If you’re a bungy enthusiast you’ll know that Kawarau River is the site of the world's first commercial bungy. It’s still possible to take a dive from the bridge that started it all. On your way down you’ll see the trademark sky-blue water and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 36 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mei Leng N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The only complaint I had.. it was too short!!! We enjoy so much and just wouldn't want to leave...Too fun and hope to do it again

Doing what: Queenstown Kawarau River White Water Rafting

jamesnisbet24 United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was really enjoyable, lasted for the hour and the driver really throw the boat around. However we were booked for a 5 p.m. trip but chanced going out early butte company said they were not operating a trip at our supposedly booked time so we were very lucky we chanced our luck at 3. Would suggest double checking at the pier side before you turn up to avoid being disappointed.

Doing what: Queenstown Jet Boat Ride on Lake Wakatipu and the Kawarau and Shotover Rivers

sendit2matt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Like a Jetboat ride and scenic cruise together, it was awesome!

Doing what: Queenstown Jet Boat Ride on Lake Wakatipu and the Kawarau and Shotover Rivers

Joyita B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It was snowing the day we rafted but the wetsuit and jackets were very warm. I wish they had provided gloves though. The guides were very good. I'd never done whitewater rafting before and was quite nervous but they made the experience enjoyable and thrilling without the fear factor.

Doing what: Queenstown Kawarau River White Water Rafting

paul k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Queenstown Kawarau River White Water Rafting

IRENE L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Rafting is great fun. The staff are excellent. They ensure your safety throughout the journey and make the atmosphere enjoyably and friendly together

Doing what: Queenstown Kawarau River White Water Rafting

Yuanqian X

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Queenstown Kawarau River White Water Rafting

esui

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent, beautiful, thrilling, professional and fun!

Doing what: Queenstown Kawarau River White Water Rafting

stuart s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This one was adrenelin packed with the added bonus of earthquake rapid. The helicopter hike was great with a little swing in movement up to Skippers Canyon. Friendly setup.

Doing what: Queenstown Shotover River Helicopter Ride and White Water Rafting

Nathaniel B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Did this on our first day in New Zealand. What a great way to start our vacation. Guides and staff were wonderful and everybody had a great time! Parts of the river ran slowly enough to allow us to fall out of the raft for a short while and float along with the river! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Queenstown Kawarau River White Water Rafting

Josefina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Kawarau River whitewater rafting was upgraded to Shotover, it was indeed unbelievable. Esteban, our guide was superb. I was nervous at first but he made it so enjoyable. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Queenstown Kawarau River White Water Rafting

Sheree H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Best experience in Queenstown - well organised for an exciting day,

Doing what: Queenstown Kawarau River White Water Rafting

Sharelle P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Great fun and excellent rafting instructor!

Doing what: Queenstown Shotover River Helicopter Ride and White Water Rafting

Charlie M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Was told that Kawarau River didn't have enough people for the tour so instead they upgraded to Shotover. Amazing experience and highly recommended!

Doing what: Queenstown Kawarau River White Water Rafting

Graham S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

This tour was cancelled and we were placed on the shotover rafting instead. Very happy that they did. Shotover was excellent.

Doing what: Queenstown Kawarau River White Water Rafting

Walter N United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

White water rafting was switched to higher rated Skipper Canyon as not enough numbers for the easier rated Kawarau rafting. Safety briefing and training were very good. Would recommend the more difficult option.

Doing what: Queenstown Kawarau River White Water Rafting

Thomas B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

It was a superb trip!

Doing what: Queenstown Kawarau River White Water Rafting

Wood K Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Awesome! The river rafting is very good. Highly recommend this, it was our first time and we all truly enjoyed ourselves.

Doing what: Queenstown Kawarau River White Water Rafting

Susan S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was absolutely fantastic. Great for beginners and the tour guides were amazingly friendly. Would definitely do again.

Doing what: Queenstown Kawarau River White Water Rafting

Frances M United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2007

A pure adrenalin rush and not just for the young ones! We are middle-aged grandparents and we loved it. In fact we were on such a high that we immediately went and booked the Queenstown Shotover White Water trip!

Doing what: Queenstown Kawarau River White Water Rafting

Michele W Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2007

Using Viator was a hassel free way to book what we wanted to do. White water rafting was fantastic. We had a ball, you have got to give this a go. The staff were great, and although we only did the mild 'K' river it was an excellent way to learn how to master the craft. Well done!

Doing what: Queenstown Kawarau River White Water Rafting

Rod Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

My wife and I had a blast. I was worried about the cold but it wasn't anywhere near as bad as I was expecting. Lots of fun, but be warned, it is not for the faint hearted or unfit.

Doing what: Kawarau River White Water Sledging

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message