Puno ATTRACTIONS See all

Taquile Island (Isla Taquile)

As famed for its handicrafts—the island’s traditional knitwear has been proclaimed a UNESCO Masterpiece of Intangible Human Heritage—as its dramatic, rocky topography topped with windswept pre-Columbian ruins, Isla Taquile is one of Lake Titicaca’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 34 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alex K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing experience. The tour was very well organized. I strongly recommend taking the Fast boat tour as opposed to tours on a regular boat. Even though the lake is beautiful and the boat is comfortable, doubling the time you spend on a boat would have been painful.

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands by Fast Boat

Hitomi S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great trip.
Uros was fascinating with a background on how the islands are built.
Taquile portion was interesting.

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Danut P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Interesting experience. I never see something like this .

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands by Fast Boat

Zayd A

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Great tour and guide. Overpriced through Viator

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands by Fast Boat

Caroline K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

While I enjoyed my experience in Peru greatly, I was disappointed with various aspects of my Viator trip. First, there were no monetary tiers on this trip, so I expected to be placed in a hotel but was in a hostel when I arrived. I had to pay for my towels daily, and breakfast was served after I got picked up every day. Secondly, no one was at the airport when I first arrived, and I had to wait over 45 minutes for someone to come get me. The man who got me was extremely nice, but only spoke Spanish, which would have been a big issue if I didn't speak any Spanish. Overall, I enjoyed visiting Peru, but I'm not sure I would use Viator again of my trip.

Doing what: 6-Day Tour of Southeast Peru from Cusco

Sharon V

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour was very interesting and the guide informative. We enjoyed learning about how the islands and housing are constructed and having a chance to interact with the people. It's sad that the islands are dying out and that they may only be around for a couple more generations. I wholeheartedly recommend people come see this culture while they still can.

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Lani E

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The autos island was an incredible experience! The Taquile Island also had a diff rent feel, npbut the hike with the altitude was quite brutal.

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands by Fast Boat

Gimi M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I went to Peru with this tour package in early May with a group of friends and we had an incredible time! Our tour guide Marco made this trip memorable and immersed us into the Peruvian culture. He was very receptive, flexible and knowledgable. He made sure we were have an amazing time at all times. He took us to delicious local restaurants and taught us the rich history of Peru. Best tour guide ever! This tour group was very attentive to details. The hotels were decent we bought the basic 3 star hotel package, especially enjoyed the one in Machu Picchu, we had an awesome view of the river! However the hotel in Puno didn't have any heat and we had to request for 2 heaters. The tour group was accommodating to vegetarians and food was delicious. The tour package allowed you to appreciate the various breathtaking landscapes from Lima to Cusco to Machu Picchu to Lake Titicaca. The tour company was able to show us the highlights of Peru in a good amount time without feeling rushed. Incredible and memorable trip!

Doing what: 8-Day Machu Picchu and Lake Titicaca Tour from Lima

KERRY S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour. Our guide, Samauel was very professional. Pick up to the minute. We highly recommend this local company and especially our guide. Super job.

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands by Fast Boat

cindynadine_g

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great. Our guide Cesar was attentive and informative. It was interesting to lean how the Uros Island is constructed and how the people live. Taquile Island offered beautiful views and we had a great lunch.

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Josef L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The boat tour was perfect for pictures as it moved so slow. Uros Islands, or the reed islands, were a fascinating example of human ingenuity. It is a tourist trap for sure but one that you feel good about afterwards. Taquile Island is beautiful and lunch there was one of the highlights of the trip but be prepared as the hike to the restaurant is physically exhausting in the altitude! Take your time, drink lots of water and take breaks.

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Jessica J

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Tour guide Samuel very knowledgeable! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands by Fast Boat

yvonne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great trip, but quite strenuous maybe there should be a note about this. We learned so much about the Uros and Taquile people. I', so glad we added Lake Titicaca to our Peru trip.

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Shay H

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

We had a fantastic guide in Sylvia. It was very interesting to hear and see about the culture and life on the Uros Islands and then to go on to Taquille which is so different. Strongly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Hasib

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. Our tour guide Samuel and the boat picked us up from the dock at our hotel Hotel Libertador. Samuel was very knowledgeable and explained to us both the history and culture of the Puno region and of the Uros people. At the first island, he demonstrated for us how the Uros people built their reed islands. I was happy that he had forewarned us the Island people would be pushy with selling their crafts and that we were under no obligation to buy anything, as this gave us the confidence to negotiate and say no to things we did not wish to purchase. He also arranged for us to take a traditional reed boat to the Uros capital where we got our passports stamped with the Lake Titikaka seal. We returned back to our hotel just in time to catch the spectacular views of the sunset.

Doing what: Half-Day Boating Tour to Uros from Puno

Elizabeth F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved this day trip! While most of the tourists onboard were Spanish-speaking, our guide, Jorge, made sure to repeat everything in English to ensure I understood.

The trip to Uros was great - we learned from the locals about life on the island and how the island is made. We then got to play dress up with a local lady and try on some of her traditional garb! Be sure to bring plenty of cash. The locals make their living on selling their wares after the island tour - it's a bit of a hustle but well worth the nominal price for a fantastic souvenir.

Taquile was so beautiful! Lunch was delicious and it was great to learn about their heritage in textiles and the unique meaning the various apparel has in their community and traditions.

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Malia V H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Favorite part of our Peru trip. Off the beaten path, but worth it! Glimpse into a simpler lifestyle. Warm and welcoming host family with cute kids!!

Doing what: 2-Day Tour Uros, Amantani and Taquile Islands with Homestay

naim z

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

it was well organised,it is easy for people who couldn't walk ,the guide was very friendly ,the area visited was beautiful. transportation was good and comfortable

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Sarah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

interaction with the locals was amazing!

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Judy E

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Our group had a wonderful guide and beautiful weather. We greatly enjoyed the floating island visit. The people were informative and welcoming. The Taquile Island was also very interesting and our lunch was delicious. Overall, it was a lovely experience and well worth the effort.

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Steven F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a 10-hour boat tour of 2 floating islands and a trip to Taquilos Island for lunch and a demonstration of local customs and crafts. While the tour operator spoke English with a heavy accent, he was personable and described a wide array of topics. The trip was quite informative and enjoyable!

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

c j b

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Fascinating to visit these unique man - made islands and mingle with the locals, though the pressure to buy some artefacts was fairly intense but all part of the experience I guess it was also nice to trip out further into the heart of the lake to Taquile Island where we were served a magnificent lunch out in the open up on the side of the hill by the locals in trad costumes, of freshly grilled trout with the trimmings.

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Rob G

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

A bit too commercial. Felt pressure to buy souvenirs from Uros people. Think the trip could have been shortened to four hours by cutting out shopping.

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Sarah P

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Tore was great but as we were only English speakers on the boat most commentary was in Spanish which was a shame as we thought we had booked an English speaking tour. Still a great day though.

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message