Quito ATTRACTIONS See all

Independence Plaza (Plaza de la Independencia)

Plaza de la Independencia, known as Plaza Grande to the locals, was Quito’s main square in the 16th century, serving as central market and bullfighting area. The plaza contains several important buildings: the Archbishop’s Palace to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 91 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ellen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a great day and enjoyed the trip. Highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Old Town Quito Sightseeing and Food Walking Tour

JasChris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing private tour. Santiago was our guide and we saw a bit of everything. We also got to go on the cable car to a beautiful lookout. We switched around the tour a bit since we had already seen a good amount of old town Quito. Our guide was fun, attentive, and the sights we saw were amazing. It was nice doing a private tour so we could go where we wanted, eat what we wanted, and see what we wanted. I recommend it.

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

Jaime D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We were with Raul, who drove his own Honda CRV even as he toured us through Quito and Mitad. Raul spoke very good English and had a good sense of humor.

We did Panecillo Hill, then did the Old Town. In the itinerary, we were supposed to drop by the Basilica but we skipped that. We also didnt do San Juan Mirador which was also in the itinerary. But we did do Independence Plaza and checked out the beautiful churches. We even went to the Metropolitan Cultural Center which wasnt mentioned in the itinerary.

We then drove for a long distance to the center of the world. In the itinerary, I got the impression we were going to do both Middle of the World park as well as the Intinan Museum with its interactive experiments. But Raul gave us only a choice of one or the other. We chose Intinan still not sure if that was the right way to go. Then he was about to head back to Quito to drop us off when I reminded him that we were supposed to also do Pululahua crater. So we did.

Raul was a great guide but I really wish you didnt have to remind tour guides about which itinerary items were being missed.

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

janis_man

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

If you are like me and don't like reading a lot about the old city beforehand, the guide was great in explaining the significance of different places. I got a little overwhelmed by the history of this place however, so a bit of reading up before the trip may be a good idea. You get to visit the old churches, but unfortunately you don't get to spend a lot of time at some churches and hence you may want to re-visit them again at your own time. You also get to learn how to make chocolate and try the sweets at this shop.

By the way, there are free tours available at La Plaza Grande that offer a brief tour around. Then you can choose which places you want to enter at your own time.

If you have time, every Monday at 11am to 11:30am, there is changing of the guards ceremony where the president comes out to wave at the crowd for a brief second. You can even visit the Presidential Palace for free! You just have to know when the free tours are occurring.

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

Alainared

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

This was a nice, 3 hour tour. We had the bus to ourselves as it was Saturday and most tourists go to the market out of town then. Went to several monuments, then up on the hill for a view and souvenir stands.

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

bdsouza17

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide Francisco was fantastic - this was a such a great way to see the sights of the city in a short period of time! Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

Vanessa Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I really enjoyed this tour with Francisco. We didn't know much about Quito, so we let him lead us where we needed to go. We went to a small museum it was a bit cheesy, where zero latitude was measured with a GPS as found, after the Middle of the World Monument was constructed. We weren't overly keen to just see the monument so Francisco pulled over on the side of the street to let us take some pics from outside, saving us some time. Francisco is a very knowledgeable guide taking us into various churches and explaining the histories to us. He made sure he warned us if we asked to go anywhere that had an entrance fee that was not already covered by the tour. If we had more time in Quito, I would have loved to have had him take us around for another day.

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

Bruce R

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

A good way to visit the main sights with opportunities for guided exploration of much of the main venues on foot. Tandem explanations in Spanish and English.

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

Olivia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Latin adventures is top notch! They office staff (Carolina) made sure we saw exactly what we wanted and gave us recommendations. Our tour guide Francisco was amazing! He was incredibly knowledgeable and informative. Highly recommend this tour company!

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

bsotlb51

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

Frederick M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Daniel and driver were wonderful. It was fun because they new the sites so well and are so proud of their city. In seven hours we saw a great deal of the city along with a wonderful lunch at a great local spot. Seeing Quito without the help of a driver and guide is not a good idea.

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

Pierre C

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Overall Quito is an amazing city with a UNESCO classified historical center. and it is worth it. Our guided tour was just OK. The logistics were weak: despite several emails we never got a confirmation of pick up at hotel. Instead, we received o the day before in the evening, a cryptic note in our hotel which we could not understand whether pickup would take place or note. After much stress and calling we found out we had to go to another hotel about 4 miles away. The guide was friendly, but his English was mediocre, and that made the sharing in Spanish combined with English not so fluid. we could understand the Spanish but we lost a lot of time repeating basic English statements. On the good note, I forgot my iPhone 6 in the bus and got it back in the evening after calling the bus driver. The guide's advice on which church to visit was well followed nevertheless.

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

rosa c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Highly recommended!! Our tour guide Daniel was very friendly and knowledgeable. Really enjoyed this tour!!

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

Andreea V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a nice city tour of the city with Daniel. His english is great and we felt we were more in the company of a friend. He is very knowledgeable and took us to all the main places in Quito. Great day discovering Quito!

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

Richard L

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Good overview of the City great guide Daniel

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

Cherise C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a great way to see the historic district of Quito, and panorama views of the entire city. Javier was our guide, and he was very knowledgeable and friendly; open to any questions.

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

Norman M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Good tour guide. We saw a lot in a relatively short period of time.

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

Ross G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour. Gives you a good look around the area and the main attractions.

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

Melanie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Good tour for an overview of Quito. We visited some interesting places, the cathedral sticks out in my mind, our tour guide was full of information and history.

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

john p

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

I was disappointed. I was the only person on this tour and it left a lot to be desired. Most of the stops were at churches, that quite frankly I wasn't interested in. Learned little about the city. Not recommended!

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

Lisa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had great tour in Old Town with a very knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Old Town Quito Sightseeing and Food Walking Tour

Carol C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Guide William was very nice.

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

Angela R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I can't say enough good things about this tour -- it was everything my fiancé and I hoped and more. It was his first time in South America and we had already spent a few days on the coast of Ecuador. But Quito was our favorite part by far. I'm so glad we went the private tour route, it was worth every penny. Not only did we get personalized attention, we felt like we were being shown Quito and its surroundings by a trusted friend, and that's all thanks to our wonderful tour guide, Diego. As a local, he knows the city and how to drive in it! better than anyone, and is knowledgeable about the city's history and culture, and his style is conversational, which allows you to be relaxed and enjoy. He was also flexible to accommodate our schedule, even squeezing in a last-minute trip to the Teleferico cable car where you can admire the city from 13,000 feet which I HIGHLY recommend and then taking us to the airport at the end of the day for an additional 30, which is the usual fare. This was arranged through Dante also wonderful that same morning -- the Teleferico is usually not part of the tour but because they were slightly late that morning to pick us up, they threw in the Teleferico as a courtesy, which I thought was fabulous. The walking part of the tour in the colonial part of town was amazing, too -- we really felt like we were experiencing Quito up close and personal, and especially with Diego right by our side, guiding us. We had about an hour in the old part of town to have a tasty lunch, which was great, before continuing on to Middle of the World. Of course like any big city in the world, you should watch your purse from pick-pocketers, hold them close and not flaunt your best jewelry around while at these touristy spots, but that's just common sense. The convenience of being able to keep our bags in Diego's car and knowing they were safe, was great. It was a packed day but one we will never forget. This is the way tourism should be! Diego THANK YOU!!!

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

William B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

The following comments do not reflect on the Tour Guide who was excellent under the circumstances, especially her English. The Tour should be re-named Church Tour of Quito, not City tour as we spent most of the time visiting churches, very little of the City. Also the guest were both English and Spanish speaking therefore we spent half the time standing around whilst the guide was speaking in Spanish, despite my request for an English tour when booking. Other English speaking guests felt the same and became bored, in fact 4 left before the tour was complete as they were bored.

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

Patricia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a wonderful day tour of Quito and a visit to the equator. Our guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. As a private tour, we were able to make an alteration to the original tour, which we very much appreciated.

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message