Punta Cana ATTRACTIONS See all

Bavaro Beach (Playa Bavaro)

The unrivaled beaches of Punta Cana focus on Bavaro, the home of resort vacations in the Dominican Republic. Most of Punta Cana’s resort hotels cluster around the long stretch of white sand Bavaro Beach (or Playa Bavaro) and its small ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 118 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ken n

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great staff really helpful and super nice

Doing what: Punta Cana Combo Tour: Speedboat Ride, Snuba and Snorkeling

Victoria M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Had a great time. Speed boat was ok. They had us go around in circles.. Not what I expected. The best part was the snuba. Our instructor, Nelson, was awesome.

Doing what: Punta Cana Combo Tour: Speedboat Ride, Snuba and Snorkeling

randyelkc

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

I highly recommend this tour! There are two issues that prevent 5 stars.

The speed boat was a blast but I feel it was very short time wise. Go as a couple so each drives for approximately 5-8 minutes.

The other issue is the overall cattle call feel. There are lots of people doing lots of different activities so it's a very long time to get going.

Doing what: Punta Cana Combo Tour: Speedboat Ride, Snuba and Snorkeling

Traci H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The truck that shows up has stingrays and other stuff on it. It doesn't have the exact name of the company that's offered on Viator. Dividing everyone on the boat was super stressful, but the experiences that took place after that were awesome! We were lucky enough to snorkel, then speedboat, then snuba, which worked out great because SNUBA was a magnificent grand finale! Even though the pictures that come on the CD are SNUBA only, I would recommend buying them.

Doing what: Punta Cana Combo Tour: Speedboat Ride, Snuba and Snorkeling

Marcelle L.D.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

Although we had purchased the tickets prior to arriving in DR, when we went to confirm the pick-up time our names were not in the system. We spent an hour calling different entities with the tour coordinators at our resort, Punta Cana Princess Franklin and Jose are amazing for having put up with this to try and rectify the issue for us. In the end, we weren't able to take the excursion although we had bought the tickets in advance because we were only able to be fit in at 8am when we already had another excursion booked. I will note, however, this is not the fault of Viator but rather whoever the third-party was. It was very disappointing to say the least.

Doing what: Bavaro Splash Speedboat Ride

Richard W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

One thing for sure the crew that works this tour are all amazing. Most speak English very well as well as other languages Spanish, French, German, Chinese, English and others. We were picked up at our hotel ontime and the ride to the dock was interesting to see how folks in the DR live, drive a bit different than the US :-. Roads are very narrow trees low, etc. Once we arrive we were greeted immediately by the tour guides, very friendly and of course there were a couple vendors wanting you to shop. Typically I'm not thrilled about that, but I must say, they're shops had some very nice items and at the end of the day they're trying to make a living. After 10 minutes or so, you watch a saftey and instructional video before heading to the boat. The boat ride to/from the Snuba, Snorkeling and Speedboats was the longest portion of the trip, but it was a nice ride viewing the DR coastline. Once we arrive, we were broken up into 3 groups for each activity. Snorkeling was our first and it was great although the surf was a bit on the rough side, but very nice. We then took a short boat ride to the Speedboats and drove them a couple loops around the area. Got back on the small boat and docked with the bigger boat to do Snuba. Snuba is fun, first time and took some getting used to breathing, gettting water out of mask, etc. but worth doing if you haven't done it. Trip ended with a boat ride back, pics, underwater cameras, etc available for purchase it you so choose. I would have rated it a 5, but a few folks were a bit sea sick, which is no fault of the Tour, just one of those things that happen at times, but made the overall trip Very Good instead of Excellent!!!

Doing what: Punta Cana Combo Tour: Speedboat Ride, Snuba and Snorkeling

heather_e_greene

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

They picked us up at our hotel, whole thing was very organized. The reason it isn't getting 5 stars is that it wasn't 3 hours long, each activity was about 20 mins long, so the money wasn't worth it, it should be less expensive. Each thing would have been more fun had it been longer. But the guys were great on the boat, especially Eric!! He stayed by my side and helped me with the snuba

Doing what: Punta Cana Combo Tour: Speedboat Ride, Snuba and Snorkeling

Randal M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We really enjoyed the excursion. The guides were cool. The experiences were GREAT. We had never SNUBAd so this was new, The guides really helped us to enjoy this part

Doing what: Punta Cana Combo Tour: Speedboat Ride, Snuba and Snorkeling

Isabelle S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Great excursion!!!! Staff was very friendly and everything was well organized. The only thing we did not like is the small speedboat drive: you do not discover anything as we thought we were going to do. You just drive back and force in circle for 15 minutes. Snuba diving is a must do and it was a great experience.

Doing what: Bavaro Splash Speedboat Ride

Sarah United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The snuba and the snorkeling were by far the best part of this excursion. The speedboat wasn't anyting much to partake in, but the snuba and snorkeling were worth the money.

Doing what: Punta Cana Combo Tour: Speedboat Ride, Snuba and Snorkeling

Steven S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

I already submitted my comments to Viator via phone. PS...the picture represented on this tour is NOT representative of the boats used.

Doing what: Bavaro Splash Speedboat Ride

Lori S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent excursion! Would highly recommend. The guides were so patient and helpful with all those scared about trying Snuba. So glad I did it and listened to them. Everything was well planned on their part and put together. Loved feeding the fish out of our hands - awesome!

Doing what: Punta Cana Combo Tour: Speedboat Ride, Snuba and Snorkeling

James L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great people. We had an amazing time!

Doing what: Punta Cana Combo Tour: Speedboat Ride, Snuba and Snorkeling

David L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was excellent, lots of fun and would do it again! Would of liked more time especially snuba!

Doing what: Punta Cana Combo Tour: Speedboat Ride, Snuba and Snorkeling

Donna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I just want to say we had a great time. The people running the tour were so nice and made sure everyone was comfortable doing everything. I was really nervous to snuba, but I still got in the water and used the regulator, I just didn't go all the way to the ocean floor. NEXT TIME! The rest of my group did and really enjoyed it. He didn't want me to feel left out so he brought bread up for all the fish to surround me. It was great and the snorkeling out in the ocean looking at all the coral was fantastic. Even power boating was a thrill. Really enjoyed out time!

Doing what: Punta Cana Combo Tour: Speedboat Ride, Snuba and Snorkeling

sharie t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The guys was awesome!!!! They really helped us , especially with snuba... Didn't leave our side!!

Doing what: Punta Cana Combo Tour: Speedboat Ride, Snuba and Snorkeling

Kathy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highly recommend! Snuba was crazy good! The guides made all the difference! The guides gave us natural food that helped the fish come over as we were able to take tons of pics whether it was with our camera or their photographer! Don't forget you underwater camera!

Doing what: Punta Cana Combo Tour: Speedboat Ride, Snuba and Snorkeling

Rebecca S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

So much fun and everyone working the tour was fun, friendly, and very helpful!!

Doing what: Punta Cana Combo Tour: Speedboat Ride, Snuba and Snorkeling

Rolando S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

I booked this tour on Saturday and asked to be picked up on Saturday. Apparently, nobody can pick us up from the hotel on that day, so the person I talked to told me that our tour has to be moved to Monday instead and be picked up at 0845 am in our hotel lobby. On Monday, hubby and I were already in the hotel lobby at 0840. Hubby asked around for the driver of the tour, and actually approached a guy and asked him if he's there for the Combo tour. The guy said he's picking up somebody else. At 9pm, I got concerned and started calling the tour company and asked about our ride. I was told that the guide already left at 0855 since the driver claimed we were not there. I was annoyed and irritated with this and explained to the person I was talking to that our pick up time was moved from Saturday to Monday and now, they're claiming that we were not there at the lobby when we had been waiting 5minutes earlier than the agreed time and been there since. The guy then quickly rectified the situation and sent for the driver again and was told that the driver will be there to pick us up within 15minutes. When the driver came, we were surprised! It was the same guy that my husband was talking to and asked if he's our driver who's picking us up for the tour. Now I don't know what exactly happened probably language barrier, but we're happy now since we're being finally picked up for real and actually made it to the tour on time.

I would recommend this tour to anybody. The guides were very, very helpful and accommodating especially the two guides the one with the Snuba, and the one with the Snorkeling. I don't know how to swim and a little bit afraid of the water/sea, so the snorkeling guide gave me his ring buoy device and had me hold on to it. After awhile, I started relaxing and enjoying the snorkeling. The guide was near me most of the time and checking on me if I'm ok. The snuba guide was very awesome as well. The first time I attempted to go down, I panicked because I can't neutralize my ears. Then he took the weights off my waist and helped me up. I then practiced to neutralize my ears in the surface and after a few minutes, he came back for me and held my hand and guided me slowly going down deeper in the water. I was kinda happy because I am able to neutralize my ears this time and was less than 2 feet from the bottom of the sea, when he started to put back the weights around my waist, and then water started coming inside my mask and at the same time, my ears needed neutralizing again. I couldn't prioritize between neutralizing my ears and blowing the water out of my googles and calming myself, so I keep mucking up all three. I just ended up frustrated after a minute of trying and decided to go back up. All this time, the guide just stayed with me and made sure I was ok. Then, when I decided to go back up and gestured him that, he just took off the weights off my waist.

Driving the speed boat was also awesome.

This tour regardless of me not enjoying much the snuba which is my fault anyway is one of the best guided water tour I have ever been to. And I think it's because of the very helpful crew.

Doing what: Punta Cana Combo Tour: Speedboat Ride, Snuba and Snorkeling

Brina

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

gave them a 3 because one of the Snuba instructors was flirting with me, but Everything else was great and the other staff was very professional.

Doing what: Punta Cana Combo Tour: Speedboat Ride, Snuba and Snorkeling

debra a c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great combo tour. I would do it again.

Doing what: Punta Cana Combo Tour: Speedboat Ride, Snuba and Snorkeling

Anita G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was an amazing excursion! There are three activities - snorkeling, SNUBA, and driving your own speedboat. The guides were extremely organized and really friendly which made the tour run smoothly. You'll do each activity for about 45-60 minutes which is plenty of time. Our SNUBA guide was very patient even though I was nervous. If you do not own a waterproof camera, you'll want to invest in one before this excursion! You'll have the opportunity to purchase pictures taken by the guide at the bottom of the ocean in chairs from SNUBA at the end of the tour. I believe the CD was approximately 30 USD. The speedboat experience was incredibly fun and the best part of the whole excursion! I would do this tour again and definitely recommend it for both adults and families!

Doing what: Punta Cana Combo Tour: Speedboat Ride, Snuba and Snorkeling

Johanna J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Really enjoyed this trip.. The speed boat was awesome.. And the Snuba instructor and the entire staff were very nice and friendly.. Will recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Punta Cana Combo Tour: Speedboat Ride, Snuba and Snorkeling

Katelynn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very fun tour. Speedboats were faster than expected. Snuba guide was helpful and aided us when my fiancee got lightheaded. This tour definitely had the most people that spoke English among other languages. Great time!

Doing what: Punta Cana Combo Tour: Speedboat Ride, Snuba and Snorkeling

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message