Puerto Plata, or “Port of Silver” was discovered by Columbus way back in 1502, but has only recently become popular as more and more tourists have begun to discover it since the 1980s. Each year thousands of travellers descend on its shores for a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 333 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Herman F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful tour of the tobacco factory, the cathedral. the jewelry factory, the cathedral, and the fort of San Felipe but I was petrified of the cable car ride

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Aaron M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an incredible experience with breath taking views. I encourage everyone to just try ziplining but I especially encourage it through the woods in this area. It was fun, pretty, and the crew that helped us along the way and taught us how to properly zipline were friendly and funny. I do discourage people who are not physically fit for climbing up stairs as well as not capable of hiking up hills as there is quite a bit of this to be done in high temperatures.

Doing what: Zipline and Horseback Riding Combination Tour in Puerto Plata

Whoopie

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The tour was wonderful, beautiful and breath taking, everything about the trip was great except the encouragement to purchase rum just to be confiscated by immigration!
Other than that the tour was fabulous!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

CHERYL P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour was GREAT!!! Manny was a great guide. He was knowledgable and entertaining. The "OUTBACK" was a real eye opener. I will recommend the tour.

Doing what: Dominican Outback Safari

Horth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour is the best way to visit Puerto Plata. Our guide gave us a lot of information about history and was able to answer all our questions. The teleferico, the city tour, cigar fabric, amber museum, the forteress San Felipe, the cathedral; everything was awesome!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an amazing tour! The crew was a ton of fun, they really knew what they were doing. They were performers as well as crew members. The snorkeling was gorgeous. I would highly recommend this tour. It was fantastic!

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

William E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Megan C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour was amazing! Alex our tour guide shared a lot of information.

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

C E

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We only did part of the tour then we decided to go on our separate way and do some exploring on our own in Higuey.

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

Angela R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great to be in nature and witness underdeveloped areas.

Doing what: Dominican Outback Safari

cindy.gabier

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

Attrape-Touriste!! Le camion présenté n'a rien d'un mégatruck! Un tas d'autres prestataires proposent cette excursion sur place pour bien moins cher alors ne vous faites pas avoir... de plus, le guide francophone ne nous a rien appris sur le pays ce qui nous a fait encore plus regretter notre argent et le temps perdu dans cette excursion qui n'a pour but que vous faire sortir votre portefeuille pour acheter!!! Ne vous faites pas avoir comme nous. Nous voulions faire plaisir à notre fils qui est passionné de tout terrain et il a été bien déçu lorsque nous avons croisé les nombreux autres trucks qui en sont vraiment... et pour le peu d'explications que nous avons eu, nous aurions aussi bien pu prendre l'excursion en anglais, cela n'aurait pas fait de différence!

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

Abigail P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

High recommend this. Amazing crew. Just touch up on better music to play for the younger crowd 20-30 yr olds.

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

Leah D United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

my friends and I had an amazing time with Andy, Pinky, and Mimo!

The boozy cruise with music, snorkeling around Paradise Island, swimming with Pinky delivering drinks with a floating bar, lunch on the sandy beaches of Punta Rusia - all made an unforgettable amazing day! make sure you bring enough sunscreen!

Doing what: Puerto Plata Luxury Yacht Cruise to Punta Rusia and Cayo Paraiso

jayne f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Good trip

Doing what: Dominican Outback Safari

jayne f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great morning out well worth doing

Doing what: Zipline and Horseback Riding Combination Tour in Puerto Plata

amholms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a large group and the guides were wonderful. The weather wasn't very helpful so a few people weren't feeling well and the crew took exceptionally good care of them while entertaining the rest of the passengers. They kept everyone's spirts up and really enjoyed what they did.

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

Jessica P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide Hugo was amazing. He told us who to avoid and what to look out for. Great guy!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Michelle H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This experience was wonderful. The view from the zip line was spectacular. I would have given 5 stars except the process to get pictures failed miserably. There should be a way to download the pictures online or actually see them after the tour.

Doing what: Zipline and Horseback Riding Combination Tour in Puerto Plata

jayne f

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great trip out go in the morning

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Garreisha W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This tour was worth the $50 you get a guide into the city. You visit a cigar shop, Amber factory, and cable car. It was an all day tour but it was worth it if you have never done it.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Caspar v

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Can't rate this trip as we didn't go: It was extremely difficult to get a departure/pick up time of the local organisers. Once we got this, they arrived to pick us up one and half hour late. By then we were doing something else and weren't able to join.

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

Olivia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Really insightful trip, yummy lunch and lots to see/do! highly recommend

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

Dana O

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very fun. The Cayo Paraiso part was the best. We didn't do the speed boat or banana boat as advertised, and it was a catamaran not a yacht... But that stuff didn't matter as I think we got extra swim/snorkel time on Cayo Paraiso. They were on time picking us up and the trip lasted all day. Food was decent. Only alcohol they had at the open bar was rum not surprising or beer. In any event, would definitely recommend.

We had a relatively overcast day, so it wasn't too hot and there wasn't too much direct sun. Only warning I would give is that if it is not overcast, BRING SUNSCREEN. I got a bit of color with the sun not being out, I would have been a lobster if it was really sunny.

Doing what: Puerto Plata Luxury Yacht Cruise to Punta Rusia and Cayo Paraiso

Ryan E

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Good for it's price although they should do the cable car in the morning and give you more time at top of mountain. Reason for going in morning is cause it always gets cloudy by about noon and it's not all day like stated...

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Amanda M

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This was a really good tour but was not a full 8 hours. There also was no Brugal tour. Please update your site on that. Everything else was amazing. Beautiful views from the cable car. And the San Felipe Fort was awesome.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message