Famed for its beautiful Vieux Port, or Old Port, this seaside city in the south of France is beloved by travelers and locals alike. Unlike more glamorous locales like Nice and Paris, Marseille is much more relaxed and accessible to non-natives. It ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 645 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Melissa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour guide! She explained everything, place really well. Spoke English very well!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Kerry B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

If you do not wish to go through the hassle of renting a car, this tour is absolutely essential. Our tour guide Anne was very well-versed in the entire region and gave us a wonderful picture of what we were seeing on our way to the sites. The Colosseum in Nimes is amazing, although I wish we would have had a bit more time to see the Temple. Our next stops Uzes was well worth the visit and Anne explained its importance as a major Bishopric. At our last stop at Pont du Gard we were afforded enough time to walk around the massive aqueduct and and appreciate what the Romans had done 2000 years ago to bring fresh water to their communities. A wonderful trip.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

Nicola A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This is one of the best cycle tours I've been on. We had a group of 4 all friends and our fantastic guide.
City, sun, countryside, beach, swim and the Notre Dame cathedral.

Doing what: Electric Bike Tour to the Calanques from Marseille

Roger M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

This was a wonderful experience. Our guide was informative and very interesting and the entire day was planned quite well...a stop at a lavender factory, then a trip to Rousillon where we had time to leisurely see the town, then she drove us to Gordes and gave us many tips on what to do and see...we had time for lunch here. We stopped in St. Remy to see the Roman ruins and then we drove to Pont du Gard where we had enough time for coffee and a leisurely walk up to the bridge to explore. It was a good day.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Margaret B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed the afternoon. Our guide, Marc, was very knowledgeable about the land and the history of each town as well as the places in between.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

pat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The Roman Amphitheater at Nimes was amazing but the Pont du Gard aqueduct was the hightlight of the trip. Don't miss it!

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

pat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We were in Provence at the very end of the lavender harvest so we missed the grand visual display but there were still lavender fields for us to stop and explore. We also made a stop at a farm to see the oil harvesting process in progress and had a chance to buy lavender oil direct from the producer which was much cheaper than it was in the Lavender museum which ended the tour. I could have done without the commercial Lavender museum ending. I didn't learn as much about the farming and processing of lavender as I did at the farm and I felt I was mostly there to be encouraged to spend money on overpriced items, yet I suppose that is a part of the economy of the region as well. Anyway, the majority of the tour was a delight and we were so glad we took it. Our guide was pleasant and informative as well.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Frederick F United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour - small group, short and informative. The driver was wonderful and very friendly and provided great information. The actual time in each location was short but was enough time to get a feel for each location. There is a great bit of driving but the route is scenic and not too bad. All the locations would be difficult to travel to by public transportation so this a great way to visit these locations without renting a vehicle. For me I don't like taking long all-day tours and this fit unto my schedule perfectly. The meeting place in Avignon is the Tourist Office and it's easy to find.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Joy Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My husband and I enjoyed this trip immensely. Our guide, Anna, was very knowledgeable and personable. Although this trip packs in a lot, it was everything we wanted to see and I never felt rushed. We had sufficient time at each stop. There really is nothing I would leave out. Had my husband and I tried to do this on our own, we never would have found all these places. Thank you, Viator! We will book with you again. - Joy Z.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

germanm Argentina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Avignon is the ideal starting point for getting to know Provence. In addition to its jewels such as the Palace of the Popes and its famous Bridge and the ever-present wind, it is located in the center of Provence and through the beautiful villages of the Luberon: Les Baux, Gordes and Rousillon, passing from white calcareous to Ocher color, to finish in the incredible Pont du Gard

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

germanm Argentina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Avignon is the ideal starting point for getting to know Provence. In addition to its jewels such as the Palace of the Popes and its famous Bridge and the ever-present wind, it is located in the center of Provence and through the beautiful villages of the Luberon: Les Baux, Gordes and Rousillon, passing from white calcareous to Ocher color, to finish in the incredible Pont du Gard

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Curtis H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Terrific tour, a bit of a whirlwind, maybe not quite enough time at some of the more interesting towns, but overall very well done, and we certainly covered a LOT of ground. Our tour guide was entertaining and highly informative. Price was reasonable, too!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

pat

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

This was not quite the tour we were expecting. My granddaughter was very disappointed that we did not get to see Van Gogh's hospital room which was included in the description of the tour. We would have liked to have gone to the bridge near Arles where one or some of the earliest Starry Night paintings were painted. Instead of focusing on Van Gogh the tour included some Roman ruins which were interesting but had nothing to do with Van Gogh.

Doing what: Van Gogh in Provence Small-Group Day Trip

Joseph M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The driver was great and we hit all the spots in a timely manner. It was a good day.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Kenneth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was great and Melonie was a wonderful driver and guide. The highlight was the Pont du Gard. Well worth it

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Lucia United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Best way to see the main city sights of Marseille. Emmanuel and Elise are helpful and friendly. The ebike tour was fun. This company is very trustworthy and respond to emails promptly. I will definitely book with them again for a second bike tour when I return to Marseille.

Doing what: Electric Bike Tour to the Calanques from Marseille

Kathleen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Cecile was our guide. She was informative and gave a great tour to my husband and me. Yes it was just the two of us. This was a great orientation to the city, we had so much fun. Electric Bikes are really easy to learn and made the steep hills of Marseille doable.. It was amazing to get up close to the Mediterranean and see the Calanques.

Doing what: Electric Bike Tour to the Calanques from Marseille

CSR

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was great. We really enjoyed. Though it was a long day, our tour guide was very informative, friendly and accommodating. Given the short period of time we have, it was a great way to see Provence without having to drive ourselves.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Peter T

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We had a really good day and saw much that was interesting and delightful. Although our mini-van was rather cosy for 8 adults and the driver, that led to us getting to know our fellow-travellers during the trip and made the day even better. If half stars were available we'd give the trip four and a half stars out of five.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

LISA W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Great day with lots of sightseeing

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Glenn F United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We saw so much and our tour guide was great, but think it is too much for one day. You really get only a short time visiting the various villages in Provence. All were facinating in their own way. My suggestion is have a two day tour instead of onn. Glenn

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

ginareid2boys

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Very informative and gave you a great overview of the area, while a lot was packed in within a tight schedule there was still time to explore towns. Our only complaint was we went back to Avignon central to drop people off and picked up another couple. That seemed to be a lot of extra driving and ate up a lot of our time.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Lisa M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

Whilst it was a long day and you got to see quite a bit of the countryside, the tour could have been so much more useful and enjoyable if there was some information provided on the towns we were visiting. It felt like we were just taken to a town, dropped,off to explode under own efforts before being shuffled onto the bus for the trip to the next town. Having said that, the driver was very pleasant and approachable.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Ilse J L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

Missed it due the ship being four hours late, and your team could not help us out. :

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Terry F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent knowledgeable tour guide. Can't ask for more!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message