Quito ATTRACTIONS See all

Otavalo Marketplace

Nestled in a valley at the foot of a volcano, Otavalo is a highland community of indigenous locals famed for their weaving skills and colorful textiles. The local people (Otavaleños) who sell their wares at the daily market, wear ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 80 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

johnlill54

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We enjoyed the day driving through the countryside. Our guide was very good, explaining the local customs. We stopped at a fruit stand to sample local fruits, stopped at three different places along the way to Otavalo to see the views and sample biscottis and were serenaded on the bus by a young woman singing native songs. Our time at the Otavalo market was sufficient to do our browsing. We then stopped at a weaving shop where they demonstrated the use of old hand operated looms and had a wonderful selection of woven items for sale. We drove on to the town of Cotacachi for lunch and leather shopping before returning to Quito.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

janis_man

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The first stop is at the equator solar clock! If you are a science geek like myself, this is the best part of the trip. You learn a little astronomy and such...

The Otavalo market was nice, however a lot of shops sell the same things. Definitely learn to bargain here! I don't think I saw the leather market though, or may be I just missed it. At the market, you can see that the women are still dressed in their traditional clothes, which was cool.

I enjoyed trying traditional street food there. It was very good!

Doing what: Otavalo Tour with Quito Tour Bus

walker_jan

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Very good trip. Very informative. The trip was listed as being approximately 8 hours long but we were gone for 12 hours.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

bermeoan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very punctual and fun. Just remember that the market is like a tourist trap and always look for a bargain

Doing what: Private Tour: Otavalo and Cotacachi Day Trip from Quito

Melva Netherlands Antilles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour. Everybody should do this tour as part of their visit to Ecuador. Its an all in one!!!

Doing what: Otavalo Tour with Quito Tour Bus

Eileen P

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Very good tour. Would have liked more time to shop in Otavalo. Too much to see in an hour! Could have done without visit to the shaman. Restaurant was very accommodating with adjusting our food choice for lunch.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Christine G

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour included lots of stops along the way that gave us insight into how the indigenous live. Very interesting and well organized.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Richard L

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Nice day trip from Quito our guide Daniel was very informative. We especially enjoyed the Bizcochos and watching them being made.

Doing what: Otavalo Indigenous Market Day Trip from Quito

huppmeister

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Juan was a great tour leader. I really enjoyed the tour and beautiful scenery. The day was a lot of fun

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

michael a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Exceeded expectations in every way - enjoyable, informative and a day well spent.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Jaleesa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great bang for your buck.

Doing what: Otavalo Tour with Quito Tour Bus

Edward F

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

We enjoyed this tour primarily because it got us out of Quito and into the countryside. The Otavalo market itself is not outstanding during the week we were told is is much larger on Saturdays but our tour was on a Tuesday. Our guide was bilingual and was excellent at letting us know what all the sights and insights were as we cruised along. She also was flexible enough to allow us to stay at the market while the rest of the tour went along to another stop. Going into the tour I could not imagine how the biscuit stop could be special but it was with its impressive human assembly line and wood-fired oven. All in all it was a fine day in Ecuador.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Kathleen L

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Unfortunately we didn't speak Spanish and most of the guests on the bus were Spanish speaking. The guide was very well intended, but was limited on his English speaking ability, especially when answering questions.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

floridaeyesurgeon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

My wife and I really enjoyed this trip. The market was very interesting with great crafts and food. We would have liked more time there but we also enjoyed going to the Leather shops later that day.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Rhiannon F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour was great- lots to do in a day but definitely get your money and #39;s worth!

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

karen n

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

great day out of the city, really loved the visit to the shaman's house

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Ross M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Very enjoyable and interesting day. Liked the small group. Guide was great and provided enough time at each of the stops. Well organized.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Angela R

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

LOVED this tour! Our bilingual tour guide, Maria Alicia, was wonderful. There was so much packed into this day but it was lovely from start to finish. We made stops to see the Lago San Pablo San Pablo Lake, where the views are just breathtaking, we stopped to visit a local Shaman at Ilumán, a small town in the Imbabura province, we stopped at the famous Otavalo market of course and Cotacachi, known for its leather, and also in Peguche, where we learned about indigenous music of the Andes, we also stopped in a town famous for its bizcochos and watched how these treats are made. The only part I didn't love was the lunch, which we had pre-paid. We ate at La Marquesa restaurant in Cotacachi and it was pretty bad. We ate it because we were hungry but it was bland and greasy and just kind of gross. Even the fries were bad and it's hard to mess up fries. The other plates looked just as unappealing so I'm not sure it was an isolated thing. We would have been better off bringing a sandwich from home or eating elsewhere. Other than that, it was a wonderful experience. On our day it was a small group so we definitely got personal attention. Thank you Maria Alicia!

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

L K D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide Maria was excellent especially since she had to say everything twice spanish and English. We were given plenty of time to roam free around the market.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Yael P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

The tour was more of a taxi to Otavelo than a tour
Later I understood from other travelers that there are more things to do in Otavello- like the animal market and I was disappointed by the superficial tour

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

MACRINA F

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

This tour would be better if there's extra time to explore the market in Otavalo and the leather stores in Cotacachi.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

gabymansour32

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

because of the guide Wilson.......simply fabulous

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

John A

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

I had wanted to go to Otavalo for a longtime, and this was a very good way to do so.I would, however, have liked to stop at the animal market as well, if only for an hour. We did have sufficient time at the craft market, the lunch stop was good, and the stop at the equator line a nice bonus. I don't know if the option of an included lunch was necessary. We signed up for it while everyone else on the bus paid a la carte which I actually would have preferred as there was just too much food for me as a lunch. I did appreciate the fact that the tour seemed well organized, on schedule, and informative.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Ed D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

GREAT TOUR AND VERY INFORMATIVE GUIDE. MY ONLY RECOMMENDATION IS FOR THE GUIDE TO LEARN MORE ENGLISH SPEAKING SKILLS.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Nicholas L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Late bus, unable to go through the market for longer than an hour, poor timing

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message