The Inca originated in neighboring Peru, invading Ecuador in 1460, constructing massively fortified cities and introducing Quechua, the language still spoken today by indigenous Ecuadorians. The Inca era was extinguished following the arrival of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 132 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bruce R

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

A good way to visit the main sights with opportunities for guided exploration of much of the main venues on foot. Tandem explanations in Spanish and English.

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

bsotlb51

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

Eileen P

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Very good tour. Would have liked more time to shop in Otavalo. Too much to see in an hour! Could have done without visit to the shaman. Restaurant was very accommodating with adjusting our food choice for lunch.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Christine G

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour included lots of stops along the way that gave us insight into how the indigenous live. Very interesting and well organized.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Pierre C

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Overall Quito is an amazing city with a UNESCO classified historical center. and it is worth it. Our guided tour was just OK. The logistics were weak: despite several emails we never got a confirmation of pick up at hotel. Instead, we received o the day before in the evening, a cryptic note in our hotel which we could not understand whether pickup would take place or note. After much stress and calling we found out we had to go to another hotel about 4 miles away. The guide was friendly, but his English was mediocre, and that made the sharing in Spanish combined with English not so fluid. we could understand the Spanish but we lost a lot of time repeating basic English statements. On the good note, I forgot my iPhone 6 in the bus and got it back in the evening after calling the bus driver. The guide's advice on which church to visit was well followed nevertheless.

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

huppmeister

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Juan was a great tour leader. I really enjoyed the tour and beautiful scenery. The day was a lot of fun

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Cherise C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a great way to see the historic district of Quito, and panorama views of the entire city. Javier was our guide, and he was very knowledgeable and friendly; open to any questions.

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

Melanie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Good tour for an overview of Quito. We visited some interesting places, the cathedral sticks out in my mind, our tour guide was full of information and history.

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

michael a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Exceeded expectations in every way - enjoyable, informative and a day well spent.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Edward F

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

We enjoyed this tour primarily because it got us out of Quito and into the countryside. The Otavalo market itself is not outstanding during the week we were told is is much larger on Saturdays but our tour was on a Tuesday. Our guide was bilingual and was excellent at letting us know what all the sights and insights were as we cruised along. She also was flexible enough to allow us to stay at the market while the rest of the tour went along to another stop. Going into the tour I could not imagine how the biscuit stop could be special but it was with its impressive human assembly line and wood-fired oven. All in all it was a fine day in Ecuador.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Kathleen L

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Unfortunately we didn't speak Spanish and most of the guests on the bus were Spanish speaking. The guide was very well intended, but was limited on his English speaking ability, especially when answering questions.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

floridaeyesurgeon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

My wife and I really enjoyed this trip. The market was very interesting with great crafts and food. We would have liked more time there but we also enjoyed going to the Leather shops later that day.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Rhiannon F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour was great- lots to do in a day but definitely get your money and #39;s worth!

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

karen n

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

great day out of the city, really loved the visit to the shaman's house

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Ross M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Very enjoyable and interesting day. Liked the small group. Guide was great and provided enough time at each of the stops. Well organized.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

john p

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

I was disappointed. I was the only person on this tour and it left a lot to be desired. Most of the stops were at churches, that quite frankly I wasn't interested in. Learned little about the city. Not recommended!

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

Carol C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Guide William was very nice.

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

Angela R

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

LOVED this tour! Our bilingual tour guide, Maria Alicia, was wonderful. There was so much packed into this day but it was lovely from start to finish. We made stops to see the Lago San Pablo San Pablo Lake, where the views are just breathtaking, we stopped to visit a local Shaman at Ilumán, a small town in the Imbabura province, we stopped at the famous Otavalo market of course and Cotacachi, known for its leather, and also in Peguche, where we learned about indigenous music of the Andes, we also stopped in a town famous for its bizcochos and watched how these treats are made. The only part I didn't love was the lunch, which we had pre-paid. We ate at La Marquesa restaurant in Cotacachi and it was pretty bad. We ate it because we were hungry but it was bland and greasy and just kind of gross. Even the fries were bad and it's hard to mess up fries. The other plates looked just as unappealing so I'm not sure it was an isolated thing. We would have been better off bringing a sandwich from home or eating elsewhere. Other than that, it was a wonderful experience. On our day it was a small group so we definitely got personal attention. Thank you Maria Alicia!

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

William B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

The following comments do not reflect on the Tour Guide who was excellent under the circumstances, especially her English. The Tour should be re-named Church Tour of Quito, not City tour as we spent most of the time visiting churches, very little of the City. Also the guest were both English and Spanish speaking therefore we spent half the time standing around whilst the guide was speaking in Spanish, despite my request for an English tour when booking. Other English speaking guests felt the same and became bored, in fact 4 left before the tour was complete as they were bored.

Doing what: Half Day Quito City Tour

abdul k

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

nice one

Doing what: Ecuadorian Folkloric Ballet

L K D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide Maria was excellent especially since she had to say everything twice spanish and English. We were given plenty of time to roam free around the market.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Yael P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

The tour was more of a taxi to Otavelo than a tour
Later I understood from other travelers that there are more things to do in Otavello- like the animal market and I was disappointed by the superficial tour

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

MACRINA F

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

This tour would be better if there's extra time to explore the market in Otavalo and the leather stores in Cotacachi.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

gabymansour32

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

because of the guide Wilson.......simply fabulous

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

John A

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

I had wanted to go to Otavalo for a longtime, and this was a very good way to do so.I would, however, have liked to stop at the animal market as well, if only for an hour. We did have sufficient time at the craft market, the lunch stop was good, and the stop at the equator line a nice bonus. I don't know if the option of an included lunch was necessary. We signed up for it while everyone else on the bus paid a la carte which I actually would have preferred as there was just too much food for me as a lunch. I did appreciate the fact that the tour seemed well organized, on schedule, and informative.

Doing what: Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message