Punta Cana ATTRACTIONS See all

Parque Nacional del Este

The sandy beaches of Saona island are a highlight of a visit to Parque Nacional del Este, along with the tropical moist forest and limestone karst landscape of the mainland. The range of biodiversity preserved in this park is incredible, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 285 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nazain S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

AMAZING! Great value for money would recommend to anyone! The speed boat there was a thrill, the natural pool unbelievable and the island itself was absolute paradise. Staff were amazing!!! Get a coconut with a splash of rum mmmmmmmm! Food lots of it and delicious

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

burt j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The speed boat trip to star fish island was rough because of rough seas but still enjoyable. I thought when then photographer gave us starfish to hold for pictures that they were props but they were the real thing because we found several on our own and the kids loved it. The catamaran ride back was enjoyable with the crew getting up and dancing to get some onboard in the mood. Good time had by all.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Erika V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A wonderful trip so this amazing island. You can't miss it. Great service food guides. Simply amazing

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Erika V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

So fun. Nice ride. Great music

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Katerina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very organised and well thought out tour.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

Diana H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing place! The tour guide José Gómez was incredibly nice, very informative, always worried about our comfort and enjoyment. The trip on the boat went smoothly. The only downside was the extremely brief explanation on how to use the snorkeling equipment, so we had to come out of the water very fast, to secure our gear, and then go back into the water. But after that it just just perfect! The beach was great, the water great, and the lunch and drinks fantastic. 100 recommended!!

Doing what: Catalina Island Day Trip from Santo Domingo

Carol L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

I spoke with others that took this tour with separate companies. The island is gorgeous. The food is good.
Draw back. Speed boats. You go out or back on a nice cat sailing. Then out or back on 2 separate speed boats crammed in like sardines on hard fiberglass seats. Other tours had a cat both ways.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Steven

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Overall, the tour was excellent. The guide was really great. The only drawback is that the tour was conducted in Spanish, Portuguese, and English having to listen to 2 other languages became frustrating after a while. The train tour at the end of the day before return to Punta Cana seemed just like something to fill the time. The train drove by the buildings and architecture too quickly to attempt to see everything and take pictures.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

Henrique

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

The company that was supposed to pick us up never showed up and had absolutely no answers as to why. We contacted them 2 days prior to the trip and arranged the location and time of pick up we arrived 20 minutes prior and stood there for 1hr while tour buses passed and ignored our presence. We even attempted to stop one of the buses from the same company to inquire if one was coming to no avail. One driver saw us, nodded kept the door shut and drove away. The pick up location was in front of a hotel on a busy street that is undergoing construction. Needless to say at 7:00am on a weekday there were 30 workers awaiting to begin their shift. Myself and particularly my significant other felt VERY uncomfortable with reason. We had planned this trip for months and anticipated making great memories, as it turned out it was the worst memory we have of the Dominican Republic thanks to this trip and transportation company! Extremely upset we wasted one travel day dealing with the headache that it caused.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Michelle F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Outstanding adventure!!! Fun times on the catamaran, great drinks, music and fun!! BEWARE - take LOTS of bug spray. You have to walk through a little bit of a jungle to get to the beach party on the island and they ate me ALIVE!!!! But a fabulous time overall - I would definitely go again!!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

cady

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Saona Island is truly beautiful! This is a long excursion, but well worth it! The catamaran ride was a lot of fun and so was the speedboat ride. You do get to see starfish in the natural pool and that was really cool.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

vincemartinez78

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is something that must be done if your in Punta Cana!!!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

EUNYOUNG H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Trip was very nice. But lunch is umm.. soso.
Saona Island is good and beautiful!!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Jeffrey J

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Everything was solid. The bus was a few minutes late arriving to pick us up at our hotel but once it got there all was well. Saona Island was beautiful and lots of fun. And a great lunch with open bar the whole time! My only complaints are Fausto II our tour guide was about five minutes premature leaving Saona and then once we returned to Punta Cana we had to spend 20 minutes at a shopping area with the intent of us spending more money on tourist items. At that point we just wanted to get back to the hotel. But overall it was a fun, very worthwhile excursion and I recommend it!!!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Robin F

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We see quite a bit of Santo Domingo in one day. I agree with many of the previous reviews. The guide did the tour in both English and Spanish.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

Samantha P

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing and Soana was absolutely beautiful. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Yenzin C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We could have visited more or better places. There were times where we would just idle around. Nonetheless, our guide Jose and the driver worked hard to provide a good day trip for us. Thank you!

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

Jeffrey J

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The Santo Domingo tour was not bad, but there and back made for a looooong day. At least the bus was comfortable. And it picked us up on time! As far as the tour itself, Fausto I our tour guide was well meaning but spoke too much. And we were hoping to see a little of the modern areas of the city and not just the historic sections. Maybe we should have done the two-day tour instead......

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

Mystie D

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Isla Saona is breathtaking! it was a long day...12 hours i think. And they could have done better figuring out logistics, we were picked up really early then waited 1 1/2 hours for the rest of the people to start the trip. Consider purchasing the DVD and CD of pictures, a little pricey but i think worth it. You will basically have a private photo shoot by a professional photographer.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Lucille T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a very good tour. Our guide Foster was great. He spoke at least three languages very well and was very knowledgeable. Our only complaint was that the bus we were on had very little leg room between seats. And when the person in front of you leaned their seat back it got even worst. Other than that we had no complaints. The ride to Santo Domingo from Punta Cuna is long but the guide notes some points of interest as the bus rolls along. There is a tour of a cave so wear appropriate shoes. And it will probably rain so be prepared to get wet. Also there are people on the streets trying to sell you stuff and they can be pretty overbearing. A woman in our group bought some jewelry from one of the street vendors and it fell apart about an hour later. The lunch was pretty good and after lunch there is some free time to explore on your own. The tour inside the cathedral is very interesting. Women must cover shoulders and knees before entering the cathedral so dress accordingly or they will offer a cover for you. The train tour is fun and a chance to wind down before getting on the bus to leave. The tour takes all day but it is very educational.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

Olivia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Favourite tour of whole two week trip! Tour guide, driver, speedboats, catamaran, food, drinks all were PERFECT! strongly recommend

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Olivia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Favourite tour of whole two week trip! Tour guide, driver, speedboats, catamaran, food, drinks all were PERFECT! strongly recommend

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Sue F

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Great day out, well worth getting up early for!!! Fantastic scenery, good bbq, informative guide

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

mcbond37

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Tour guide did not speak very good English. The trip to the under ground cavern was a waste of time. Meal was fantastic. Tour of the church and Columbus palace were also very good.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message