Puerto Vallarta ATTRACTIONS See all

Banderas Bay (Bahia de Banderas)

Beautiful Banderas Bay - or Bahia de Banderas - is just one of the reasons why Puerto Vallarta is such a highly sought-after beach resort destination. The Pacific Ocean bay is Mexico’s largest, lapping the two Mexican states of Jalisco and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 129 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Keriann L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The waters were murky but we still got to see fish, Birds, whales and dolphins. The boat ride out was really choppy so I got seasick along with many other people but the crew was vee accommodating and prepared. The ride back was perhaps the most fun part the crew was fun and entertaining!

Doing what: Marietas Islands: Cavern Swim and Snorkel Cruise from Puerto Vallarta

Jeff B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

From start to finish, this was a very enjoyable experience. The crew on Boat 5 was phenomenally nice and entertaining and, Oh! My Gosh!, Caletas was absolutely stunningly beautiful. The shore side candlelit dinner was incredible not only the view but the food as well. Then, to top it off, the Rhythm of the Night show was spectacular. Funny, exciting, visually alluring, and had great performers.
All in all, this was the pinnacle of our Puerto Vallarta experience.

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Sunset Cruise and Candlelight Dinner Show

Kristin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was so much fun! From boarding the boat to Las Caletas to the boat ride back, the staff was cheerful and seemed to think of everything before we could ask. Las Caletas is like a paradise. You can relax in a beach hammock or if you are more daring take a zip line into the ocean. I highly recommend paying extra for the sea lion and diamond ray excursion. Swimming with them was the highlight of my vacation. It was incredible to be so close to such amazing creatures! Also a big thanks to their awesome photographer Karla for capturing those special moments.

Doing what: Las Caletas Day Tour from Puerto Vallarta

Kristin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent! Loved this! The entertainment on the boat ride was fun too! David and the rest of the staff put on a little show and definitely kept us laughing. One thing I didn't know was that some groups eat before the dinner show and others after the show. We ate after, but I would have preferred to eat first and I didn't know there was a choice when I bought the tickets. Also, bring a sweater for the boat ride out. It can get chilly.

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Sunset Cruise and Candlelight Dinner Show

Alex D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

So the tour is not what I expected it to be, but I loved it and would highly recommend to everyone, children and adults alike.

Basically, a group of 10 hilarious people got together to put on a great show and entertain tourists. Yes, you get to go see Marietas Islands, which is pretty neat. However, the water is a bit too murky to snorkel, the sights aren't that amazing it's basically a rock..., and you no longer get to swim under the rocks to get to the hidden beach the beach is now protected. All that said, none of it really matters because that is not the purpose of the tour. Neither is the bird watching or whale watching, especially since I don't think Keven the head guide knows much about whales or birds.

Instead, you get to spend 4 hours hanging out with a really cool crew. They entertain, make everyone laugh, put on a great show, and keep an open bar where they pour you strong drinks. At some point, everyone loosens up and starts to dance, and that's when the good times really start to roll.

If it wasn't for the crew, this trip would get 2 stars. I'm giving it 5, and you will too!

Doing what: Marietas Islands: Cavern Swim and Snorkel Cruise from Puerto Vallarta

Sheri M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This dinner/show was one of the highlights of our trip! The whole experience was nice! I was really impressed with the details they gave to setting a nice atmosphere for the dinner as well as the whole area from the time you leave the boat to when you return to it including underwater lights, mermaids, hammocks in the surf, music during dinner, candles everywhere, etc.. The show was amazing and the performers had high energy and were well rehearsed. We would do it again in a heartbeat!

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Sunset Cruise and Candlelight Dinner Show

Darwin A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Memorable moments with my girlfriend.

Doing what: Marietas Islands: Cavern Swim and Snorkel Cruise from Puerto Vallarta

Tessa A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The crew was great and it was a really fun trip!

Doing what: Marietas Islands: Cavern Swim and Snorkel Cruise from Puerto Vallarta

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The people and shows were first rate. All was well organized. Food and drink was good, but not 5 star. Overall fabulous time. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Sunset Cruise and Candlelight Dinner Show

Jayne G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

great time show was wonderful meal was also very good staff catered to our every need

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Sunset Cruise and Candlelight Dinner Show

Lance B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great evening! Kevin and the crew were great and a lot of fun! Show was very cool and meal was yummy with awesome views! Very glad we decided on this one!

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Sunset Cruise and Candlelight Dinner Show

vim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I was going to rate this 4 stars because there were 100 Pesos fees that had to be paid upon arrival that I was not aware of. But, the experience was great, so I can't complain too much. You get rent kayaks, paddle boards and snorkel gear to check out some of the island's sea life. The water was pretty murky on the day I went, so I wasn't able to see much. Not sure if that is typical. Nevertheless, it was still a very pleasant experience. The on board breakfast and lunch was... sufficient. The staff was friendly and entertaining. I enjoyed the experience and would recommend it to others.

Doing what: Marietas Islands: Cavern Swim and Snorkel Cruise from Puerto Vallarta

jodi w

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

terrific day. good food, saw whales and lots of wildlife, and we were lucky to have beautifl weather. however, the boat was fairly crowded, and we departed from one port marina vallarta and came into a different one nuevo vallarta, a 20 minute drive away. while vallarta adventures did then drive those of us who boarded in marina back to nuevo, people on the other sailing that day were sailed all the way back to marina....we weren't iven a choice of boats, AND we weren't told this was going to happen until over 5 hours into the sail and i only knew becaus ei was sitting chatting with our captain, who was fabulous, and asked him why we were not going towards the port we had come from!

Doing what: Day Sailing on Banderas Bay

Brian S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Word of Caution -- although Viator says Paid and Confirmed YOU MUST CALL THE DAY BEFORE TO A NUMBER IN THE FINE PRINT or they say you are NOT confirmed and cannot go. After 20 minutes at the harbor of begging an calls they let us go. A 50 minute boat ride across the bay with an open bar. The show was great and then you go and have dinner. Buffet style which had excellent food and ours was in a private seating area overlooking the bay.

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Sunset Cruise and Candlelight Dinner Show

michael h

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Great trip. Crew was great. In spite of what the home office said, they do provide wet suits. I travel the Caribbean side, snorkeling does not compare - water murky, but you can see fish. The crew located a great pod of whales. Food on board was good. I would recommend this tour if visiting the area. Water temp was 75 degrees

Doing what: Marietas Islands: Cavern Swim and Snorkel Cruise from Puerto Vallarta

Kevin L

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

I must say that I may be spoiled from traveling all these years to where this excursion wasn't that exciting. The video and description is a little misleading. I thought we would be snorkeling in caves. Instead, we rode a catamaran an hour out to Mariatas, went in to the water which was cold for 90 minutes to either snorkel, paddle board or kayak, drove up to the cave to take a picture, did whale watching and headed back. The Vallarta Adventure Tour company is hands down the best in the business and the whale watching was great. The highlight of the trip though was Isa and his crew doing a song and dance as we headed back. That was FUN! Boat 4. All in all it was an ok excursion for the money, but after doing the Outdoor Adventure two days before, which was incredible, this was didn't live up to the expectations.

Doing what: Marietas Islands: Cavern Swim and Snorkel Cruise from Puerto Vallarta

Sheri M

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The boat ride to the Islands was nice and the food was fine but nothing fancy. It was a bit disappointing that the beach was still closed so we weren't allowed to go there, but they added on some whale watching instead which is was nice. It was nice to have some time to snorkel and kayak although there wasn't too much to see snorkeling. The boat tour around the Island was nice ... there were a lot of birds nesting there! ... but the guide didn't point out as much as he could have or share much information. My daughter and I signed up to do one scuba dive and were a bit disappointed with that. We were only allowed to go under for 20 minutes and there really wasn't much to see. Our dive expert was more interested in doing breathing tricks for us then pointing out interesting underwater life. Perhaps if you signed up for 2 dives it would have been a better experience as they traveled out to another location. If you're interested in diving, I would advise signing up for an activity that is strictly diving and not this combination tour.

Doing what: Marietas Islands: Cavern Swim and Snorkel Cruise from Puerto Vallarta

Robert P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

It is titled Cavern Swim. There is no Cavern and there will not be a cavern anytime soon, so it MUST be renamed. We wanted a snorkelling experience like those of the past in different parts of the world. This was 1 hour with 160 people 3 boats in a tiny space with snorkel masks. I got kicked in the head multiple times we were so close together. Definitely not as pictured. Do not do this if you have never snorkelled. No instruction, choppy water, it won't be a pleasant experience. They tried to make up for the lack of snorkelling by spending 15 minutes talking about 2 species of birds. The only went 25 around a single island. So there was no seeing the islands. They stopped to watch whales on the way back to make up for the snorkelling. The crew put their heart into entertaining us. But we were looking for a 4 hour snorkelling experience. We got this weird mis-mash of entertainment, lets drink and party, look at some birds and you can swim for an hour with a bunch of other people. Do not do this if you are looking for a snorkelling experience. Otherwise they are nice professional people. It is just a very mislabeled trip.

Doing what: Marietas Islands: Cavern Swim and Snorkel Cruise from Puerto Vallarta

Arpana H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was an unbelivable experience. While the actual excursion was a lot of fun, the staff made the trip...I have never been so impressed by this level of service. Food was good, drinks were great, staff was on top of everything and very knowledgeable and it was a very well planned trip. The only downside, which has nothing to do with the company, was that they closed off touring of the beach on the island, but that was a governmental decision, so nothing could be done. I still highly recommend the experience.

Doing what: Marietas Islands: Cavern Swim and Snorkel Cruise from Puerto Vallarta

Larry O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Kevin and the crew on boat 5 were excellent and very happy to help in any way they could. The water was crystal clear and so warm. So many different types of fish to see. Even saw a few dolphins on the way back.Kevin did a great job explaining the birds and showing us around. Would definitely do this again. The entertainment on the way back kept us in stitches laughing. Don't know where the crew gets their energy.

Doing what: Marietas Islands: Cavern Swim and Snorkel Cruise from Puerto Vallarta

grace.garcia6960

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

YOU MUST TAKE THIS TOUR!!!! My fiancee and I had such a great time. The sunset cruise was lovely. So relaxing and they give you free alcohol. The show was amazing. When we pulled up to the island there were tiki torches galore and even an actual mermaid to greet us. It was magical. The food was great. The atmosphere was wonderful. Everyone was so friendly. On the boat ride home we were even treated to a talent show by the staff! You can tell they really love what they do. Boat 4 rules! PLEASE TAKE THIS TOUR! YOU WON'T REGRET IT!:

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Sunset Cruise and Candlelight Dinner Show

salsarg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

amazing time amazing food amazing show Increible

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Sunset Cruise and Candlelight Dinner Show

rstevenson.gbit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The water was wonderful and they kept me very entertained! It was a great ocean adventure.

Doing what: Marietas Islands: Cavern Swim and Snorkel Cruise from Puerto Vallarta

Todd C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Even though we did not get to see the hidden beach, this trip was SO MUCH FUN!!! Between the snorkeling, kayaking, and paddle boarding, and bird watching, there was more than enough to do. Top that off with a nice lunch, awesome crew, the open bar, and the fantastic show the crew members put on during the trip back to shore, this is a day of fun the whole family will enjoy and remember for years to come!

Doing what: Marietas Islands: Cavern Swim and Snorkel Cruise from Puerto Vallarta

Tammy B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We enjoyed the trip but we were disappointed we did not get to go to hidden beach or swim in the cavern. They do not tell you that until you are already out on the boat. The crew was great though and we enjoyed the entertainment on the way back.

Doing what: Marietas Islands: Cavern Swim and Snorkel Cruise from Puerto Vallarta

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message