Puerto Plata ATTRACTIONS See all

Amber Museum (Museo de Ambar Dominicano)

Housed in a fine Victorian mansion with an interesting history of its own, the Amber Museum (Museo de Ambar Dominicano) is worth a visit to see some rare and fascinating amber pieces and to understand more about this semi-precious gem.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 42 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Toni C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

A nice trip with a good insight into the area.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Carol L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was very exciting and the views were beautiful. I enjoyed the cable experience.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Herman F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful tour of the tobacco factory, the cathedral. the jewelry factory, the cathedral, and the fort of San Felipe but I was petrified of the cable car ride

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Whoopie

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The tour was wonderful, beautiful and breath taking, everything about the trip was great except the encouragement to purchase rum just to be confiscated by immigration!
Other than that the tour was fabulous!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Horth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour is the best way to visit Puerto Plata. Our guide gave us a lot of information about history and was able to answer all our questions. The teleferico, the city tour, cigar fabric, amber museum, the forteress San Felipe, the cathedral; everything was awesome!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

William E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Jessica P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide Hugo was amazing. He told us who to avoid and what to look out for. Great guy!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

jayne f

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great trip out go in the morning

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Garreisha W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This tour was worth the $50 you get a guide into the city. You visit a cigar shop, Amber factory, and cable car. It was an all day tour but it was worth it if you have never done it.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Ryan E

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Good for it's price although they should do the cable car in the morning and give you more time at top of mountain. Reason for going in morning is cause it always gets cloudy by about noon and it's not all day like stated...

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Amanda M

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This was a really good tour but was not a full 8 hours. There also was no Brugal tour. Please update your site on that. Everything else was amazing. Beautiful views from the cable car. And the San Felipe Fort was awesome.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Richard R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

I will go to social media if you do not contact me.
The tour was poor and the tour was 4 hours not 8 as you advertised.
Richard

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Gladys Fuentes ...  United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We drove around the city and sightseeing places , we went to the grocery store to stock up on food, water and beer. Visited the rich town, then we went to the Larimar Amber Cigar factory, passed by the Brugal rum factory, the Port of San Felipe and end the cablecar Teleferic. It was interesting to learn about the city of Puerto Plata, but what I liked most was the ride on the cable car where I could see the whole city, sightseeing and its beaches, the most beautiful was Christ the Redeemer equal to or copy of Rio de Janeiro . I recommend this tour very interesting.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

TWORK United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I wish I could remember the name of the gentleman that took us. I do know the drivers name was Francis who was great also. Our guide took time with us and showed us everything possible. He took the time to explain everything w/history behind it. He was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Shopping Tour with Visits to Amber Museum and Tobacco Factory

Deborah C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Our trip was great. Wish we had seen more of the island though.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Simon O

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Nice and safe tour, but in my opinion a shoppingtour for all-inclusive tourists!!!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

SUSAN D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great experience taking the City Tour with Cable car ride.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Ernest B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The tour was nice but a bit rushed. We could have had some more time at each stop, especially at the top of the hill - so much to see in just a few minutes! Also, the trip was advertised as including a visit to the Brugal rum factory but that did not happen. At least we did stop by a supermarket to get our booze.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Mercedez C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

LaNita G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

This tour was awesome. Our guide was great. The only thing is that they take you to places where they want you to buy things. It was very commercial.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Mary A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great time in the city and the view from the cable car is breath taking.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Regina Ann N

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Really good trip. Was a bit disappointed that they no longer take you to the rhum factory. But the guide took us to a supermarket where the rhum prices were really good. They were not pushy and didn't request a tip. Very friendly guide with lots of interesting facts about the city.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

W. Felton A

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

The tour was great. A little too long for the elderly. It was not easy getting in and out of bus. No buildings with elevators and stairs are hard. This should be understood at the time of booking.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

DAWN S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I am scared to death of heights but figured that this tour was a must when in Puerto Plata. It was scary as hell but well worth it! I booked a few tours through Viator and was extremely satisfied with the service provided and value for the money!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

John

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour and over view of Puerto Plata and the surrounding area. Hugo was a great guide and gave us real information about living in the Dominican Republic.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message