Quito ATTRACTIONS See all

Middle of the World Monument (La Mitad del Mundo)

Who could resist the opportunity to visit the Middle of the World (Mitad del Mundo) and have your picture taken as you straddle the equator! This complex, built to commemorate the site where a French explorer calculated the world’s equatorial ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 33 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

JasChris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing private tour. Santiago was our guide and we saw a bit of everything. We also got to go on the cable car to a beautiful lookout. We switched around the tour a bit since we had already seen a good amount of old town Quito. Our guide was fun, attentive, and the sights we saw were amazing. It was nice doing a private tour so we could go where we wanted, eat what we wanted, and see what we wanted. I recommend it.

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

Anthony M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

An amazing and super personalized tour. Charly is engaging, flexible, knowledgeable, and fun. He worked hard to pack as much as was desired into the day. Outstanding!

Doing what: Full-Day Middle of the World Monument Tour from Quito

Matthew h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Loved this tour....it was exactly as described and not rushed so I was able to see everything. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Quito.

Doing what: Full-Day Middle of the World Monument Tour from Quito

Jaime D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We were with Raul, who drove his own Honda CRV even as he toured us through Quito and Mitad. Raul spoke very good English and had a good sense of humor.

We did Panecillo Hill, then did the Old Town. In the itinerary, we were supposed to drop by the Basilica but we skipped that. We also didnt do San Juan Mirador which was also in the itinerary. But we did do Independence Plaza and checked out the beautiful churches. We even went to the Metropolitan Cultural Center which wasnt mentioned in the itinerary.

We then drove for a long distance to the center of the world. In the itinerary, I got the impression we were going to do both Middle of the World park as well as the Intinan Museum with its interactive experiments. But Raul gave us only a choice of one or the other. We chose Intinan still not sure if that was the right way to go. Then he was about to head back to Quito to drop us off when I reminded him that we were supposed to also do Pululahua crater. So we did.

Raul was a great guide but I really wish you didnt have to remind tour guides about which itinerary items were being missed.

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

janis_man

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

The Mitad del Mundo Tour was best at the real GPS identified location as you get to learn a lot there. I wished we spent more time there instead. There were only two experiments you can do there however.

The fake older location at the equator line was great for taking pictures. However the museums around this place were simple and not very educational.

Doing what: Full-Day Mitad del Mundo Tour

gschw1226

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

The description of the trip is not correct-the walk to the volcano bottom is very difficult and steep-we did not have lunch at the bottom, the restaurant was closed. It was a long day, could be better arranged.

Doing what: Quito Combo Tour: Middle of the World Monument and Pululahua Volcano Hike

Kimberly J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I had an excellent experience. The tour guide was very knowledgeable about the city and spoke good English. We saw all the major attractions in Quito and had a nice lunch. The tour was from 9:30 AM- 4:00 PM! Money well spent, this was exactly what I was hoping it would be. I would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Private Tour: Middle of the World Monument and Quito City Tour

bdsouza17

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide Francisco was fantastic - this was a such a great way to see the sights of the city in a short period of time! Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

Vanessa Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I really enjoyed this tour with Francisco. We didn't know much about Quito, so we let him lead us where we needed to go. We went to a small museum it was a bit cheesy, where zero latitude was measured with a GPS as found, after the Middle of the World Monument was constructed. We weren't overly keen to just see the monument so Francisco pulled over on the side of the street to let us take some pics from outside, saving us some time. Francisco is a very knowledgeable guide taking us into various churches and explaining the histories to us. He made sure he warned us if we asked to go anywhere that had an entrance fee that was not already covered by the tour. If we had more time in Quito, I would have loved to have had him take us around for another day.

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

Beth K J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Bucket Pass brought us to great places: the Quito tour bus was convenient Mitad del Mundo was interesting and unique at La Capilla del Hombre and Guayasamin's Museum the guided tour brought the artists' vision to life La Compania Church is beautiful Basilica del voto National is an amazing church with great views of the city. We also enjoyed the tour of the Presidential Palace, shopping at the market place, seeing the angel on the mountain, and so much more!

Doing what: Quito's Top Attractions Pass

Olivia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Latin adventures is top notch! They office staff (Carolina) made sure we saw exactly what we wanted and gave us recommendations. Our tour guide Francisco was amazing! He was incredibly knowledgeable and informative. Highly recommend this tour company!

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

Karishma D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Full-Day Mitad del Mundo Tour

Thomas W

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Cheap alternative to other offers. Still, it's a tourist trap, one of three centers of the world I saw.

Doing what: Transport to Middle of the World, Intiñan Museum and Teleferico

Aurelia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was an amazing experience! Very well organized!

Doing what: Full-Day Mitad del Mundo Tour

Karen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an amazing way to spend the day in Quito! Francisco was our tour guide and he was amazing! He as very knowledgable and took us to see humming birds then we hiked through the rain forest to an amazing waterfall. We had our family of 8 and everyone had a fantastic time! Highly recommended

Doing what: Mindo Cloud Forest Day Trip from Quito

Frederick M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Daniel and driver were wonderful. It was fun because they new the sites so well and are so proud of their city. In seven hours we saw a great deal of the city along with a wonderful lunch at a great local spot. Seeing Quito without the help of a driver and guide is not a good idea.

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great trip and a very good tour guide. I would highly recommend this day trip.

Doing what: Mindo Cloud Forest Day Trip from Quito

rosa c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Highly recommended!! Our tour guide Daniel was very friendly and knowledgeable. Really enjoyed this tour!!

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

Andreea V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a nice city tour of the city with Daniel. His english is great and we felt we were more in the company of a friend. He is very knowledgeable and took us to all the main places in Quito. Great day discovering Quito!

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

Richard L

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Good overview of the City great guide Daniel

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

David J USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

If you want to see countryside and a nature park, then this trip is okay. Unfortunately, it was a rainy day but we all made best of it. Driver was at hotel on schedule. We did pickup our guide enroute to the rain forest. There we got more information about tour. Wish we could have stopped at the other Equatorial facility. Major attraction was a hike to see partial view of waterfall. Tour personnel were informative about flora and fauna we encountered. Was taken to restaurant and chocolate factory. Meal was not included in tour, but food was good. Lot of pressure to pay and see the chocolate being made and purchase a product. Butterfly farm and hummingbirds were tranquil, but no different than any others.

Doing what: Mindo Cloud Forest Day Trip from Quito

Norman M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Good tour guide. We saw a lot in a relatively short period of time.

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

Ross G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour. Gives you a good look around the area and the main attractions.

Doing what: Quito City Sightseeing and Middle of the World Monument

peggianderson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful and educational tour. We had plenty of time to browse, shop and take in the beautiful scenery.

Doing what: Full-Day Mitad del Mundo Tour

Cherise C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I certainly recommend this tour. You get to see so many various sites within the one-day trip, and it will take a number of hours, due to the traffic congestion in Quito. Be patient, it is definitely worth it. You are only allotted a certain amount of time at each stop, so keep that in mind.

Doing what: Full-Day Mitad del Mundo Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message