Puno ATTRACTIONS See all

Uros Islands/Islas Uros

The 40-plus floating Uros Islands are perhaps the most photographed attraction on Lake Titicaca, famously constructed with springy totora reeds. The reeds are collected from around the shores of Lake Titicaca, and used to replenish the fragile ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 27 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Hitomi S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great trip.
Uros was fascinating with a background on how the islands are built.
Taquile portion was interesting.

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Sharon V

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour was very interesting and the guide informative. We enjoyed learning about how the islands and housing are constructed and having a chance to interact with the people. It's sad that the islands are dying out and that they may only be around for a couple more generations. I wholeheartedly recommend people come see this culture while they still can.

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

cindynadine_g

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great. Our guide Cesar was attentive and informative. It was interesting to lean how the Uros Island is constructed and how the people live. Taquile Island offered beautiful views and we had a great lunch.

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Josef L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The boat tour was perfect for pictures as it moved so slow. Uros Islands, or the reed islands, were a fascinating example of human ingenuity. It is a tourist trap for sure but one that you feel good about afterwards. Taquile Island is beautiful and lunch there was one of the highlights of the trip but be prepared as the hike to the restaurant is physically exhausting in the altitude! Take your time, drink lots of water and take breaks.

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Kenneth D

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Well worth doing as you learn why and how they came to be living in the middle of a lake. It is very commercialized so if you want to see traditional living it has sadly fallen victim to tourism needs.

Doing what: Full Day Tour: Uros and Taquile Islands on the Titicaca Lake from Puno

yvonne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great trip, but quite strenuous maybe there should be a note about this. We learned so much about the Uros and Taquile people. I', so glad we added Lake Titicaca to our Peru trip.

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Anne B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The Uros are an amazing group of very hard working people. Taquille Island is beautiful and we had a delicious lunch on the island.

Doing what: Private Day Tour of the Uros Floating Islands and Taquile Island

Shay H

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

We had a fantastic guide in Sylvia. It was very interesting to hear and see about the culture and life on the Uros Islands and then to go on to Taquille which is so different. Strongly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Elizabeth F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved this day trip! While most of the tourists onboard were Spanish-speaking, our guide, Jorge, made sure to repeat everything in English to ensure I understood.

The trip to Uros was great - we learned from the locals about life on the island and how the island is made. We then got to play dress up with a local lady and try on some of her traditional garb! Be sure to bring plenty of cash. The locals make their living on selling their wares after the island tour - it's a bit of a hustle but well worth the nominal price for a fantastic souvenir.

Taquile was so beautiful! Lunch was delicious and it was great to learn about their heritage in textiles and the unique meaning the various apparel has in their community and traditions.

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

naim z

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

it was well organised,it is easy for people who couldn't walk ,the guide was very friendly ,the area visited was beautiful. transportation was good and comfortable

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Malia V H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

Favorite part of our Peru trip. Off the beaten path, but worth it! Glimpse into a simpler lifestyle. Warm and welcoming host family with cute kids!!

Doing what: 2-Day Tour Uros, Amantani and Taquile Islands with Homestay

Sarah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

interaction with the locals was amazing!

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Judy E

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Our group had a wonderful guide and beautiful weather. We greatly enjoyed the floating island visit. The people were informative and welcoming. The Taquile Island was also very interesting and our lunch was delicious. Overall, it was a lovely experience and well worth the effort.

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Steven F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a 10-hour boat tour of 2 floating islands and a trip to Taquilos Island for lunch and a demonstration of local customs and crafts. While the tour operator spoke English with a heavy accent, he was personable and described a wide array of topics. The trip was quite informative and enjoyable!

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

c j b

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Fascinating to visit these unique man - made islands and mingle with the locals, though the pressure to buy some artefacts was fairly intense but all part of the experience I guess it was also nice to trip out further into the heart of the lake to Taquile Island where we were served a magnificent lunch out in the open up on the side of the hill by the locals in trad costumes, of freshly grilled trout with the trimmings.

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Rob G

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

A bit too commercial. Felt pressure to buy souvenirs from Uros people. Think the trip could have been shortened to four hours by cutting out shopping.

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Sarah P

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Tore was great but as we were only English speakers on the boat most commentary was in Spanish which was a shame as we thought we had booked an English speaking tour. Still a great day though.

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Lynskye Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

No one came to pick us up at 6:50 am by 7:30 the hotel called the local tour company and we were picked up and were advised to join a Contikii tour at 8:30 am. This made our whole trip unsettled and stopped me booking future tours to sacred valley and the to Macchu Picchu with Viator. For $263:10 I had expected a more professional service and should be compensated. Very disappointing. Our other tours in buenos aires and cusco were great with viator staff. I had chosen this tour operator bc of the normally fluent English guides and overall professionalism, even though other tour groups were cheaper. Therefore hesitant about using this company in South America again. Cheers Lyn

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Adolfo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It's a fantastic experience, you'll see a different culture, a folk who lives in a floating island. You'll have lunch in a rustic big table facing beatiful landscape view.

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

kokopeli

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were very pleased with this tour an our guide, from Kontiki, Abel, he was very good. We could not communicate with Viator before our arrival in Puno and we were a bit worried about the location and pick-up time. However, when we arrived at our hotel in Puno, we learned that Viator already arranged everything, the time of the pick-up, the location (our hotel), all functioned so good ! Thanks Viator !

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Bandit USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour! You are able to see two completely different cultures - those of the Uros and the local who live on Taquile. A fun day out and a glimpse into some of the various cultures and people that call Peru home. Definitely not to be missed when in Puno!

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Anne L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Interesting tour at the Lake Titicaca and one of the most memorable experience in Peru. However, only 4 stars is given as we were placed in the same group with Spanish speakers which was a bit unfortunate. Athough the guide did good job speaking both Spanish and English, I wish there would have been more English speakers in the group. Having said that we did enjoy the day and luch was excellent!

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Kaitlyn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I would say this was my second favorite tour in Peru (after Machu Picchu). The Uros island were informative and unlike anything that I have ever seen. They sold beautiful handcrafts as well. The Taquile islands and its people were also interesting and worth the trip. We ate our lunch under the shade overlooking lake Titicaca which was beautiful and serene. So what would I change about this tour? Well I understand Lake Titicaca is ginormous, but it took 2.5 hours to get from Uros to Taquile and then 3.5 to get from Taquile back to Puno. Maybe a faster boat or something informative and fun for us to do while taking these trips. We spent more time on the boat than in either of the places we paid to go. Apart from this, I would highly recommend this trip; a must do in Puno!

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Matteo C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Nice, well organized and explained tour. Thanks Silvia!!

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message