small group. The wine tasting was really fun and interesting. Loved this day!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Christopher P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A long hot day, but well worth it, led by the entertaining and informative Jose - an excellent tour guide given his knowledge of geography. A fair amount of driving to get to the Douro valley, but there was a lovely local wine and olive oil tasting on the way, a fabulous and cooling river cruise viewing the vineyards followed by a great lunch. The port tasting later in the day was probably a bit too long - six different ports to taste was too much - but overall a great day, with collection from and return to our hotel.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Eileen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really enjoyed our Tour, Anna our guide was great. Fantastic scenery, great food, wine and port tasting.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Chenchen Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a hot day and the tour involved quite some long drives, but our guide, José, did his best to keep us entertained. Not only a professional, attentive, and knowledgeable guide, but also a cheerful young guy with whom you'd truly enjoy a little chat about everything, from the history of the region to his new MA programme soon to start. The scenery was amazing but again it was very hot, and most of the time we were in the car. To be honest I'm not a big fan of port wine and driving on mountain roads made me a bit sick, so I wouldn't enjoy the trip that much if it wasn't for our wonderful guide.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Louise B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We just loved it !
The guide was fantastiqueand very nice with us. She provided evrything we needed !
Thanks Anna!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Adam L R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

the perfect day: anna was a charming, articulate, informative and funny guide and all stops were worthwhile - from small wineries to lunch to the river cruise - all wonderful. would recommend this to anyone easily.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Allison M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was absolutely wonderful! Pickup was very easy. The tour guide was amazing! She gave enough information but also just let us enjoy the scenery and drive also. The wineries they took us to were so lovely. Overall, this is a great deal. I highly recommend!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Stefano C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

beautiful day, beautiful people, delicious wine ! definitively recommended !

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Maggie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A great day in Douro Valley! I liked that this was a small group of 6 people. The guide was informative, friendly and a safe driver. The wine and port tastings were fantastic. Take the optional river cruise for 1 hour. There is very little to do if you don't and it was a very pleasant experience to see the terraced vineyards from the river.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Nina H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A great tour I can recommend to anyone who wants to see the and #34;real and #34; Douro valley and get a taste of some exclusive port wine from family businesses.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

James B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide, José, was amazing. Attentive and informative about all things Portugal and wines. He truly should be given a very large raise in salary for the excellent job that he does. The tour was fabulous and the wine tasting and boat ride were very nice.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Simona - Maria Romania

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Sugar, spice and everything nice! The tour was amazing and the landscapes were one of the most beautiful I have ever seen. Our tour guide, Joao, made our journey pleasant and his improvisations were quite funny. One thing that remained in my mind: Everyday should be a Winesday! No more spoilers !!: So...I had an interesting experience and I would highly recommend it for you, don't miss it!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Sian f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was a full day but well paced with plenty of stops to see the wonderful views or to taste the regional products. Although the journey to the Douro valley from Porto was 1 1/2 hrs our guide Jose made it pass quickly with his comments about Portugal, its history and culture, and his outline of the Douro valley and wine/port making history. We got to sample a range of wines and ports made by small local producers and listen to their passionate presentations about the history of their vineyards and the products.

We had not booked the river cruise option initially but chose to do it on the day as the river valley looked so appealing. I would recommend that option as you get to see more of the other port producers areas and the valley, plus get a welcome breeze. Lunch was plentiful and very tasty and it was served with wines what else, but water and tea/coffee were also available.

The tour operator kept the group size to 8 and used a comfortable minibus with basic AC. Having done full day tours in other countries my only comment would be for them to provide some chilled drinking water for the guests. Otherwise a smashing day out and well worth it - much better than the port tours in Porto.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message