Puerto Vallarta ATTRACTIONS See all

Banderas Bay (Bahia de Banderas)

Beautiful Banderas Bay - or Bahia de Banderas - is just one of the reasons why Puerto Vallarta is such a highly sought-after beach resort destination. The Pacific Ocean bay is Mexico’s largest, lapping the two Mexican states of Jalisco and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 115 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alex D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

So the tour is not what I expected it to be, but I loved it and would highly recommend to everyone, children and adults alike.

Basically, a group of 10 hilarious people got together to put on a great show and entertain tourists. Yes, you get to go see Marietas Islands, which is pretty neat. However, the water is a bit too murky to snorkel, the sights aren't that amazing it's basically a rock..., and you no longer get to swim under the rocks to get to the hidden beach the beach is now protected. All that said, none of it really matters because that is not the purpose of the tour. Neither is the bird watching or whale watching, especially since I don't think Keven the head guide knows much about whales or birds.

Instead, you get to spend 4 hours hanging out with a really cool crew. They entertain, make everyone laugh, put on a great show, and keep an open bar where they pour you strong drinks. At some point, everyone loosens up and starts to dance, and that's when the good times really start to roll.

If it wasn't for the crew, this trip would get 2 stars. I'm giving it 5, and you will too!

Doing what: Marietas Islands: Cavern Swim and Snorkel Cruise from Puerto Vallarta

Sheri M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This dinner/show was one of the highlights of our trip! The whole experience was nice! I was really impressed with the details they gave to setting a nice atmosphere for the dinner as well as the whole area from the time you leave the boat to when you return to it including underwater lights, mermaids, hammocks in the surf, music during dinner, candles everywhere, etc.. The show was amazing and the performers had high energy and were well rehearsed. We would do it again in a heartbeat!

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Sunset Cruise and Candlelight Dinner Show

Kevin L

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

I must say that I may be spoiled from traveling all these years to where this excursion wasn't that exciting. The video and description is a little misleading. I thought we would be snorkeling in caves. Instead, we rode a catamaran an hour out to Mariatas, went in to the water which was cold for 90 minutes to either snorkel, paddle board or kayak, drove up to the cave to take a picture, did whale watching and headed back. The Vallarta Adventure Tour company is hands down the best in the business and the whale watching was great. The highlight of the trip though was Isa and his crew doing a song and dance as we headed back. That was FUN! Boat 4. All in all it was an ok excursion for the money, but after doing the Outdoor Adventure two days before, which was incredible, this was didn't live up to the expectations.

Doing what: Marietas Islands: Cavern Swim and Snorkel Cruise from Puerto Vallarta

Sheri M

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The boat ride to the Islands was nice and the food was fine but nothing fancy. It was a bit disappointing that the beach was still closed so we weren't allowed to go there, but they added on some whale watching instead which is was nice. It was nice to have some time to snorkel and kayak although there wasn't too much to see snorkeling. The boat tour around the Island was nice ... there were a lot of birds nesting there! ... but the guide didn't point out as much as he could have or share much information. My daughter and I signed up to do one scuba dive and were a bit disappointed with that. We were only allowed to go under for 20 minutes and there really wasn't much to see. Our dive expert was more interested in doing breathing tricks for us then pointing out interesting underwater life. Perhaps if you signed up for 2 dives it would have been a better experience as they traveled out to another location. If you're interested in diving, I would advise signing up for an activity that is strictly diving and not this combination tour.

Doing what: Marietas Islands: Cavern Swim and Snorkel Cruise from Puerto Vallarta

Arpana H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was an unbelivable experience. While the actual excursion was a lot of fun, the staff made the trip...I have never been so impressed by this level of service. Food was good, drinks were great, staff was on top of everything and very knowledgeable and it was a very well planned trip. The only downside, which has nothing to do with the company, was that they closed off touring of the beach on the island, but that was a governmental decision, so nothing could be done. I still highly recommend the experience.

Doing what: Marietas Islands: Cavern Swim and Snorkel Cruise from Puerto Vallarta

Larry O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Kevin and the crew on boat 5 were excellent and very happy to help in any way they could. The water was crystal clear and so warm. So many different types of fish to see. Even saw a few dolphins on the way back.Kevin did a great job explaining the birds and showing us around. Would definitely do this again. The entertainment on the way back kept us in stitches laughing. Don't know where the crew gets their energy.

Doing what: Marietas Islands: Cavern Swim and Snorkel Cruise from Puerto Vallarta

grace.garcia6960

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

YOU MUST TAKE THIS TOUR!!!! My fiancee and I had such a great time. The sunset cruise was lovely. So relaxing and they give you free alcohol. The show was amazing. When we pulled up to the island there were tiki torches galore and even an actual mermaid to greet us. It was magical. The food was great. The atmosphere was wonderful. Everyone was so friendly. On the boat ride home we were even treated to a talent show by the staff! You can tell they really love what they do. Boat 4 rules! PLEASE TAKE THIS TOUR! YOU WON'T REGRET IT!:

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Sunset Cruise and Candlelight Dinner Show

salsarg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

amazing time amazing food amazing show Increible

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Sunset Cruise and Candlelight Dinner Show

rstevenson.gbit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The water was wonderful and they kept me very entertained! It was a great ocean adventure.

Doing what: Marietas Islands: Cavern Swim and Snorkel Cruise from Puerto Vallarta

Todd C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Even though we did not get to see the hidden beach, this trip was SO MUCH FUN!!! Between the snorkeling, kayaking, and paddle boarding, and bird watching, there was more than enough to do. Top that off with a nice lunch, awesome crew, the open bar, and the fantastic show the crew members put on during the trip back to shore, this is a day of fun the whole family will enjoy and remember for years to come!

Doing what: Marietas Islands: Cavern Swim and Snorkel Cruise from Puerto Vallarta

Tammy B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We enjoyed the trip but we were disappointed we did not get to go to hidden beach or swim in the cavern. They do not tell you that until you are already out on the boat. The crew was great though and we enjoyed the entertainment on the way back.

Doing what: Marietas Islands: Cavern Swim and Snorkel Cruise from Puerto Vallarta

Deborah H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very well done and the food was very good.

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Sunset Cruise and Candlelight Dinner Show

Thomas C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Incredible!!! although the hidden beach is closed for another 4 months... wish I had known bu it was an amazing experience none the less!

Doing what: Marietas Islands: Cavern Swim and Snorkel Cruise from Puerto Vallarta

Matthew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

One of the best excursion/tours I have ever been on! Top of the line, my girlfriend and I had so much fun!

Doing what: Las Caletas Day Tour from Puerto Vallarta

Bruce V

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

was disappointed in that we booked this tour, only to find on the day just before we left port that we were not going to go to the Island or beach as the park had been closed to public access. We ended up doing an eco discovery tour which was not what we signed up and paid for. The crew however were very good. provided great assistance with using the equipment and the put on a fantastic show on the return journey. The weather was clear but there had been a lot of recent rain which made the waters in the bay very cloudy. Not a lot of wildlife around. There were good amounts of birds in and around the island.

Doing what: Marietas Islands: Cavern Swim and Snorkel Cruise from Puerto Vallarta

Richard N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A must see. The food is excellent, the entertainment equally as good. The boat ride was a joy as well. This was in many ways as good as any Hollywood production or Vegas top show. Service excellent. A super value for the price vs value.

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Sunset Cruise and Candlelight Dinner Show

MARY C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Show was absolutely fantastic!!!! Food was awesome. Wait staff was wonderful. Will go again.

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Sunset Cruise and Candlelight Dinner Show

Kelly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is an awesome tour! The show is out Cross the bay in a tropical bay. It was magical! We had a candle light dinner on the beach. The food was wonderful and the service was superior!! We will do this tour again!

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Sunset Cruise and Candlelight Dinner Show

Richard N

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The entertainment was by far the best part of this trip. The snorkeling was just so so, but snorkeling on the Pacific side is nothing like the Caribbean. But for the cost, it was a fun trip.

Doing what: Marietas Islands: Cavern Swim and Snorkel Cruise from Puerto Vallarta

Richard J

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

It was pouring down cats and dogs and we were hoping we could reschedule the tour. No luck, they said it would continue through rain or shine. So we lost over 200 and didn't bother signing up for any other tours. I had to give this a star or I would not be able to submit my review.

Doing what: Las Caletas Day Tour from Puerto Vallarta

Wendy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour! A must do for the family.

Doing what: Marietas Islands: Cavern Swim and Snorkel Cruise from Puerto Vallarta

Miriam E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I went to this trip on a Thursday and it was amazing. I took my aunt my 3yr old niece and grandma! The crew was very sweet and took well care of my grandma always made sure she was okay. Given she wasn and #39;t able to snorkel paddle board or kayak she still had a great time with the show drinks and food.

Doing what: Marietas Islands: Cavern Swim and Snorkel Cruise from Puerto Vallarta

Neal Y

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was an excellent experience. The show was great but the real experience was the romantic candlelight dinner on the beach with my girlfriend. Would definitely do again!

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Sunset Cruise and Candlelight Dinner Show

David M

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Crew good, nice snorkeling, too long of lines to wait to use paddle boards or canoes, food not great for price of a five hour trip.

Doing what: Marietas Islands: Cavern Swim and Snorkel Cruise from Puerto Vallarta

Charleen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fun time! Entertaining crew! Nice lunch and plenty of beverages on the way back.

Doing what: Marietas Islands: Cavern Swim and Snorkel Cruise from Puerto Vallarta

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message