Prague ATTRACTIONS See all

Karlovy Vary (Carlsbad)

Karlovy Vary (also known as Carlsbad) is a charming spa town located about two hours west of Prague and full of Art Nouveau buildings and wealthy Russian tourists. Legend has it that Charles IV discovered the spring while out hunting with his dogs ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 148 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Annette G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I'm glad I chose this tour that also goes to Marianske Lazne because I actually liked that better than Karlovy Vary. Marianske Lazne is a little lower key, if you could say that about a gorgeously appointed spa town. The colonnade is truly stunning and the park in the middle of town makes it seems more relaxed and less crowded. Both spas are definitely sights to see with their opulent architecture. The tour offers a great ride through the rolling country outside of Prague and it's great to see that as well, and I did enjoy the visit to the Moser glass factory. We were taken to a pleasant restaurant for lunch that even offered a vegetarian option, and our tour guide had us back in Prague on time. I was even picked up and dropped off at my hotel.

Doing what: Czech Spas of Karlovy Vary and Marianske Lazne from Prague

Nestor N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The highlight of my trip to Prague was the day tour to Karlovy Vary. The Moser Glass factory was very interesting and the works on display were stupendous.... The city of Karlovy Vary was MAJESTIC and magical.. I felt like I was in a medieval paradise.. Stunning buildings all around... A visit to this place is a MUST

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

lori.mcclellan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

As avid Moser collectors for decades, it was a dream come true to actually see where our prized pieces were made. Yes, they were made in the same factory that we visited. Our Viator guide, Camilla, was a delight with interesting insight into the beautiful city of Karlovy Vary. But, Veronica, our tour guide thru the Moser factory, was more than we had hoped for. She walked us thru every stage of making a piece of Moser from blowing the glass to sandblasting the Moser logo on each item. This was a trip that my husband and I will never forget.

Doing what: Exclusive Karlovy Vary Tour with VIP Moser Glasswork Visit from Prague

Amanda K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was a perfect mix. I very much enjoyed the Moser Glass tour as well as the lunch and short walk down the Promenade in Karlovy Vary, but then also was excited to have a few hours to explore the town on my own. The guide was friendly, polite, and knowledgeable and we had a well-rounded group with a nice range of ages. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

JimKreutzer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was an excellent trip to a great place. Our guide was Sonia and she was wonderful.Even our bus driver, a woman in this case, was far superior to her male counterparts on the 3 previous tours we had taken in Prague. The town, including the glass making factory, were superb and though we were given 2 hours on our own there, it was easily spent walking around the town. Lunch was also very good. Far and away our best tour in Prague.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

emmamaat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour to Karlovy Vary was great! This town is beautiful and there is enough time to explore it. The only negative was the tour guide Rene, he didn and #39;t explain what we were doing and when, he also ignored any questions we asked or brushed us off a pity because the tour itself was fantastic.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

gcviator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very interesting and pleasant trip. Our guide was experienced and provided us with many facts about the area.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

E

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Karlovy Vary is a really pretty city so we really enjoyed having time to walk around it. The tour itself was ok. The bus was really uncomfortable so we're glad it was only a couple of hours each way. We found that the tour guide wasn't really that informative. He pointed out the names of a lot of locations but did not really provide much background or history about the places.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

melgo0722

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

so much fun! very interesting and beautiful landscape

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

Ann United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fabulous. This city is so picturesque and quaint. Bus was very comfortable and after arriving in Karlovy Vary, we were toured through the sights, then had plenty of free time to peruse on our own. Definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

Alberto A Costa Rica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was an incredible trip. A lovely place, would love to back. Unfortunately we were there for a very short time. Hope to come back. A wonderful place to relax.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

Alberto A Costa Rica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A great trip, highly recommended. Would love to be back but for a longer time.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

Joseph D

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

When subjecting people on a four hour round trip drive, the vehicle used was so small that the leg room left both my wife and I with cramped legs throughout....a nightmare. The only reason I give it three stars is because of the beauty of the town, Karlovy Vary. Never again on an all day trip with this company.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

Lourdes A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

the vehicle was very unconfortable and hot. The driver was driven not safe and very rude. other than that was beautiful, even when it was raining a lot

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

Sanjay G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful. The trip was fantastic. The lunch was awesome. The guide was superb. She was an middle aged lady with superb knowledge and express. She was a pleasure to hear.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

Irena S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Helen, our tour guide was great and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

alice

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Karlovy Vary and Marianske Lazne are beautiful towns. There was also a tour of the Moser glass factory which we thoroughly enjoyed. The tour overall was good.

Doing what: Czech Spas of Karlovy Vary and Marianske Lazne from Prague

WENDY K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Lovely trip. i wish i had known that there was a public pool for swimming so that i could have brought a suit and towel.

Doing what: Day-Trip to Karlovy Vary Spa with Walking Tour from Prague

Nida J

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

It is time consuming and very boring dont do it

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

RAJESH D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Nice one but Guide was lenient thus Schedule could not be maintained.

Doing what: Czech Spas of Karlovy Vary and Marianske Lazne from Prague

Gary Thailand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great all day tour with just the right amount of guided and free time. Excellent guide Rene, with a wry sense of humor, good commentary and wide knowledge of his subject. Karlovy Vary is both lovely and interesting, very much like stepping back to another era. Moser glass factory, a part of the tour, was ok as far as it went and you have displays of making glassworks and a display of various products - some quite beautiful, some amazing - but a bit too much emphasis on gong to the shop!

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

Ellen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic day! We were well taken care of by our tour guide. So glad I took this tour. From start to finish, excellent!

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

peter g

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

nice town the spring water was not my taste

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

Patricia K

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The stop at the Moser glass factory was probably the best part of this tour. Karlovy Vary is a pleasant and interesting spa town, but it seems to be turning into a designer shopping strip. The hotel lunch was good and the tour guide was knowledgeable. The only real negative was the tour bus which was a bit cramped and uncomfortable.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

Sarah K

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Karlovy Vary is worth a visit, and going via this day trip bus option was convenient and easy.
The lunch included is less than exciting, and if planning ourselves, we probably would have done a few things differently, but overall the trip was safe, easy, and took the stress off us in planning the day trip.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message