Famed for its beautiful Vieux Port, or Old Port, this seaside city in the south of France is beloved by travelers and locals alike. Unlike more glamorous locales like Nice and Paris, Marseille is much more relaxed and accessible to non-natives. It ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 608 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Christine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is a reasonably comprehensive tour to a number of locations. It is a long day but if you have limited time is it an excellent tour. The wine tasting class was excellent and I am sure everyone attending left knowing a lot more about wine and how to tell a quality wine than they previously did. I wish I had taken a map so I could have tracked our travel as we were doing it.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

dkmaf340

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour is best taken the Lavender is in full bloom. I can only imagine the country side filled with the beautiful purple flowers. There was still plenty of Lavendin to be seen. You have to take the tour to learn the difference between Lavender and Lavendin. Watching the distilling process of the Lavender was fascinating and the smells throughout the region was soothing and relaxing. Our guide Anais was the consummate professional and since she was born in the area her knowledge was unsurpassed.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Angela L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was my first time to travel to the south of France. I have heard so much about the charm, beauty and magic of Provence and southern France. I went into this trip with lots of fantasies and images about this place. Needless to say, the Reality far exceeded my fantasies. From the moment our tour guide picked me up to the moment he dropped me off, the whole day was just mesmerizing. The town of Orange was a good starting point. I learned so much about wine from our visit to Chateauneuf du Pape, the hilltop villages were heartachingly beautiful and the Pont du Gard...I am lost for words. I was stunned into silence at my first sighting of it. Julienne our driver/tour guide was just perfect. His nice, friendly, easy going personality were a big positive factor for the tour. He was very informative and had lots of knowledge about the places and the whole region. We talked about wines, grapes, palaces, romans, rivers, mountains, french food, french people and culture, lavender, van gogh etc...All in all it was defintely a grand tour and I loved it and I was very happy that I booked it.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

dkmaf340

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonder tour seeing all the highlights of the region.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Olga R

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Příjemný výlet s velmi dobře připravenou průvodkyní, měli jsme dost prostoru na samostatné prohlídky na všech místech, kterými jsme projížděli

Doing what: Van Gogh in Provence Small-Group Day Trip

Lynn D

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Do not take the afternoon tour. It is badly organized when the Pont du Guard visit is the last stop around 5-5:30 PM. All the pictures that we took were against the sun, which caused the bridge to be dark. This is a shame because the Pont du Guard is the main feature of the tour and is a UNESCO site! Everyone ended up buying a postcard. I was disappointed that I could not take any good pictures. The entire tour was very long driving from one town to another. It should begin with Pond du Guard and the other towns last!

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Sheri C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a wonderful trip Jeremy was a fantastic guide!!

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Mag

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour is great, we seized every minute in the lavender field, villages, markets....

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Caroline E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I booked this trip as part of an Xmas present for my mum- it was well worth it! Frederic was a lovely guide and took us to some beautiful places, finishing in the lavender fields was the highlight of the day.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Nguyen Thanh Trang Vietnam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a stunning trip. I expect more time at the Senanque Abbey as 20 mins sounds not enough for phototaking and shopping. I highly recommend this trip to everyone. Our tourguide communicated very clearly and friendly

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Tina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our driver/tour guide Mark was amazing. One of the best tours of our trip.

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Aix-en-Provence Tour from Marseille

Irini N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We appreciate the professionalism and friendliness of our tour guide and the half day trip was fun and memorable!

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Wai Fung L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good trip, tour guide, tour agency - would definitely recommend to everyone travelling to Avignon

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Wai Fung L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good trip, tour guide, tour agency - would definitely recommend to everyone travelling to Avignon

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Larus L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Had a great time. Nice guides.

Doing what: Electric Bike Tour to the Calanques from Marseille

Forrest S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had the good luck to have Phillippe Hendricks to be our tour guide. He knew the area well and provided historical information beyond our expectations. The area is beautiful and the Roman ruins were beyond our expectations.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Michael V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a great tour of you want to take in winery, Roman ampitheatre and beautiful villages of Provence, all in one day. A long day, but very rewarding. Mark was an excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Catherine T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Roman ruins were stunning and we had the best guide I've ever had! She was most knowledgeable.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

DCGUY

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

There are a lot of tours from Avignon to the Provence region and it is hard to decide which combination of places to visit so they don't overlap with others. I found this to be a very good way to highlight many places in a single day. It was just enough time in each location so I didn't feel as if our time was wasted. The small van of 6 people was ideal and our guide Emilie was terrific. She was also the driver as well as the guide and yet she always was enthusiastic and interesting in her remarks, despite the hot day and extensive driving. There are a lot of scenic opportunities on this trip, so be sure to bring a good camera!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Yiqing L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The guide is nice, but she didn't have my phone number, so at first it's a little hard for us to find each other. The trip is good in total, we saw beautiful lavender fields, visited Aix-en-provence, a small village and some museums. But I hope the trip can include more interesting and famous places.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Bisola W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour packed in a lot and was great fun. Théâtre antique d'Orange was a highlight, as was the visit to Chateauneuf du Pape The tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly. I would definitely recommend this tour as an excellent way of seeing the delights of Provence!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Pavan A

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great way to see the city, covered a lot of miles. Knowledgeable tour guide. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Electric Bike Tour to the Calanques from Marseille

Bodhodoydeb M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great trip! Just the right mix of information fun and travel. The first half is a bit easy with the wine tasting, but the second half is packed with sites and travels through a lovely labdscape.
Good value for money and great variety !

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

KC United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This is a very comprehensive tour but includes a lot of driving around Provence. I found the return to Avignon to pick up different guests for the afternoon portion, denying us time for lunch, was contrary to the description on the website and added to the driving time.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message