Prague ATTRACTIONS See all

Prague Castle (Prazsky hrad)

What is called Prague Castle (or Pražský hrad) is actually a huge complex containing museums, churches, palaces, and gardens. The immense Gothic cathedral of St. Vitus is dominant on the skyline. The Castle complex, high on its hill above ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 260 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Martin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Tour guide was interesting. Snag that we covered both English and Spanish. Prague Castle is well worth the visit and this tour was a good option.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

Abbie B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

Firstly it's not clear how to find the tour guides. We wasted a morning looking for buses, only to discover we needed to find the men with the umbrellas in the Old Square. This was after we'd walked around the Jewish Quarter ourselves. Once we found someone Richard who couldn't have been more helpful he pointed us out where to go. We had the ticket for the duration of our trip so we just got on a mini bus and went all around the city arriving back in Wenceslas Square late afternoon - to do some shopping. This was really nice, but obviously not part of the tour. The next day we got to the bus stop 2 near our hotel and took the coach to the Castle. The queues were pretty big security and to be honest, although they say it's the biggest castle in the World, it really isn't a castle. It's more of a village made up of lots of different buildings, and a very impressive cathedral. I understand if you climb to the top of the tower you can see vast views of the beautiful city, but it's about 9 flights of stairs, and what with the freezing cold, we just weren't feeling it. As the coach arrives and leaves ever 45 minutes if you don't catch it you're absolutely buggered. So we ended up catching the 22 tram back in to the town centre. We had a 4pm date at the river with the boat tour, and this by far was the worst part of the trip. It sails up and down the river slower than you can roller skate, with no guide, and absolutely no information. There really is nothing to see. All in all I would say 90 for two tickets is a huge waste of money. The Jewish Quarter is something you can do yourself, and the castle is not all that special. The boat trip is not worth a penny. I reckon you can save yourself a lot of money and do one of two of these things without purchasing a 48 hour ticket. Just walked around Prague City Centre and seeing the sights is worthwhile.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Prague Hop-On Hop-Off Tour: Jewish Quarter and Prague Castle Tours plus Vltava Cruise

William G United States of ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

I have used Viator many times in different cities and this is the first time I have been disappointed. The directions were quite clear on where to pick up the vouchers and that part went fine. The Hop ON Hop off Bus was OK but that's where it ended . The Castle Tour was good if abbreviated once we found out where and when to find our guide-not well explained. The bus had very few really interesting stops so a bit of a let down. Now, the boat cruise was terrible. The boat was old, had no guide or explanation on what we were seeing-just a ride down the river and back! We took a similar Seine River cruise in Paris and it was fantastic as well as our cruise in Amstedam-nothing like this trip. Would not do this trip. Our Jewish Quarter tour didn't even happen-couldn't find out where to go for it! Whole tour not worth the price.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Prague Hop-On Hop-Off Tour: Jewish Quarter and Prague Castle Tours plus Vltava Cruise

Hannah R Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

Actually, the castle is a great place to visit and I enjoyed it immensely, but it would have been improved if my guide had not disappeared before we even got into the castle. After searching for her for 20 minutes I bought myself a ticket and an audioguide and did it myself. I have to admit the trip up to the castle in the minivan was a help. I am sure the other 4, yes there were only 5 of us, had a great time.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

Marina USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Loved this Prague castle tour. The guide was friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. The pace was great with photo opportunities.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

Stephanie B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

It was amazing to see the bridge and the castle this way! Our incredible guide was very knowledgeable and very nice. My only criticism was that the tour took three times as needed based on the fact that she had to translate everything she said in three different languages. Also.. the description of the tour made it seem as if it were a bus tour when in fact it was mostly a walking tour. We had to carry our bags with us the whole time which was quite exhausting.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

sharron m

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

I really liked the time spent at the Prague Castle. It was beautiful. The sights on the tour were well explained and the time was adequate. Would do it again.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

pedro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour: great guide: stunning castle/church/grounds/walk: amazing place

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

Kathryn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Went with 2 other friends. Great way to see the city. Everyone working at Viator were friendly and so helpful. Definitely would recommend this tour. Castle amazing, and the tour through the Jewish quarter very humbling. Thanks to everyone! Kathy

Doing what: City Sightseeing Prague Hop-On Hop-Off Tour: Jewish Quarter and Prague Castle Tours plus Vltava Cruise

Brian K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great time. Guide did a good job of explaining things. Castle was nice but not like other European castle tours. Most articles of the castle have been looted over the centuries as explained by guide. Good tour of Charles bridge.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

SUNIL G

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Very good overview of city .The guide was well informed but somewhat mechanical in narrations. As always Viator tour was well arranged . This tour is not for elderly as long walks are required. The return from castle could have been arranged by bus at ground level.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

NARAYANAN H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The onde day sight seeing tour is I feel the ebst way to see this historical city ,starting from the Independence square it has two parts one a trip by a bus to the Prague castle and the second a walking tour from the Prague castle ,watching its change of guards and later walking all the way to the famous Charles Bridge ,and finally back to the Towns square where it ends ,the walk lasts more than two to three hours a bit tiring but with enough pit stops for rest and refreshment and photo opps
A city like Prague where history dips into its soul one needs to know the story behind every stone and arch .
The guide who took us along was the most ideal person for this in spite of her physical difficulties she set the pace for an energetic hike and also with her vast experience and knowledge filled us with the history of the city .
I would advise every visitor of Prague not to miss this trip
viator once more affirmed its trustworthiness to me

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Sandip M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

There was no line at the Prague castle admission. The line we had to go thru was a very long security check and there was no way to avoid it. And there is nothing inside the castle... just empty room.

Doing what: Skip-the-line: Prague Castle Admission Ticket

Susanne F B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We really enjoyed Praha Bikes and our guide Elisa who was charming and loved the history of this great city. The trip around the old town and up to the castle was enjoyable and informative and the views were wonderful.

Doing what: Prague Bike Tour

Chanda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We did the castle tour. My favorite part was the cathedral.
Absolutely beautiful. The long hike up the mountain was worth it.

Doing what: Skip-the-line: Prague Castle Admission Ticket

Laurel

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The walking tour was very informative and we enjoyed the walk down from the Castle.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

Michelle R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This tour was excellent. Our guide has led a colorful life and shared his experiences from a very personal perspective. Not only did we learn about the castle but he shared information about the Chez Republic history and the current environment politically. He also assisted us at the end of the tour with maneuvering through the transit system i.e purchasing tickets, recommending trams, etc. He was very knowledgeable and really wanted to share with us.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

Tong R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The hop on bus was really good, it took me to go where I wanted to go. It is a beautiful place and it is easy to get around by hop on bus so you got off where you wanted. I also took a walking tour to Jewish quarter and Prague castle, the first was quite thorough and the second was not given enough time but you can always stay back as you wanted. Cruise was so nice, you can see beautiful buildings and surrounding.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Prague Hop-On Hop-Off Tour: Jewish Quarter and Prague Castle Tours plus Vltava Cruise

Aberman

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Would have loved to see inside the castle.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

Heemal D

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Covered most of the city and the castle. The walking part was downhill so not too hard. It was a well organized tour.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Laksh

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Overall nice tour that involves as the title says quite a bit of walking. If you are a history buff, you would enjoy all the stories and legends woven in to the impressive structures within the Prague castle. When we toured, the weather was nice - sunny and warm, though by the end of it the ladies in our group were complaining of too much walking in the hot sun! No such complaints from me - it was a nice day spent in a beautiful city swathed in tons of history!

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

james k

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The guide to the Prague Castle tour was pleasant and knowledgeable. The Jewish quarter tour was very brief and lacking. The river boat tour was relaxing at the end of the day ... took some great pictures of the Castle from the boat.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Prague Hop-On Hop-Off Tour: Jewish Quarter and Prague Castle Tours plus Vltava Cruise

Susanne F B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

I had booked what I believed was a bus tour of Prague because my husband has had an ankle reconstruction and walking is difficult!
The bus took us to Prague Castle entrance and then we were advised that we would then have a walking tour of two and a half hours back to the main square!,, It was cold and raining but the bus had disappeared. We were disgusted. We have used Viatours to book for years but not sure we would again.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Leonard G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

It is a WALKING tour, the bus was provided just to cruise the city center and drops off the Prague Castle. Has to take the taxicab from there. It should be described as a walking tour. Very disappointing.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Noah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The castle can be intimidating but seeing it on this tour was OUTSTANDING! Hit the highlights, learned a lot of history and covered a lot. Timed perfectly to arrive at castle for changing of the guards. Main downside was meeting at Viator kiosk-not convenient. Bus from kiosk to castle was a plus.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message