The Douro region in Northeast Portugal is near the border with Spain. Even with the advent of modern civilization, this area is characterized by a sort of frontier spirit that tenaciously preserves a traditional way of life handed down through ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 584 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ethan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour was excellent. Our guide Pedro was very knowledgeable, friendly, and considerate. We had a lovely day and explored areas that we would not have done on our own. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Anja P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My boyfriend and I booked this tour as we really wanted to see the Duoro Valley and taste some portwine, and boy did they deliver! Anna was a fantastic guide, who answered all questions patiently. The two wineries we visited were fantastic and presented interesting information not only about portwine but also about the region and olive oil production. I was very impressed that we got to taste 6 ! different portwines at our second stop. All in all a very successful day. Book the additional boat tour - it is totally worth it.

PS: Be aware that you do sit quite some time in a car and drive along some curvy roads - just in case a future traveler has problems with that

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

yuyan.cheng

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour guide. Attentive, friendly, thorough. Douro valley tour was everything we expected. The boat ride is optional and can be missed in my opinion.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Gwyneth B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was simply sublime! The Douro Valley and CoolTour were amazing highlights of my tour to Portugal. Our guides, Pedro and Alex were great to spend the day with. They shared many fun details of the Douro Region and were very warm with all of the guests. It's obvious that they love what they do. I really appreciated that we visited only small producers and were treated very kindly by all of our hosts - and this in the middle of their very busy harvest and crush season. This was the only organized tour that I took while in Portugal and I could not have chosen better!! I can't wait to return!!!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

karen g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful trip with Pedro. Beautiful scenery, great wine tastings we bought 2 bottles, excellent lunch followed by a stop for Porto wine tastings hosted by the owner. Not to be missed!!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Vincent L W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wow! One of the best small group tours we have ever taken. Our guide Jonathao sp.? whatever the Portuguese is for Jonathan was fabulous and literally went the extra mile to make this a great experience. Oddly, the Viator description of the trip given over the phone because it was a last minute booking did not mention some of its features, such as the Duoro River boat tour.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour from Porto Including Lunch

Bill E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a fabulous time on this Wine Tour which was so much more than a wine tour!! Our guide Joao was very entertaining, informative and a great conversationalist. Two wineries was just enough and we thoroughly enjoyed lunch in the village. Our bus group were all very friendly and added to the enjoyment of the day. We learnt a lot about Portuguese culture, history, music and the wine industry - as well as tasted many fine Douro wines. Everything from pickup to drop-off was smooth - and there was a great coffee on the way. We definitely recommend.

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour from Porto Including Lunch

serge_taillefer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very interesting day!
Very nice view of the Douro valley.
The lunch was very good.
Very good guide.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

carolineravary456

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was the best!! Discovered two different wineries, with owners that are truly passionate about what they do. Our tour guide made our day, super nice and funny, and was very knowledgable about the different wines and the region. Breathtaking views!!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Gayelene H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

One of the most stunning places I have visited! The scenery is outstanding. Our guide (sorry, I can and #39;t recall their name), was fun, friendly and relaxed and made sure we were enjoying every moment. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour from Porto Including Lunch

MENACHEM T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

ANNA the tour guide in Porto was very very good. most interesting day tour around Porto into the valley.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Nicolie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour is fantastic. Our guide took 4 of us to vantage points on both sides of the river and was incredibly knowledgeable about history and with anecdotes. The experience at the Fado Performance was wonderful with the 2 singers and the 2 musicians giving a performance with an emotional intensity. The food and company was pretty good too.

Doing what: Porto Sightseeing Tour at Night with Fado Performance

Danielle G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

By far our best day in our two week trip. Special thanks to our guide who was simply fantastic!!!!!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Lazy traveller Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Beautiful place and great tour guide. Petro was great and we had a great time with the group on tour. Love the scenery and the wine port tasting. Lunch was terrific and very generous with the serve. Recommended for a day trip. Thanks Petro or Peter for a fantastic trip.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Verona S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

excellent guide, nice food and some good wine expeience

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour from Porto Including Lunch

Rowe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My husband and I loved this trip. Nuno was an excellent guide. He is passionate about wines and the tour felt like we are travelling with an old friend. The 2 small wineries were very intimate and the wines and ports were superb. Highly recommend the boat trip. Duoro Valley is breathtaking.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Paul H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a really enjoyable trip. Our friendly guide Nono was extremely knowledgeable about the area and the wines. The vineyards we visited were very picturesque and of course the wines were special.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Elizabeth d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide Alex was fantastic. He was helpful and knowledgeable. My husband and I had a wonderful time! We would take this trip again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Felice W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Pedro was a fantastic guide and this was our favorite activity during our holiday. Thank you to Pedro for showing us a beautiful time in the Duoro Valley!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Eva C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The entire tour pick-up at hotel, drive to Douro Valley, river cruise, lunch, wine tasting was wonderful - Alex was very professional and informative, as were the owners of the wineries we visited. The lunch was delicious and the cruise was very relaxing and a great way to see the vineyards around Douro River.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Christine M S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our host, Alex, was amazing and very knowledgeable. Great day - would highly recommend.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Rudolf A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was an excelent experience. Always again!

Doing what: Day Trip from Porto to Régua by Train and Return by Boat

Robyn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A great way to see the Douro Valley in a day without the stress of driving. Our driver / guide was brilliant too.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Jarrod Spain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a wonderful experience with José on the Douro Valley tour. I would say that it was the best day trip I've ever been on. We were a small group of 6 really friendly adults and 2 extremely well behaved children which made the tour very personal and we didn't feel like we were sheep being herded around. We felt as if we were friends of José and he was just taking us to the best places he knew. The vineyards he took us to were not at all touristic so the overall experience felt very authentic. José is a true gentleman. He has a great sense of humour, very polite and very knowledgable not only about the Douro Valley but also about Portugal in general. He gave us the perfect amount of commentary during the tour. The lunch which consisted of simple but delicious homemade Portuguese food was also very enjoyable. I also really appreciated that we didn't coincide with the other groups on the same tour apart from on the boat cruise which was fine. I would definitely recommend Cool Oporto Tours especially if you are lucky enough to have José as your guide. Great job José!!! :- Javi and Jarrod from Barcelona

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

windowlady Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My friends and I were on a trip of a lifetime. Six woman friends for over 30 years. We started our trip in Porto and the first trip we took was Douro Valley with Nuno as our driver/guide. He was extremely knowledgeable and wonderful fun to travel with. One of our friends has a serious health issue that caused her to be very ill about an hour into the trip. Nuno handled the issue with great care and professionalism. He called the office to have someone come and pick her up and worked with a local coffee shop to help care for her while she and another in our group waited for the ride back to hotel. The owner did not hesitate to come himself and was there within the hour. The rest of the trip was fantastic and we were able to enjoy the day as Nuno kept us updated on our friends health. I would recommend this trip as the area is so beautiful. The wineries were fantastic. Thanks to Nuno we have wonderful memories of that day.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message