Prague ATTRACTIONS See all

Karlstejn Castle

The Gothic Karlstejn Castle sits high atop a hill, looming over the village of the same name 18 miles southwest of Prague. Charles IV, King of Bohemia, founded the castle in 1348 as a kind of safe for the Imperial Regalia and for his personal ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 82 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Master Philip P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour guide, a bit of a language barrier as her first language was not english. But good tour

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

deirdrelaunt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Helena was a really nice tour guide! I had a great time, thank you!

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Carlos M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Helen, our guide, was a delight. At the Castle an official guide does the tour, which was interesting, but not spectacular. The main reason is that there is not many furnishings inside the Castle so you really have to use your imagination as to how they lived there. The views from the Castle are spectacular. As others have noted, it is quite a long, sloping climb to the Castle but you have the opportunity to hire a horse and carriage very inexpensive which will take you up at least 2/3's of the way. We chose to walk and found it not a difficult walk - in fact, it was rather pleasant as the way is lined with shops and restaurants. I would recommend the tour, but would not put it at the top of the list of 'Most Recommended.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Stephanie D

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Good trip and the guide was great. The hike up the hill to the castle was a workout but it was worth it to see the castle up close. However, we did not get a chance to climb up to the tower as it was not included in this tour. Climbing to the tower must be arranged in advance for groups of 12 people maximum and there is no way for the tour company to know in advance how many people will sign up for any particular day. Not many relics to see in the castle itself and the crown displayed is only a replica. Still, a nice excursion outside of the city.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Susan C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

My husband and I spent a lot of money to go to Prague Airlines, Hotel etc. and to have a very disappointing Tour guide was overwhelming. First off theTour Guide, Mr. Spunry spoke very little English. Could not answer simple questions. He had to use his cell to use Google while driving. His personal hygiene and appearance was unacceptable. I did not see to have any Personal ID from the company he worked for or belong to WWW.bohemia-trip.com or Viator.The long ride was very silent. The Tour Car was in terrible driving conditions and at one point while buckling my seat belt,I noticed, through the gaps of the buckling process, a rusted out bottom of car. I could see the street pavement! Tour guide mentioned this was not the Driver's car, it was his friend's Car. The Lunch offered was ok,but Restaurant Service was rude and slow. Since my husband and I were not capable to take a tour of the Karlstejn Caves,he offered us the Glassmaking factory. This was good. The Castle tour was presented by another Guide of the Castle. This was good. But the rest of the almost 7 hours was not good. I will ask your company, Viator for a partial refund. You might note I have used your Company on other occasions, very disappointed in you and Trip Advisor to whom I'm a member.

Doing what: Private Tour: Castle Karlstejn and Kopeprusy Caves plus Twin Castles Zebrak and Tocnik From Prague

emmamaat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Enjoyed very part of this tour a beautiful place to visit and the castle was beautiful and great views to take beautiful pictures. The tour guide Helena was fantastic she did an excellent job and provided us information about the castle in a very interesting way. I would go on any tour with Helena!

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Hasitha J

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The Castle is nice and the guide was informative. No hotel pickup or lunch is part of the tour.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

John R

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The tour at Karstejn Castle was excellent. The guide was knowledgable and engaging. The lunch nearby was simple but good.

The factory tour at Nizbor was disappointing,or perhaps it was the factory itself that was disappointing. The work here is literally a grind. People work at assigned stations performing the same task over and over. The work stations have minimal safety protections, bad ergonomics and people are smoking cigarettes all the while. Rather than inspiring you to see the artistry behind the work, the factory made it seem rather common.

Our driver was pleasant enough. He deviated his route slightly on the way home to swing by some sights that were a bit out of our walking orbit which was very nice. But he had serious body odor that made a drive in close quarters uncomfortable. While driving he occasionally juggled two cell phones- fielding other calls and searching for better gps signals. He handled the older minivan well but it was disconcerting.

Pricing of the private tour means that you pay for the entire tour regardless of how many attend. It seems like there should be a small consideration for less admissions and lunches, if your group is small. It would be great if there was an opportunity to join other private tours as they were forming.

Doing what: Private Full-Day Tour Karlstejn Castle and Crystal Glassworks in Nizbor from Prague

Andrei I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The sights are amazing, the transport was comfortable and the guide was very polite.
If you are planning to take the tour take comfortable walking shoes, water and a hat, especially in the summer.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

ERNESTO R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent trip. Beautiful castle. I recommend you take the horse wagon to take you to the castle otherwise it is a up the hill walk 20 min. Lots of souvenirs and good food in the area.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Elsa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The guide was very interesting and we had enough free time to visit after the guided tour.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Bob J United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

No hotel pick up ,so had a 10 min walk to the pick up drop off point,which was not too bad.
Nice drive to Karlstejn, bus dropped us in the car park there. Then we had a reasonable 2k uphill walk to the Castle.
Interesting tour round the castle with our guide,then 1.5 hrs free time to walk back down to car park n eat etc. N take photos. Giude had good knowledge.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

rami a

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

good tour, recommended

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Louise R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour and a most enjoyable day. Pick up on time, nice drive to the glass works. Glassworks tour was interesting but could have been a bit more informative. I recommend going on a weekday to see more of the people working at the factory, as being a Saturday it was pretty quiet. Lunch was delicious and lovely location. Tour of Karlstejn was really well done and it is an lovely place to visit. The walk back to meet the driver along the main street of Karlstejn was full of little shops and stalls with locally made items - allow yourself time to do some shopping! Our guide was very helpful.

Doing what: Private Full-Day Tour Karlstejn Castle and Crystal Glassworks in Nizbor from Prague

Steven M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Lovely trip. Great driver/guide. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Konopiste Chateau and Nový Knín and Karlstejn Castle Private Tour from Prague

Karen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our day stared out bright and sunny. Even though our driver did not know much of English, we would take him again in a heart beat. He was so nice and he went out of his way to make sure we were taken care of. It rained after we saw the castle, he ran to the car and picked us up closer, so we didn't have to get even more wet.The trip and the tours get 6 stars if we could. The young man in the castle was great and knew his history. Wonderful day. The whole trip was perfect.

Doing what: Private Full-Day Tour Karlstejn Castle and Crystal Glassworks in Nizbor from Prague

moocher

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Very good trip. Transport was on time but the bus used was quite old and the legroom was restricted although I am over 6 feet tall. The guide was very informative and friendly but he did insist on talking all the way there and all the way back which showed how enthusiastic he is in his job. Recommend this trip.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Krishnamurthy C

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Tour guide was not fluent in English. She was hard to understand . It was just an okay place to visit.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Paul H

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Impressive castle from the outside. The interiors, however, are rather bare although the tour guide gave some interesting commentary.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

caducastro Canada

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Well, if you have issues with walking it is not a tour for you. We have to climb up a hill and the castle has not much inside, again lots of stairs to climb up. It was a nice tour for us.at tge end of the tour my feet and knees were sore. If you decide to take this tour..yu better be ingood shape. Sadly no one intge Viatour site or the tour guide tols us about climb up a long hill and stairs

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Elizabeth D

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

A lovely place to visit, but the tour was rushed.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Mychal C A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Sara our tour guide was amazing! Super sweet lady with a lot of valuable information. I would absolutely recommend this trip to anyone who wants to see this castle.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Trudy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was great! I considered cancelling when I found out I was the only one on the tour, but I'm glad I stuck it out. Nora was a great guide. The castle is fascinating. Just be prepared to hike quite a bit uphill to get there.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Tana D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Well worth the trip. Beautiful castle. Would not have done it on my own. Definitely recommend for castle enthusiasts

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Benjamin W

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great little half day out and our guide was very knowledgeable!

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message