Prague ATTRACTIONS See all

Konopiste Chateau

Built in the 13th century, the Konopiště Chateau was originally built in the Early Gothic era on the model of a French castellum near Prague. Renaissance and Baroque reconstruction changed the castle into a grand stately home. At the end of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 40 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Edith Grace R

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Meh. I would advice that you could do this trip on your own. Sure riding in a nice bus was great but the tour guide we had essentially just took the bus up with us, handed us to the sites and #39; tour guides and then rode back with us again. spend your money elsewhere and do this on your own.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Steven M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Lovely trip. Great driver/guide. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Konopiste Chateau and Nový Knín and Karlstejn Castle Private Tour from Prague

cfurlongue

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

This trip was just okay, nothing to write home about.
Pros
The hotel pick up was nice, even though my driver was not friendly. Our tour guide was nice and spoke in English and Italian since my group was a mix.
Cons
It realize it was a half day tour but it could have been a bit longer. We got to the castle, went on the guided tour, and literally got back in the car to leave. It would have been nice to have some time to explore the grounds more as they are beautiful. The trip didn't really feel worth the price to me, I have been on full day trips in Dublin and Belfast that had multiple stops and were less money. This trip wasn't very dynamic. I would say that it is worth going to Konopiste as it is beautiful but I wouldn't recommend this trip.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Henrikki T

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Nice guide, good car. Would have liked a more extensive tour of the castle now the tour was limited only to some parts of the building.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Deana C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

It was a really good tour. The tour was not in English but they did give us a head set to listen to the different rooms.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Jay R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Very worthwhile. My driver picked me up at the hotel right on time, and even though I was the only person on the tour that day he drove me to the castle. There, he paid the entry fee for the guided tour and waited in the car. The tour itself was very interesting, it was in Czech but an English audioguide was provided. We toured the main rooms of the castle, and then afterwards I toured the grounds on my own. It was a great opportunity to get out of Prague for an afternoon and see some Czech countryside.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

sylvia s

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

45 minutes late collecting us, we missed the tour, we were taken to the castle and they did arrange us a tour so that was ok. There was more than one option of tour of the castle this was not explaned when we booked, we would have chosen a different tour option had we known. but the castle is interesting and worth a visit, just needs to be explained better at the time of booking.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

cally h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Absolutely amazing! The castle was one of the most interesting castles I have ever visited. The weapons collection is unbelievable. I would definitely like to go back some day.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Reshad R

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

It's a nice place to visit, no regrets there. But we were picked up 45 mins late and ran into traffic. Our guide let us watch the birds of prey, only to miss our tour by 5 mins :- Got replaced by another tour not what we had booked and not in French as we had requested. And after that we didn't even have enough time to visit the garden.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Melissa P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Driver was helpful, accommodating and good. Actual tour fell short of expectations. We weren't even shown the medieval weapons collection as mentioned in the description. It seemed like a rip off and felt cut short. The guide didn't explain things, which she said she would touch on later, but then never did. We were herded through quickly in a huge group. Note that photography is not allowed inside the chateau. The gardens were also a disappointment, no flowers at all in August, perhaps because of the drought though? If the thought of seeing thousands of dead animals disgusts you, definitely skip this tour. It was recommended to me, but I would not recommend it to others. The man Franz Ferdinand seems like he was a ruthless, yet cowardly killer many of his hunts were baited and assisted and the majority of our group left feeling awkward and a little sick inside. :p

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

forcora

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

I very much enjoyed seeing this castle and learning more about it's owner. I felt badly since I was the only one to take the tour on this day.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Sharie C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

The tour is a van ride to/from the base of the castle.You then pay For a shuttle up to the castle itself. The tour of the castle was fantastic and informative but done by a castle guide. Tour price includes additional exhibits but we never got to see these our guide took us back to the van after.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Terry

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Interesting if you like weapons and animal trophies! Pretty run down - if you have seen chateaus in France this is a poor cousin. Wouldn't put it on the must do list

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Dean T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

We were picked up at the designated location at the correct time. We had a guide and a driver. No one else had booked the tour so we had a private tour. The guide was informative and kind. The trip took 50 mintues to the castle. There is no good place to take a picture of the castle as shown in the image here. The opportunity diod not exist. Inside the castle was just OK. No pictrures were allowed inside but there were may animal trophies. I believe she said he had killed over 30,000 animals in his life. The most interesting part of the castle was the extensive armor room. It was equipped with all types of weapons and armor including armor for horses which we found interesting. I gave this event a two star rating because the castle is surrounded by trees and there are no good pictures of the exterior of the castle and no pictures were allowed insdie. The garden was a mess because it was not in season. The pond or lake around the castle was drained last year and no signs of it being filled up again. We expected more.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

zinger

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

NICE CASTLE BUT TOUR VERY SHORT . YOU HAD TO PAY EXTRA TO SEE THE REST OF THE CASTLE

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

CHRIS J B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Konopiste Castle is incredible. One huge 'man-cave' with animal trophies everywhere. All sorts of hunting equipment was on display and the craftsmanship in the old guns was unbelievable. Timber wall panelling, ceilings etc made this a spectacular day. This is a must see destination. As to the tour service - well it was the worst we have ever experienced. It turned out we were the one persons on the bus and the guide, Edward, was not at all happy to be on duty. He gave no commentary all the drive to and from the venue. On arrival he ran up to the castle and we were left to struggle up the long hill walk to get there. We found him at the castle entrance and he gave us entry tickets. He told us what time to meet him where we were dropped off, and he then disappeared. Go on this tour for the castle but don't expect much from the bus guide. It is a pity they do not allow photos in the castle since they would be great to show friends who may then be interested in making the tour.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

kenneth h

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide was wonderful. He not only gave us a fine trip to the castle but he made it a riding tour as well. He stopped at interesting places at our request and others at his recomendation. He was knowledgeable and interesting. Thums up here.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Dena C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was an easy trip from Prague. Our your guide was good. We enjoyed the castle.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Benjamin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great day-trip from Prague. Interior of castle is more impressive than Prague's Castle.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Andrey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Unexpectedly well preserved castle with a lot of things to see inside.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

henry t

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Quite an interesting guided castle tour as we learn so much about history and life of the previous owners of the castle. It was like a private tour as there were only 4 of us in the group for English-speaking guide.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Richard D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This is a must see day excursion out of Prague for travelers who want to understand the history of this beautiful country. Our guide was fantastic and gave us a really good insight into every day life in the Czech Republic. A really nice break from the crowded tourist scene in Prague.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Gavin P

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Interesting and caring guides. Beautiful castle. Disgusted they have a captive live bear in horrible conditions on the grounds.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Christine R Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was a great tour of the castle. Castle guide was really good and we had a great afternoon even though the weather was not kind to us. We were a very small group however our travel guide was not so good - even so the trip was worth it as this was a fantastic location with a great castle guide.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message