The Douro region in Northeast Portugal is near the border with Spain. Even with the advent of modern civilization, this area is characterized by a sort of frontier spirit that tenaciously preserves a traditional way of life handed down through ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 513 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Simona - Maria Romania

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Sugar, spice and everything nice! The tour was amazing and the landscapes were one of the most beautiful I have ever seen. Our tour guide, Joao, made our journey pleasant and his improvisations were quite funny. One thing that remained in my mind: Everyday should be a Winesday! No more spoilers !!: So...I had an interesting experience and I would highly recommend it for you, don't miss it!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Sian f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was a full day but well paced with plenty of stops to see the wonderful views or to taste the regional products. Although the journey to the Douro valley from Porto was 1 1/2 hrs our guide Jose made it pass quickly with his comments about Portugal, its history and culture, and his outline of the Douro valley and wine/port making history. We got to sample a range of wines and ports made by small local producers and listen to their passionate presentations about the history of their vineyards and the products.

We had not booked the river cruise option initially but chose to do it on the day as the river valley looked so appealing. I would recommend that option as you get to see more of the other port producers areas and the valley, plus get a welcome breeze. Lunch was plentiful and very tasty and it was served with wines what else, but water and tea/coffee were also available.

The tour operator kept the group size to 8 and used a comfortable minibus with basic AC. Having done full day tours in other countries my only comment would be for them to provide some chilled drinking water for the guests. Otherwise a smashing day out and well worth it - much better than the port tours in Porto.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Corinne T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was by far one of the best experiences of our entire two week trip! Jose David is absolutely incredible. Extremely knowledgeable, friendly, and accommodating. Pick up and drop off was easy and the winery and restaurant we visited were spectacular. The views from the river are stunning and should not be missed!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

ibleyman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I highly recommend this tour. Our guide was knowledgeable, friendly and a great driver very important on those windy roads!. We went to two family run wineries to taste table wine and port - both were very generous with their wine and were delicious. Our group didn't end up doing the river cruise, but our guide was great at improvising with taking us to a look-out point and spending some more time at the wineries. Overall, a must do trip, and I would recommend it to anyone who goes to Porto. They apparently also do other wine regions outside of Porto like vinho verde - I wish we had time for that one as well!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Patrick W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The trip was amazing! Jose was friendly, funny, and extremely knowledgeable. The valley was gorgeous and the wine was great. Lunch exceeded expectations and the whole experience was really nice.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Noam T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Guide was fantastic, the location was enchanted, and our stops were perfect. I highly recommend to everyone

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Eric L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We loved it so much! Nuno was such an amazing tour guide- he was friendly, caring, and fun! We would happily go back again and we are already recommending our friends to take this tour!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Marc L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Thanks to our guide Anna we had a great tour. If you visit Porto, you have to get out and see the Douro valley with this company.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Kathy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour! Anna very knowledgable bright and bubbly. Very enjoyable day.
8 of us in total. Was a good sized group. Definitely recommend. One of the couples in our group had returned for a second tour with Cool Tours which says it all.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Linda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Whatever I say is not enough to describe this wonderful trip with the amazing guide Celia. She took care of each one of us.
She knows a lot and shared with us a lot with a great patience. Thanks to her I learned and tasted that same nice Aletria doce. Un delice. Merci du fond du coeur Celia.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Marketa S Czech Republic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I can highly reccomend this tour. Our tour guide Jose was just great! Very knowledgable, nice, fun. We enjoyed the whole programme - wine/honey/olive oil tasting, river cruise on Douro, lunch in a typical portuguese restaurant and the port wine tasting. The owner wasnt available and our guide took it proffesional over, explained us and showed us all in the winery and made port wine tasting special as well.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Sandra W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a fabulous breathtaking trip! Amazing vineyards and River Cruise. Nuno was a most informative guide and lots of fun! Do not miss this adventure.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Catherine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

From the minute we were picked up to the minute we were dropped off - this was an exceptional tour. Excellent wine, food, countryside and the best guide in all of Portugal. If you only choose one tour of the wine country make this one your choice.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Dora P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful tour, very nice companions and Pierre an excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Allie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Such a great experience! I have friends and family coming out next year and will definitely recommend this tour to them

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Anne E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Jose picked us up at our accommodations promptly and took us on a wonderful tour.
The Douro Valley was beautiful.The River Cruise was perfect because it was a very hot day and there
was a lovely breeze...The scenery was amazing...We got to taste some great wines and the lunch
was terrific. We even got to taste a tart made with port. He took very good care of us. It was a full day
well spent.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Vineta Latvia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic night. Fabulous Fado show and supper delicious dinner.

Doing what: Porto Sightseeing Tour at Night with Fado Performance

Thomas C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Pedro, our tour guide, was AMAZING.. We could not have been happier with this tour. Arguably the best part of our Portugal trip. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

yeseniabeutel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I absolutely loved this tour. This was one of the major highlights of my trip to Portugal. The tour guides are amazing. The views are breathtaking. You get to experience the rustic country side and villages and taste outstanding olive oil, Porto wines, red and white wines. You will not regret it!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Brian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Had a great day - the time flew by. Barbara, our guide/host did an excellent job of providing lots of information. She was also very upbeat and a lot of fun!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

40th birthday

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great trip except for the van ride. Our guides were great, pleasant, and great sense of humor.
The port tasting was fabulous.
Lunch, should choose a better restaurant for the price we paid.
I was under the impression that the boat ride was longer and actually went to vineyards. Needs rethinking.
Over all we enjoyed what we got.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Judith S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fabulous! Our guide took us to 2 small wineries, and great Portuguese lunch, and various stops at points of interest. He was great fun and took care to engage with everyone, and got good conversation going during the journey. It is also well worth doing the boat trip.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message