Prague ATTRACTIONS See all

Old Town (Stare Mesto)

The center of ancient Prague, the Old Town (Stare Mesto) makes a popular starting point for walking tours of the city, sprawled along the eastern banks of the Vltava River and connected to the Lesser Town by the grand Charles Bridge. A key part of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 27 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

William A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide was great at mixing in local ghost stories with actual historical and cultural facts. The tour ended with a remarkably beautiful view of the lit up Prague Castle at night from the Charles bridge. We had basically a personal tour for the 3 of us and it was excellent.

Doing what: Prague Ghost Walking Tour

Anita A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great tour. My 17 yr. old grandson stuck like glue to the tour guide who was full of historical information. Even my 12 yr. old granddaughter and I both enjoyed it.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

susan c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We met Niki right where he said he'd be and there were a nice mix of 7 on this trip. Niki was extremely knowledgable and totally engaging. He even called his wife to confirm a story I'd heard on the Internet about a supposed cultural good luck charm. Niki obviously enjoys being with people and he regaled us with historical information and personal stories. The 6 hours flew by. He even wrote on our map good restaurants and places to see. I'd definitely recommend him as representing Urban Adventures. Susan and Beverly

Doing what: Small-Group Prague City Walking Tour Including Vltava River Cruise and Lunch

Vicki C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had limited time in Prague so we had to be organised. This tour was great. The bus trip gave us a comprehensive overview of this historic city. We disembarked in Hradcany for the second half. The walk took us around the Royal Palace and St Vitus's and then down the hill to the Charles Bridge and finished at the famous astronomical clock. Our guide Sonya was fabulous. Her guiding in English and Spainish was seamless.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

bwatsky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide was excellent...knowledgeable, helped with getting into museum sites expeditiously, and giving us an overall good tour. Although this was supposed to be an English tour, we had one dutch couple for whom our guide repeated everything which took some time from the rest of us.
Negatives for the day: It was raining and made it a bit messy one couple got lost in the Spanish synagogue and we lost time finding them it was incredibly crowded which points out the popularity of this historical Prague area. We would have gone back to some of the museums/synagogues on our own after the tour but decided not to fight the crowds.

Doing what: Jewish Prague Walking Tour

Sam S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide Honza John was extremely knowledgeable and engaging during our private walking tour. His wealth of information and proud Czech heritage was impressive. He took the time to get to know our personal backgrounds and interests in order to make our tour extra special and personal. He related worldly events to his historical information and was fun and engaging. We would highly recommend Honza to anyone wanting a private walking tour that highlights Prague's beautiful city.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Prague Old Town, Wenceslas Square and Jewish Quarter

melissatilling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour was really interesting with lots of historical, social, cultural and attraction information delivered in an engaging way. Niki the guide was excellent, particularly his local recommendations. Great job!

Doing what: Small-Group Prague City Walking Tour Including Vltava River Cruise and Lunch

pamela j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We toured Prague with jounza John. He was very knowledgable. He provided a great historical background and really kept us moving all over the town. He also provided restaurant suggestions and information on other things to do while in Prague. John did a good job of assessing our reas of interest and making the tour specifically interesting to us.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Prague Old Town, Wenceslas Square and Jewish Quarter

fishscales

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Mike, our tour guide was wonderful. He shared historic and artistic information with us and gave us a close-up view of the nature of this region which has experienced so much turmoil over time. Additionally he made restaurant recommendations which were exceptional. Thanks Mike for your terrific perspectives.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Prague Old Town, Wenceslas Square and Jewish Quarter

Stewart L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Michael gave us a very interesting tour and talk He was very well informed and showed us parts of the city which we would never have seen! He also spent a good deal of time explaining the historical significance of St. Wenceslas Square which gave us a much better informed view. We were particularly fascinated by the brass pavement plaques commemorating those people who had been deported and died in concentration camps.

Doing what: Small-Group Hidden Prague Walking Tour of Old Town

Marys Travel ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic tour and our guide Sarah was incredible. Sarah made the tour so interesting with many historical and cultural facts and gave us good advice on where to take pictures. The tour gave us a great overview of the beautiful city of Prague and allowed us to immediately go off on our own to re-explore the parts of the city we loved the most. Many many thanks to the great tour guide and bus driver for making this a wonderful trip for all.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

David R D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing.....far exceeded our expectations! It included all the important areas of this beautiful city, which was good for us as we only had one full day in Prague. Our tour guide, Niki, was extremely knowledgeable and very, very personable. He was open to all our questions and gave us so much background information about what we were seeing. The length of the tour was perfect....you didn't realize how much territory you had covered until it was over and you were looking down at the city from the castle. Niki took us to a great little restaurant for lunch where we were able to enjoy a delicious Czech meal. We highly recommend this tour as we were not disappointed in any aspect of it......from our wonderful tour guide to all the great historical sites! Truly a day, and city, we will always remember!

Doing what: Small-Group Prague City Walking Tour Including Vltava River Cruise and Lunch

Raphael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My wife and I booked this tour looking for the details and historical background of Prague. When we arrived, Theresa was waiting for us and to our surprise we were the only ones booking for that day, so we had Theresa all to ourselves. She could not have been better as a guide and I highly recommend her. She was friendly, enthusiastic and very open to our needs and questions. She gave us lots of tips, general information, and a full historical and architectural background of the city. Since our group was only the two of us and where ahead of the planned schedule, she showed us much more of the city compared to the original plan and even stayed longer than the scheduled finish time of the tour. Theresa is very knowledgeable and gave us objective information for you to make your own opinion on things. She will even make you questions after a short explanation to see if you are paying attention and following, which we found very pleasant and insightful. Theresa by far has been our best tour guide and we highly recommend her as well as the tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Prague City Walking Tour Including Vltava River Cruise and Lunch

Mary Lee S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Peter, our tour guide was very knowledgeable and loves Prague. He took us to actual places where real legends happened listed in the book "77 Legends of Prague" in English. We bought the book at the bookstore he recommended on Wenceslaus (sp) Square. We got a completely different perspective of Prague at night. it wasn't scary - our 10 year old daughter loved hearing the historical stories. We saw the John Lennon wall and talked about recent history in Prague with Peter. Peter was great!!!! Thanks!

Doing what: Prague Ghost Walking Tour

Dubi Hungary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Very well organized and very well done. I was lucky to be in a group that was fun-loving including the guide. We had a great rapture and everyone was enjoying the trip. The river cruise was spectacular and the drink was a topping on the cake. The group we had was just alot of interesting folks from all walks of life and I had a great time. The pace of the walking tour was at a comfortable pace and we stopped at various historical places along the way. The English being spoken by our guide was understandable with hardly a trace of accent. I actually felt the guide was from the midwest but was rather shocked and surprised he was Czech. I implore anyone and everyone if they are in the city for just a day or so to check this tour compared to others. I was rather reluctant to do it but I was glad that I did. I trully felt I saw the best of Prague.

Doing what: Prague by Night: Small-Group Walking Tour and Vltava River Cruise

Frans B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Highly recomended, more of an historic tour but gives you a very good overview of Prague. Lots of walking, but awesome!

Doing what: Prague Ghost Walking Tour

Barry S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Our guide was filled with facts and historical knowledge that made for a fabulously informative and interesting tour. The extent of her Palace portion of the tour was great.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Carol D United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

Our tour guide was absolutely terrific. He is a historian and certainly knows his stuff. He made the tour very enjoyable with his historical accounts of the different areas of Prague, and with his knowledge of Prague Castle.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Andrew A

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The segways were a nice way to see Prague. Our guide did not speak English very well and did not have much knowledge about all the important historical sites. Still a great way to get started in Prague and determine which sites you'd like to explore in more depth later.

Doing what: Prague Segway Tour

Mope A

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

We were picked up on time and our tour guide Sarah was very knowledgeable - pointing out places of interest and sharing good historical facts. It was a comprehensive tour which would have been much better in clement weather.Overall it was good value for money and a good introduction to lovely Prague

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Malcolm D

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Tour was by minibus for about an hour and a quarter and then on foot for another hour and a half. The guide spoke English and Czech. On the minibus we found that the guide seemed to spend much more time on the Czech language than on the English. Often by the time he got around to giving details of an historic site in English we had gone well past it.
The part of the tour on foot was marred a little by the cold and strong wind. However, there was a much better commentary in English and this part of the trip was the more worthwhile.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Anonymous

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2010

The guide was not very good when compared with the other guide from the walking tour. He was too sarcastic about certain historical elements, and no one needs that. Also, the tour to the abandoned athletic complex should be removed from the tour.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Eric G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

While the tour was a full half day, I felt that a lot of time was wasted translating in multiple languages. The beginning of the tour consisted of driving by historical sites with the guide telling bullet point facts. That wasn and #39;t very intriguing. I would recommend taking the walking tour instead.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Sue H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

Disappointing. The tour was promoted as English speaking but the guide had the difficult task of having to do the tour in 2 languages repeating everything in English and German. This reduced the time for content and dragged down the tour. More than that, the guide though knowledgable, also presented misinformation and even told two jokes/stories that were insulting to Jewish people. Surely there is more historical fact that could be used than to talk about something said on a grave stone and what a miser he was... I did get to see all the sites that I had been hopeful to see - just wished I had the guide that led the WWII tour different company who was AMAZING!

Doing what: Jewish Prague Walking Tour

Henry F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

The guide was not knowledgeable about many facts and tried to make up stories about sights or historical figures he did not know about. He did not know that we were two professors who knew quite a bit about Prague's architecture, literary history and political and social histories. Too bad. Again, it oriented us to places that we went back to on our own so as an introductory tour it was fine.

Doing what: Small-Group Prague Walking Tour: Old Town, Wenceslas Square and Jewish Quarter

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message