Reykjavik ATTRACTIONS See all

Akurey Island (Puffin Island)

Only about a half-mile off Reykjavik, in the fjord Kollafjordur, lie six islands, two of which have puffin colonies, Akurey and Lundey. Akurey has the largest puffin colony and also cormorants, black guillemots, eider ducks, seagulls, kittiwakes ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 102 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

retired_and_busy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip. Saw many puffins and other birds. Crew were professional and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

jeremycourt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

LOVED IT. Our bus was late getting there so the boat turned round to the dock and collected us - amazing! we saw so many puffins and the guide was very talkative about the birds on Iceland. He came from Australia so he should know!!!
Highly recommend this trip but probably only in puffin nesting season.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

pmgatt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We highly recommend this tour! The operators of the tour were very professional tour was postponed due to high winds but was held later on in the day. Laurence, our tour guide was very knowledgeable regarding whales and their habits. Got to see a few humpbacks feeding on krill!

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Jennifer F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was fantastic! We saw so many puffins!

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Jason O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

lin_peony

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

nice tour! very helpful and friendly tour guide and staff, would recommend! also saw lots of puffins too! thats the most important part :

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Mary Fran A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I love watching animals. I could have stayed half a day. Great short boat ride, very knowledgable guide. They even had binoculars.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Allan I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

maggie d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The boat was comfortable and the crew were well informed and clear. Only the weather which was very grey spoilt it somewhat.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Patricia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent day - highly recommended!

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

George C United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a way to see the puffins. Excellent boat trip.

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Richard H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Despite the high winds, seeing the puffins was a in their nesting location was a treat.

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

MILLIGAN1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Puffins and whales - what more could we ask for.

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Boris B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a lot of fun Note...take your own high powered binocs and your zoom lens. Puffins are actually little birds! We got quite close to the island, but you can only get so close The tour guides were great! Very informative and amusing!

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Marilyn Kay J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great puffin viewing, great, knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Erin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing! There were so many puffins! Tour guide did a great job and was very knowledgeable!

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Krisztina T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I had the two tour on one day, whale watching from 9, and puffin watching at 12:30. There were a 30min break between them. It is useful to pick up the receipts from the sales office, than use the viator voucher on the boats. The staff was very helpful, and kind!

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Katja A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great boat ride, nice tour guide.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Laura I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Quick and easy trip in Iceland. Great for a buys day. Professional staff and on time pick-up/drop-off. Thanks for a lovely trip

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Annebettiol_ca

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Nice tour!
The crew is knowledgable and you get to see puffins.
If you are strapped for time this tour is an hour long .Enjoyed it

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Linda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Seas were a little rough that day so we did not get as close as we wanted to the islands but that is the sea and nature. We did see a few Puffins but would have liked to see them closer. Hope to come back someday and do it again on a more leisurely schedule.

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Christian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great trip loads of puffins very active.
Whales were amazing. Was exciting to see humpback and minke

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Pamela W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I forgot to rate this trip on my previous review. I give it a 5 rating.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Ann W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide was very knowledgeable, helpful, and interesting.

Doing what: Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik

Mathew J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

good team for the whALE WATCHING ON 29/07/15 espcecially Marcus who was very kind to kids and explaning things about Whales . he was also supportive to my three year old who was slightly sea sick despite having good weather . we were able to see humpback , MINKE and Killer Whales in one session.this was reported as very unsual by Marcus and Brendan.. good trip. i would recoomend it to anyone.

Doing what: Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message