Punta Cana ATTRACTIONS See all

National Park of the East (Parque Nacional del Este)

The National Park of the East (Parque Nacional del Este) is one of Dominican Republic’s most biologically diverse land reserves. From the sandy beaches of Saona Island to the tropical forest and limestone landscape of the mainland, the park is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 320 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Aurea G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour was amazing! Great sights and food. I was able to purchase handmade jewelry for cheap and I still wear it now 2017.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

Lori F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Beautiful relaxing Island tour. Great Island cuisine for lunch, fresh and good variety.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Heather W

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

The catamaran was a fun but no music. If you get motion sickness then the speedboats are not for you. You take the speedboats back from the island and not the catamaran. The food at the beach was delicious. I did not appreciate the girl who was complaining the whole way home about this tour.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

JOSE MARIA M Andorra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A wonderful experience, full of music and dances on the catamaran. The island of Saona, simply..... beautiful.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Lina United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our tour guide Francisco was very professional and knowledgeable. Our family enjoyed the whole excursion from the shuttle ride, speedboat ride, swimming in the natural swimming pool, exploring and relaxing on the island and the catamaran ride back to the mainland. Highlight of our trip! Very much recommend it to everyone!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

susan w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was the best trip I have ever been on it was so good from start to finish .The rep was excellent the staff though out the trip were the best .The island was so fantastic the most beautiful island I have ever seen defo must go on this trip .Will go again next year

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

lacdlb1234

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Pick up just as they said - at my hotel right on time. There were only 2 of us but they did not cancel the tour. You meet up with other groups from other areas and then board the boat in La Romana. Great fun! Beautiful beach. Lots of sand. Don't let crabby pants reviews scare you. There are stones in the water but they are either smooth or they are coral to snorkel around. Very easy access to swim in the beautiful sea. Drinks/lunch on the beach/swimming/snorkeling? In heaven. Right on time pick-up after all done.

Doing what: Catalina Island Day Trip from Santo Domingo

Dan S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Every thing was perfect but the speed boat cruise that was very showing and give us discomfort.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

dessymed Bulgaria

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

We are satisfited, the tour is good, the guide also.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

kblouin

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

LOVED this excursion! The morning catamaran ride to Saona Island was absolutely amazingggggg. Be ready to start taking shots of rum at 10 am though! The island was absolutely gorgeous! Right out of a book. We lazed around for 2.5 hours, eating and drinking then we took the speed boat to the natural pool which I could have stayed at all day long. Then back on the speed boat to head back home.

TIPS
1. This is a BIG tour, we were told to be ready by 7:15 am and were not picked up until 8 am we rush around all morning and didn't stop for breakfast as we didnt want to miss the pickup better communication of the expectation of time would have been nice.
2. At Saona island you will have a MILLION people ask you if you want a massage or jewelry and walk all around your stuff. DONT LEAVE YOUR BAGS UNATTENDED. I wouldn't bring anything you value.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Greg T

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Very nice excursion, the tour guide did a great job, and the staff on the catamaran were excellent. The beach at Saona was exactly as advertised, with a very good meal included. The speed boat ride was fun for most, but my daughter did not enjoy it, the ride was too fast for her. But overall a most enjoyable day, good monitary value.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

hchiv

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Enjoyed it. Was very beautiful but very very touristy. There were several hundred people from various tour groups there all at the same time. Not quaint and peaceful. Beautiful none the less.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Amrit K

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Cons
Unfriendly guide
Buffet food was unhygienic with lots of flies on the food
Picked up 30 mins late I emailed 72 hours before to ask for specific pick up time- a guy on our tour waited 1 hour!

Pros
Drivers of the coach,catamaran,speedboat and taxi service were safe and courteous
Plenty drinks!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Kim E. S

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The Saona Island is beautiful and worth the trip. The Tour guide was obnoxious and kept yelling Undalay Undalay Hurry Hurry through the enitre trip. It was rush rush all day long only to get there for them to tell us to wait. There was not snorkeling equipment as we were told. There really was not any snorkeling because they are at the beach and the sand was to much to see anything. We thought this was a snorkeling trip. It is not. The crew served half the boat drinks and neglected the rest of the boat. If it were not for the beauty of the Island I would not of given it any stars.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Mark Y

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

Four hour bus ride, no washroom on the bus, very boring on the Saona Island - no activities, on the way back, the bus stopped at a small shopping area I.e. Only 5 shops - very cheap stuff - this was not documented as part of the trip - the guide Thomas was excellent - overall a big waste of time - we should have stayed on the resort - sorry but those are the facts

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

THOMAS C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

NOT IMPRESSED WITH THIS TOUR AT ALL. NEEDS TO BE STRESSED THIS IS AN 80 WALKING TOUR - and for those who need assistance be it cane or wheel chair ... THIS IS NOT THE TOUR FOR YOU! I spent 3 hours of the walking section sitting in a park, alone clutching camera bag and cane - I felt THAT UNSAFE. Several people on tour were complaining that so much walking up stairs, up hills, was involved, and lunch was nothing to write home about. Even the hot buffet was so old and dried out. Pictures of horse drawn carriages are just a ploy - but is what sold us and many others on the tour - but not one carriage. A 20 minute train shuttle around the city streets at the end of the day, dropping us off at the top of a hill 184 steps above our bus - NOT HANDICAP ACCESSIBLE AT ALL and VIATOR SHOULD HAVE THIS INCLUDED ON THEIR TOUR DESCRIPTION.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

Jessica H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

Terrible. They forgot to pick us up. When I called, the woman said they tried to pick us up and we weren and #39;t there. I told her I and #39;d been standing in front of the hotel the whole time and they hadn and #39;t come. Very disappointed since we and #39;d be looking forward to the tour.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

Melanie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Friendly staff. Not too crowded. Special touches for birthday!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Kaying M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our tour guide was the best. He was knowledgeable and funny! The island is beautiful. This is a must see! Definitely no regrets and would love to do this cruise again!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Sarah K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

This tour covered a lot of sights, but it left much to be desired. We had close to 40 people on our tour, which made the tour extremely exhausting and disappointing. We were practically always waiting - waiting on people to get off and on the bus, to arrive at meeting spots, to take photos, to use the restroom, etc. The tour lasted a brutal 14 hours as a result. Additionally, much of the tour was just pointing to sights from the bus. We stopped at the Columbus lighthouse for literally two minutes - we weren't even given enough time to walk up to the monument and see it up close. Lunch wasn't all that great either.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

Charles B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

The tour was supposed to be about 12 hours long. Unfortunately, whoever scheduled this tour for Nexus Tours knows nothing about logistics! I was the first stop out of about ten different resorts so it took over two hours before we even picked up all the different customers. I had to be ready at 6:10am but we did not leave Punta Cana until nearly 9am. We arrived at Santo Domingo and the first stop at the Park with the three lakes was okay. We then went to the Columbus Lighthouse just long enough to get out of the bus, take a few photos, then back on the bus. We then spent 45 minutes getting to the Palace where once again we got off the but, took a few photos, then back on the bus heading for the Zona Colonial. We spent several hours in the Zona Colonial which was time well spent but when we returned to Punta Cana, we spent another hour dropping passengers off so I didn't get to my hotel until nearly 9pm. This was three additional hours to my trip just shuttling people to and from their hotels. Very poor planning for those running this trip. I would have rather planned a private excursion!!!

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

SHMUEL G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Simply wonderful ! would like to repeat it again very soon

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Bobby O

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The driver/guide was great, knowledgeable about the cities and sights.

Doing what: Catalina Island Day Trip from Santo Domingo

deedeewillems

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We really enjoyed the Columbus house and seeing the city. The lunch location was nice. We enjoyed the dancing duo. The shopping stop at the end had many items of interest and at good prices.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

SHMUEL G

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

All was as promised - would like to spend another hour at the city

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message