Punta Cana ATTRACTIONS See all

Saona Island (Isla Saona)

An ideal beach getaway for a day's excursion by catamaran, Saona Island (Isla Saona) lies just off the southern coast of the Dominican Republic. Lovely beaches fringe this remote slice of heaven, with the best swimming at Mano Juan and Punta Gorda.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 281 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ben D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Well organized tour and beautiful beach - definitely recommend.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Lori F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Beautiful relaxing Island tour. Great Island cuisine for lunch, fresh and good variety.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Elizabeth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Well worth the money, excellent company to go with... only 5 people in people carrier not on full coach so you stay ahead of the pack. First went to Altos de Chavon a replica 16th century Mediterranean village in the heart of the Dominican countryside. Benjamin was our excellent guide for the day, he told us lots of information about the areas as we drove and had us at the village before the crowds appeared. Then we went to the fishing village to board the speed boat, Benjamin looked after us, quietly directing us to sit at the back of boat or front whichever was better for each part of trip. We swam and held starfish on a sand reef before heading to Saona Island, beautiful beach and left to sunbath until you heard Benjamin England Come on first to BBQ, First Back on boat, First on Catamaran. Benjamin was awesome.One of our party hurt her leg disenbarking from Catamaran, Benjamin went above and beyond, the boat staff dealt with injury but when we got back to shore Benjamin found the local pharmacist had him treat the wound and gave her cover and cream to take with her all no charge. Enjoyed chatting with Benjamin and learning about everyday life, education and working. Made it the personal touch. Would use this company and and highly recommend them

Doing what: Day Trip to Saona Island and Altos de Chavon

Roderick J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Wonderful day would definitely do this trip again.

Doing what: Saona Island Excursion by Catamaran or Speedboat

susan w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was the best trip I have ever been on it was so good from start to finish .The rep was excellent the staff though out the trip were the best .The island was so fantastic the most beautiful island I have ever seen defo must go on this trip .Will go again next year

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Austin K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our tour guide and #34;5 minute and #34; Benjamin was wonderful; he kept us entertained all day! There was a personal feel since there were only 4 of us on the shuttle. The stop at Altos de Chavon sold us on this trip, and we still got to experience the catamaran, speed boat, beach, buffet lunch and natural pool.

Doing what: Day Trip to Saona Island and Altos de Chavon

Barb S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our tour guide was benjamin - nice small group of 7. Our guide very informed, great personality. Altos de Chavon was beautiful not much open but great photos. Took a speed boat to the island, stopped at the pool saw and touched the starfish. The island of Saona very nice beach wonderful. Lost of pressure to purchase photos, many people trying to sell items. The return was on a catamaran long trip bring plenty of sun screen and try to get to the shade. Music and drinks it was almost 2 1/2 hours back. Again our guide was a great dancer and very engaging to our group. Highly recommend. The ocean was calm no one got sick on either boat.

Doing what: Day Trip to Saona Island and Altos de Chavon

tiggerem01 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This day was AMAZING from start to finish. We were picked up promptly at our hotel in a comfortable van there were even little curtains on the windows so I could sleep!. We stopped at a market to use the restroom, get a snack, etc., then we were at the beach. Small boats shuttled us out the catamaran and then we were off. While on the catamaran, we sat and enjoyed the ocean breeze, the gorgeous water, danced with the crew and enjoyed rum and Coke! Once we arrived at Saona Island, we were greeted with locals offering massages, jewelry, LOBSTER and more not included, but kind of a fun local feel. The provided lunch was DELICIOUS. We then got to just chill on the beach. Lots of space to sit and relax or venture around a bit. The cruise back was on the smaller boat, but it was still great. We stopped in Starfish Bay and got to see tropical fish, birds and held REAL starfish! When we arrived back at our starting point, we grabbed another bus and were escorted through Altos de Chavon. Benjamin, our personal guide, was BEYOND fantastic - he was so knowledgeable, friendly and FUN!!! This was a totally dreamy day and I'd do it again and again and again. Plan to bring a little extra with you. We had photographers with us throughout the whole day, who took TONS of pictures and then sold them on a CD for our memories. 1000000 worth it!!!

Doing what: Day Trip to Saona Island and Altos de Chavon

Lina United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our tour guide Francisco was very professional and knowledgeable. Our family enjoyed the whole excursion from the shuttle ride, speedboat ride, swimming in the natural swimming pool, exploring and relaxing on the island and the catamaran ride back to the mainland. Highlight of our trip! Very much recommend it to everyone!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

JOSE MARIA M Andorra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A wonderful experience, full of music and dances on the catamaran. The island of Saona, simply..... beautiful.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Kaying M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our tour guide was the best. He was knowledgeable and funny! The island is beautiful. This is a must see! Definitely no regrets and would love to do this cruise again!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Melanie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Friendly staff. Not too crowded. Special touches for birthday!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Anthony T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had the absolute best time on our excursion. We loved spending the day with our tour guide Benjamin and our photographer Gustavo. We were treated like VIP's the entire day and the knowledge that Benjamin had for the area and all points of interest was amazing! He made our lunch extra special and we will never forget the entire experience. If we could rate higher than 5 stars we surely would. Thank you so much!!

Doing what: Day Trip to Saona Island and Altos de Chavon

Morey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

All day tour was really nice. Altos de Chavon, Saona and DR surprised us! Congratulations... Tour guide knows the places, history and supported us very well. We loved it...

Doing what: Day Trip to Saona Island and Altos de Chavon

SHMUEL G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Simply wonderful ! would like to repeat it again very soon

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

EDWIN T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great trip.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Jasmin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was the BEST excursion we could have possibly booked. Benjamin, our tour guide, was phenomenal. He was very informative throughout the trip, made sure we were having a good time and also extremely funny. My friend was feeling very ill the day we went on the trip and Benjamin was very attentive to her, accommodating to her needs making sure she felt fine. It was great to get to know him during our trip, he made the experience all the better. Altos de Chavon and Isla Saona are beautiful places and a must see. I would recommend this trip 1000 times, with this company in particular.

Doing what: Day Trip to Saona Island and Altos de Chavon

Ary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The guides were very fun and friendly and the tour was well organised. Great excursion.

Doing what: Day Trip to Saona Island and Altos de Chavon

Amy A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a fun day, beautiful island, and even the bus travel to the coast was nice and I learned a lot about the Dominican Republic. Don and #39;t be prepared to be bowled over by the number of starfish though. We saw 2.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Nelson F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It would be good to spend more time at the island, but a great trip in general.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Roberto A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The food was great the ride was amazing everyone was nice

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Jackson W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Saona Island Excursion by Catamaran or Speedboat

Erika V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A wonderful trip so this amazing island. You can't miss it. Great service food guides. Simply amazing

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Erika V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

So fun. Nice ride. Great music

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message