Puerto Plata or “Port of Silver” was so named by Christopher Columbus in 1502 because of the misty silver hue created by the leaves of an indigenous tree.  While the island might not have had any silver back then, it is raking in the moolah from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 103 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Toni C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

A nice trip with a good insight into the area.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Dawn g

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

Sylvie and her dog were so nice. I really liked her, but The tour itself was unorganized and placed me in an awkward situation that could have been dangerous. I was the only one taking the tour and I was guided my a nice young man name Ramon. Sylvie the owner decided not to come. She said she usually comes when there two or more people. I thought it was better that she comes if it's only one person. I strolled along the beautiful beach with my horse and that was wonderful, but once we got to a secluded area, there were about 5-6 men and me only woman. One of the men started kissing me in the lips and complimenting me. I thought that this may not have happened if Sylvie came. But, the beach was beautiful, Sylvie was nice, Ramon was nice. It was just that by me being alone, the owner should have come along too.

Doing what: Beach Horseback Riding in Puerto Plata

Carol L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was very exciting and the views were beautiful. I enjoyed the cable experience.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Herman F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful tour of the tobacco factory, the cathedral. the jewelry factory, the cathedral, and the fort of San Felipe but I was petrified of the cable car ride

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Whoopie

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The tour was wonderful, beautiful and breath taking, everything about the trip was great except the encouragement to purchase rum just to be confiscated by immigration!
Other than that the tour was fabulous!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Horth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour is the best way to visit Puerto Plata. Our guide gave us a lot of information about history and was able to answer all our questions. The teleferico, the city tour, cigar fabric, amber museum, the forteress San Felipe, the cathedral; everything was awesome!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an amazing tour! The crew was a ton of fun, they really knew what they were doing. They were performers as well as crew members. The snorkeling was gorgeous. I would highly recommend this tour. It was fantastic!

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

William E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Abigail P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

High recommend this. Amazing crew. Just touch up on better music to play for the younger crowd 20-30 yr olds.

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

amholms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a large group and the guides were wonderful. The weather wasn't very helpful so a few people weren't feeling well and the crew took exceptionally good care of them while entertaining the rest of the passengers. They kept everyone's spirts up and really enjoyed what they did.

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

Jessica P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide Hugo was amazing. He told us who to avoid and what to look out for. Great guy!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

jayne f

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great trip out go in the morning

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Garreisha W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This tour was worth the $50 you get a guide into the city. You visit a cigar shop, Amber factory, and cable car. It was an all day tour but it was worth it if you have never done it.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

shane C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

our trip was a disaster our pick up time was 745am waited till 830am no one showed up to pick us up so the front desk at our hotel blue bay villas dorados called the company so the company of the tour sent a taxi to pick us up we got picked up at 845am then the taxi drove like a maniac to catch up to the tour bus finally caught the tour bus witch was very embarrassing getting on the bus late making the bus wait for us then got the on tour bus and the guides spoke mostly only german and Spanish hardly spoke English hardly understood anything about the tour then we arrived at our destination and your add on viator says we would board a beautiful catamaran that's why we booked this one because it said catamaran but we boarded a speedboat instead witch was very disappointing then after we left the island we went through the mangroves and had no idea what was being said again about them because they spoke german and Spanish again and then the drive back same thing german and Spanish
This makes us think we don't want to book an excursion through viator in the future for other destinations we will be visiting in the future very disappointing trip especially when this happened on this trip to Dominican witch we got married at our resort and this was our wedding and honeymoon vacation

Doing what: Cayo Arena Day Trip from Puerto Plata

Ryan E

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Good for it's price although they should do the cable car in the morning and give you more time at top of mountain. Reason for going in morning is cause it always gets cloudy by about noon and it's not all day like stated...

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Amanda M

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This was a really good tour but was not a full 8 hours. There also was no Brugal tour. Please update your site on that. Everything else was amazing. Beautiful views from the cable car. And the San Felipe Fort was awesome.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Richard R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

I will go to social media if you do not contact me.
The tour was poor and the tour was 4 hours not 8 as you advertised.
Richard

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Antoine B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Happy with the tour. The hosts are ambassadors, nothing but the best.

Doing what: Puerto Plata Safari Adventure

Gladys Fuentes ...  United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We drove around the city and sightseeing places , we went to the grocery store to stock up on food, water and beer. Visited the rich town, then we went to the Larimar Amber Cigar factory, passed by the Brugal rum factory, the Port of San Felipe and end the cablecar Teleferic. It was interesting to learn about the city of Puerto Plata, but what I liked most was the ride on the cable car where I could see the whole city, sightseeing and its beaches, the most beautiful was Christ the Redeemer equal to or copy of Rio de Janeiro . I recommend this tour very interesting.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Francesca G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great experience! Captain and crew were tons of fun!

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

Deborah C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Our trip was great. Wish we had seen more of the island though.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Lisa B

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Loved the boat ride through the mangrove forest

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

Simon O

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Nice and safe tour, but in my opinion a shoppingtour for all-inclusive tourists!!!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

jess

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Awesome crew. Amazing time snorkeling. Would highly reccommend this catamaran excursion!!!

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

SUSAN D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great experience taking the City Tour with Cable car ride.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message