En savoir plus sur notre réponse au Covid-19.

Plus d'infos
Recherches récentes
Effacer
La Isabela
La Isabela

La Isabela Excursions

La Isabela est située dans la province de Puerto Plata en République dominicaine. Il s'agit de la deuxième plus ancienne colonie européenne du Nouveau Monde, fondée par Christophe Colomb lors de son deuxième voyage en 1493. Colomb a nommé la région en l'honneur de la reine Isabelle I de Castille. Colomb a établi La Isabela pour rechercher de l'or, mais quand il en a trouvé très peu, il a asservi les gens à l'île. Les problèmes inévitables de la faim et de la maladie ont conduit à une multitude de problèmes tels que la mutinerie, la punition et, bien sûr, davantage de maladie et de faim. Combinez cela avec des conflits répétés avec le Taíno local, et la colonie était condamnée. L'échec de Colomb l'a rappelé en Espagne et la colonie a finalement été abandonnée en 1498.

Aujourd'hui, La Isabela est un parc archéologique et historique dont les fouilles ont commencé à la fin des années 1980. On présume que les ruines étaient plus étendues, mais la zone a été rasée au bulldozer en 1960. Un fort militaire a été construit à cette époque pour parer aux invasions potentielles par des associés de Fidel Castro. Le Parque Nacional La Isabela contient encore quelques structures et artefacts remarquables à visiter. Il y a des murs qui auraient fait partie de la maison de Colomb, l'église où la première messe a eu lieu dans le Nouveau Monde et une tour d'observation. Des restes ont été trouvés dans le cimetière de la chapelle, et le squelette d'un Espagnol mort du paludisme est exposé.

Il y a un petit musée sur place avec des artefacts découverts lors des fouilles, notamment un four à poterie, un four, un crucifix du XVIe siècle, des récipients utilisés pour purifier l'or, des icônes religieuses Taíno et des éclats de poterie.

En savoir plus
Tous les jours de 9h à 17h30
Castillo la Isabela, Luperon Municipality, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic

La Isabela : visites et activités à essayer

Aucun résultat.

Et si vous essayiez autre chose ?Puerto Plata : voir toutes les visites

No reviews, be the first!

  • Address: Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
  • Hours: Daily from 9am to 5:30pm
La Isabela is located within the Puerto Plata province of the Dominican Republic. It is the second-oldest European settlement in the New World, founded by Christopher Columbus during his second voyage in 1493. Columbus named the area after Queen Isabella I of Castile. Columbus established La Isabela to search for gold, but when he found very little, he enslaved people to the island. The inevitable issues of hunger and disease led to a wealth of problems like mutiny, punishment and, of course, more disease and hunger. Combine that with repeated conflicts with the local Taíno, and the colony was doomed. Columbus’ failure got him called back to Spain, and the colony was ultimately abandoned in 1498.

Today, La Isabela is an archaeological and historical park.Excavations started in the late 1980s. It is presumed the ruins were more extensive, but the area was bulldozed in 1960. A military fort was built at that time to ward off potential invasions by associates of Fidel Castro. The Parque Nacional La Isabela still contains a few notable structures and artifacts worth visiting. There are walls that are believed to have been part of Columbus’ home, the church where the first mass was conducted in the New World and an observation tower. Remains were found in the chapel’s cemetery, and the skeleton of a Spaniard who died of malaria is on display.

There is a small museum on-site with some artifacts unearthed during excavations, including a pottery oven, kiln, 16th-century crucifix, containers used to purify gold, Taíno religious icons and pottery shards. 

Practical Info

La Isabela National Park is open daily from 9am. to 5:30pm. The site was declared a national park in 1998.

Tours & Tickets

See all

Punta Rusia Catamaran Sail from Rio San Juan, Puerto Plata, null
TVRM_SORTED : true ESSENTIAL : 1 ADMISSION : 5

Punta Rusia Catamaran Sail from Rio San Juan

If you enjoy the VIP treatment, then Punta Rusia VIP is for you. You’ll think you have landed in the paradise of your dreams when the VIP Catamaran takes up ...  Read more

Location: Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Duration: 11 hours (approx.)

From USD $160.00

See all

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message