Quito ATTRACTIONS See all

El Panecillo

Squint south towards the old town from Quito center and you can’t miss El Panecillo, a hill that does indeed resemble a panecillo (bread roll), and the statue of the Virgin Mary standing on top. At 9,895 feet (3,016 meters) above sea ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

bdsouza17

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide Francisco was fantastic - this was a such a great way to see the sights of the city in a short period of time! Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

Vanessa Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I really enjoyed this tour with Francisco. We didn't know much about Quito, so we let him lead us where we needed to go. We went to a small museum it was a bit cheesy, where zero latitude was measured with a GPS as found, after the Middle of the World Monument was constructed. We weren't overly keen to just see the monument so Francisco pulled over on the side of the street to let us take some pics from outside, saving us some time. Francisco is a very knowledgeable guide taking us into various churches and explaining the histories to us. He made sure he warned us if we asked to go anywhere that had an entrance fee that was not already covered by the tour. If we had more time in Quito, I would have loved to have had him take us around for another day.

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

waldo_wilson

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

They never came to pick us up for this tour , but costumer service Viator handled my complain well and got my money that I paid in advance within 3 working days back

Doing what: Colonial Quito City Tour Including El Panecillo

Olivia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Latin adventures is top notch! They office staff (Carolina) made sure we saw exactly what we wanted and gave us recommendations. Our tour guide Francisco was amazing! He was incredibly knowledgeable and informative. Highly recommend this tour company!

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

Frederick M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Daniel and driver were wonderful. It was fun because they new the sites so well and are so proud of their city. In seven hours we saw a great deal of the city along with a wonderful lunch at a great local spot. Seeing Quito without the help of a driver and guide is not a good idea.

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

rosa c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Highly recommended!! Our tour guide Daniel was very friendly and knowledgeable. Really enjoyed this tour!!

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

Andreea V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a nice city tour of the city with Daniel. His english is great and we felt we were more in the company of a friend. He is very knowledgeable and took us to all the main places in Quito. Great day discovering Quito!

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

Richard L

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Good overview of the City great guide Daniel

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

Norman M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Good tour guide. We saw a lot in a relatively short period of time.

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

Ross G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour. Gives you a good look around the area and the main attractions.

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

Angela R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I can't say enough good things about this tour -- it was everything my fiancé and I hoped and more. It was his first time in South America and we had already spent a few days on the coast of Ecuador. But Quito was our favorite part by far. I'm so glad we went the private tour route, it was worth every penny. Not only did we get personalized attention, we felt like we were being shown Quito and its surroundings by a trusted friend, and that's all thanks to our wonderful tour guide, Diego. As a local, he knows the city and how to drive in it! better than anyone, and is knowledgeable about the city's history and culture, and his style is conversational, which allows you to be relaxed and enjoy. He was also flexible to accommodate our schedule, even squeezing in a last-minute trip to the Teleferico cable car where you can admire the city from 13,000 feet which I HIGHLY recommend and then taking us to the airport at the end of the day for an additional 30, which is the usual fare. This was arranged through Dante also wonderful that same morning -- the Teleferico is usually not part of the tour but because they were slightly late that morning to pick us up, they threw in the Teleferico as a courtesy, which I thought was fabulous. The walking part of the tour in the colonial part of town was amazing, too -- we really felt like we were experiencing Quito up close and personal, and especially with Diego right by our side, guiding us. We had about an hour in the old part of town to have a tasty lunch, which was great, before continuing on to Middle of the World. Of course like any big city in the world, you should watch your purse from pick-pocketers, hold them close and not flaunt your best jewelry around while at these touristy spots, but that's just common sense. The convenience of being able to keep our bags in Diego's car and knowing they were safe, was great. It was a packed day but one we will never forget. This is the way tourism should be! Diego THANK YOU!!!

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

Patricia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a wonderful day tour of Quito and a visit to the equator. Our guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. As a private tour, we were able to make an alteration to the original tour, which we very much appreciated.

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

Elisa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

the tour conductor was professional with high level of knowledge. the driver excellent professional and follow safety rules.....pleasant experience and the right price

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message