Quito ATTRACTIONS See all

Middle of the World Monument (La Mitad del Mundo)

Who could resist the opportunity to visit the Middle of the World (Mitad del Mundo) and have your picture taken as you straddle the equator! This complex, built to commemorate the site where a French explorer calculated the world’s equatorial ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 27 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kimberly J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I had an excellent experience. The tour guide was very knowledgeable about the city and spoke good English. We saw all the major attractions in Quito and had a nice lunch. The tour was from 9:30 AM- 4:00 PM! Money well spent, this was exactly what I was hoping it would be. I would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Private Tour: Middle of the World Monument and Quito City Tour

bdsouza17

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide Francisco was fantastic - this was a such a great way to see the sights of the city in a short period of time! Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

Vanessa Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I really enjoyed this tour with Francisco. We didn't know much about Quito, so we let him lead us where we needed to go. We went to a small museum it was a bit cheesy, where zero latitude was measured with a GPS as found, after the Middle of the World Monument was constructed. We weren't overly keen to just see the monument so Francisco pulled over on the side of the street to let us take some pics from outside, saving us some time. Francisco is a very knowledgeable guide taking us into various churches and explaining the histories to us. He made sure he warned us if we asked to go anywhere that had an entrance fee that was not already covered by the tour. If we had more time in Quito, I would have loved to have had him take us around for another day.

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

Beth K J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Bucket Pass brought us to great places: the Quito tour bus was convenient Mitad del Mundo was interesting and unique at La Capilla del Hombre and Guayasamin's Museum the guided tour brought the artists' vision to life La Compania Church is beautiful Basilica del voto National is an amazing church with great views of the city. We also enjoyed the tour of the Presidential Palace, shopping at the market place, seeing the angel on the mountain, and so much more!

Doing what: Quito's Top Attractions Pass

Olivia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Latin adventures is top notch! They office staff (Carolina) made sure we saw exactly what we wanted and gave us recommendations. Our tour guide Francisco was amazing! He was incredibly knowledgeable and informative. Highly recommend this tour company!

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

Karishma D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Full-Day Mitad del Mundo Tour

Thomas W

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Cheap alternative to other offers. Still, it's a tourist trap, one of three centers of the world I saw.

Doing what: Transport to Middle of the World, Intiñan Museum and Teleferico

Aurelia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was an amazing experience! Very well organized!

Doing what: Full-Day Mitad del Mundo Tour

Karen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an amazing way to spend the day in Quito! Francisco was our tour guide and he was amazing! He as very knowledgable and took us to see humming birds then we hiked through the rain forest to an amazing waterfall. We had our family of 8 and everyone had a fantastic time! Highly recommended

Doing what: Mindo Cloud Forest Day Trip from Quito

Frederick M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Daniel and driver were wonderful. It was fun because they new the sites so well and are so proud of their city. In seven hours we saw a great deal of the city along with a wonderful lunch at a great local spot. Seeing Quito without the help of a driver and guide is not a good idea.

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great trip and a very good tour guide. I would highly recommend this day trip.

Doing what: Mindo Cloud Forest Day Trip from Quito

rosa c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Highly recommended!! Our tour guide Daniel was very friendly and knowledgeable. Really enjoyed this tour!!

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

Andreea V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a nice city tour of the city with Daniel. His english is great and we felt we were more in the company of a friend. He is very knowledgeable and took us to all the main places in Quito. Great day discovering Quito!

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

Richard L

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Good overview of the City great guide Daniel

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

David J USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

If you want to see countryside and a nature park, then this trip is okay. Unfortunately, it was a rainy day but we all made best of it. Driver was at hotel on schedule. We did pickup our guide enroute to the rain forest. There we got more information about tour. Wish we could have stopped at the other Equatorial facility. Major attraction was a hike to see partial view of waterfall. Tour personnel were informative about flora and fauna we encountered. Was taken to restaurant and chocolate factory. Meal was not included in tour, but food was good. Lot of pressure to pay and see the chocolate being made and purchase a product. Butterfly farm and hummingbirds were tranquil, but no different than any others.

Doing what: Mindo Cloud Forest Day Trip from Quito

Norman M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Good tour guide. We saw a lot in a relatively short period of time.

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

Ross G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour. Gives you a good look around the area and the main attractions.

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

peggianderson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful and educational tour. We had plenty of time to browse, shop and take in the beautiful scenery.

Doing what: Full-Day Mitad del Mundo Tour

Cherise C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I certainly recommend this tour. You get to see so many various sites within the one-day trip, and it will take a number of hours, due to the traffic congestion in Quito. Be patient, it is definitely worth it. You are only allotted a certain amount of time at each stop, so keep that in mind.

Doing what: Full-Day Mitad del Mundo Tour

Jaleesa B

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Good trip.

Doing what: Full-Day Mitad del Mundo Tour

Catharine D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The trip to the museum at the Equator was very fun! There are a lot of options for things to do in the cloud forest. It was raining a bit, but we enjoyed the hike to the waterfall and the tour of the chocolate factory. We were traveling on New Years Eve, and on our way back into Quito our guide took us to the busiest road in Quito to participate in some of the New Years Eve traditions. He went out of his way to show us this experience. I would recommend this day trip for anyone wanting to see the Equator museum and the different landscape in the cloud forest.

Doing what: Mindo Cloud Forest Day Trip from Quito

Lawrence F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

None of the places new about this pass and each place had to wait for a long time to verify that such pass exist, waisted alot of time. Each museum cost was 3 and definitely wasn't worth it. Overpaid and with alot of aggravations.

Doing what: Quito's Top Attractions Pass

Angela R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I can't say enough good things about this tour -- it was everything my fiancé and I hoped and more. It was his first time in South America and we had already spent a few days on the coast of Ecuador. But Quito was our favorite part by far. I'm so glad we went the private tour route, it was worth every penny. Not only did we get personalized attention, we felt like we were being shown Quito and its surroundings by a trusted friend, and that's all thanks to our wonderful tour guide, Diego. As a local, he knows the city and how to drive in it! better than anyone, and is knowledgeable about the city's history and culture, and his style is conversational, which allows you to be relaxed and enjoy. He was also flexible to accommodate our schedule, even squeezing in a last-minute trip to the Teleferico cable car where you can admire the city from 13,000 feet which I HIGHLY recommend and then taking us to the airport at the end of the day for an additional 30, which is the usual fare. This was arranged through Dante also wonderful that same morning -- the Teleferico is usually not part of the tour but because they were slightly late that morning to pick us up, they threw in the Teleferico as a courtesy, which I thought was fabulous. The walking part of the tour in the colonial part of town was amazing, too -- we really felt like we were experiencing Quito up close and personal, and especially with Diego right by our side, guiding us. We had about an hour in the old part of town to have a tasty lunch, which was great, before continuing on to Middle of the World. Of course like any big city in the world, you should watch your purse from pick-pocketers, hold them close and not flaunt your best jewelry around while at these touristy spots, but that's just common sense. The convenience of being able to keep our bags in Diego's car and knowing they were safe, was great. It was a packed day but one we will never forget. This is the way tourism should be! Diego THANK YOU!!!

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

Amy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide was fantastic.

Doing what: Mindo Cloud Forest Day Trip from Quito

Patricia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a wonderful day tour of Quito and a visit to the equator. Our guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. As a private tour, we were able to make an alteration to the original tour, which we very much appreciated.

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message