Puerto Vallarta ATTRACTIONS See all

Sierra Madre Mountains

Creating the perfect backdrop to the sea, the jungle-clad mountains of Mexico’s Sierra Madre Mountains range are tailor-made for rural day trips from Puerto Vallarta. All-terrain vehicles head out on safari, highlighting the region’s natural ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 71 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Thomas H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I would highly recommend this tour. Our guide Joey was excellent, made sure we kept up, kept safe and was willing to go the extra mile if needed. We got to see part of Puerto Vallarta that the average tourist doesn't as well as a couple of highlights outside the city, up in the hills. We had a very nice relaxing lunch and couldn't have been happier with the whole experience. The one complaint might be that the office is a little hard to find but we managed.

Doing what: Private Tour: Puerto Vallarta ATV Adventure

Alex D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing trip. Get to take a speed boat, ride in the back of a military truck 4x4, sit on a mule as it takes you up a mountain no more than like 15 minutes. Then zip-line, rappel down some dozen ropes and hit a few water slides along the way. Some tips for those who, like me, did not prepare well for the trip:

1. You will get soaked. I mean you will literally jump into water in all of your clothes and be underwater at some point. All your stuff is put away in a locker before this happens, but definitely bring a change of clothes, a pair of shoes you don't mind getting wet, and a hoodie for if its gets cold the afternoon session will be a little chilly on the way back, especially on the speed boat.
2. You won't be able to take your own photos. They will take photos of you they are great, but then offer to sell them to you for an exorbitant price. When I went it was like 120 USD for a flash drive of the 20 photos they got of you. Hopefully they will lower the price soon, because otherwise you don't get any photos of the trip.
3. They do serve food there, so you won't be hungry.
4. The night session 3pm start gets dark right as you end the last zip-line. It would be great if the trip started a bit earlier, so I would recommend taking the morning trip if you can. Call ahead and book it because the ticket doesn't specify whether you are morning or afternoon. You do get to see a pretty awesome sunset on the afternoon trip so maybe it's worth it.

Hope this helps!

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Outdoor Adventure Tour

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very Fun and great staff!! Well planned tour all the way to the end where there are changing rooms with plastic bags for your wet clothes!

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Outdoor Adventure Tour

Kevin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was one of the highlights of our trip last week and worth the money. Vallarta Adventures is hands down the best Tour company in Mexico. On this excursion, we ride a speedboat to an place where we were picked up in a 4X4 safari type vehicle. After that ride up the hill, we got on mules for another ride up the hill. After that, we got to zip line, rapel down waterfalls and into pools of quite chilly water, rode a couple water slides and just had an absolute blast. Our guides, Javi, Wunder, Cesar, Alvin, Mario, Mack and Luis were awesome. Keep in mind that they do have you put ALL of your stuff in a bag prior to starting the tour, so if you wants pictures and videos, you are buying theirs for 170 to 230, but theirs are REALLY good.

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Outdoor Adventure Tour

Sue P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a terrific tour. Joey is a wonderful guide and will customize the tour to suit the group's needs. Awesome time!

Doing what: Private Tour: Puerto Vallarta ATV Adventure

Arik B

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The tour itself was excellent and lots of fun! David, Erick, Robert, Sarah, Oscar, and Fidel were helpful guides and made sure we got through all the zip lines, rappelling, and water slides safely. They took us through beautiful scenery and made sure nobody would be left behind. It was an adrenaline rush the whole way through!

That being said, there were a couple things we were unhappy about. They were not very clear ahead of time about what clothes to wear, including an unnecessary suggestion to bring a sweatshirt. They also do not let anyone bring a camera, even if it is shockproof and waterproof. Instead, they bring their own photographer and charge a ridiculous amount for photos at the end of the tour. We were three people, and they offered us 84 photos in electronic format for 129. That is even more expensive than a tour ticket!

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Outdoor Adventure Tour

Mary H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was really great. There were only 4 of us on this trip, our guide was very personable, knowledgeable and fun. He took us to some culturally interesting places and it was overall a great trip.

Doing what: Sierra Madre Villages Half-Day Cultural Tour

Patrick R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Tour guide Gabriel and driver Fidel took good care of us. We learned some Mexican history along the way and stopped at a tequila distillery and had some tasty samples. We toured the town and enjoyed the scenery. A nice day spent in the cooler mountains!

Doing what: San Sebastian Tour from Puerto Vallarta

Rebecca H

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

This was a good tour. We saw quite a bit of PV on our way up the mountain. Our tour guide was friendly and knowledgable. I would recommend this tour company.

Doing what: Private Tour: Puerto Vallarta ATV Adventure

rsmiciklas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Truly an amazing experience! So cool to see all of the different parts of Puerto Vallarta. Our tour guide Joey was fanatastic!

Doing what: Private Tour: Puerto Vallarta ATV Adventure

kellylanspa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What a wonderful time. We ventured through old town PV and then up into the hills above Banderas Bat where the air was cool and the mountains are spectacular. We spent time at a lovely little restaurant in the middle of the mountains and jumped into the refreshing water hole. Our guide, Joe, was so nice, easy going.This really was such a great trip!

Doing what: Private Tour: Puerto Vallarta ATV Adventure

sherrym

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Best tour we have ever done! We were able to personally drive the quads on streets with the busses and cars in town and then out to country dirt roads that were windy and exciting! Totally felt safe and will be doing this tour again as it was a very personal group or upgrading to a more advanced tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Puerto Vallarta ATV Adventure

visualdna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This ATV tour was awesome. Fernando was friendly and laid back. The tour lasted right around six hours and it was the best time I've had. You get to tour the city and the mountains and get as many photos as you want. Pretty dope.

Doing what: Private Tour: Puerto Vallarta ATV Adventure

Jesse G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The tour was great, the staff is amazing. I would only recommend that you allow the guest to bring their cameras/phones. I have done this tour 3 years in a row and each time I experience something differently.

ChiTown

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Outdoor Adventure Tour

James M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fernando provides a can and #39;t miss experience. He is friendly, knowledable and fun! He is flexible and willing to fit the experience to your needs and schedule. His private ATV tour is something I recommend and I am looking forward to the next time I visit Puerto Vallarta.

Doing what: Private Tour: Puerto Vallarta ATV Adventure

Otilia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had an amazing time, the whole crew was awesome! Thank you David, Isma, Dj, Sparrow , Bob and Robert

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Outdoor Adventure Tour

Paul T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Guides were excellent! Luis, Martha, Adrian, and all the others. Pedrov did a great job of photography.

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Outdoor Adventure Tour

TroyH

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a great tour. The guides were very good, fun and most importantly safety conscious.

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Outdoor Adventure Tour

akash

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

it was really a adventure trip. The driver Raffeal was superb and guide Jacky was amazing.

Doing what: Sierra Madre Norte Off-Road Adventure

Richard F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Outdoor Adventure Tour

kelly m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a blast! We were a family of 5-3 teenagers and us older folks! David, Jerry, Efrain, Tommy, Puma and Erick made it a great day! We have ziplined many times in other places and this was the best by far! The added repelling, rope bridges and water slides were an added treat! Not to mention the boat ride and arriving at the beautiful, quaint town where you begin your adventure. Loads of fun.

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Outdoor Adventure Tour

kelly m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great adventure indeed! We were 2 old folks and 3 teenagers who are in decent shape.
We have ziplined many times in other places but this was the best! If that's not enough the boat ride, unimog, mules, rope bridges, repelling waterfalls and water slides will make for great fun! Our guides Erick, Efrain, David, Jerry, Tommy and Puma made it really fun and safe! The photographers Roxy and Karen were great as well!

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Outdoor Adventure Tour

steveandshelleyb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Outdoor Adventure Tour

suzzstravels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

AMAZING tour guides, we went at our own pace and they always had our safety in mind. They also took us to amazing parts of puerto vallarta that allowed us to see the town from a local's perspective which made us love Puerto Vallarta even more

Doing what: Private Tour: Puerto Vallarta ATV Adventure

Xiaoyu Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Extremely fun! The crew is very professional and positive too! Love the whole experience.

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Outdoor Adventure Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message