Porto sprawls along the Douro River, where multi-colored houses adorned with lacy wrought-iron balconies line the promenade. At its heart lies charismatic Ribeira, a tangle of streets buzzing with life and crammed with castles, churches, bars and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 39 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Almizan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Absolutely amazing. Our guide was Luis who was extremely knowledgeable and had a great energy the whole day. The sites and tastes of the entire day were probably the highlight of my entire 10 day trip in Portugal. A must-do activity.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

15001309784

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Best day trip ever!!!My guide Claudia is is knowledgeable and super friendly,we really enjoy the trip!!!A huge thank to Claudia from Beijing.Highly recommend!!

Doing what: Guimarães and Braga Day Trip from Porto

Jerry S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent day trip with Cooltour Oporto and the most amazing guide Nuno Nunu. He was incredible!! This small group tour took us high above the Douro Valley, to a small wine producer for a fine tasting, a boat ride on the Douro River, lunch, followed by another intimate Port tasting. A great day out and about. Nuno is fantastic, so pleasant and knowledgeable. Don't hesitate, book this tour.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

365couponsplus1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A fantastic tour. Our guide, Sofia, is knowledgeable, friendly, and attentive. She is the best guide I met during my 10-day trip in Portugal, and the tour is one of the best tours I have ever had. Sofia shared a lot of information about the places we visited and Portuguese culture in general. I learned a great deal on this tour. The lunch was delicious. The only thing to keep in mind is that you probably wouldn't have lunch until 2 pm so a big breakfast would help. I wished we could have more free time in Braga. Also, I would love to explore The Palace of the Dukes of Braganza in Guimarães, a place that looks fascinating but unfortunately was not a part of the tour we walked pass by it. Other than that, the day was great and full of joy. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Guimarães and Braga Day Trip from Porto

Leah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our day trip to the Douro was excellent! Our driver picked us up on time and we hit the road. It's a bit of a trek out to the valley, but our driver kept us entertained with information about Porto, Portugal, and the Douro. The boat trip sounds hokey at first, but the scenery is amazing and even my skeptical brother-in-law had a big grin on his face. The wineries we visited were top-notch and we brought home bottles from both of them. Sign up now!!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Lazy traveller Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Beautiful place and great tour guide. Petro was great and we had a great time with the group on tour. Love the scenery and the wine port tasting. Lunch was terrific and very generous with the serve. Recommended for a day trip. Thanks Petro or Peter for a fantastic trip.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Jarrod Spain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a wonderful experience with José on the Douro Valley tour. I would say that it was the best day trip I've ever been on. We were a small group of 6 really friendly adults and 2 extremely well behaved children which made the tour very personal and we didn't feel like we were sheep being herded around. We felt as if we were friends of José and he was just taking us to the best places he knew. The vineyards he took us to were not at all touristic so the overall experience felt very authentic. José is a true gentleman. He has a great sense of humour, very polite and very knowledgable not only about the Douro Valley but also about Portugal in general. He gave us the perfect amount of commentary during the tour. The lunch which consisted of simple but delicious homemade Portuguese food was also very enjoyable. I also really appreciated that we didn't coincide with the other groups on the same tour apart from on the boat cruise which was fine. I would definitely recommend Cool Oporto Tours especially if you are lucky enough to have José as your guide. Great job José!!! :- Javi and Jarrod from Barcelona

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Shawn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We undertook the full day trip with the excellent Jose as our guide....he was full of energy and information and ensured we had an unforgettable day. He could not do enough for us to ensure that we had the best time possible. Great visits to places you would never have found on your own and a great family restaurant. A great day in the Douro and recommend this company/tour.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Andre A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was an excellent day trip. Our guide, Jonatos, was very knowledgeable and entertaining . He was on time at the hotel for the pickup and the van was comfortable although no empty seat. It was a very full day. We were back at the hotel as scheduled on the itinerary.

Doing what: Santiago de Compostela and Valença do Minho Day Trip from Porto with Lunch

Bogdan O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Day trips recommended for families with older children. City tour was well run and exciting. Porto is clean, the residents are extremely friendly. Greetings to all

Bogdan

Doing what: Porto Walking Tour

nicki.fallon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved this day trip! Our guide was fantastic - friendly, outgoing, knowledgeable about history, wine, etc. Would definitely recommend this to anyone considering. As others noted, it also includes a 1-hour cruise on the Douro river which really completed the experience. Wish we could go back and do it again!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour from Porto Including Lunch

Sups2004 France

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Lovely day trip from Porto.
Wonderful views -- great wine tasting experiences both table wine and port wine and a fantastic guide, Ana.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

maurz13

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Awesome! we had great fun with the guide, driver and a fellow traveler on this day trip! had so much fun, knowledge and time! can't wait to be back again! cheerios!

Doing what: Porto Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional River Cruise and Wine Tasting

Jennifer C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent day trip. Barbara was a great guide and would definitely recommend this trip

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

michelle.marshall50

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The day trip was great. The guide Pedro was very good. Great drive through the valley with a first class lunch. Visiting the smaller wineries was very interesting. Thanks Pedro for a super day!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Jason V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was definitely the highlight of our 8 day trip to Portugal. Our guide was beyond amazing and the scenery the wine - EVERYTHING was incredible. The Douro Valley is absolutely something no traveller to Portugal should miss!

Doing what: Douro Valley Wine Tour from Porto Including Lunch

Eva G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Had a fabulous day trip to Guimaraes and Braga, with
a great guide, Joa. Guimaraes was having the
1st day of a yearly festival, so we experienced a medieval
Theatre treat - everyone in costumes and lots
of medieval scenarios. Both Guimaraes and Braga
should be on everyone's Portugal to do list, with Braga's Cathedral
a real bonus too. Viator provided lunch was delicious-
a great day and experience in all.

Doing what: Guimarães and Braga Day Trip from Porto

Daniel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was an excellent day trip not only beautiful but very informative. Our guide, Jose, was upbeat and full of facts from the moment he picked us up at our hotel at 8:30am, until he dropped us off around 5:30pm. We loved sampling the olive oils, wines, and ports, and felt like our tour 4 of us and 3 others allowed us to get a feel for how things were done in that region hundreds of years ago by boutique artisans.
The car ride to/from Porto was a big concern of mine 1-1.5hrs each way but Jose helped the time pass quickly as he discussed on wine-making, Portuguese history, agriculture, climate, and many great little facts that kept everyone engaged.
I cannot recommend this tour enough for those who want a tour of the Douro valley. Thank you Jose.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Kathryn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The Douro Valley is stunning and the small group tour was a great way to see it. Our guide Joanna was fantastic - such a vibrant personality and kept us all entertained with stories about the history of Porto and wine making in the valley. The lunch tasted great. Definitely a value for money day trip.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Krishan S United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a wonderful day! I have taken many day trips in various countries and this was one of the best. Great sites and tour organisation too. The guide Paula was simply fantastic the tour company is lucky to have such a passionate and enthusiastic member of their team.

Doing what: Guimarães and Braga Day Trip from Porto

michael.munt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A memorable day trip provided by Living Tours. Our guide Elsa was brilliant extremely knowledgably and provided a comprehensive commentary as the tour progressed. The cathedral in Santiago de Compostela is a must to visit , we were lucky enough to arrive in time for the pilgrims mass and see the enormous thurible being swung. We then travelled on to Viana to see the Basilica of Santa Luzia Viana do Castelo before having the opportunity to go into the city centre. An extremely enjoyable and informative day even through there was lot of travelling involved.

Doing what: Santiago de Compostela and Valença do Minho Day Trip from Porto with Lunch

Henry S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was honestly the highlight of our 10 day trip to Portugal. The tour was of a couple vineyards and each one had its own unique specialty. We poured 10 year tawny port wine out of a gigantic oak barrel to taste, it was amazing. The tour guide made you feel very comfortable and was so passionate about his job and his country. I highly recommend this tour if you are looking for something truly unique. You get to see the most amazing views of the Douro Valley and taste everything it has to offer. You wont be disappointed! This sure beats the cave tours in porto of the mass produced port wine any day.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Kazumi H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

we enjoyed a wonderful one day trip to Santiago de Compostela and Viana do Castelo from Porto.

Doing what: Santiago de Compostela and Valença do Minho Day Trip from Porto with Lunch

Caroline W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a fantastic day trip from Porto -- Pedro was a great guide! We loved visiting the small quintas and seeing the beautiful views of the Douro Valley. The boat trip and Portuguese lunch were both fantastic!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message