Immerse yourself in the majestic beauty of Milford Sound on our full-day trips from Queenstown. Carved by a massive glacier in the last ice age, Milford Sound is one of the most treasured regions of the World Heritage Fiordland National Park.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 125 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

karbrown12 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We loved traveling with Paulie on the coach to Milford Sound. He made what could have a long bus ride into an educational, fun trip. His knowledge about the plants and wildlife and entertaining stories about his hiking and paragliding adventures made the trip seem much shorter. Lots of stops for pics and toilet breaks. The boat ride on the sound was as gorgeous as advertised and the flight back although only 20 minutes was spectacular. Must have taken 50 pics with my phone. Definitely recommend as a perfect way to see and learn about a beautiful area of the South Island.

Doing what: Milford Sound Day Trip from Queenstown by Coach, Cruise and Flight

Donald D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent tour and Nigel our tour guide was very informative and entertaining. The Milford Sound cruise portion, about 2 hours, was amazing - high waterfalls, sea lions and dolphins. BBQ lunch was well done with sausage, chicken and lamb kebabs.
Be ready with your camera as you don't know what may appear around the next turn. We came across a huge herd of sheep on the road in the morning and also 3 Kea birds attacking a car roof.
Small group made for easy travel.
Would recommend as great way to visit Milford Sound area.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

richardmilburn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Really good day. Weather was absolutely terrible but despite this the guy running it was very friendly, funny and informative. He really made the day for everyone.

If doing a Milford Sound day tour I would 100% recommend doing it with this company

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Gustavo C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Nigel the bus driver is our new friend. Views are magnificent all through the trip and the Milford Sound was incredible. Lunch was delicious,you feel you are in a picnic! Fly back if you can, worth the steep price!

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Ryan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent trip! Nigel was a great host very educated guy with interesting dialog throughout the trip. The BBQ both food and lunch spot did not disappoint. Thanks BBQ Bus for a fun trip to the Milford Sound!

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

mjfecke

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing tour. They were able to accommodate a pick up directly from our hotel via taxi. Plenty of stops to take pictures and stretch our legs along the drive to Milford Sound. The driver was funny and very knowledgeable. Even with rainy weather, everything went off perfectly! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

lauriekom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent trip from Queenstown to the amazing Fiordland National Park and Milford Sound. Nigel was our driver/tour guide, and did a fantastic job keeping us engaged on what is a long day of driving about 7 AM to 8:30 PM. Major attractions include Mirror Lakes, The Chasm, more waterfalls than I've ever seen along the drive through Fiordland National Park, and a 1.5 hour tour on Milford Sound in a nice covered boat. Not to mention the BBQ lunch, which was excellent. Weather was absolutely not great the day we took this tour low 50s F, rainy, and high winds, despite being the middle of summer!, but the natural beauty of our destinations and Nigel's engaging personality made for a wonderful day! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Minna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent trip. The nature on the way to Milford Sound and in the fjord was incredible. Our tour guide Nigel had loads of interesting knowledge and great humor which made our long drive very enjoyable. And the lunch was top thing ! One of the best tours ever!

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

William K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

An excellent way to see the Fiordland National Park area and the great Milford Sound. We enjoyed it thoroughly. One of the must see places in the world.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

elizabethwingate

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Awesome trip! I'm so glad I booked this trip versus one of the bigger tour busses. While we were on the same path as some of the bigger ones, since we had a smaller group we were able to beat the huge crowds to most places giving us first dibs at pictures without masses of people in the background and bathrooms when necessary. Furthermore, our tour guide Nigel made a point to learn everyone's name and include everybody in conversations/jokes/stories along the way which made a day with a lot of driving pass quickly. We were also able to stop at a few extra places and be flexible with our plan and take advantage of the best places possible that suited our specific group and weather the best. The lunch provided was awesome also, one of the best lamb kebab's I've ever had for sure. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone else thinking about doing Milford Sound in one day. One other advantage, we had a smaller cruise boat than other trips too so we were able to be outside on the deck, versus just inside the larger ferry boats. 10/10 would do again.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Gina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Best trip ever, wonderful experience with BBQ Bus to Milford Sound. Nigel was AWESOME and we had the opportunity to learn history and nature facts.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Fatima R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was great - the guide was very friendly, he remembered my name for the whole day! haha The bbq lunch was also yummy and we had it while sitting near a lake.. very scenic. The Milford Sound is a must - but if you have already seen the Fjords in Norway then this won't come close to that.. Milford Sound, I would consider, is just 10 of what Fjords you will see in Norway. The lazy seals were the highlight of Milford Sound for me!

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

James B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What a great day to spend a day! Our driver, I believe his name was Mario or Marco, was very insightful and made the ride fantastic. The scenery on the way to Milford Sound through Fjordland National Park was drop dead gorgeous. The boat ride was also scenic and we watched the seals in their native environment. We would highly recommend this excursion to anyone.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

Paul F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

BBQ Bus is the way to go visit Milford Sound. Very personal trip, the driver giving historical accounts of the area on the drive up... we did not hit a great day weather-wise rainy and foggy but my family enjoyed the trip and mentioned that it was nice that we weren't on the larger tourist buses since we made a couple stops along the way and then were right back on the road to Milford Sound. Driver even picked my family up and droppped us off across the street from where we were staying. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Jeffrey T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour leaves Queenstown just after 7am and arrives back maybe around 4 or 5pm? It is an all day tour but completely worth every minute, and this trip is an absolute MUST DO when in South Island.
The bus, provided by Great Sights, had a glass ceiling for the roof which allowed for full viewing of the mountain peaks above, and the driver stops at the most strategic points to allow for the best views where available on the very windy road.
The driver provided great commentary from the history about the lake, the Maoris, native forests, to the hanging glaciers, and the geography of the land.
In my opinion, just the experience of getting OUT to Milford sound once you enter Fiordland National Park was quite possibly the highlight of the trip.
From seeing the forests, to the super blue lakes, the beech trees that have this unique ability to cling to the sides of the almost vertical cliffs, to even being about to stop at one point and drink fresh mountain water right out of the stream, everything about this tour was extraordinary.
A great day, great tour, and one that I highly recommend to everyone who is visiting Queenstown.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

Mike M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a clear day and Milford Sound was amazing. Saw dolphins, penguins, and seals. The waterfalls were great. And, if the Captain says, You my get wet, - you should heed his warning. The bus ride over with Marty on the BBQ bus was very relaxing and well thought-out. Totally enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Jett

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I had the most amazing time at Milford Sound as the weather was perfect. Saw the dolphins swimming by the side of the boat, saw the seals and a penguin from afar. Enjoyed the breathtaking and amazing view plus a thousand memories to take home with me. What an experience!

Doing what: Queenstown Super Saver: Milford Sound Nature Cruise plus Walter Peak High Country Farm Tour

Paul S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Gorgeous drive, beautiful stops along the way, and then, the incredible Milford Sound! Long day, but well worth it!

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

Daniel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful trip! Was raining in Milford Sound, but that made it even better as all of the waterfalls were flowing full!

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

Shivi S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our trip to Milford Sound was on a Great Sights coach with tour guide and bus driver Brian. Though the tour took up the entire day, the scenery and sights from Queenstown to Milford Sound were beautiful and kept us captivated! Rain forests, alpine streams, blue-hued lakes, snow-capped mountains were plentiful. Milford Sound with its canyons, rain forests, and numerous waterfalls was breathtaking. Brian was very knowledgeable and kept us well-informed throughout the tour.

Doing what: Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

Robert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This cruise is highly recommended and I would be glad to do it again. The drive to Milford Sound is very enjoyable too. You will need a warm jacket, preferably waterproof, and your camera.

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

William P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great trip. Small tour with more personal feel than the meg-buses. Very convenient hotel pick-up and dropped us off at another spot upon request. If you plan to tour Milford Sound while in Queenstown, I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

betsydelo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great trip! Milford Sound is amazing! I recommend staying and doing the overnight as it is a long drive if you are coming from Queenstown. I don't think I would have enjoyed it as much if I tried to return to Queenstown the same day. The staff were wonderful, the food was great and it was fun meeting people from other places. Beware of the sand flies, they are everywhere!

Doing what: Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise from Queenstown

Barbara N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great day out. After spending nearly a month travelling around NZ my sister rates this as the best day of our trip and we had many good days. This was my second trip to Milford Sound in the last couple of years and I really enjoyed it again.

Doing what: Milford Sound Cruise and Optional Coach Tour

Parth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Marty was absolutely phenomenal. He showed us some really cool sights and was a great ride along the way. He more than accommodated everyone's requests and we made frequent but not too many stops along the way. Others have already said this in previous reviews but taking the BBQ Bus helped provide a much more intimate experience for us. I had the opportunity to get to know the other amazing people in our group and some of us even hung out after we got back from the tour. Marty stopped at some really beautiful spots for photos and the boat ride was perfect - it felt full, but not overwhelming. We had ample space to walk around the boat to catch 360 views of Milford Sound. Also, unlike many/most other tour guides and companies, Marty didn't try to up sell us on anything. Try out the BBQ Bus - you won't regret it!

Doing what: Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound Cruise and BBQ Lunch from Queenstown

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message