Reykjavik ATTRACTIONS See all

Akurey Island (Puffin Island)

Only about a half-mile off Reykjavik, in the fjord Kollafjordur, lie six islands, two of which have puffin colonies, Akurey and Lundey. Akurey has the largest puffin colony and also cormorants, black guillemots, eider ducks, seagulls, kittiwakes ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 143 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Peter V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Simply amazing, only an hour, but we saw hundreds of puffins. Bring binoculars and a telephoto lens.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Cynthia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Interesting trip. The guide was very knowledgeable about puffins.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

barbara.l.baldwin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. The boat was nice. It is important to bring a camera with a zoom lens. You won't get pictures off your iPhone. We bought one just for this trip and got amazing pictures of Puffins. It is not Puffin season right now...but they will be back in May-August.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Melissa W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The absolute highlight of our stopover in Iceland! The little islands where the puffins were was not far from the mainland, so we were able to get there quickly and see the little guys. And we didn't see one or two - oh no! There were DOZENS of these cuties! We had a guide on the boat who told us about the area, and about the puffins - he was excellent. LOVED this tour and would do it again!

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A great way to see loads of puffins!

Doing what: Small-Group Puffin Watching RIB Cruise from Reykjavik

Anita F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a beautiful day on the water on our first day. Those puffins just to see them in flight was a hoot.
A great little cruise and puffins to boot. Well worth it. We lucked out as they were leaving in droves just days later, having hatched and grown their young.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Terrence Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour group did a professional job. We were fortunate to see several humpbacks and several minke whales. The puffins had pretty much cleared out for the season, but we did see some. If you want puffins, go earlier in the summer

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Bonnie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The only thing that would have been better would have been to actually go on the island with them.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Jason C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

These two tours were good--we saw dolphins on the whale watching tour no whales though and tons of puffins right out in front of the city.

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Valerie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was at the end of puffin season and we were still lucky enough to see a few! Crew was great and provided interesting facts. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

dannytsen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It's a fantastic trip. Great view.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

silvermix

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a cheap, short trip that gave us the chance to see a LOT of puffins up close. The boat ride was pretty good, even though the water was kinda choppy so be careful if you get seasick, and we were able to get really close to the island were all the puffin had their nests.
We also had binoculars in the boat that we could use to see them up close.
If you are thinking about taking pictures, I would recommend a camera with a very good zoom since the puffins are kinda small and wide angle lenses don't really capture the details.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Laura R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour! We were happy to find that there were available tickets the night before the tour in the morning. It was a very pleasant tour, with a knowledgeable guide and a lot of puffins! Great value!

We couldn't find the dock information when we booked the tickets through Viator, so we had to ask around to find out where to go. It's operated by Special Tours, right out of the main old harbour area where all the other boat tours are. Look for the giant blow-up puffin outside the Special Tours hut.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

michelle_naftzger

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fun tour to see these birds. Saw a ton of them. Guide was very friendly and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

telbaz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I loved it. We saw its of Puffins. We got lucky and saw 5 whales. Dress Warm. It gets very cold on the boat.

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

retired_and_busy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip. Saw many puffins and other birds. Crew were professional and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

jeremycourt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

LOVED IT. Our bus was late getting there so the boat turned round to the dock and collected us - amazing! we saw so many puffins and the guide was very talkative about the birds on Iceland. He came from Australia so he should know!!!
Highly recommend this trip but probably only in puffin nesting season.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

pmgatt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We highly recommend this tour! The operators of the tour were very professional tour was postponed due to high winds but was held later on in the day. Laurence, our tour guide was very knowledgeable regarding whales and their habits. Got to see a few humpbacks feeding on krill!

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Linda V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the highlight of my Iceland adventure trip. Glacier hiking, horse back riding, golden circle loop, many waterfalls and beautiful Reyjavik all paled compared to Husavik and the incredible whale sail!! Magnificent wooden schooner watching whales play. Beyond beautiful. Thank you all ⛵️

Doing what: Whale and Puffin Watching on Board a Traditional Oak Sailing Ship from Husavik

Jennifer F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was fantastic! We saw so many puffins!

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Jason O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

lin_peony

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

nice tour! very helpful and friendly tour guide and staff, would recommend! also saw lots of puffins too! thats the most important part :

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Mary Fran A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I love watching animals. I could have stayed half a day. Great short boat ride, very knowledgable guide. They even had binoculars.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Allan I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

maggie d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The boat was comfortable and the crew were well informed and clear. Only the weather which was very grey spoilt it somewhat.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message